Rent Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii, PSP Games, DS

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

7073 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prince of Persia

posted by victim36 (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

30 out of 30 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The newest installment of Prince of Persia is a fun and exciting game, if you want to have a fully interactive free running experience. This game does a great job at putting you in "control" of the prince. I feel like a lot of games that are claim to be a parkour game just have you hold down the A button and push the direction you want to go, the game does the rest for you. Here you actually have to plan out the course a little, be ready to react to sudden changes in environment, and then make sure you hit the proper button.

The combat system in this game is basic, a simple strike combo, a power move, and a knockback technique. That's pretty much it. As you advance through the game you get access to a few special moves like; a tornado that comes off of you strikes, or a trail of fire that follows you. These moves still don't add much depth to the combat system. But, this is a Prince of Persia game. These games have always centered around free running and traps, not combat.

The puzzles are simple, and make you think only a little bit. But, they're used to set up interesting situations to make getting across the map more interesting and unique.

The story in this game is simple and lacks the usual depth of a Persia game. That is the games biggest weakness in the game, there is no strong driving plot with unexpected turns in it.

The Good:
Full control of the Prince during free running
The traps are great, and more dangerous than some bosses
Amazing graphics
Simple puzzles that add to the challenge of moving the Prince around

The Bad:
Weak plot line
Simple combat system
Controls change on camera angle, which can lead to miss jumps until you learn where you need to push.

8 of 10 for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

mehh

posted by yumboyack (SAN JOSE, CA) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

27 out of 31 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

My thoughts on this game. well first i have to say i started off going into the game wanting to like it. i have played the prince of Persia games and loved them all excluding the last one that was released. i have to say they did a better job when it comes to graphics the graphics for this game are finally HD quality but compared to some other new releases its pretty much average. the artwork in this game is still phenomenal. the thing that bugs me the most about it is the way they changed the princes character. the thing i always liked was the way they portrayed the prince. he was a badass character with a little edge to him, but in this game they give him much more random lines during game play and they try to make him funny, but the thing i always liked was the quiet mysteriousness of the prince. the combat also seems to be slower in this game, the way he wields the sword is like he has a hundred pound weight on his arm which is a little annoying when there is 50 enemies on screen attacking you.
one of the most important things about prince of Persia is parkour aspects in which you use the princes agility to quickly jump, climb and run on walls, but they also seemed to have tweaked the controls for that in a bad way. the way they place the camera angles makes it tricky, and it seems like sometimes the direction of the princes movement depends on the angle of the camera and other times it depend and the actual way the prince is facing. its a little hard to explain but if you played it you know what i mean. the same thing goes for the puzzles also when you are trying to turn a lever a certain way sometimes it will go the completely opposite direction which is frustrating when your spending a lot of time in one area just trying to get past a simple obstacle. well like i said i wanted to love this game but it seems some changes they have made was for the worst. personally i think this game is below average. especially for being a PoP game =/ just my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Familiar but different.

posted by Defiance74 (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you liked the original "Sands of Time" then you will probably also like this title. The storyline is original and has nothing to do with the "Sands" trilogy (or the previous entry in the series for that matter). Addictive platforming that gets pretty brutal in a couple spots later in the game. I finished it in about three days of non-stop playing on the normal difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short but sweet

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) May 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like a good platformer, look no further. Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands is a great addition to the great PoP series, and goes back to the old gameplay of the Sands of Time. While the game is very enjoyable, it is very short. I beat the game in 6 or so hours, and on the normal difficulty I can't see it taking more than 8. The combat is rather bland in the game, but the puzzles and platforming make up for it-although they can get repetitive occasionally. Another fun thing about the game is that via the uPlay application you can unlock several new things like experience boost, a new game type, and even play through the game with Ezio's outfit from Assassin's Creed. Overall, the game was fun, but was a little too short.

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but...

posted by dragon39 (RONKONKOMA, NY) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2009

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

The game is similiar to all the other prince of persia games, mainly the ones for the ps2. I was hoping for something similair to the next gen prince of persia with the fighting style. They tried this new fighting system and it just didn't seem to flow nicely. However all and all it has all the elements that I have grown to love in the prince of persia games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by sandsjm1 (MACON, GA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

a mixture of tomb raider and ninja gaiden its just a really fun game i could not put it down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the original PoP Sands of Time gameplay...but

posted by Jaacee (LEE, MA) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

...but certainly a lot closer than that cell-shaded piece of garbage that came out prior to this game!

They left a lot of little details out from the original Sand of Time series and replaced cool time control powers with lamer element control powers (of which I hardly even used through the entire game...except for those required ones for platforming).

I feel like the whole Sand of Time series took a downward spiral after Warrior Within...which was my favorite, and I know I'm in the minority here!

The story lacked depth, the gameplay lacked polish. The platforming was pretty good...just the fighting felt like I was doing a chore because the developers thought the game needed fights but didn't really want to program it in. Some of the boss fights were cool...but basic enemy fights were bad.

If you're going to continue a series...do it right. Stop Star Wars pre-queling it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by closrocks (WASHINGTON, DC) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not the shoddy movie tie-in I thought it was going to be. Completely original story with the best platforming of any previous 3D PoP's. Completely worth it. Total blast to play through that got better and better as it went on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

An exceptional game handicaped by its glitches.

posted by ccmilleniu (WAYNE, NJ) Jul 13, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of the Prince of Persia series since The Sands of Time. So, i was extremely excited going into this game and for the most part i was not disappointed. The game is gorgeous and the play mechanics are quite possibly the best innovation since TSOT. The one thing that completely cripples this game is its overall glitches.

Ubisoft completely surprises me that they let this game out the front door in the shape its in and It almost feels as if it was not play tested at all. The glitches are so frustrating that i had to put the game down in some situations. The most prevalent example of a game breaking glitch was when i was on the last event before the final boss encounter and i kept falling through the geometry of the level. I know i am not the only one who has experienced this problem and the solution was to delete your auto save and load up the game from your backup save.

This idea seemed like a solid choice, but once i loaded up the backup save i was greeted to a checkpoint in the game 2 hours behind where i just was. At this moment i almost put the controller down and packed it up to return to Gamefly, but for some reason i kept playing and even though i was furious the play mechanics of the game kept me entertained. So, in less than two hours i managed to get back to the same part i was stuck on and no brain melting glitch to be seen.

In no way is this a completely negative review and if you are a fan of the series you most certainly need to check this game out. The game is around 8 hours long so; it will not take very long to beat. This situation does make me realize that more and more games in recent memory are being released with these types of glitches and i am in no way stepping up on my soapbox, but for the price we pay for admittance into these game worlds we should not be bombarded with stupid cumbersome glitches like these.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

10 min. and done...

posted by guinessey1 (SCHENECTADY, NY) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

First off I need to say I've loved all the other PoP's, especially the last one they came out with. The graphics, game-play, combat, pretty much everything about that game rocked.
I was hesitant about this title though, being released soon after the last one and the PoP movie. ( I know its not based on it). Nonetheless, as soon as I saw it in my mailbox I ripped it open and jumped right in.
After about 10 mins it was back in the package in the mail. I thought the game was extremely sub-par. The camera sucked, the combat was like I was playing a PS1/2 again.(I know some of your are going to say i shouldn't have given up on it so quickly, but when you know a game sucks, you just know it sucks.) The graphics were so-so(I thought the last PoP's graphics were unreal)
Overall I would not recommend this game based off my short game-play experience of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome until...

posted by MoveeFreek (COCOA BEACH, FL) May 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game was great. Everything I expected it to be for a Prince of Persia game. From the fighting to the acrobatics, it is a fun and challenging game. However, once you get towards the end and you are finding your way to the top of some very tall buildings, you must be careful about falling. I had misfortune and fell. When I re spawned, as I did not have the ability to rewind time, I was in a room with only a hall to exit thru. This exit only lead to a dead end. While I liked the game, I lack the patients and time to play all the way thru the game again. So for those of you out there ready to take on this game I say to you, enjoy but don't fall from your glory.

MoveeFreek

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Going downhill fast!

posted by IRISHTER (CHANDLER, AZ) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I expected the same fun as the first 360 Prince of Persia, a real treat.

In this installment, the graphics are "HD" and good quality in some of the expansive cutscenes. The character is made to look somewhat like Jake in the movie. I do not know if this game parallels the movie or not.

The controls are similar but too often sluggish. Not that you could make a sandwich after pressing "A" to jump pole-to-pole, however it takes a good tenth of a second for the Prince to jump after hitting the button.

The camera often gets panned around behind columns during skirmishes, hiding your enemies.

Well, despite trying to put in a nice, unbiased review here, I simply did not like this sequel.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed - highly disappointed

posted by TWfire (RIVER OAKS, TX) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed that this game did not pick up where the last left off, very weak. The story line was also very weak compared to the last one. I even found the maps to be weak and annoying compared to the last one.

Someone mentioned how great the free roam is in this game. Between the tight maps, picky water puzzles, goofy camera angles, and finicky controls, this was nothing near being a free roam game.

I would say Forgotten Sands managed to take the franchise backwards at least 2 generations. The writing staff should definitely be fired.

The graphics were the only thing about this game that was stepped up, but even that didnt make up for the rest of the game.

If you enjoy puzzles that make you utilize the entire controller you might like this game, if not your going to be screaming at the stupid water puzzles, just fair warning.

After thinking about this for a few minutes I think this feels like one of those silly movies games that gets rushed out in time for the movie and completely lacks any real thought or serious effort.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the best prince of persia.

posted by Parrett (AURORA, MO) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game itself was easy. It wasnt as hard and long as the other prince of persia games. I was a little dissapointed. I beat it in just one sit in. It had moments where you had to press the buttons just at the right time but still didnt have much of a challenge. As an experienced gamer i want to see a challenge in a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Short and Pointless

posted by Aximili007 (WARD, AR) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The new Prince of Persia game was a let down. The game takes less then a day to complete and all achievements can be unlocked in the first playthrough. The story lacks the substance and twists of the Sands of Time trilogy and leaves the player with nothing gained at the end of the game but a quick 1000 gamerscore. Fans will be disappointed and I intend to treat this like I do Highlander 2 and Terminator 3, it never happened.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Feels Rushed in Time for Movie

posted by Dustin217 (ATHENS, IL) May 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played for 45 Min and so far seems like it would have made a better XBL Aracade game rather than a Stand alone title. The story is well put together and the graphics are nice. Just doesnt really feel like they have updated the franchise at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just so everyone knows

posted by Josher (WINDERMERE, FL) May 19, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

just so everyone knows including Riley7789

ITS NOT BASED ON THE NEW MOVIE

ITS NOT BASED ON THE NEW MOVIE

ITS NOT BASED ON THE DANG MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!
ITS NOT
ITS NOT
ITS NOT
ITS NOT
trust me..its not

Good game though, i didnt get it through gamefly.

Graphics lack a bit, but its still pretty good. worth a rent, probly not a buy though

ITS NOT BASED ON THE MOVIE xD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PRINCE OF PERSIA

posted by BOOTS85 (BEAN STATION, TN) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I HAVE TO SAY THAT I REALLY ENJOYED THE OTHER GAMES IN THE SERIES BUT THIS ONE IS JUST LACKING ON STORY GRAPHICS AND GAMEPLAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I guess it's for fanboys

posted by jaycasht (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the story was ok, the thing is i think it's a kid game. It's very simple and it gets boring fast. If your a hardcore gamer like me then you know they didn't put too much effort into the game mechanics. I think assassin's creed 2 just simply made this game look amatuer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not The Worst, Not The Best

posted by DomZul (HAMERSVILLE, OH) May 24, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having played every Prince of Persia game from its inception, I have to say this was far from the worst, but not the best. I beat the game in less than 36 hours and was a bit disappointed with the ease of game play. I was hoping for more of a challenge. The difficulty level of Forgotten Sands was only slightly harder than Sands of Time. That being said, Forgotten Sands was enjoyable in its own rights. Some of the new features of the game play were inventive and somewhat exciting. However, I'm not sure I'll ever revisit this game as I do with others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BORING

posted by EXTORTION (BOCA RATON, FL) Jul 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is ok at first but after killing your first two people you figure out that the combat is plain and the same throughout the game. But this game is at least worth a try for prince of persia fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NOT AS GOOD AS I HOPED

posted by dstann (OURAY, CO) Jul 18, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The game is entertaining, but not really all that complex. There is no thinking invloved, no freedom. You just go down the path the game takes you, i don't like that. Can's say it was all bad though, i had fun for a couple of sessions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Doesn't live up to it's legacy

posted by Euphist (BAY CITY, MI) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I am a casual gamer with a more-than-full-time job, so when I put this game in my Queue, I fully expected to have it for at least a month.

I finished it in two days.

Game play is very constrained - the player has no real choices to make throughout the game. Camera control is horrid and directional controls are dependent on the camera. The response to the buttons is sluggish and with an acrobatic main character, this is a SERIOUS problem.

I guess the most disappointing aspect though, is that ordinarily, the Ubisoft logo on the front is almost a guarantee that I will love the game. Now I can't be so sure...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I hope they dont continue with this

posted by Riley7789 (JUPITER, FL) May 19, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 21 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

The other Prince of Persia games in the series kick butt. This game kinda sucked the thrill from the saga. It's based on the movie and the gameplay is okay, very repetative and its not like a hack and slash game. Not much plot, and pretty easy. Overall, not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Well...I guess it's good.

posted by AlmightyOctopus (SEDRO WOOLLEY, WA) Jun 26, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Let me explain. This game, in its essence, is good. But there's just too much about the game that's glaringly bad or blocky that it gives it a low score. Let me break it down.

Difficulty: WAY TOO EASY. In the entirety of this game, I died less than 5 times, and most of those times were the final boss. The enemies weren't much of a threat at all unless you were completely surrounded, and even the final boss wasn't hard. Plus, there is a total lack of a HARD mode, meaning even if you wanted to increase the difficulty, you can't. Moving on.

Length: WAY TOO SHORT. I beat this game in 5 hours, and I fell asleep for an hour while playing it! Now, I do realize there is a challenge mode, but even then, I cleared that in less than 10 minutes! There is no replay value for this game for anyone other than completionists looking to collect all the sarcophagi. With no modes other than campaign that add up to anything, and no HARD mode for anyone looking for more difficulty, this game's experience is way too short.

Gameplay: Now this I really liked! If you don't already know, the game uses a power-up/upgrade system based on the four elements, Fire, Water, Earth and Air. All the elements have their own abilities, and it's very fun to use them...for the first few times. Honestly, they're cool, but they lose novelty pretty quickly. Other than these powers, the traditional platforming powers are still there, Sands of Time and the Freeze Water ability. This makes for unique and sometimes complicated platforming and puzzles. The combat is pretty repetitive, but gets better if you use the powers. The enemy AI...ugh. It feels like the developers got lazy, made a bunch of enemies with awful AI and threw 90 kajillion at you at once. Enough said.

Story: It's really predictable, without giving away any spoilers, but the characters are lovable and add depth to the game through a heartfelt tale of brotherly love. Also, it sets itself up for a sequel.

That's all I have to say. Bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse