Rent Prince of Persia: Warrior Within for GC
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

557 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very long and good game play

posted by CaBoOsE (LA PUENTE, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This was an excellent game(hence I gave it a 9)and a very long one too(if you don't play it every day). The new traps are excellent and offer more of a challenge than the first one's, and the Dahaka was a nice touch-up too. I will say though. the traps can be very frustrating at times, and may make you want to quit.(I played The 2 Thrones 1st, Sands of Time 2nd, and this one third, so now i have a different view on the game different from most people.=P)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

way difrent from the first

posted by segaowns (LA CANADA FLINTRIDGE, CA) Aug 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

prince of persia warrior whithin was nothing like the first grapichs improved alot good combat letting you do whatever you want and a deeper and darker story then the first game the cutscene grapichs wernt as good as the first one but the bosses are fails one they all hhave one way around them using the sand powers and super jumpy attack so this game for me gets 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bugs Within

posted by Tbal285 (MANDEVILLE, LA) May 27, 2010

Member since May 2010

I decided to pick up this game after I was going thru playing my old games and beat PoP sands of time. Although the actual gameplay was good, I was really disappointed in the story. THe prince changed from a unique and funny character to a the generic angry action hero.
I could of lived with this and given it a higher score if it weren't for the bugs. There were tons of minor glitches but then I got a bug that wouldn't let me get to the final boss. And upon some googling I found out its a "fatal" bug and I had to start all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not for the gamecube

posted by zachar (TROY, OH) Sep 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

So my little brother wanted to rent this game and didnt know it was for the playstation aswell so he rented it for the gamecube and we ran it on the nintendo wii. Oh and did you know you must have a GC memory card aswell? A big sigh for nintendo. The graphix are extremely glitchy, the game itself is just blocky sticky and sometimes too glitchy to even play. This game gets a 10/10 for the PS version please don't waste your time on the gamecube version.

Zachary Sweet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Superb sequel

posted by Matt773 (ARLINGTON, VA) Dec 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Overall a superb sequel to a fantastic precursor. As noted elsewhere the prince is less likable, and both the fights and the female characters' outfits have moved into the Mature segment, but Warrior Within offers the same exceptional adventuring as Sands of Time. Not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within

posted by rpgadam07 (GREENVILLE, SC) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game was full of action. I like the first one better, but this is still a great game. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could be better.

posted by millas14 (ELK GROVE, CA) Oct 13, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

The game was fun, but could've been a little less gory. The fighting style has been improved since SoT, and you don't need to stab the creatures to kill them anymore, just hack away =P. Overall, this is a 9/10 in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7 out of 10

posted by download92 (ELMENDORF, TX) May 24, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

IT was a good game solid story but could have moor bosses and weapons. i give it a 7.

Could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bloody, Bloody FUN!

posted by wraith (HUNTINGTON, WV) May 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

When I played this game, I thought it would be more sand then blood, but I was wrong... this is prety good. They have somthing called 'Free-Form Fighting System' a kind of thing put into the game that allows you to do things like: severe limbs, slice same-sized foes in half, break there necks till ther'e near death then take there weapons and stab em' through with both your sword and the weapon you took and use the classic moves like jump over a foes head and slice downward while landing! However, you don't have the dagger of time, you can kill just fine sence the foes you'll be facing will be sand and blood like: the Raider, Crow Master, Blade Dancer and giant creatures like Brute. Also, there are two foes that are equil to your skills in every way! Hard? I'll let you deside. Oh! One more thing, don't atempt to fight the Dahaka, I tryed and it's imposible. Good luck!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Senseless Hacking, and No Innovation

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Warrior Within is no Sands of Time. Most seem to agree. But this game does have some strong points.

The good: Level-design is still fantastic (as it was in SoT). Character animations are also still great. It's easy to see how this game influenced games like God of War (in terms of combat animations and mechanics). The environments and backgrounds in this game were beautiful.

The bad: Relentless, uninteresting fighting. Any fool can "button mash." That's just lazy game design. What was so brilliant about Sands of Time was that it forced you to rethink the environments; enemies in that game were a way of breaking up the action. Here, platforming puzzles are secondary to the (lame) fighting. Don't get me wrong, I enjoy hacking through enemies as much as the next guy, but it needs to be done well so that it doesn't become dull and repetitive.

More bad: I was also bothered greatly by having to backtrack a lot in this game. A well-designed game will provide natural "loops" in the progression through levels so that it never seems like you have to go straight back through a level. I spent way too much time travelling back over the same ground in this game for no good reason. Terrible design flaw.

Storyline: The storyline was lame. Not terrible, but just lame. Certain storyline and gameplay elements reminded me of the first Soul Reaver (on PS1), but I won't divulge what those are so as to avoid spoilers. The general progression of the plot, though, was stymied by the ridiculous backtracking (see above).

Overall, the game was worth a single play-through. As with Sands of Time, the difficulty was so-so. The game was a bit longer than it needed to be, mostly because of the senseless backtracking. It's more interesting as merely an example of the genre rather than an innovator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

platformers are stupid

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Feb 11, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

I can't past the 2 level and jumping around like A re-ta-rd is redicoles

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome

posted by Krouser (EDINBURG, TX) Jun 30, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

this game has everything the first one did and more i especially loved the free form fighting the weapons and the bosses the graphics are awesome and so is the environment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good overall, but not great

posted by lordbaer (STRONGSVILLE, OH) Jun 1, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

I think this is a fun, long lasting game, however, I think there are some issues with it that make it only good, instead of great. First, the camera angle switching in the middle of a movement could be better. I also think the controls are a bit lacking, in that the prince doesn't always go the direction you are pushing. Gets very frustrating at times. Some camera angles don't allow you to see the enemy (such as while wall running). Other than these glitches, the game has a good story, good music, and is ultimately fun, so I would recommend a playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Prince of Persia is back!

posted by Bandit (BILOXI, MS) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

I loved this game. It has everything that the first one did. Now the combat is even better. There are many combos, even more athletic abilities and sand attacks. In this game the Prince is darker. To bad there is no one to help him like the first one. The game is beautiful! You can use secondary weaponds. It also has a good story too. The only real probles is there is no 2 player modes, it can be hard to find the next area, and you have to redo some areas. Even with all those probles it is my favoret game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »