Rent Prince of Persia: Rival Swords for Wii
view large frontback

Prince of Persia: Rival Swords

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games
GF Rating
6.4

1502 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

simply fun

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

28 out of 34 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I have enjoyed prince of persia since it first came out and now that it is out on the wii it is even better.
Design: The levels and story are the same as the two thrones so there is nothing new here.
Gameplay: The controls work fantastically and it makes the game more enjoyable.
If you liked Twilight Princess you will enjoy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not a terrible port, but could have been better

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Apr 24, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

With the Wii's weak line up, Wii owners are seeing more than their fair share of port overs from the PS2 and PSP. Prince of Persia had a pretty good control set up, but the graphics get in the way. This game has a solid story line, controls work well and are fun, but the graphics are basically the same from the playstation's version, Two Thrones.

I haven't played any of the PoP games, so this was my first experience. I thought that the story was pretty easy to get into and that always makes a game a little more enjoyable. The acrobatics in the game were pretty cool too. It also added a platformer feel to it with all the jumping from ledge to ledge. I didn't like the Wii's camera movement by using the twist, but you can turn this off making it not a problem. Swinging the controls around worked well, and it added that fun element that makes this game worth at least a try.

Ok, Wii isn't a graphic power house, but it's can do a lot better then this. Being a port over, I'm sure they only really spent time working with the Wii mote set up, and I think they did a good job. I'd compare this to an old Tomb Raider game for the Playstation. You can see what you need to, but that's about it.

It's a solid game, and it is pretty fun too. The biggest question is, is it worth to get it on the Wii, or just buy it for the Playstation. My answer, if you don't own a PS, it's worth checking out on the Wii, if you do, don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for those who missed Two Thrones last gen

posted by Axlthehntr (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

POP Rival swords is a hard game to rate on the Wii really. I say this because it's not really a new game, it is also not really a remake as much as a direct port of Prince of Persion The Two Thrones which appeared on the GCube PS2 and Xbox about two years ago. The only thing that really changed is the addition of the Wii controls, which, if your a huge fan, may make it worth another adventure through Prince's world.

The game itself is a very good game, though the fact that nothing but the controls changed is a mojor drawback. The first thing you will notice is that the graphics compared to other Wii titles are awful, also, the sound effects are often overpowered by the music (however this can be fixed in the option menu). The other drawback is tied to exactly what makes the game fun in the long run, the controls. The learning curve for the new controls is huge and it doesn't help that the tutorial isn't clear on how to do everthing and you will find yourself doing things like starting a charge attack and leaving yourself open by accident in the begingin. After learning the controls though, it is a very thringling and fun experience, ther is much fun to be had with this game.

As for recomending this game, I'd say there are several categories who should try it and others avoid it.

Try it if:
-You really enjoyed The Two Throwns
-You Never played a Prince of Persia gam ever
-You missed Two Thrones the first time arond

Skip it if:
-You played Two thrones but wern't a huge huge fan
-Your looking for a unique use of the Wii remote
-Don't like difficult platforming games
-If your looking for a game for the kids, though it's only T on the Wii, it was originally an M rated game and maintains a relativly dark story you may not find fit for children under about 10 or so at the youngest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Wii title

posted by ps3isbest (SEVERNA PARK, MD) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Similar to Zelda, this game combines excellent gameplay with improved controls for the Wii. The puzzle solving is interesting, giving this game the ability to be very addictive. In addition, the game features some of the best graphics I have seen on the Wii to date, but to be quite honest that may not be saying a whole lot. Overall, this is a great game and is a welcome addition to the relatively weak Wii list of titles currently offered for Nintendo's new console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Prince of nothing of the Wii

posted by BradMoore (BOLT, WV) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was the only dissappointment for the Wii yet. They remove the M Rating and take out the really cool stealth kills, and then dahaka chases are almost impossible. Save your time and play the two thrones on Gamecube which is a great title to play through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Controls are weak!

posted by spidasteve (FORESTVILLE, CA) Apr 9, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

When i get a game for wii, i expect the special wii controls to play a big part in the game. I was disappointed by this game because the wii controls arn't used to the full potential and they are WEAK! Changing camera angles is a pain, you can use the directioal buttons or tilt the wii-mote to move, but its a bit difficult to use, and adjusting camera angles in this game is important! If your a fan of the P.o.P. series, rent this game for its story, but dont expect much out of the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unpolished and lacking

posted by Setekh (CAMPBELL, CA) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is the only game on the Wii that I have not liked so far. There are so many things that ruin this game.

One of the first things I notice about this game are the camera controls, you can turn the camera by twisting the remote, at first its kind of neat and different but soon after I find the camera moving at bad times just because my hand starts getting tired and not realizing that I have the remote turned a little bit.

Moving on, the game is fun but for a very short time. You have the tutorial type thing and the game teaches how to jump and run on walls and things like that, but again something fun in the game turns into a headache. Eventually you have to jump your way around a room, but if you fall from over 10 feet you die. I cant believe the main character can run on walls and scale to impossible heights but a fall from 10 feet will kill him, that means one small mistake or being off timing by about a second you are dead.

The games combat system is by far its biggest downfall. You pull of combos by swinging either the remote or the nunchuk downward, but its hard to know if the swing was even detected because the combat goes much slower controller swings. I find myself just randomly moving my hands up and down and feeling a little stupid. The exception to this is the "quick kill". If you sneak up on an enemy you can start a quick kill by swinging the nunchuk down, the prince will grab the enemy and the action will slow down at parts of the sequence, at the slow down points you swing the remote. It is pretty fun to do and very satisfying.

One other problem I had with this game is the graphic. Dont get me wrong I did NOT by the wii thinking I would be getting top of the line graphics, but this game is flat out awful looking. In my honest opinion it looks on par with an N64/PS1 game and I know the wii is capable of more.

Bad combat system, jump puzzles, and bad graphic really bring this game down. This game is fun at time but gets old quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MOUTH WATERING BEG AND PRAISE THIS GAME THANK YOUU

posted by shadow616 (Orlando, FL) May 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

ABSOLUTELY AWSOME GAME THE GAME IS GOOD AT EVERYTHING I DONT CARE ABOUT GRAPHICS BE CAUSE TO ME THE ONLY THING THAT MATTERS TO ME IS THAT IF I HAVE FUN WITH THE GAME OR NOT AND BELEIVE ME I HAD FUN.I THINK THAT YOU MIGHT HAVE FUN TO THIS GAME HAS GOOD CONTROLS THE CAMERA IS GOOD TOO BECAUSE YOU GET TO TILT THE NUNCHUCK TO THE POSITION YOU WHANT IT TO GO IN.ALSO THE FIGHTING WAY IS AWSOME TOO YOU CAN KICK SOME SERIOUS BUTT AND EXPECIALLY WHEN yOU arE baD it IS cOOL.i ALso FOUND THe StORy LIne ReALly cool ToO THE GAME IS GOOD IN ALL TONS OF WAYS THIS GAME IS A MUST RENT IT,BUY IT,BURROW IT,FIND IT,DO WHATEVER YOU CAN JUST AS LONG AS YOU HAVE THIS GAME AND YOU PLAY IT THEN YOU WILL BE HAPPY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't listen to others!

posted by Uzumaki (WEST SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS AWESOME. SIMPLY PUT, IT IS A LEGENDARY GAME. IF YOU DO NOT AGREE WITH THIS EVEN AFTER YOU HAVE TRIED PLAYING AS THE DARK PRINCE, THEN YOU ARE DELIRIOUS.

This game is awesome! The controls are NOT bad, although everyone says they are. It is SO fun when you are the dark prince, you swing the nunchuk around like a lasso! Please, just give this game a chance, I already was used to tilting th remote to move the camera even when I first started the game!

OVERALL: 10- WILL KEEP YOU BUSY FOR MONTHS,
IF NOT YEARS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Totally Removed

posted by TheStoof (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

PoP is a great series, but its move to the Wii was rough. The controls are great, but what takes away from the experience is the absence of blood and gore. In the original Two Thrones, blood and gore were prevalent, but entirely missing from this mess of a game. Had there been blood and gore, my experience as I remembered from the original would have great, but it is ruined.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is awsome

posted by FittyG (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

5 out of 15 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its same as the kings throne but beter u can rewind and the remote makes it fell lke ur in the game the attk mode is desent but the way u sneek andmove around a ride charriots is much beter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Could have been good.

posted by chard1942 (MERCER, PA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I never played the original title of the game(Prince of Persia: The Two Thrones) so I cant speak ill of it and what I hear it is a good game. But this game suffers from a few key areas. First are the controls they are uncomfortable on the wii and in my opinion don't work. Next this is a port of a Gamecube game which would have been fine and all if they did not change many parts of the game to make a T rating. That would be blood from monsters, strong language and some nudity that I under stand is in the original title. But to top it all off I have experienced many glitches where I will die and be stuck dead in red space among other things like the game just crashing or voice dialog become missing. For the most part the game can be fun at parts until you get to the final boss and for some reason thinks you have moved the wii remote during stealth kills where you have not. I would recommend from what I have read, play the original version on the Gamecube or any other system instead of this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My Review

posted by Tha360Kid (HAVERHILL, MA) Apr 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is the 2nd best game i have played for the Wii, but who wouldn't choose Zelda as there #1 on a Nintendo system.
Anyway, this is the first Prince Of Persia I have played, but this game seems to have it all. Cool controls and Combo's with the the Nunchuck and Wii Remote. Puzzles that entertain you, without getting aggrevated. Good variety of moves and obsticales. the only reason for me not giving this a Perfect 10 is because i'm still not sold on the graphics for the Wii. I know its a small system but they have to do something about that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great game but to much of one thing

posted by Hunter_A (FREMONT, NE) Aug 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Its a great game if you have played the others but if not its extremely confusing. A great action game. Love the speed kill bur the acrobatics are just to ' run here jump there' kind thing good game if you like to repeat the same stuff. But what serious gamer does?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good except one thing

posted by sojournert (MENIFEE, CA) Apr 3, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The speed kill system is horrible especially on the last boss. I know that I'm supposed to wait for the sword flash when speed killing but sometimes it just does not flash. This becomes infinitely ridiculous when the last boss involves 3 groups of speed kills. I finally had to give up because it just doesn't work and it is not worth wasting my time on. I'm very glad I rented this and didn't buy it. I thought it was because I wasn't waiting long enough or I was not still enough but that is not the case. It is just a very frustrating glitch that ultimately ruins what was a slightly better than average game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent

posted by ttreece (VENICE, FL) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I rented P.O.P for the Wii. Got about 75% thru the game and got to an impassable part. Chain Throw and Drop From Ledge is a multi function button and I kept falling to my death instead of throwing the chain. Hmmm, maybe a game fault, I don't know? Tried for a few days, gave up, sent back. Anyone else have this issue?

Over all decent game except for that.

t.t.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this prince of persia is cool

posted by y6ftctfdty (PLEASANTON, CA) Jan 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

when i played this game i got to say it was pretty good i like when you fight roman worriers.i like when you are the dark prince the graphics are pretty good .by the way did you now that if you swing the wii nonchuk you get the chain to swing agenst romans and walls but i also like prince of persia two thrones a little bit better try that one also its also a great series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by zelda4evr (FRANKLIN, GA) Aug 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

this game is completely awesome in every way except for one thing if you run out of sand you die a pretty good bit so if if your a non patient person then you may get frustrated other than that this game is a must have

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great addition to prince of persia series

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Aug 6, 2009

Member since May 2008

This game is great! But SHORT! And, you have to pay close attention to the tutorials or you will never get past any of the levels. I would definetly rent this game, but unless your goal is to collect every single one of the power-ups, i wouldn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Ubisoft, You Did it Again

posted by lemonball (CHARLESTON, SC) Jul 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2007

I wasn't expecting Rival Swords to be great, but I was wrong.

Pros
-retains that classic PoP gameplay
-adds several fun twists, such as the Dark Prince and boss battles
-motion controls work surprisingly well
-good story and graphics

Cons
-can forget a specific control on occasion
-a few gruesome sound effects
-is a bit confusing for me, having never played PoP Warrior Within

9.25

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

same game

posted by retic67 (CONNEAUT, OH) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

some game as the two thrones

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ubisoft Phones It In

posted by agentgray (GERMANTOWN HILLS, IL) Nov 7, 2008

Member since May 2006

I cannot understand why Ubisoft would take a great game and make almost no improvements except for a few waggle motions.

The quick-kills are great, but everything else seems to be phoned in. There are no improvements.

The colors and graphics of the game are dark and looked washed out. (I'm aware of the visual style on the Xbox and this is not what I mean).

In some places I had to raise the brightness on the TV because there's next to no display options.

Speaking of display, most major gaming sites list this game as having widescreen support. This is in error. It's standard 4:3. (Kind of makes me wonder if they played it?) Most blog reviews (done by average guys--and not "professional" reviewers) confirm the lack of support.

I would have given the game a 5, but the lack of widescreen on a system that supports it is a loss. (-2)

Avoid this game at all costs unless you have never played it and have the brightness way up on your standard definition television.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good but flawed

posted by Arphaxad (ENTERPRISE, AL) Jul 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Having never played any of the PoP franchise, I didn't know what to expect. But I was very pleasantly surprised by the dramatic music, sound effects, stunning (at times) graphics and overall appeal. In this game you have a good combination of puzzle, drama and action. The story doesn't get in the way of the fun! The puzzle aspect comes in figuring out how to get the prince from place to place. Granted the fairly unrealistic nature of his paths may get to you (Why doesn't he just use the door? Oh, look, a random plank--well I guess I have to jump over there.), but you have to overcome that to enjoy the game. Even on easy, some sequences and bosses will frustrate the ever living mess out of you, but if it were too easy, then you'd just hate it. Enjoy the game for what it is. Fun escapism with great graphics, action and puzzle elements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't really use wiimotes motion sensors

posted by MilkmanDan (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jul 11, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

After playing the PS2 and the wii versions, it's fairly clear that the wii port was barely an after thought. The extent of the motion sensing goes to making the equivalent of another couple of buttons. A harder to use couple of buttons at that.

The 2 controllers act like your attack buttons but any motion is the same attack for a given controller. Also, the motion sensitivity is a little low so often you end up waving the remote back and forth just to make sure the swing gets registered.

Also, the checkpoint save system can be quite frustrating at times, especially in light of the fact that most cut scenes can't be skipped. Coupled with the number of instant death drops that Prince of Persia games use, get to a part that's particularly hard to pass and you could get particularly frustrated.

That being said, it can be fun at times and fans of the series will probably enjoy the game. Though, I would probably go with the PS2 version as the controls are cleaner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by Malkier20 (O FALLON, MO) Jul 10, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is my first time playing the Prince of Persia series. I am glad I rented this game. It is a different spin on the classic puzzle games. I like how the as the prince you must climb walls and use your gymnastics skills to get around. I do wish there was more enemies present.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse