Rent Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time for PS2
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, GC, GBA

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

2133 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A short but memorable adventure

posted by edgevolt (APTOS, CA) May 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

In a time of clones and cheap imitations, "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time" stands out as a breath of fresh air among the gaming community. While it`s been heavily criticized for being so short, the title achieves new ground with innovative gameplay, an intriguing story, superb graphics, and intuitive controls. It`s clear that ubisoft took the time to polish the finer details. If you`re expecting a long epic, you`ll be a bit disappointed. Otherwise, you`re in for one heck of an adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rip-Roaring Good Time

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Feb 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is non-stop fun. Every puzzle, sequence, and area is chock-full of action. Level-design and character animations deserve serious, serious recognition and acknowledgment.

Since this game's been out for a while (over three years now), it's easy to point out its enormous influence (God of War, in particular). No other game, though, can match this game's dizzying sense of acrobatics. Climbing walls, flipping over chasms, diving through crevices; its all in the name of high adventure. The combination of innovative character movements and thoughtful level-design forces you to rethink every new environment. Every area offers its own uniquely challenging puzzle.

The sense of atmosphere is also top-notch. Good music. Nice, simple storyline. Moody color-palette and environmental effects.

The game's not too easy, but it's also not too difficult. It should take 6-8 hrs to beat. Since the game's relatively short and incredibly entertaining, I've played through it many times and still enjoy it. Absolutely not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great prince of persia

posted by splintcell (LOOKOUT MOUNTAIN, GA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the first level is fun, but when u get the dagger of time it gets better, and a little harder. a really fun thing is the stunts u can do, running on walls, swinging on poles, stuff like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game

posted by BornGamer7 (UMATILLA, FL) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is great one of the best i have played in a long time.
1. it has good graphics
2. the game runs smoothly with little tweaks
3. Good moves
4. great storyline
5. starts out easy and becomes harder
6. not bad characters
7. it pulls you in
8. keeps you going
9. better then most games
10. id give it a 5 out 5
one of the greatest games of the year!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Game!

posted by ScorpioRJ (KEW GARDENS, NY) Apr 25, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never thought that I will see any game that would be liked so much. This game is just the best. I play this game right from starting until the end almost every month. The story line is simply the best and I really hope some great director like Steven Speilberg may make a movie based on this story. The actions are one of its kind. Usually a game with multiple action styles are hard to learn or use, but this game's action controls are so easy. While playing, you would literally use your instinct to find out which action is good for particular situations and you can easily use them. The music is also great. I like the music that they play once the game ends. Trust me for once, this is a game which you must not only rent, but buy it and even gift it to your boy friend or girl friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Zappynme (HAMBURG, NY) Apr 17, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This games controls are laid out perfectly, it just flows perfectly. The games graphics are also very well done, very few graphical bugs. The story actually makes sense as well, it's solid enough that you can get consumed in it and want to keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Sands Of Time

posted by sharksfan (MONTEREY, CA) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I thought this game ran really slow. I couldn't get into the story and the way the camera view changed when you were about to fight someone got tiresome. I wanted to take a break from playing FF type RPGs and shooters but I guess those are just more my type. If you play those type of games, stick with them. I don't think this is something you'd like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by SprMonkeMan (WAYNESVILLE, MO) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is awesome. The controls are a little difficult sometimes just like Assassins Creed, but the game story line trumps over that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prince of Persia-The Sands of Time

posted by rasnastus (OAKVILLE, WA) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

This is a most exilent game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucks

posted by yoda50 (OXFORD, CT) Jul 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

this game sucks badly and i want my money back!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The clock tower

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

If your reading this and you havent played the game thats fine. Play it get to the clock tower and tell me how long it took to complete. Talk about using your environment to get around jeez. Great mechanics lets face it this game most likly brought a whole new way to how you play games. Pushing the envelope with the dynamics of what a person can do and can't do. Using the sands to reverse time or speed it up its just necessary to survival in this game. You have to do things more than once just to see if you can. I always thought thats what made prince of persia titles so great. Wonderful graphics, and a story that still is unrivaled today. A good buy or rent for anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DO NOT GET GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by chaosany1 (COLUMBIA, MD) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

DO NOT GET GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HORRIBLE STORY BAD GRAPHICS ...............JUST DO NOT GET GAME DO NOT RENT GAME IF YOU HAVE IT BREAK IT TO LITTLE PEICES AND SEND EACH TO DIFFERANT COUNTRES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!hopes this heLPS!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of my all time favorites!

posted by dannap (REDDING, CA) Sep 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

The first of the Sands of time trilogy, and in my opinion, the best!
You play as the Prince, who has been tricked into releasing the sands of time by an evil vizier. Now, he must use the fabled dagger of time to "undo what he has done".
This game is just awesome! It looks great, plays great, and even sounds great! It is based largely on puzzle solving and combat. The prince traverses a ravaged palace by overcoming various obstacles and deadly traps. The prince is acrobatic on a near super human level, allowing him to jump great distances and run across walls. This parkour style gameplay comes into play during combat as well. The prince is able to take on hordes of enemies at a single time, and pull off some insane moves (i.e. launching off of walls, vaulting over enemies, etc.)
The games biggest hook is the dagger of time, which allows players to willfully manipulate time. While this feature is limited to reversing single mistakes at a time, or giving the player an edge in combat, it's still pretty cool.
The down side is that it's much too short. Plus, the ending is kind of anti-climactic. The only boss fight is the one at the end, and it's not very exciting, which left me slightly dissapointed. Another flaw is that there are a few instances the graphics seem shoddy, particularly during in-game cut scenes. But even if the characters don't always look so great, the environments look spectacular. This, combined with the well scripted characters, engaging story, and incredible gameplay allow the player to overlook these faults and really connect with the game. It's a fun time, and it's one not to pass up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by BestJaxx (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

Prince of Persia is one of those games that some people will hate while others will have a functioning brain and realize that fight mechanics are not the number one priority. The thing about Sands of Time is that the story is told so beautifully and the characters (despite there only really being two) are so deep that not playing it is almost a federal offense.

The only serious problems (and possibly the only problems at all) with Prince of Persia are that the fighting is mediocre at best and the acrobatic mechanics may get old for some gamers, but if you can't get over that then you can go sit at the kids table because the adults don't want you poking around in their business.

Sands of Time shows us that video games truly have the potential to be just as artful a media as movies/books/etc and that developers just need to start making them, however they won't do it if you keep buying the unoriginal games that get released every other week. Support the companies that make original games, because the only incentive for a developer to make a good game is if the consumer will buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

posted by MikLitorus (NEW ALBANY, IN) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Nice looking game, with some decent play. My rating would be much higher if not for the fact that some of the acrobatic feats required to advance in the game (such as bouncing from wall-to-wall) can be extraordinarily difficult to pull off, & thus a frustrating waste of time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

sands of time good or bad?

posted by doctercool (Hialeah, FL) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Ok i have jest started prince of persa and i think it great how bout u hmmmm?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One of the worst games i've ever played!

posted by treyman287 (FRANKLIN, TN) Jun 14, 2008

Member since May 2008

I recommend not to rent this game. it sucks because he dies if he jumps off a block, farah kills me by shooting me with arrows,and the combat is boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow!!! this is one heck of a game!

posted by supadupa (OAKLAND, CA) Jan 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

PoP sands of time was a really impressive game! Its actually really special because it started it all! so it had to be good. The game has a interesting story line too.

For anyone who hasn't played it i would like you to try it out and see if you liked it as much as i did
thanks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

So fun it's out of this world and its addicting!!

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Oct 28, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game's story line is awesome and addicting. The graphics are sub-par and the controls are kind of weird at first but they tell you what to do so you get the hang of it quick. but other then that its flat out of this world fun. But don't take my word for it rent it and find out for yourself.

Game on Gamers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prince of Persia

posted by LPEC10oo10 (TAMPA, FL) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Prince of Persia: the sands of time is one of.... who am i kidding! it is the best game iv ever played(next to oblivion, u cant beat that). I Bout it 3 years ago and lost it, then i got it on gamefly, so i knew what i was expecting!

Pros; music, long, many actions, tutorial, plot, weapon, the ability to re-wind, slow down, and stop time.

Cons' It has a wired camera thing... it always seems to go to what is the "best" point to play from witch is NOT always a good place, and it seems they didn't work out all the bugs because in one level the cam in inside a wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great gameplay, better than average story.

posted by Balthier21 (LANSING, MI) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

Tons of sword slinging and jumping from wall to wall action make this game a blast to play. The story is well paced and intriguing, even funny at times but nothing too deep. Relatively short and simple to play make this a great weekend challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PRINCE OF PERSIA:THE SANDS OF TIME

posted by gamepro (ORLANDO, FL) May 3, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

this game was very fun. i like the ability to run along walls and slow time down. But the sword play was a little boring, the graphics are nice, not the best, but nice. i like the little puzzles you have to figure out too. this game was fun i highly recommend it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by stinkbert9 (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

this game rocksssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssssssssss- sssssssssssssssssss

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by HigginUSER (HAMPDEN, ME) Aug 17, 2006

Member since May 2006

Parts of the game were hard but it was a lot of fun i enjoyed it a lot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New addiction!

posted by sabbasti (BREMERTON, WA) Aug 16, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

As a rule, I start a game series with the first game. That way, I can get involved in the storyline. Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time blew me away.

The animations were smooth, the gameplay was straightforward and dynamic, and they chose excellent voice actors.

This is very much a puzzle game, so it won't be for everybody. There is a lot of block-pulling, switch-flipping, and wall-breaking. But it is always worth the next step in the story.

It is also a very linear game. You have one goal, one objective, and no real options to do anything but achieve whatever goal you have next.

It's also very hack-and-slash in terms of combat. The combat system is what really wins me over with this game - you fight the sand beasts, and you don't jest block, stab, block, slash, block... well, you get the idea. In this game, you have a wide variety of dodges, feints, attacks, and an archer on your team to boot. How can you lose? ... Oh right. She can hit you, too. Fun!

The music is fantastic. Even the ending credits have a stirring tune that sucks you in. The battle music is appropriately thrilling without being overbearing.

The cinematics are well-executed and smooth, with little or no choppiness, and a sense of reality.

So, if you like puzzles, if you like hack-and-slash, if you like getting hints for what you should be doing next without running to your computer for IGN's next walkthrough, Prince of Persia: Sands of Time is proving to be an opening to a very promising trilogy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse