Rent Prince of Persia Trilogy HD for PS3
view large frontback

Prince of Persia Trilogy HD

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

1041 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3 in 1 disc for the best complete experience

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Feb 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Sands of Time, Warrior Within, and The Two Thrones are all of the best Prince of Persia games during the PS2 and Original Xbox era. Releasing all 3 in one disc and even in HD plus each having trophy support is great. I would love to relive the moments in Sands of Time and The Two Thrones. I didn't like Warrior Within that much but it was a great run and would like to do another one.

I'm pretty sure anyone who is a fan of the Prince of Persia games love the original three more as I do. I'd own a copy myself but there are other games out there that giving me more attention. However, this is one HD collection I would own for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prince of persia- storyline superb!

posted by DevinR (EFFINGHAM, IL) Apr 30, 2011

Member since May 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

THE SANDS OF TIME,- Between puzzle,action, and platformer, it's a fairly balanced game. The combat system is pretty repetitive but adding in the evasive attacks makes up for it. The game has a great storyline (One of the bests in my opinion.) All in all a must play game!

WARRIOR WITHIN,- In this game I feel they went they wrong direction. First of all; the prince has a new voice actor that seems oddly out of place, the game is pretty repetitive, and you will find your self going through the same areas over and over again. Also the game is one whole map, (which makes it very easy to get lost or you have no idea of where to go at all.) However they did dramatically change the fighting (for the better) They also added in boss battles. Normal difficulty is very hard. Easy would probably be about a normal difficulty.
In my opinion the thing that makes up for the cons is the storyline.If you can manage to get through the loops through out the game, the storyline would make it worth your while.

TWO THRONES,- The game goes back to the feel of The Sands of Time but has a lot more added to it The puzzles in this game will either be fairly easy or may have you stumped for quite a while. Basically they learned from their mistakes. They took the balance Sands of Time and added All the pros from Warrior Within (with a bunch of new features). Another great storyline.
All in all a great series!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Very lazy ports

posted by schweinhundert (TUCKER, GA) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This Trilogy is a terrible collection of a good set of games. It's a shameful money-grab by Ubisoft. The original trilogy on Gamecube was 1. excellent for the Sands of Time, 2. quite good for the Warrior Within, and 3. decent for Two Thrones. These ports are actually worse than any of those games.

Sands of Time was a revelation when it came out. This version is passable, with a few major complaints. The dialog is frequently inaudible, as it seems to be based on where the camera is relative to the character speaking. In cutscenes, you have no control over this, and you will have no choice but to turn on the subtitles. The pre-rendered scenes have not been re-rendered, but just cropped to fit 16x9. They also turned off anti-aliasing while not updating character models at all, which means that there are polygons that come together in ways that would not be acceptable in any generation since the N64.

However, the Warrior Within port is even worse. That game was plenty glitchy as it was on the Gamecube (and, in fact, had a bug that made it impossible to complete under certain conditions), but this takes it to a new level. Enemies that are tossed near a wall simply clip through it and disappear. Reversing time often doesn't reverse environmental elements, such as falling bridges (this is true of the original as well). I reached one part of the game where a major enemy was invulnerable (meaning that attacks simply clipped through the model), making it unkillable. This game was not play-tested at all. And speaking of laziness, the pre-rendered scenes from the original aren't even cropped in this one! Ubisoft just stretched them horizontally to fit the screen. Really awful.

I gave up before getting to Two Thrones. If you want to play these games, I recommend the Gamecube versions on a Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worst Camera Angles of All Time Award

posted by gamewizone (LEOLA, PA) May 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

All three games have TERRIBLE camera angles throughout. All 3 games also lack savepoints after intense climbing/battle expeditions throughout. If these 2 elements existed all 3 games would be an 8 roughly. See for yourself if you must but it is not even bearable on normal mode and a 6 is more than a generous rating given only because I am a fanatic of the Assassin's creed series and love the free running element which is ultimately why I wasted my time on this pathetic disappointment. Still got nothin but love for Ubisoft though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GLITCHED

posted by Soupmania (SPRING HILL, TN) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I played all 3 games when they were released........great games.......this collection freezes...........stay away and get the games seperate if you can

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is a great HD Remake.

posted by SonicHeadK240 (WATERVLIET, NY) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

I played an early release version and it was great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only Good for Nostalgia

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) May 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Overview
===================
For someone who loved the original versions of these games I'm sure this is a supurb package. However, if you comare these updated games to the games of today they are lacking. In the words of my wife they felt hokey.

Pros
===================
1) updated visuals
2) platform elements (if you like games like tomb raider, uncharted)

Cons
===================
1) bad camera angles
2) controls not crisp
3) even though updated....way out of date

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Has not aged well, is being polite.

posted by BISON604 (ROCHESTER, MN) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2010

I never a single entry in this series, decided to give this a try. It is classic PS2 3D plat-former, the camera because your worst enemy, hit detection is awful..if you choose to fight. I found it easier to run past enemies and hard core park-our my way to a safe spot. I'm 31 years old and grew up on Atari 2600/NES/SNES/Genesis in Elementary, PS1/N64in middleschool/highschool and PS2/Xbox/Gamecube in college. So, it is not just me being jaded b/c all I have played is xbox360 and ps3 my entire life. Nostolgic for some, quintessential PS2 platform camera frustration for the rest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eh.

posted by Roariken (MILLERSBURG, OH) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I lost interest halfway through Warrior Within.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A great product, but with some minor issues

posted by Archistratege (FAIRMONT, MN) Jun 18, 2012

Member since May 2012

For all intents and purposes, this is a wonderful idea, having all three games together on one disc for the PS3. My only issue would be the sound effects. I'm not sure if the flaw was in transferring the games onto a single disc or in the process of reformatting them for use with the PS3, but in my copy of the game, I would have strange echos of sounds or sound effects where there should be no reason for the sound to occur, such as sounds of water splashing where there is no reason for the water to be splashing, etc.

Concept of 3 games in 1: 10/10
Sound design/mixing in rendering for PS3 use: 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

AWFUL

posted by lilneup3 (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

When I got this collections, I've heard some really good things about this series and I also really liked the movie that was based off the first one.

Well, ITS HORRIBLE. The graphics are unbearably awful (which I heard were good), and it doesn't matter what time period you play it... The artwork is not good.

I just recently played the Jak Collection, and it puts this collection to shame (which came out at very simular times)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was alright

posted by x9ZachAttack5x (FRANKLIN, TN) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

I could only bring my self to play prince of persia the sands of time because the othere were really boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

3 in 1 a good deal?

posted by slackage (LICKING, MO) Mar 15, 2012

Member since May 2011

My 1st time playing the series. Kinda reminds me of an Uncharted type of game play (minus the guns). Kill a little bit, figure out how to get out of a room, kill a little bit more...
It was probably cool back in the day, but i didn't much care for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lazy HD Updates of 3 Classics

posted by VincentX (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

First off I'll say this: these three games are still fun, especially Sands of Time. Nothing really compares with the platforming and puzzle solving of the PS2/Xbox/GC Prince of Persia Trilogy.

That being said...these are extremely lazy ports of all three games. It feels as if Ubisoft just forced all three into HD and increased the volume of the sound without testing to see what would happen.

While the graphics have seen better days, they're still passable and get better with each game. Still, it would've been preferable if they had gone the route that Konami did with the Metal Gear Solid Collection and optimized the games for HD.
Another issue are the pre-rendered cutscenes in Sands of Time: they are horribly compressed and are covered with a weird distortion and grain. It feels like I'm watching these on a Sega Saturn as that system had the same issues with FMVs.

My major problem with this collection is the sound, it's outright terrible. Now the voice acting and music are still good, that's not what I'm talking about, I'm talking about the audio quality as a whole. Every single sound effect and voice track that occurs gameplay has this horrible re-verb to it that makes the game painful to listen to.
Now by re-verb I mean that it sounds like the audio was recorded in a bathroom stall without any post-production to fix it. I will admit that's probably an issue with the originals but I'm betting that some work was done to mask this problem. However here, with HD Sound it just sound awful and most of the audio is masked by the re-verb.

Overall I would only recommend this collection as a last resort. If you have a GC (or a Wii since it plays GC games), PS2 or Original XBox, just get the original versions, you'll be much happier.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but riddled with glitches

posted by jakerasch (SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ) Feb 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Each port is barely different than the original games. This means that the games provide great story and hours of gameplay, but also, the glitches and freezing problems from the originals have been carried over as well. The ports have HD graphics, not much of a difference from the original games, but they are still nice to look at. The only major downfall is the frequent freezing that has been happening since Sands of Time back in '03. You would think since the PS3 is obviously a way more powerful system than it's predecessor, that it could easily handle the games. This is not the case though, as the game-play, and cut-scenes especially, are almost always hindered by audio or video lag. All in all, if you enjoyed the original games, then you're guaranteed to like this trilogy.

Oh, and the inclusion of trophy support for each individual game is nice, though they aren't much of a challenge to obtain. That means there's a fairly easy chance to snag 3 platinum trophies, and astonish all of your fellow gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lazy Ports, Dated Gameplay.

posted by HYRUL3 (NASHUA, NH) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

I'd never played the PoP games prior to renting the trilogy. This is the first game from GameFly I've sent back before completion.

I just could not get in to it. For one, the gameplay, camera angles, and voice acting are incredibly dated. Maybe I've been spoiled by modern conventions but I just could not play through these games.

Switched from Sands of Time to Warrior Within only to hear metal music and an angsty hero with a bloody main menu. Lost all interest.

On top of all of this, there has been no HD remaking of any of this. See Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary for a TRUE HD remake. These are just cheap ports. The God of War Collection was a better HD remake than this, and that says a lot.

It was not an awful game. Just not my cup of tea I guess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the glitchiest mess i have ever played

posted by mmantight (ATLANTA, GA) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Foolish of me to think that a current gen port of a last gen game would have some improvements in the graphics and gameplay department. it is as if they took a ps2 disc and stuck it in a ps3 case. in the sands of time, the prince completely became invisible for a good portion of the game, and when he did reappear he ghosted through a wall and i died. i didnt even replay the subpar Warrior Within cux i didnt like it the first time around. i went to my fave game The Two thrones, hoping for a reprieve from the glitches and terrible graphics that plagued me...but alas.. it was not to be. needless to say i have plopped that game right back in the mailbox...Mr. Mailman, take it away and bring me a dream game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by mattm18 (BILLERICA, MA) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

this game is unplayable. terrible camera angles, dated gameplay, and an overall dark experience (literally there was no option to turn up the brightness) destroys this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

_Could_ be a diamond in the rough. _IF_ fixed.

posted by Seisen (Mesa, AZ) Dec 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Most of us who played the original Prince of Persia, I'm talking with the little pixilated prince with the turban, or the blonde guy in the white jumpsuit, were estatic when Sands of Time came out. And indeed, for the time it was a great game. The game play has gone on to influence titles like Uncharted and others, where the environment itself can be your worst enemy. While all those things still hold true in this collection of games, there are some huge, glaring problems that you think would have been addressed before they shipped them out. One of the main problems is with the sound. During cut-scenes, you will need to turn up the TV to hear them otherwise you can miss important plot information. You'll need to put on subtitles. Another problem, not so much with Sands of Time but with the others, is the clipping of the enemies. Clipping means that walls and solid objects should stop solid enemies from going through them, but it doesn't seem to work that way all the time. It's like all the enemies managed to get their IDCLIP on. However, a patch by Ubisoft would probably be able to fix these things should they want to keep their customers happy. They already have the money, so I doubt they'll actually do anything about it unfortunately. The camera angles are just part of the Prince of Persia games. Some really are awful and can completely change your direction of travel when they turn, flipping you around and making you run in the opposite direction which once more reverses the camera angle, only to send you back the other way which AGAIN reverses the angle, leaving you in a loop unless you inch forward, wait for the camera change, and then resume your progress. Those times are when you really need to use the alternate view. Nothing can really be done about these, but just using alternate view should get you by. Again, if Ubisoft would like to have happy customers, it'll fix some of these issues, but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

trash!!!!

posted by laughingman720 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Another piece of trash from ubisoft. same idea as assassin creed (that game was lame too) but bad camera views, which made the game more confusing to figure out where to go next, character voice was lame and annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Prince of Persia Trilogy

posted by sovereignslink (TRAVERSE CITY, MI) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The overall quality of all three games is great. Sound was above normal and crisp, graphics was still a little choppy like the PS2 version but manageable, and the gameplay handled up to par. Being that I never played Prince of Persia I had how I died simply from jumping so many times it made me hate the game, but wanted to finish just being of the good story. The story is what I believe makes this game playable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Felt great replaying it.

posted by Geabrey (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

Sands Of Time was gold, brought me to when it first came out. Looked great and felt smooth, Audio could have been better rendered for all three though.

I was not a big fan of Worrier Within, it just did not feel like it belonged, but if you want the full story you must get through it.

Now All three I played on there original release, but the one that stayed with me all these years was The Two thrones. The re-master still had the same bugs and glitches as the Original but I do not play the calabs for re-mastering, I do so for the replay value and Trophies.

All-in-All if you are a Prince Of Persia fan it is a must rent, and if you are a hardcore fan a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

the little mess-ups add up

posted by gamerkat180_ps3 (BALTIMORE, MD) Oct 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

I personaly xpected better 4 these games not worse.I have played 2 of these games on the P.of.P. trilo-g on the origenal ps2 platform and they were better then. It was the little things that got to me like the pauses between cutscenes that weren't there in the ps2 verson and the cutscenes lowering in volume so that u have to turn uo yuor tv to hear them. The story in these game are as importent as the game play them selves, on ps2 it was so smooth going from game play to cutscene and its not in the ps3. As 4 the game play i had timing trouble when navigating traps that led to meny deaths. It might be the game or the controler but ill blame the game. I expected ubisoft to have done this better because these PS2 classics did NOT get the replay they deserved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing was changed

posted by Undeadkev (SHASTA LAKE, CA) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

When I was nothing changed I mean it. the graphics are the same, the controls are the same, and of course the story line is the same. I feel I can only give this game a 5 because even though I love the Prince of Persia games there wasn't an "HD" effect to the game. But if you liked the three and want to replay them, this is a great way to do so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont do it

posted by NJR1 (SEATTLE, WA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The finish of the graphics is smother but everthing is still blocky. I almost feel like it was a downgrade from the original. The sound is horrible all the effecs ecco like its just some random guy in an empty room. Couldnt waist my time, sent it back the same day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse