Rent Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time for Xbox
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, GBA, GC

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

1978 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Way ahead of its time...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Until now I had never played a PoP title, but always heard and read good things, now I see why. Although the fighting is a little monotonous, the scenery, the graphics, and the story more than make up for it. This is a prime example on how a game should be. For $50 you shouldn't be shelving a game as a "been there done that" the next morning. You should be able to get a little time out of it, and this title is just that. Its got a little bit of everything that makes a fun game, easily one can see why it has spurned the sequels which I will add to my Q soon enough. You won't be disappointed, and maybe even pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game. No complaints

posted by djcyclone (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have finally gotten around to playing this game. This game is fantastic and true to the franchise. It has plenty of acrobatics and puzzle solving. It also has some challenging fight scenes as well. I can now officially say that the movie based on this game made by Disney is total bull. They have warped the plot line in that movie beyond belief. On another note, if you are a fan of the franchise PLAY IT!!!! If you want to start getting your feet wet into this franchise, play this game. You also get the original Prince of Persia when you beat this story line. So its 2 games for the price of 1. Must rent and a great keeper!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better than average platformer

posted by Dewwar (BELLEVUE, WA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, but I didn't love it.

On the minus side, weak combat and storyline, a few annoying puzzles, occasional camera problems, and the boss of the game was a total let down.

On the plus side, mostly fun puzzles and about the best acrobatics system on a modern game. The easy game play and the cool stuff the prince can do makes you look like a gamer ace. Before long you'll be doing flips, jumps, and dodges all wonderfully fluid. The animations look nice and smooth, and it's overall a very pretty game.

Don't rent it for the combat, rent it for the flips.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This game was okay and this is what I mean by that

posted by IamMan (MOSES LAKE, WA) Aug 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game starts at pretty good, Feels like an extremly good game but once you get past the first few levels you realize your doing the exact same thing over and OVER. Some times the game is extremly hard and has a lot of glitches the game has a good Reputation it doesn't deserve. The game is good for about a hour but by any means don't buy it. Its a good platformer though. Though NOT A GOOD STORYLINE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice

posted by TRE009 (ELK GROVE, CA) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game, especially the tricks you can do in this game for example climbing up the walls, doing back flips and freezing or reversing time. Reminds me of Tomb Raider except no guns just a sword and a powerful shank.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

7/10

posted by Peanut29 (CENTRAL ISLIP, NY) Aug 28, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I am a huge fan of the Prince of Persia series. Although this is the first of the trilogy i didn't care for it as much as the other two. Storyline is good but is just a little awkward. The main character is awesome though. The fact of the Sands of Time is really cool, using it to rewind time and such. I like the fact that there are puzzles and such to make you think a little. They can be annoying at times. This game is very good though and I found it to be quiet fun. Although the other 2 are waaay better. I own all three of them but find the Warrior Within (the second game) to be the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good idea.... Not so fun to play

posted by Camandlay (LINCOLN, NE) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Prince of Persia is confusing and Saves are too far from each other. The idea of a dagger that can turn back and slowdown time is a great one though. Thank you for tuning in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Hard

posted by brockharri (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jan 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

Spent 35 minutes trying to jump up two walls. There was some combination of buttons to press but god knows what they were.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Dec 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

I wanted so badly to like this game, but the gameplay just killed it for me. For it's time the graphics and character animations were pretty amazing.

Here's what killed it for me. First off this guy is super acrobatic, yet there's little ledges he can't just simply jump on? Secondly and this is huge is the camera. It's worse than spiderman indoors. Why do they insight on having you walk blindly? Especially when you need to jump on a wall with a spinning blade on a timer? Sure they've got creative ways to adjust it, but it doesn't stick.

Lastly the combat is really button mashing and at some points it gets really old because they just keep re-spawning and you have no sense of accomplishment and it's really hard to be good.

So many people like this game and the developer is talented, but if I was sitting in the testing room this one wouldn't have hit the shelves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A bit short and dated, but still a fun diversion

posted by MDBluesfan (MANCHESTER, MD) Oct 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

In the interest of full disclosure, I should mention that I rented this game immediately after Ninja Gaiden Black, which is a tough act to follow for any game, let alone a game that prides itself on its acrobatic combat.

As a result, the combat and acrobatics felt rather restrictive and controlled, far removed from the free-form options of the action genre's standard bearer.

But comparing this game to the much newer NGB is unfair and skews the impressions of what is actually a solid, if a bit dated, action game.

The story is a bit shallow but drives the action well enough, and I found myself more interested in the outcome than I expected.

The action itself is, of course, the meat of the game, and while the style and mechanics have been duplicated an improved upon by newer games, it's still fun to pull off elaborate wall attacks or to run along the wall and them transition into a series of flips or jumps.

The combat, as mentioned elsewhere, gets a bit redundant. This is largely due to the limited number of moves/animations, and almost every fight plays out exactly the same as the one before it. The variety of enemies isn't very large, and while a few of them require you to change your tactics a bit, for the most part the same moves will get you all the way through the game (including the VERY limited number of bosses).

The thing that sets the game apart is the Sands of Time feature. It's a creative game play mechanic that, at it's best, allows you to erase silly errors that would otherwise frustrate you by forcing you to retry a particularly challenging bit. At it's worst, however, the ability to rewind time makes the game far too easy. Miss a jump? Rewind and try again. Time an attack wrong and lose the last of your health? Rewind the battle a bit and block the fatal blow. Your ability to use the feature is limited, but the limit is large and very easy to replenish.

In all, the game feels its age but still remains a fun way to kill 10 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A swing an a miss

posted by insanty101 (DAYTON, NJ) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This is a game with little fighting it's mostly maneuvering. it's kind of like splinter cell but bad. they should have concentrated on the combat because that's the only time the game is good anyways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the force is in this one

posted by snakeeyes (ANTHONY, FL) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

i liked this game a lot i dont know it was also my first xbox game,but i would have to say that theres not that much thats good about this game

the graphics werent that bad for when this game was released.and the fighting was a little repetitive.but i tried the game out on hard and it was really easy to look past doing the same move over and over.

i thought the story line was pretty interesting i mean at first i didnt get it but i got it the second time around.and you cant get tired of running on the walls.most of the puzzles are sort of easy but thats how i like it

this game is definitly a renter or if you want to get all 3 its a buyer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nice platform

posted by 082490 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

This game was really cool when it comes to platforms, but the fighting in the game was repetitive and frustrating. Some of the puzzles were easy to figure out but it's always fun to watch people run on walls. Another bad thing is that it was really short and also there weren't many boss fights. The storyline was great and I'm looking forward to playing the sequels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I like this game

posted by awesome (EDMOND, OK) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

This game is awesome, when you make a mistake you can just rewind and there you go, I like the characters in the game also, they are easy and some are hard but in the end you beat them all up. I would recommend it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »