Rent Prince of Persia: Warrior Within for PS2
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

2157 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Made me miss the Sands of Time

posted by Kashabo (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 12, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To be sure, there are very good things about this game. I love the action interspersed with acrobatic exploration. The controls handle well and are fairly easy to get used to. The camera has a tendency to not cooperate, but this happens rarely. Typically it's over-cooperative, shifting to show you where your next step is.

At several points in the game, you are chased by the Dahaka, a huge dark being that is seemingly obsessed with chasing you down and ending you. I found myself both loving and hating these moments. The Dahaka will jump you and send you running on a path where you have to make split decisions, running and jumping and swinging away as fast as your mind can process the oncoming pitfalls and hurdles. While I dreaded these chases, I also found that they really drew me in to the game, making me think twice about taking that next step, getting my adrenaline going when I did. When a game can elicit that kind of emotion, they've done something right.

As good as this game is, I found myself missing the first game's innocent folk-tale feel. From the first time you turn on Warrior Within, you are hit in the face with the stylistic changes that are obviously geared toward that one demographic. You know the guys I'm talking about. The kind of people that appreciate the Godsmack music, the cold steely atmosphere, enemies that are bloodily decapitated and cut in half as opposed to turning into sand, women in impossible steel thongs, and a much angrier and more aggressive Prince (he growls with every third slash of his sword and swears at said woman in impossible steel thong).

I also wish they would've explained how the Prince can control time without the dagger of time. I believe it has something to do with that amulet lodged in his breastplate, but I don't recall the story behind that thing.

Overall, I enjoyed the game, but not as much as its predecessor. Definitely worth a rent. Probably not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just couldn't get into it......

posted by stdlygy53 (HUTCHINSON, KS) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Man, coming off the first game, just really could not get into this one. I liked the theme of the story and where it was going but the gameplay, it just loses a person. There were parts I got to getting into it and then it just fell off. The biggest part was the two weapon theme, get a second weapon and then it loses it's strength after like 2 maybe 3 good hits???

Not a game to be played right after the 1st one, but maybe it's just me. I really enjoyed the first game. I have to say the 'BEST' thing about the game was the music. But who knows, maybe I will have to give it a second shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

This isn't the game it should have been...

posted by BrokenCage (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The platforming aspect of this game is fun. You can climb and wall run with fluidity. Everything else is a contrived mess of a game that should've never been.

Combat is overly drawn out and unnecessary, with enemies requiring three to four combos, which they often block, to kill. You can use the throw mechanic to toss enemies over a ledge, but then you miss out on a chance to refill one of your sand tanks. It would be nice to simply run by enemy creatures without engaging them, but the Prince's "auto-target" can't be toggled, and running towards a ledge with an enemy nearby will see him quickly turn towards the enemy no matter what direction you're pushing the Left Analog Stick.

The puzzles are often frustrating, not due to challenge, but because they rely on camera limitations to create difficulty. Often you simply won't be able to see the ledge or switch you need to progress further. This is because a tree is in front of the camera, or the camera positions itself where you need to go, literally hiding the ledge or switch behind the camera. Also, the new bleak "gothic" colors cause ledges, ropes, and even traps to blend into the walls moreso than in Sands of Time.

The music only furthers the frustration, as it will play the same looped high-school-garage-band-nu-metal over and over until every enemy in the area is dead. If there's a single enemy five stories worth of platforming up, the music will continue looping until you've platformed those five stories and killed him. He might not know you're there, but the music knows he's there. Just imagine trying to solve a frustrating puzzle with your neighbor's garage band playing the same sloppy power chords over and over again, that's the musical experience of Warrior Within. Some of you might say, "go to the options and turn the music volume to zero," but doing that also mutes the Prince's in game voice overs, which infuriates me further as there's a seperate "Voice Volume" option.

I don't recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game for Deaf Gamers!

posted by DeafGod1 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 19, 2007

Member since May 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I played this game through and through. It is a very good game! The story lines were were super-b! There were some points in the game where I needed help by going to FAQ's of this game but otherwise, it's quite a breeze.

Now, the most important reason why I chose to play this game for my gaming comfort are the subtitles. There's even a "option" to turn on or off the subtitles. The subtitles are played at every cut scene, even the minor dialogues between the characters and others. This is important for a deaf gamer who want to follow the game as closely as they can to play other Prince of Persia.

I am utterly, and baffled as to why they did not place subtitles for Prince of Persia: Sands of Time!!!!

I rate this a 10 for the subtitling of the entire game.

Basically, a 8 for the game play and its effects.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Deserves another thumbs up after First Part!

posted by ScorpioRJ (BETHPAGE, NY) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If any of you had read my preview for Prince of Persia 1, you would know that I am the greatest fan of Prince of Persia ever born on this planet. I was just dying to try out the second part and here it is. No doubt, this game maintained the perfection of the story line as previous. I really want to take the autograph on the golden pallet of a person who wrote the part where Prince see his past and present at the same time. I was feeling as if this is happening to real me, when I saw my past in present, I hope many of you would understand this line once completely done with the game. I didn't like the music of this game because it lost its natural blend of classical indian and arabic music. This one had lot of punk orchestra but that was quite fun, but couldn't built the mood as it was going along the story. Simple great game and I would again recommend you all not only to rent it, but buy it and keep it in a showcase and of course try to play it also. A perfect gift for your friends, please don;t give it to your lovers, it has a story of betrayal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WAY TO HARD!!

posted by BloodRich (SNELLVILLE, GA) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The game was good, but it was way to hard, and it relied mostly on acrobatic moves to get around the game, was way to hard, hard to pick out the ledges, hard to find out where to go, and had to fight enimies that took a million times to fight to beat, just bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

i like cool game

posted by DONTAE18 Feb 28, 2013

that cool game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by musickeller (LORENA, TX) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

it took me three days to beat it it was a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within

posted by haskad7 (NORTH HILLS, CA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It sucks (really that word can't even be used) from a dead camel. The normal difficulty is actually the hard. I usually don't give up so easily but this piece of craptastic game I just couldn't stomach playing for ever at the same glitchy level. Not enough fountains for more life. I'd actually would give a 0 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

it was boring!

posted by Buddah (ORANGE, CA) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

The game wasen't that good!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prince of Persia Warrior Within

posted by itsmemom (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 10, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

As someone who has played this game as a child, I come back to it with the utmost respect to it compared to the newer more high tech releases, as it is one of the best if not best of the Prince series.

The controls are fluid and fast, the acrobatics is always fun, and the concept and story is intriguing and confusing (in a good way). It does stray from the usual fairy tale like story and goes more with the dark cold atmosphere, but having a Dahaka chasing you when you know you cannot remotely touch him is thrilling and running away holds a very suspenseful and satisfyingly scary feeling even when you reach the safe zone, as the dahaka usually stands behind the barrier or water as you go to the next zone. I definitely like this more than saving a princess and such and trying to kill the person who is messing everything up, versus you being the one messing it up, and saving the girl you thought was the cause and wasn't suppose to be saved (if you played the game or hopefully will soon, you will understand this statement).

The graphics are nice and bring life to the atmosphere and the combat is fun and usually the difficulty is decent. This game is by far my top Prince game out of the all the 6 or so that came out because it holds true to it's concept and idea, and the controls, combat, traps, and atmosphere really give life to the game. Plus you get to run fast (if you have played the new "forgotten sands", you would know what i am talking about, jogging toward your escape is not how i would want to do it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fairly easy gameplay

posted by PDawson (FLORISSANT, MO) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

This game is very easy to play, but some levels are challenging. Has good graphics, good storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The series takes a hard left turn!

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Sep 23, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The prince finds himself being hunted by the Dahaka, a physical manifestation of time itself, who seeks to destroy him for meddling with the time line in the last game. The prince journeys to the Island of Time, where the Sands were created, to see about changing his fate and getting the Dahaka off his tail.
This game goes WAY darker than the last one! It's more violent, more sexual, and more frightening. It even has the Prince shouting expletives. Plus, it sports a heavy metal soundtrack courtesy of Godsmack.
The same elements are here; parkour style exploration/puzzle solving, insane combat, and of course, time manipulation. This time, the prince can scavenge fallen weapons. He is pitted against a much more diverse array of enemies which are tougher to beat. There are also chase sequences that has the prince running from the terrifying Dahaka.
I had a lot of problems with this game. First, the combat is more complex and more difficult. This was my favorite feature of the first game, but this time I didn't really enjoy it as much. Second, the developers didn't really address the issues with the graphics. Characters still look poorly rendered when seen close up (though the environments still look great). Third, this game lacks lacks the (for lack of a better word) "charm" that the first one had. The story is interesting, but I couldn't really connect with the characters this time.
For me, this game was more frustrating than fun. It is such a huge deviation from the first that it's like an entirely different game. While I can see how some people could get some enjoyment out of it, it just didn't do it for me. If you played the first one, and you loved it, like I did, you might be somewhat disappointed, or at least a bit surprised. I'm not saying skip it, just saying try before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Slow and clumsy

posted by knifeguy (WINCHESTER, VA) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

The first thing i noticed after a few levels of POP: WW was that the combo system operated very slowly and was clumsily executed. The same goes for the blocking. Fortunately the decapitations and general killing of enemis was filled with awesome blood. Unfortunately, thsi didn't make up for a lousy camera control that made all the acrobatic moves famous with the POP series difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for a lil while.

posted by butterflyf (SARASOTA, FL) Jun 15, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

THIS GAME IS VERY FUN AND AMUSING. IT HAS A KIND OF GOD OF WAR FEEL TO IT. BUT THERE ARE ALOT OF AMAZING MOVES THE GUY HAS. AND TONS OF DIFFERENT WAYS TO KILL THE BAD GUYS. THE STAGES GET TOO PUZZLING TOO EARLY ON. YOU BARELY HAVE TIME TO PRACTICE YOUR MOVES AND ABILITIES BEFORE YOUR DIEING FALLING INTO PITS. TO HELP AID IN THIS YOU DO GET A MAGIC HOURGLASS THAT LETS YOU REWIND TIME AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT. PULLING YOU OUT OF DEEP HOLES AND FROM BEING FACE TO FACE WITH A PIT OF SPIKES. FRUSTRATINGLY ENOUGH IT DOESNT ALLWAYS WORK WHEN YOU WANT IT TO AND YOU FIND YOURSELF PUSHING YOUR L1 BUTTON AND SWEARING UP AND DOWN YOU CAUGHT HIM IN TIME. SO IN CONCLUSION THE GAME IS VERY FUN BUT THERE IS SO MANY TIMES I CAN RUN UP A WALL AND DIVIDE SOMONE IN HALF BEFORE I GET BORED OF IT. WHICH UNFORTUNATLY IS WHAT HAPPENED.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

wouldnt recomend

posted by pleasant (LANSDALE, PA) May 18, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

The combat is frustrating with multiple enemies using unrelenting attacks and switching to block at the earliest sign of attack. The story screams emo as the setting has been changed to dark and all the princes lines have lost all the character that was formed in the first game.
Unfortunately the parkuor sequences do not make up for this as the developers managed to mess even those up. Bad camera angles and dark scenery leaves you wondering where to jump to. Then just to make things worse they add combat to many of the parkuor sequences, making you hit attack at just the right moment or be knocked down to your death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Must Play

posted by Mac6162 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

If you have played Prince of Persia, the sand of time. It is much better, more combos and the prince can do so many stuff. The nice about it that it has a story line, and it consist of two ending depending on you. Yesss, you can choose to have a normal ending or the alternative ending. You visit the same place in the past and present. Although it is same place, but you are going to encounter different things and different environment. It keeps you hooked u believe me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak follow up to a great game

posted by Ftoomsh (COLUMBUS, OH) Jan 23, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

Wacky camera that often changes view mid-jump, causing lots of plunging to an untimely death. Button mashing combat and way too much of it. Bland backgrounds that make it hard to figure out where to go next. A silly, time wasting Game Over screen that I saw way too much of due to the aforementioned untimely deaths. Lots of backtracking over the same locations. I gave up a few hours in because it seemed more like work than fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good! But...baaaad...

posted by lv12lolita (CINCINNATI, OH) Jan 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

Standing as a game alone it's alright and enjoyable, however, as a sequel, it made me want to cry.

The game's major weakness was that the producers were trying so hard to make it more "mature" that they lost some of the most enjoyable qualities of game play. Although the details I'm addressing will seem quite minor, I can assure you as a costume designer, details make the outfit.

The changes that took place in between PoP:SoT and WW, were ultimately hit or miss, either the change helped the game to be better or ruined it for a hardcore SoT fan. The prince became darker, more depressed and, serious. This new attitude was supposed to give him a new air met to be cool and attractive, in mysterious way. But in reality it met doing away with the lighter more human side of the prince we came to love and laugh at in SoT, which had more comedic relief installed throughout your dramatic journey, contrary to WW's constant push of angst. Overall this became depressing and annoying after a while.

To match this new attitude the prince's fighting style became harsher, more well defined and versatile. This was a fabulous addition to the game play value, having more moves and options to explore while fighting made slicing down enemies very enjoyable and fun, in an evil sort of way.

WW's storyline held to be a huge letdown compared to the well developed plot and character connections of SoT. Although WW proved to make many unsuspected twists the whole structure, being episodic yet active at the same time, created a strange loop in time that was far from explained and left the player scratching their head. Also the very climax of the game seemed rushed and underdeveloped, it left some unanswered questions and somehow felt too incomplete.

However I'm happy to admit PoP's finest aspect, acrobatic platforming, with rewind abilities, was kept finely intact and given fun new additions.

Overall, I lived, I played. It was enjoyable, but no match for the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the epidome of coolness

posted by fanofdante (HEMET, CA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

'prince of persia: warrior within' is a really cool game, if you like mazes, youll like this game. thats the base of the game, completing different mazes. you gotta use your brain. and the main character is really cool, looks cool, has a lot of cool moves. cool music too.I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good for 20 minutes or so

posted by angerman (MASON, MI) Jun 7, 2007

Member since May 2007

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within isn't what I would call the greatest game ever. It's what I would call a last resort game, when theres nothing else to rent. Basically the same thing over and over again. Running across walls, avoiding the same deadly traps again and agian. The enemies are way too easy to kill. Graphics are bad, voiceovers are poorly done. This game wasn't even worth taking the energy to even make. Take my word for it, this game blows.
GRAPHICS-3/10
VOICEOVERS-3/10
REPLAY VALUE-2/10
GAMEPLAY-3/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Senseless Hacking, and No Innovation

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

Warrior Within is no Sands of Time. Most seem to agree. But this game does have some strong points.

The good: Level-design is still fantastic (as it was in SoT). Character animations are also still great. It's easy to see how this game influenced games like God of War (in terms of combat animations and mechanics). The environments and backgrounds in this game were beautiful.

The bad: Relentless, uninteresting fighting. Any fool can "button mash." That's just lazy game design. What was so brilliant about Sands of Time was that it forced you to rethink the environments; enemies in that game were a way of breaking up the action. Here, platforming puzzles are secondary to the (lame) fighting. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy hacking through enemies as much as the next guy, but it needs to be done well so that it doesn't become dull and repetitive.

More bad: I was also bothered greatly by having to backtrack a lot in this game. A well-designed game will provide natural "loops" in the progression through levels so that it never seems like you have to go straight back through a level. I spent way too much time travelling back over the same ground in this game for no good reason. Terrible design flaw.

Storyline: The storyline was lame. Not terrible, but just lame. Certain storyline and gameplay elements reminded me of the first Soul Reaver (on PS1), but I won't divulge what those are so as to avoid spoilers. The general progression of the plot, though, was stymied by the ridiculous backtracking (see above).

Overall, the game was worth a single play-through. As with Sands of Time, the difficulty was so-so. The game was a bit longer than it needed to be, mostly because of the senseless backtracking. It's more interesting as merely an example of the genre rather than an innovator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not as good as the first but...

posted by silverorgy (MIDDLETOWN, PA) Nov 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

It is still good. The scenes in this PoP are beautiful. Though, the characters don't seem as...attractive as in the first, they are stillinteresting. They keep your attention.
There are glitches in the game...they made me start over. There is one when the Prince is the wraith at the end and you have to get through the wall before the floor falls...i had to start from the beginning...twice. Very infuriating.
I love this game. The next one is sooooo much better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prince of persia the warrior within

posted by orgnztnXII (STRONGSVILLE, OH) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

Prince of persia warrior within was a very good game. It differs from the first one with the prince's attitude he becomes tougher and the fighting is excellent. More bloodshed and tons of moves. The first boss is actually pretty hard but if you keep your defense up you should be in good shape. The last boss is also a real hard one too but if you find a good strategy and stick with it that should work. For the rating I didn't find many sexual themes maybe a few inappropriate comments here and there and some mild language and of course a lot of violence but other than that I saw no problem with the game. Overall I thought the game was very good if your in the mood for fighting lots of people to some heavy grunge music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it alright

posted by kasper1820 (SANTA MONICA, CA) Sep 27, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

it's a alright game the only hard thing about this game is it's to dark i couldn't see anything that's the only thing that i didn't like

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse