Rent Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time for GC
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GBA, Xbox
GF Rating
8.5

880 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Oh prince, how we've missed you.

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The prince of persia comes back in this beast of a GC game. Very cool concept and good execution.

Pros:
Time reversal is a very cool idea.
Cool acrobatic moves
Cool acrobatic fighting
Good story and developed characters

Cons:
Too much puzzle/trap/jumpy/flippy stuff, not enough battling
Crows. You'll see.
Battles can become frustrating because if you fall down you're probably not getting back up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rip-Roaring Good Time

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Dec 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is non-stop fun. Every puzzle, sequence, and area is chock-full of action. Level-design and character animations deserve serious, serious recognition and acknowledgment.

Since this game's been out for a while (over three years now), it's easy to point out its enormous influence (God of War, in particular). No other game, though, can match this game's dizzying sense of acrobatics. Climbing walls, flipping over chasms, diving through crevices; its all in the name of high adventure. The combination of innovative character movements and thoughtful level-design forces you to rethink every new environment. Every area offers its own uniquely challenging puzzle.

The sense of atmosphere is also top-notch. Good music. Nice, simple storyline. Moody color-palette and environmental effects.

The game's not too easy, but it's also not too difficult. It should take 6-8 hrs to beat. Since the game's relatively short and incredibly entertaining, I've played through it many times and still enjoy it. Absolutely not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not the original

posted by Arshus1 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

Sands of time. The mechanics of this game are what everyone is copying. Since this title I have noticed more and more games emulating the wall jumping and acrobatic motions. That being said it is the most beautiful title for the GC. The story is intriguing, the gameplay is fun, the sound fx's and music are solid. Understand that the game is mostly a puzzle solver based on your ability to maneuver throughout the game. The fighting is unique and acrobatic, and when use of the sands of time is utilized huh, you control time! This game is definitely not for the faint of heart. I have few titles that I cant figure out the puzzles. Let alone know how to figure out the puzzle just trying to get the character to do what I need to do. All together this game shows off the brilliance of the GC. On a final note. Good luck when you get to the clock tower.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A decent game

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Mar 14, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

The graphics and sound are quite good, as is the Prince's voice acting. The acrobatic gameplay (running along walls, swinging from poles, etc.) is pretty good most of the time, but fights with enemies are often annoying, especially when you end up getting swamped by a whole bunch of goons at once and not even the ability to rewind time can save you. "Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time" isn't perfectly constructed by any means, but it can be a fun adventure for those with a little diligence and patience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best prince of persia ever

posted by backfire (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

i seen and played the other prince games i didnt like like ps3 prince of perisa it was very dumb it was not even the real prince he is some punk prince but this is when prince finds the dagger in time its very long and exciting story line and good contorls great graphics (for the gamecube not ps2) and the best prince of persia i ever played 9 out of 10 u should get this now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A let down for those who have played Two Thrones

posted by Dxbox360 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I rented this game since it was rated higher than the Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones. But clearly, our standards for games have changed over time, because this game feels like a stripped down version of it.

I won't waste your time with long explinations of how this game can be disappointing. Bottom line, Prince of Persia fans will be happier with The Two Thrones version rather than this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Legend of Persia: Timestream Prince

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

I strongly suggest you play this game. It is one of the best games I've played. It's like a (slightly) more realistic Zelda.

Pros
-not combat-centric; lots of acrobatics
-the combat works, though
-good graphics
-extremely fun gameplay
-great story

Cons
-few annoying sound effects

Sands of Time is an awesome game. 9.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game

posted by benboy14 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 5, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

this game is good/okay

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Prince of Persia the Sands of Time

posted by ChristianX (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Jun 19, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

At first i really enjoyed this game but, once i reached the halfway point(in about 4 hours of gameplay) it just became really old. The sound effects were much louder than a characters dialogue, which caused me to miss most of what the characters were saying. The puzzles, while at first were challenging and fun, became very repetitive. I had unlocked all of the time powers in about two hours. I sent the game back at 64% completion.
The game itself had a good plot and storyline. This however was overshadowed by roller coaster difficulty and repeating game scenarios. Fights between you and the sand monsters were very sporadic and came in bunches with a boring monotony in between. I left the woman, you meet early in the game, behind countless times having to find alternative passages for her, often making absolutely no progress in the plot line whatsoever.
This game had great potential,but it failed in entertaining me. The cool things about the game, such as running on walls, stopping time ect., were all learned early on in game play which caused your character to reach his height of power around 40%(when you find a super strength sword). So alas i would not recommend renting this game, and if you do, don't plan on playing it late at night. Because the game is so quiet that you must turn your TV's volume up to where its really loud to hear what the characters are saying. Only to cover your ears and turn it way down once you accidentally hit a wall with your sword (the sound effects are super loud, but everything other audio aspect of the game is annoyingly silent). All in all Prince of Persia the Sands of Time receives a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

prince of perisa sands of time

posted by gamer45589 (Paxton, IL) May 21, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Played this game for 2 weeks a very good game great game for people that like puzzles or to spend time just playing, The game is not all that easy but in some spots it gets hard.the fight you have to do are some of the best i have played.
Great job unsoft, I telling you people rent this game or buy it you will not be dispointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good game with only 2 bad points

posted by NifflerX (OAK PARK, IL) Mar 27, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

Very good game, visually very beautiful and the story was excellent, well thought out, and cohesive. The game play was generally pretty good in fact there are only two bad points I have. The first is that for a majority of the game you are required to use a killing move which is VERY slow. This is fine except when fighting in large groups when it leaves you vulnerable. The other complaint is the camera angles, which can be exceedingly annoying. At times, especially while fighting, the camera angle switches suddenly which is both visually jarring and makes the controls change. Even despite those I highly recommend this game, it's lot of fun and definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DA bomb

posted by darkman (MILFORD, PA) Jan 13, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

Okay this game is great. It's challenging and it keeps you on your toes. It's real cool if you like rpg or strategy games. The guy is like a ninja and he fights sand creatures and stuff. The only thing I didn't like was the way he gained health. He drinks water from a fountain. You can reverse time so you redo something very helpful. You can also freeze your enemies and then slice them in half. If you get an enemy down press the y button and suck them into your sand of time sword. You can't rewind until you get the sword though. It's graphics are cool. I just hate the girl who becomes your partner. She shoots you with her arrow twice and triyes to steal your sword. This game is so cool I gave it a ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time

posted by rpgadam07 (GREENVILLE, SC) Sep 27, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game was a very fun game to play. I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but difficult.

posted by marshman (AUBURN, AL) Aug 18, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

I could not get past level nine Too difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sands Of Awesomeness!!!

posted by nnaatteedd (BIG STONE GAP, VA) Aug 3, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Unlike it's predecessor's, Sands of Time delivers everything you'd expect. It never, and I mean never, let's the player down once. It's action, to action, to more action. I highly recommend this to anyone and everyone!!! A must have title for the Gamecube, and lest we forget about the original prince of persia unlockable!!! 2 games in 1!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Prince Of Persia is AWESOME!!!!!!!

posted by orca1026 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Jul 8, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

this is a seriously cool game! yeah, graphics aren't the greatest, but screw the graphics! this game rocks! the swordfighting, controls, running on walls, and so forth are really, REALLY cool!!! this is the best Prince Of Persia game yet!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good story, great action, a little repetitive...

posted by crazyprsn (EDMOND, OK) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

There were many good points to this game as well as just a few minor "eh" points. First off, Sands of Time has an amazing way of delivering its gameplay - through storytelling. Everything flowed very well, even down to the pause menu. The prince narrates the entire game by telling an epic tale in an old Arabic way of storytelling. The game flows between story and action very smoothly, even to where when you pause the game, he asks if you'd like for him to continue! You also hear him speak a monologue every once in a while of what he's thinking during the particular part of the game. The movements of the caracters are fluid and beautiful, as well as the sound that comes from all the actions you can make. The camera is great - it's usually fixed and at a good angle, but you can also cut to 1st person mode and have a look around from where you are.

The plot of the game is outstanding as well. It will captivate and grab your attention from the very beginning all the way through to the end.

The only downside of the game is its repetitiveness. For an action-adventure, vast amounts of repitition isn't that great. The puzzles one must solve in each room are fun and exciting, but can get a little boring and dull towards the end of the game (after you've gone through several several stages of relentless puzzling). The fighting also gets a little monotonous. The prince has some good moves, but after a while, they aren't that special. There's no combo moves or anything like that, so you have to be satisified with the four moves that he does boast.

Though those last points aren't all that hot, they don't take away from the game at all enough to not play it. I reccomend playing this game, it's a great adventure!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by TodayFalls (fort plain, NY) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

This game play is good with this and though the puzzles oh how to go around things isn't hard, it surely fun. It isn't a long game but does have a very good ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »