Rent Press Your Luck 2010 Edition for Wii
view large frontback

Press Your Luck 2010 Edition

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
5.1

1176 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

It's a Whammy

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

It's not a horrible game but after about an hour with it my girlfriend and I gave up on this one. ( ok ok maybe that does make it a horrible game ) This should have been a wiiware game rather then a disc based game. The actual game itself is really short. It has 2 rounds. Each round consists of answering some questions, and then pressing your luck to win money and avoid whammys. After two rounds the highest score wins.
The factor that pushed me away was there are motion controls, but they honestly suck. It's just easier to push the A button to hit the buzzer or stop the board to win your prize. Also the normal mode is fairly lame. You play a preset group of people in the game, and when you win you get customization options for your avatar. Your rewards are exciting items like: Jeans, hats, new hair styles etc.
I'd put it in the queue if you are curious. But I honestly just cannot understand why this was not a Wiiware game. It's WAAAAY to short to spend 27.99 on. Probably more of a 10 dollare DLC game.

Verdict: Rent and then send back after 30 minutes for the next ( hopefully better ) game in your queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True adaptation of original show

posted by gavnone (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

14 out of 18 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is, in my opinion, a true adaptation of the original game show that aired in the 1980's, from the "game floor" all the way to the over-the-top announcer - if you've never experienced a game show from the 1980's, where everything (and I mean everything) is "amped up", I heartily recommend renting this game. As someone who lived through the 1980's and remembers the original "Press Your Luck", playing this game certainly brought back memories. This type of game may not be for everyone, yet I know that I certainly enjoyed playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Disappointed

posted by SvenOfTheN (ISSAQUAH, WA) Dec 8, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The best part is the little Whammy animations that run in front of the screen, just like the old game show -- a nice blast from the past. Also, a lot of work went into the avatars in this title, but it kind of leaves off there.

The difficulty of the questions was reasonable, but the second time we played the game, ALL of the questions were repeated. After playing once or twice, game play gets fairly boring.

Sure glad we rented it and didn't waste money on buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Fun for a few minutes at most

posted by GamrNovice (CHULA VISTA, CA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I love this game show on TV so figured this would be fun for the family (all over 22 years old) to play during Thanksgiving. We played a few rounds, which was fun at first, then it got boring. The questions were either super easy or really difficult. I was surprised to find that you cannot choose different levels of difficulty. I sent it right back as soon as possible and will not get this game again.

All in all, it's probably not worth your time. We played the standard bowling game that came with the system more than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No Whammy...No Whammy...STOP Before You Rent!

posted by wggamer (TAMPA, FL) Mar 29, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have to admit that I never watched the show in the 80's, so I rented it purely as a fan of game shows in general. I have to admit, I was so disappointed that I put the game back in the mail an hour after I received it!

The questions are either insulting to your intelligence or so difficult that a blind guess is your only chance. The gameplay is as stiff as a piece of plywood, and the graphics hover on the low end of the Gamecube.

This can all be forgiven if the game was exciting, which it is not. There is no career mode, no real create a player, and no way to change the difficulty. All you are left with is a game that takes about fifteen minutes to play.

If you loved the game in the 80's, give it a try, but if I were you, I wouldn't Press Your Luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

press your luck...bummer

posted by redhotrace (HUDSONVILLE, MI) Dec 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

our family was excited to play this game together. we quickly became very disappointed. the game is very boring, no alternate modes to play and just very plain. you only get 2 rounds in multi player and single was not any better. for such an exciting game on tv, we were just very disppointed. i highly suggest rental before purchase for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

FUN TO PLAY ONCE

posted by pinecone (LOVELAND, CO) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Didn't expect much, but hoped for more than one hour. Game is more fun if you buzz in before the question and blindly answer. Didn't keep the attention of anyone in the family from Dad to Mom to 9 year old. No whammies, no whammies, STOP! Not worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by rms923 (CONROE, TX) Aug 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

There are exactly 20 sets of questions. You can replay any show and dominate. The big board is really balanced and I never felt like it jumped to a wammy. CPU is balanced and will get wammys. Graphics are horrible and gameplay is good for a single laugh with no reason to replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth it

posted by rckm117 (POTTSTOWN, PA) May 4, 2011

Member since May 2011

i got this to play with my mom but i cant get two player to work it like shuts my remote off. totally not worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Low replay

posted by SlajeD (WESTFIELD, IN) Dec 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Fun but gets dull fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

boring quick!

posted by nikki72111 (MOOSUP, CT) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this is an okay game. it gets old pretty quick. okay graphics, and it is very short rounds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game arrived broken

posted by ejusten54 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

The disk was chipped and would not load into the wII.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Press Your Luck

posted by RedDog1 (OAKTON, VA) Oct 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I was actually looking forward to this game. But as the saying goes, "it is better to want than have" sounded true.
I loved watching this show as a kid and adult, you could make fun of the people saying "Big Money" and "No Whammies" as well as the animations. This game starts off with character design and mostly all look like women and are really hard to distinguish the genders. The questions are elementary at best and multiple choice. The AI is obviously missing a few brain cells too. I have no clue of how it chooses it's answers but I am led to believe it would only have a 25% chance of getting this question correct: What color is the sky? EVEN after the human player picks Blue.
The players don't even show that excitement the game is famous for, the sound of "Big Money' and others is toned down.
The graphics are horrible and the timing of the characters and the actual movements are sluggish and robotic.
The game in total is a little over half a gig in size and it shows in the game play.
I could go on and on about how horrible this game is but I will sum it up like this. Don't Press your Luck just PASS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

wii or pc

posted by dobbsben36 (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 4, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

i have this game for pc and this is similar to wii. i was expecting something totally diffrent. If you have this for pc do not get this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

press your luck

posted by justbob (CONVERSE, TX) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

sometimes when we press our luck, it just doesn't work out. That is the case with this repetitive , boring game. The questions are cycled too often, and 1/2 the questions would be easy for a preschooler. It made me ask why I ever liked the tv game show.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Thanks for Gamefly

posted by Glock73 (ATHENS, AL) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

You will lose intrest after one night of playing, if not an hour or two. But, that is why I have Gamefly so we can try those "questionable" games and not be out the cash to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

THIS IS A WHAMMY!

posted by keriann (BEL AIR, MD) Aug 9, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

STOP!! I bought this game and was severely disappointed. That is what prompted me to join this sight - spend the money on a game that will never be played again. I used to love watching the game show and this was just not what I remember the game show to be. After about 30 minutes of playing, it has now been collecting dust. It did not hold mine or my family's interest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ubisoft?! I don't think so!

posted by FigDragon (LITTLESTOWN, PA) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I always enjoyed this game show and when my fiance asked me throw it the queue, I didn't hesistate. Something we can both enjoy and it's from Ubisoft of all people! You know, the ones who make those awesome Rayman and Rabbids games!!

Seriously...30 minutes and it was back in the mail! Thank god for Gamefly (no bad games!) because if I paid retail for this, I would have been on the phone to Ubisoft! I played better game show games on my old 386 computer! The graphics are pathetic, the game host is repetitive, the questions make no sense and even the Whammy himself manages to disappoint. It's short and provides little or no thrills. I suppose if you're not used to better games, you might accept this as "OK".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This is the worst game EVER.

posted by oishiimomo (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 4, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

All of you that voted this game anything higher than a 3 star is a crazy person. It is boring, pointless, somewhat annoying and completely uneventful. When you win something like say a big vacation package, they don't even list what kind of trip it will be! Also the music is something from one of my nightmares. It will keep you happy for literally a minute, until you realize that the game never gets any better, it just gets worse and worse. Don't waste your time, or money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

like it

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Jun 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

reminds me of the real game family loves it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fun For a Short While

posted by RamCow (HONOLULU, HI) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

To be fair, this game is pretty true to every aspect of the gameshow. The computer players even say "Big bucks, no whammies, no whammies!"

The single player pretty decent for a little while. The questions are reasonable, ranging from extremely easy (how many months in a year) to fairly hard (obscure questions about sports games from the 60s). The game doesn't ever change though so it gets boring fairly quickly.

As a multiplayer game, this game completely dropped the ball. First of all, if you only have 2 players, you aren't able to add any additional AI, so it's just the two of you. Second of all, the game will only recycle questions that you've already used in single player. So that makes the game completely unplayable since whoever was the person playing single player will be the one to know all the answers ahead of time.

If you're a fan of the show, rent it and play it for an hour, then put it back in the mailbox. Otherwise, it's not worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Press Your luck

posted by Genie51 (PONTIAC, MI) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

Excellant game. Lots of fun. I enjoyed it very much and will be purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Game Show comes to the Wii

posted by Conman74 (OSWEGO, IL) Apr 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

Remains true to the 80's game show. Would like to see some improvement to the Whammie activity animations. Over all good if you liked the Game Show, but will get old fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A lot of fun!

posted by stephieb29 (CLEARFIELD, UT) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I really liked this game! I had a blast playing it but it isn't something you can play for long periods of time. A half hour, maybe an hour if you have two other people. Great representation of the game show and those Whammys do kind of tick you off when you get them (though in a good way).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »