Rent Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands for PS3
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

4411 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

my review of PoP

posted by jrodkrip (DENTON, TX) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed seeing this franchise get back to its' platforming and puzzle based roots. That being said it is a fairly short game, and had I purchased it I would have been very disappointed with the length and difficulty of the game. The game was challenging enough, and towards the end it really became almost a rhythm based game which was a nice twist. I really enjoyed some of the more advanced techniques required to get through some of the end game puzzles. Overall a very good rent, but no lasting appeal for purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not a bad game

posted by daot10 (NUTLEY, NJ) Oct 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

not at all its fun to play, very clever and great plataforming, challenging sometimes, story not as great at other PoP titles but fun to play you will continue playing to know whats going on, i could have give it 9 but i think 8 is fair because of the gameplay sometimes i died cuz controls were not responsive at all, but you should give a try is worth rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game, not unforgettable though

posted by ProtonPack (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good rental value, will keep you entertained for a few days. Graphs are good, even great at times, and the platforming is fun, but the gameplay itself is not mindblowing. It lacks the movie-like experience of other blockbusters out there: little psychological depth to characters, simple and predictable plot, ambitious-brother-overcome-by-evil-that-you-have-to-defeat. Fighting is fun, but mostly button mashing and a bit tedious near the end. The final battle was one of the highlights of the game, very fast paced. Overall, a good rent, but wouldn't think of buying it. Definitely an improvement over the last Price of Persia though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Prince Of Persia The Forgoten Sands

posted by Hero960 (GLASGOW, KY) Oct 2, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

well let me start of by saying ubisoft u made an impressive game yet again the story is amazing. the only thing that was missing was the blocking? i can under stand the dodge but its not succesful 100% of the time. also why not incorperate the dagger of time? though ubisoft did a succesful job with Prince Of Persia T.F.S. some things could have mad it better thought all the flaws in my point of view i would give this a solid 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very enjoyable game for me

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) May 24, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'll be frank in saying that I have never played a price of persia game before the forgotten sands. However with that said I had a very enjoyable experience with this game.

The movement and puzzle structure of the levels were very immersive but not annoying when trying to complete.

The combat is very fluent and is pretty easy to use the 4 skills to your advantage in battle.

The bosses are a bit easy but with trophies saying defeat this boss without getting hit is bound to be a bit easy.

The story is very well told and the characters are fun to watch.

Overall i'd recommend renting this game for a good fun 5 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really great game, but not long enough

posted by RevPete (WHEAT RIDGE, CO) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If you've played any of the recent PoP games, you may find that this one has a different feel, but for the better in my estimation. Gone is Elika, from the last game. (And unfortunately, this one lacks the playful, adult-themed flirting between the Prince and Elika). But this one seems a bit more serious.

You are given powers throughout the game, which allow you to do various things to your environment. Unlike the previous game, you don't have automatic rewind (thanks to Elika), so you must rewind time yourself, if you make a mistake.

And the controls are a bit more complex than previous incarnations of the game, once you have all of your powers in full force. The Final Climb, near the end of the game requires quite a bit of coordination to execute. But the final battle isn't too difficult, if you've filled your power meters throughout the game.

So I found the gameplay to be refreshing and fun. But I didn't think the game was long enough. The only other downsides for me were the occasional issue with time-rewind in the middle of a complex maneuver, where you couldn't time your next move properly after the rewind, and ended up burning all of your magical power-ups. And there was the occasional issue with not having the camera viewpoint that you really want.

But all in all, this is a very solid game. I purchased the game, and wrote this review, before the credits were done rolling!

Definitely a rent, and if you're like me, you'll buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands

posted by JediSpirit (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Other than being somewhat repetitive, it's a mildly fun game. It actually makes you think; how do I do this or how do I get there. You have to use your surroundings in a parkour-like manner to navigate from level to level and room to room, which is very fun, and my kids enjoy watching dad run along the walls and such. It's great to hear 'you did it dad!' when you make that impossible wall run-leap-run up-leap-swing-swing-grab and climb when from a normal perspective it seems impossible. Overall, it's a fun game, and I would probably buy it, but not at full price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One and Done

posted by SSMyles (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I am a casual gamer who just got back into playing video games after a 5 year absence. It is difficult for me to get into games these days because they seem excessively complicated but not this game. I loved the original Prince of Persia so I took to this one right away. For the casual gamer, it was easy enough for me to get into, but this game sets you up. Starting you off nice and easy then BAM they hit you with challenges that will at times make you want to go into the fetal position, but by then you are hooked and you have to finish. I enjoyed the challenge of knowing when to use the right technique or when to move fast or to be cautious. This was not easy. On many occasions I ended up hitting the wrong button. All in All, I finished the game in 3 days. A challenging but fun 3 days but this is definitely a renter and not a keeper. As much fun as the levels were, I don’t want to go through them a second time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointing...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) May 19, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This Prince of Persia is a prequel-like of the series -- Bringing the sands of time back into the title, the gameplay and storyline resemble older Prince of Persia title - Prince of Persia: The Warrior Within...

The game is a step back from the other Prince of Persia release. You go to point A to point B(just like the Playstation 2 versions); there is no roaming selecting which area to go to first.

If you are new to the game -- This title is a lot like Assassins Creed. You run threw the world traversing. Climbing, running up walls. The game originally started out on the first Nintendo but not as difficult.

You play as the Prince of Persia... [Not the same story as the movie]
In this story the prince is off to his brother's Palace. Without a warm welcome he found the palace is under siege and what begins as a ordinary visit, becomes aiding the falling Palace.

Ubisoft, why did you re-mesh up a older title?! This game is completely step back from some older titles of the game. The gameplay outline is very rhetorical and the story wasn't as interesting as the last Prince of Persia.
If you added more polygons to PoP: Warrior Within, a couple new control elements, and a few HDmi shaders... You have the Forgotten Sands.

The graphics are not New Gen at all.

I've been playing this game and every turn of the corner is predictable... This is very unlike the Prince of Persia series.

The fighting is pretty boring, there is no tactic... just hit square as fast as you can.

The game isn't captivating and continuing isn't as enthralling. I am forcing myself to continue playing. Storyline is pretty stale, aswell.

Throphies are easy to collect and once you get timing right you run threw the game easily.

You will probably find the game isn't nothing like the previous one, but if you played the versions on the GameCube or Playstation2. You will think it is an old game just re-made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PoP FS

posted by delmysgame (LAS VEGAS, NV) Oct 22, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

if you like the other prince of persia games then this one is for you

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Mindless fun

posted by Seriatim (SOLON, ME) May 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Let's get this straight from the beginning, while this game is fun, is it not really challenging. The game is linear, so you have not thoughts about where to go, it is simply a matter of how to get to the next room. Enemies are really not a challenge, especially as you level up your character. The only real challenge is navigating the rooms. Even that is not much of a an issue, since if you make a mistake, you can simply rewind time and try a different tactic.

Graphics are good, not great. they won't make you open your mouth in awe, but you won't mistake them for PS2, either.

The controls are spot on and the little touches like freezing water and then using it as a climbing aid is a nifty touch.

I would have liked to see an inventory/weapon system to upgrade. You can upgrade a limited number of skills, but it feels like something tacked on at the end, and you really do not need any other upgrades to make it through the game.

In all, I would say rent it, finish it, and move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

short on ideas, repetitive

posted by kws123 (CHANDLER, AZ) May 22, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 17 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

I really didn't like this game for several reasons. It's pretty buggy, I fell through the floor twice and became "stuck" The first time I was able to restart at the last checkpoint, the second time it recorded a checkpoint in the process and so that was the end of the my game, there was no way to recover my game other than starting over. It doesn't let you go back to a previous checkpoint. This happened at the end of the "King's tower" level which is unfortunately about 95% of the way through the game.

This game is sorely lacking ideas, it's 25 levels are all pretty much the same. You'll see pretty much the same obstacles and monsters in level 20 that you see in level 1, they just rearrange things and throw it at you again. I kept waiting to see something new and was disappointed. Really, the frozen water spouts & columns is a cool idea for one or two levels, not a whole game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A cheap cash in trick by Ubisoft.

posted by Eman5805 (HARVEY, LA) May 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It couldn't be more obvious that Ubisoft is just trying to maximize their money with the upcoming Jake Gylennhaal PoP movie. The Prince looks like a WWE wrestler version of the Jake Gylennhaal version of the origionl PS2/Xbox version of The Prince. He's even wearing the same clothes as the Jake Prince version.

And he controls about the same. The buff Prince is slower, less agile, and handles like Shaq. Even the Nolan North voice Prince of the cell shaded PoP game was a better fighter than this.

Fighting oodles of enemies isn't fun in this game because the fighting controls are just tepid. Just mash on Square and X as necessary. And the animations are sluggish. The old Prince was fast, agile, and could actually BLOCK. This Prince has the amazingly useless dodge button. Seriously, jumping around like an idiot, hoping to land on someone's shoulders is far more effective. But that's like saying cutting off your foot with a sword is more effective than doing it with a brick.

And without being able to block, parry, and/or counter sword strikes fighting with The Buff!Prince is just...boring. The old skinny Prince was never boring to fight with. Even the Nolan North Prince had a new dynamic by fighting with Elika.

Nothing dynamic here. Just a WWE wrestler swinging a sword around.

The puzzles are pretty decent fair. The story is generic, unsurprising fluff. The enemy variety is nonexistent. The game using the lame ploy of instead of making the grunt enemy stronger as you go along, it just puts more and more of them on the field at once.

That's weak Ubisoft. Weak.

The best thing about the game is the music and Yuri Lowenthal's voice acting. However, that voice doesn't sound at all right coming out of buff!Prince's body.

The final boss fight is somewhat creative at certain parts, I'll admit, but just barely. And the end doesn't happen naturally it just...happens.

I'm just sickened by the whole game overall. Sickened. Glad I rented it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Rko619 (HOUSTON, TX) May 31, 2010

Member since Apr 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was a really fun one to play with a catchy storyline. The gameplay is fast paced, adrenaline fueled action. I found it to be not too challenging, but still tough at some points. I thought all in all this game deserves between a 9 or 10 out of 10 rating. Great Game! I strongl recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

PRINCE OF PERSIA

posted by Nicenfly (DEL RIO, TX) Jun 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I believe that this game is at least a 6 i mean it was alright but to me it was a little slow past P.O.P games were faster i just couldnt get in to it and also there is a part when i died and the same time when it was saving a check point and it started me waaaayyyyy back into the game to a room where i couldnt get out of i tried everything to get back where i was at but i had to start all over and i just couldnt take it anymore i had no choice but to turn it off and send it back and no that is not why im talking smack about this game but its just add more reason to why i didnt like it! One thing i did like was the story thats why i played it to see what was going on next.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I can't cuss really. Change that Stih dckieadhs.

posted by haskad7 (NORTH HILLS, CA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Uckf this game. I was enjoying it until the glitch sent me to a room with no where to go. Does Ubisoft have idiots for programmers? Apparently so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A disappointment

posted by PBJ8798 (NANTUCKET, MA) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Although there are good abilities like running on walls, overall the game is just TOO SLOW! and you can't skip cut scenes, which repeat over & over if you can't make it through a part of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game SUXX TOO REPETITIVE

posted by ShawtyGee (ENTERPRISE, AL) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Game suxx. I got tired of climbing and jumping from every where. fight sequences suxx too. repetitive fighting and lack of combos kill it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What a shame

posted by JefferyMW (MCALLEN, TX) Oct 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential for being great. I have played and beat all of the Prince of Persia games that have come out and by far this is the one that is the most lacking in everything. What happened to duel wielding? That is one component that this game could have used to great lengths. The story was lacking, the game play was basic, and the ending sucked. This played more that a first installment game rather than an established series. I have come to expect a lot from Ubisoft over the years, and this game was such a let down. Shame on you Ubisoft for putting this game out on the market when it needed so much more.

If you want to play it, go for it. But don't blame me when you see that I was right.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Prince of Persia The Forgotten Sands

posted by zman123 (VINELAND, NJ) Sep 24, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was OK. It could definitley be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

IT was good until I hit a glitch

posted by Laconian (HADLEY, MA) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

K ppl...Who got to that part where The Prince's brother was a giant monster starting to tear down the city and you have to make your way through all the chaos in mid air, then land on a platform in a cutscene which glitches right after it and sends you falling to your death? I did. So something was up, and no, nothing was wrong with the disk...the disk was perfect. Brand new condition. Very bad glitch in game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not bad...well - not terrible. Not good either.

posted by Pathman (DURHAM, NC) May 23, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this game. I have been a fan of the series since the original back in the 1800s or so when i was a kid...

Some have been fun - none have come close to being as fun as the original except perhaps for the port to ps3 you can buy for $8 or so on PSN.

again, I really really really wanted to like this game - the videos of gameplay looked great - it looked innovative, it looked like it had taken a step back towards its roots.

it did not deliver.

My biggest problem with it was that it was very easy, very repetitive and very gimmicky Yes - the 'rewind' feature is cool - even the water-freeze function, but the game never evolved, in fact - with one or two exceptions the game actually gets easier the further along you get. If you can finish the intro tutorial/intro section then you will have no problem with this game. the intro part of the game is actually the best part of the entire game. I was pretty happy with it - but a few hours later when nothing had changed i was just hoping to get through to the end so i could return it.

What gives? the original PoP was NOT an easy game.
The main gimmick beyond the prince's Parkour is the master of elements - chiefly water and air. They did a great job with the water. The air is absurd. You jump from vulture to vulture which just happen to line up for you so that you can get to the next ledge. Towards the final parts of the game they introduce "memories" where you push another button to restore parts of the castle structure. basically this just amounts to pushing the right button to "grab" the water, jump to a vulture, or turn on a new ledge at the right time.
it gets old VERY fast. and it never changes. the game, from start to finish, was the pretty much flat and static. the end sequence is a yawner

I will say the combat mechanics aren't bad. you can fight hordes of enemies - but they are insultingly easy, as are the bosses.

Ultimately this looks like a rushed ps2 feature. Pity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A PS2 game on PS3

posted by backusduo (AVONDALE, AZ) May 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Graphics, Graphics, Graphics. Games like COD, MLB, and the annual Madden have made me a graphic snob. There is nothing better on my 360/PS3 then to open up a game like the recent Splinter Cell for 360 and go, "Wow, how life like!" That is not what you will be saying about this game. All of the textures and people are very grainy and PS2 plus, but not the graphics you have come accustomed to on PS3/360. Not only that the movements have begun to feel very dated where you push a butten and have to wait for the Prince to complete his entire movement before you can set up the next. This looks very pronounced when running on walls and then jumping across or when fighting a group of people and not being able to break out of an action to block/dodge until it has completed it's entire move. Games are just better than this, these days and Prince of Persia needs to keep up with the times.

If you are a huge fan that needs a POP fix, this may suffice, but for a normal gamer, there are a lot of better options for your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Gameplay without graphics

posted by Chad888 (WEIRTON, WV) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

The fighting in game is just mashing the square button. The graphics look identical to play station 2. The storyline and gameplay otherwise are typical of the prince of Persia series. I wouldn't recommend this game to anyone who wants to play a game with decent graphics. If you want to play a game that seems like it was made in a day that looks like a clone from ps2, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ubi--a Horrible game

posted by Mrolli1 (AMISSVILLE, VA) Jun 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I've played most of the Prince of Persia games, and they all suffer from the same exact problem. Controls & Camera angles. I just started playing this piece of t-u-r-d, about 1.5 hours in, and I've already sealed it backup in the envelope, and put it in my mailbox. Never in all my 20 years of gaming, have I wanted to find & choke a developer to death, but that sounds like more fun for $50. The storyline seems intriguing, however, The controls, camera angles, and map flow are HORRID. When platforming is your main experience, you'd expect the controls to be user friendly, and tight. The controls in this game are sloppy at best. Doesn't make for a fun time, when you use all of your power of "TIME", to rewinding time, so that you don't fall of a platform 5 times in a row. I expected a much better experience seeing as thou, they sold out to Walt Disney & Jerry Bruckhimer. Two
"timeless" giant thumbs down

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse