Rent Prince of Persia: Warrior Within for Xbox
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, GC
GF Rating
7.1

1948 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Xbox Royalty

posted by MattSkillz (HOUSTON, TX) May 4, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a must play. Prince of Persia games go back to the late 80's, and this one sticks to the program: very fun, very challenging.

Rarely does a game come by that is so much fun, and yet requires the iron will of a zen master to keep from throwing the controller through the TV screen.

The game is squarely divided in twain:

1. Platforming:
The prince is poetry in motion, and extremely easy to control in the most difficult situations. The camera is mostly cooperative as the prince travels through the stunning landscapes at break-neck speed. Running for your life from the antagonist really gets the adrenaline pumping. You will find yourself pausing to admire your work when you make it through the waterfall.

2. Sword Fighting:
The prince is a little more clunky in combat than he is a top-speed. The combos are satisfying, but often it boils down to a string of buttons (ala fatality) that do something cool on the screen. Two-handed fighting style is a nice addition, as well as the medieval museum of weapons that are available throughout the game - each with its own set of stats. The time-manipulation powers really make the combat shine. Nothing is as satisfying as seeing all your enemies freeze in place, while you move as a blur, even to your own eyes, hacking them to pieces. Overall, combat is challenging and satisfying, just breathe deep when it's boss-battle time. Try not to wake the neighbors with cries of agonizing defeat when you get pieces of your anatomy handed to you in a doggy-bag... for the 472nd time... in this sitting.

Play it. Own it. Love it. Just don't let it get to you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best ever.

posted by nbroop (LEXINGTON, KY) Jun 13, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After reading reviews of this game in contrast to the other two games. I had the least enthusiasm about playing this one. I had however played the other two and wanted to play them all. I was instantly surprised when I first started playing this game. Every aspect of it was far superior to the other two. There were good not to tough not to easy puzzles and not to many acrobatic stunts. I played through this game twice in a week. Great stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a really good game

posted by MoneyMario (MIAMI, FL) May 20, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you played the "The Sands of Time", you'll enjoy playing this sequel. It has basicly the same format to it, but the combat has been improved and there is now a blood/gore feature. The feature can be turned off if you find it too overwhelming. Has a few gliches, so save often. Other than that, it's an A+!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best out of the Trilogy

posted by Ragnarok (LEXINGTON, KY) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the best out of the entire series. Multiple endings, hidden life upgrades, excellent battle combos. I would recommend this game to anyone that enjoys a puzzle and a good fight.

The only downside to this game is that while the sands of time can reverse and slow down time to help you win in a fight, the boss battles on normal and hard can be a bit much.

All in all this game holds a place in one of my top ten all time favorites.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

POP WW

posted by 3xtripleh (YORBA LINDA, CA) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game goes down as one of the best games I have ever played. I sit here trying to think of something bad in this game and I can think of none. Wait I have one, this game sucks you in and won't let go. I found myself saying I just want to see what is around this corner and playing for 2 more hours. A great great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its a lot better than the first one

posted by snakeeyes (ANTHONY, FL) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i found this game to be one of the most interesting games ive ever played and i would say that it is a definite buy cuase youl have to rent it twice to just beat it.

the graphics are awesome. they really stepped it up in this game.the game looks almost like they made a whole new graphics engine for this game then the other one.

they also made the new fighting sytem a LOT better than the other game.you can basiccaly create a new combo for youreself.

visuals.9/10
gameplay.10/10
puzzle difficulty.8/10
replayibility.9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Godsmacking game

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Aug 9, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's a pretty good game. More moves, more combos, and more ways to defeat your enemy. Lots of extreme traps to pass by and the Empress is hawt, did I mention she was hawt? What I like about this game is that it was very interesting how they change the perspective of who the Prince was. He was young and royal-like from the first game to serious and tough guy in Warrior Within. What I didn't like about the game is that there were a lot of glitches, meaning the game is very buggy but I was still enjoying the game.

PROS
A lot of good stuff of improvements
More swords, combos, moves, etc.
A challenging yet enjoyable game
All the powers you can use just like the first game but this time they're better! (Except recall and slow time)
Great graphics

CONS
Very buggy
Even though I like Godsmack's "I stand alone" song but the game did not capture my taste of Persian music
The actor who originally voice the prince didn't take the role again and made the story of Warrior Within a completely different feeling...

Final thoughts
It's a good game and it's the second installment of the Prince of Persia series. Rent it to live the moment or buy it if you're fan of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

real nice

posted by dustyddd (EDENTON, NC) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

a real good game you should rent this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW!!

posted by Max443443 (BRIARCLIFF MANOR, NY) Sep 10, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful


I didn't even games this bad were possible to make. Horrifying sound effects. Terrible camera views. Bad controls. Storyline... And just about everything else you need to make a good. You failed this time Ubisoft. I can't understand how you like this game. DO NOT BUY/RENT THIS GAME. WASTE OF YOUR MONEY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER

posted by LordVader (PACOIMA, CA) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This is my favorite non-RTS of all time, I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

9/10

posted by Peanut29 (CENTRAL ISLIP, NY) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within is the second of the trilogy and I absolutely loved this game when it first came out. I still care for it deeply lol. I found this game to be better then the other 2 and is an awesome game. The main character is badder and better then ever and the weapons now are so cool. The mind puzzles and maneuvers for the prince are back and are more challenging which is sweet. Bosses are pretty cool. The storyline is waaay better then the first one, even though I always found it a little awkward like the first for some reason. The sands of time are still cool with their little rewind and slow down stuff. If you get all the secret waterlife things, you can get a alternative ending which is pretty cool. Overall this game is the bomb and i recommend it to anyone who likes a game with challenge. It's way better then the first one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a good game overall

posted by pesiakid (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game is a very good game but is has some problems.The graphics and fighting system are very good along with the story and enviorments.unfotunaley the sound is not very good.the enimies screams are horrible and the god smack song taints the game a bit.a is a very good game overall but the only problem is the sound

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, just not as good as it should have been...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

Let me start out by saying that its a really good game, has something for everyone, and its involved enough where you'll be spending some actual time with it vs beating it in an afternoon and ebaying it the next morning. My only problems with the game are that they made no real improvements in the nearly two years since 'Sands of Time'. The fighting is a bit on the redundant and annoying side, the camera changes while you're in action can drive ya crazy, and there just isn't enough story development to draw you in. I know this is more of a noir chapter in the story, so the "scenes" lack the vibrant nature of 'Sands of Time' so the scenery isn't as spectacular, but that's by design as its a darker episode. Despite it being a lot of the same thing throughout the game, its still a great title, and a great way to tire out your thumbs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »