Rent Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands for Wii
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

622 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ehh..

posted by LuigiLove (CLEARFIELD, UT) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well, it was okay. I got it yesterday and played for a while, a couple hours, and kept playing today. But I got stuck on the place where the razor things are running along the walls, and couldn't get past it no matter what... It was too hard, so I sent it back.

Good:
- Nice controls
- Not-too-hard bad guys, but not too easy either
- Good story
- Cool graphics

Bad:
- Too hard too early
- Not the same as Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands for the computer
- Camera's annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awesome

posted by thebeatle (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is an equal rival to the version of the x-box and ps3 vbersion on the wii this game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nonstop Action

posted by x360FANx (MURPHY, NC) May 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I just got this game in the mail yesterday and have played about an hour of it. Great game so far! Smooth controls, super graphics (for the Wii anyway), and gripping storyline. If you're a fan of the previous Prince of Persia games you will like this one too. Lots of acrobatic puzzle solving interspersed with combat. The only negative is that the camera can be a little quirky at times, but other than that it seems to be a solid title in the PoP franchise. Rent it today!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tedious and Repetitive

posted by MichaelO (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

After giving this game a chance for several hours, I just couldn't bring myself to play it any more. Isn't the fun thing about this genre of game supposed to be navigating through the world trying to figure out how to make it to a high platform, how to solve the puzzle of how to get from point A to point B? Not the case here. Instead I found myself jumping from one platform to the next one over and over by pushing the same couple of buttons over and over until I reached the end of each area. No strategy. No challenge. No thought. Just push A, push A, turn, push A, push A... I found it less a game than a tedious serious of things I had to do to move on.

Add to this the fact that the controls are frustrating when they're not tedious. Since most everything you can do is done with the same button, you just have to press it and hope the game realizes what you're trying to do. If not, it may decide you wanted to jump into a pit instead of onto the next ledge. Rotating the camera is also quite annoying since it can't be easily rotated while you are doing other things. If an enemy gets behind you, good luck trying to rotate it without standing still for a few seconds with your guard down. The best way to battle is just to do the jump attack over and over again, which makes the battles almost as tedious as the rest of the game.

Although this game is good-looking and I could understand how some might find it entertaining, I do enough tedious things over and over again at work and would like something else in a video game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Another PoP game

posted by HoneyPot (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was pretty fun, assuming you like this genre. I didn't really feel it brought a great deal interesting to the field, if you liked the others, you'll probably enjoy this one too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Help

posted by Stuck805 (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Jun 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got stuck on the part where you need to get the same colors in the spirit world to gleam through a crystal to open up a portal. I had success with two colors but then the other two colors to align just seemed nearly imposssibe to align, I got so frustated that i just returned the game. Someone help if they know what to do. Other than that , i loved the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by nicholsfamily (AURORA, CO) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

We have Prince of Persia Rival Swords and some of the controls took a minute to get used to. But overall, its a fun game. Love the graphics, story, and action. Would definitely recommend if you're a Prince of Persia fan or just looking for a game that has lots of adventure, action and problem-solving. Some of the puzzles will have you going crazy but to be challenged is to be busy so I gladly appreciate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

FUN!!

posted by TwistWii123 (NORTH CHARLESTON, SC) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is so fun i really loved it the only problem is the enemys after a while there imposible to fight to the point where you get bored of seeing the same old stuff the moves are cool its the type of moves you would want to do if you where the prince yourself like running up walls and jumping off them to stab someone to jump wall to wall and using magic to create things its a really fun game but make sure you really know how to fight before getting into higher levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Better Rating, If There Weren't So Many Bugs!

posted by mummyfan (VALENCIA, CA) Aug 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

It's unfortunate I had to give this game a 4. The 4 is really for the visuals, the game-play, and how much fun I had playing it.

Sadly, About halfway through the game I realized it has A LOT of bugs. It could just be the Wii version. (Bugs and lameness seem to come with the Wii territory. It's like people cannot transfer good games over to the Wii. Sad!)

2/3 of the way through the game, I got to a point where I was completely stuck. Not stuck, like I couldn't figure it out, stuck like my character was literally stuck on a platform and could NOT go ANYWHERE. I couldn't get back to where I was, nor could I push forward. Very big, bad bug.

This huge bug is at the end of the level called "The Forgotten King." It's after you beat the big baddy monster for the third time, and for good. Make sure when you are leaving his lair, you continue across the sewer chasm to the square area where you have to go up to get out. If you go back to the area where you were running from the scarabs and over the red vines, you will get stuck!

I really wanted to continue the game, but I physically couldn't. So lame!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Classic game series is still fun to play

posted by brcgamenut (TYBEE ISLAND, GA) Feb 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I've played a few of these and I thought the Wii would be a fun platform for a Prince of Persia game. Honestly the story line wasn't the most shining example for this series and I became disinterested in that facet of the game after a couple of hours. I think that because of the family friendly demographic of the Wii the difficulty was a little watered down compared to some of the others in the series, but as the game progressed the puzzle solving part became as hard as any game I've played. Combat started off simple and became more complex as you advanced through the game and gained more moves and developed strategies for fighting different types of adversaries. I enjoyed the game and would have played through a second time if I wasn't so antsy to get another game from gamefly. It's worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Prince of Persia - Wii and PS3 versions

posted by Gamer251 (BARRINGTON, RI) Nov 20, 2010

Member since Jun 2004

I played both the PS3 version and the wii version and loved them both. They were two very different games, and stories.

Wii Version:
I was addicted to it, had a very hard time to stop playing it.
It has a lot more "puzzle solving" and exploration then the PS3 version. Reminded me of the PC game "Myst" with the puzzle solving. The graphics are a LOT better then they would have been on the PS2 but not as good as the PS3 version, but close (using an HDTV). There are "save" spots (water fountains) in this game which also restores your health, and they appear a lot sooner then the "autosave" occurred in the PS3 game. There are chests to find instead of statues, and also breaking "jars" and destroying enemies can give you what you need to "level up" an ability. There is no choice for what gets levelled up, the game decides which is next. The Prince has some cool fighting moves, If he runs horizonal or vertical on a wall and you shake the remote he dashes at the enemy automatically and gets in a good hit. He can get on top of an enemy and if you shake the nunchuck he picks the enemy up and throws him. If you get on top of an enemy and shake the remote he jumps up and comes down on the enemy with the sword. He can make whirlwinds come up out of the floor and push an enemy into it which will pick up the enemy and drop it down stunning it. Not an easy maneuver, though. He also can ride up the whirlwind to get to an area he couldn't reach otherwise. He can throw the enemies into those vertical whirling blades that like to move around the floor. In an area I came to, there were two archers on two different ledges that had a blue gem in the center/outside part of the ledge. They kept killing me, the "hint" said to use my powers and aim at the gem, so I aimed at it with the remote and pressed the B button and the ledge tipped over & they slid off the ledge, and then the ledge came back up. Cool!

My only issue is the camera, for both versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hrm.

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Nov 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

I loved PoP: Sands of Time and PoP: Rival Swords to death. But this...I dunno, I just couldn't get into it. The two games I mentioned previously pulled me into the story and the game immediately. I lost interest in The Forgotten Sands after only a few levels. It didn't feel like a fresh experience, or even a rehashed but enjoyable one. It was just dull and unexciting (possibly because there weren't many enemies, nor were there many acrobatic opportunities in the portions I played). Couple that with the Wii's subpar and somewhat muddy graphics, and you've got a game that, when it comes down to it, is just okay. Nothing special.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Hard is not the word for this.

posted by mario1411 (POST FALLS, ID) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

This of one the many games I played, this was the worst. Health is lost easily, you only have three lives, and the worst part was a red plant that instantly kills you if you fall on it. If you are impatient, don't rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

An empty shell of its former self.

posted by Xavier120 (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

I've played every prince of persia so i was excited that they have another one. my standards were pretty high and i played the others on the original xbox so the wii controller was sometimes difficult to manage. I did not like the new additions it really felt lazy and there were so many times i was frustrated because the controls could not match what was going on in the game. the Camera and the control stick were often at odds and if you did not move with the camera, guess what, it threw you off the cliff. The lack of rewind made dieing extremely repetitive and often the fault of the camera making the control stick suddenly pointing in the wrong direction. If you haven't played the first 3 then you can get a mediocre 10 hours out of it but this should not be at the top of your que. this game is just awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Last time I played PoP it was 2D on the gameboy

posted by Blacksheep (BEDFORD, OH) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The Good
Nice graphics, story, abilities, puzzles. I would say this is a puzzle/adventure game first action is second. It is story driven so if that's your thing, this is your game.

The Bad
No replay value (at least that I can determine.) A time course or maybe achievement system with leader-board would have been nice, but once again it seems the makers of Wii games forget about the wireless abilities of the Wii.

Overall
Rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a Difficult Game

posted by loudinni (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

The challenge I have with this title (as I have with the other POP games) is that is constantly feels like you're "on the way" to doing something great. You never quite get there.
This game (while beautiful) is not much in the way of boss battles. To the contrary; it's about the journey. That's all well and good but I need a pay-off for this amount of effort. I didn't get one.
Not a bad game/not a great one.
I'd say unless you enjoyed the previous titles; move on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WhataPrince

posted by prather828 (SHERMAN, TX) May 29, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game is about the worst and most easy game I have ever came across. After playing Prince of Persia, I was so bored with the game. I don't know if I would wanna see the movie. So my point of view of Prince of Persia, it needs to be more challengeing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

So close...

posted by surfsflat (DENTON, TX) May 26, 2010

Member since May 2010

As previous viewer said, I am about 2 hours into this game and it feel to repetitive.

The levels and graphics are GREAT. But that is all the game has going for it.

If this is your first step into PoP, get this game. You will not be disappointed. But if you come into this game with the previous games level designs, and acrobats, you will be severely disappointed.

The story is not that captivating, and the hack and slash is boring with the Wii mote. I'll take mash A anyday over this.

Next problem I have is the block, and evading.

Block, if you do not block a full second before the attack, you will get hit. Every time.

Evade, while quicker response than block, you will find yourself hitting strafe, to roll sideways, and Prince will wind up going forward or backward when you KNOW you hit sideways. I think this has to do with camera angles.

All in all, if this is your first, or don't mind the nit-picking, this game is worth it. But if you come in, hoping for something similar to the first few games, you will be sad panda.

Overall, giving a 7, as I see its Pros, but the different alley they took with game design left me wanting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Prince of Persia: The Giant, Deadly Jungle Gym

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) May 25, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

The Prince of Persia - he can jump, run along walls, and walk along narrow ledges. If he can do some summersaults and back flips, he can land a spot on anyone’s gymnastic squad for the Olympics.
But in this installment, he’s after a kingdom and a beautiful princess. So his companion, a genie, teleports him to her kingdom. Once there, he has to bring it back to it’s former glory. (That’s right, it’s a fixer upper.)
How does he do that? By going through very long and vast segments where he has to perform his jumps, climbs, ledge and wall walking. Problem is, that’s about all he does.
The level design here lacks imagination; I found myself going through these acrobatic segments, one after another after another. This made the game tedious and boring after a few hours of play. And for what?
The story isn’t that interesting to me - it comes to a screeching halt far too often. And the characters don’t fascinate me in the slightest bit.
The Sands of Time dagger is also too gimmicky. When you die, it flashes you back to the point just before you died. You don’t get the rewind feature that you see in the movies.
Even the fights are far too long. Just how many times do I have to hit the minion or boss in order to kill it?
The one thing this game has going for it is the graphics. It’s one of the best looking games I’ve seen on the Wii.
But this game makes me jump through too many hoops for me to care about how the story ends. Prince of Persia: The Forgotten Sands just isn’t for me. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »