Rent PowerUp Heroes for Xbox 360
view large frontback

PowerUp Heroes

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $9.99

GF Rating
7.1

547 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good not Great

posted by andams88 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If your looking for a fighting game that can perfectly detect all your movements kinect is not there yet. However this game is one of the best games that utilizes the kinect technology that i have played. Shooting projectiles with your hands kicking your opponents fun times. There are some difficulties there is not enough explanation on how to play this game but its easy to pick up. The characters are fun and exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game.

posted by Adamj253 (LAKEWOOD, WA) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best kinect game to date with gunstringer a close second. Some of your movements get missed by the kinect, but for the most part works very well. Finally being able to shoot balls of flames out of my hands in a fight is also a big bonus. Worth the rent, and also a workout that makes you want to keep going.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best kinect game

posted by Darkshift27 (KNOXVILLE, IA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Graphics are great moves are good and you get one heck of a work out. But like with most kinect games it does not always reconize either you move to fast or the senser does not catch other thanthat I give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Im so very sad

posted by snowuse (YOUNGSVILLE, LA) Oct 19, 2011

Member since May 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Like alot of people (im sure) I really wanted this game to work. First of all Im in a loading screen now, more on that later im sure ill have time. With some kinect games like fruit ninja, that pick up such preciseness (?) I thought this one would be a little forgiving. NOPE. This is in no way a virtual mortal kombat or anything. Nor is it even playable most of the time. This is the slowest fighting game you will ever play. All of the moves are pre animated, which isnt a bad thing if it recognized your moves, but there are at least 2 gestures per special move. That means charge fireball then shoot fireball provided the game recognizes the 2nd move. Theres no fast way to execute this. So in multiplayer you can see someone do the 1st gesture and you have plenty of time to get out of the way before the move is executed. Even if done correctly (still loading) theres a bit of lag ,sometimes 2 to 3 secods, before your move is even done! As far as recognizing uppercuts as a finish or counter, that works maybe 3% of the time. Ive been playing for hours and ive landed 2. It does recognize the kicks almost every time. The load times are unforgivable. I have a brand new 360 slim, so its not my console. There is maybe a little fun here if it were an arcade downlod for 10 bucks. And you can jump around a little and hope for the best. Then I would understand the horribleness. And, it was pushed back 5 months, for what? I personally didnt expect perfection on this in any way but its just so so bad. It gets a 1 because like I said I just expected something, anything like it boasted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

power up heroes

posted by sassiness3835 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game it great ... I hope they make another one..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomeness

posted by xAZAZIN (HENDERSON, NV) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is an incredible game w/ everything i wanted in a KINECT game, and my brother hates fighting games, but he loved this one, BUY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

kinda boring

posted by grayson9861 (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 20, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i didnt really like it because it just got more boring and boring the more u played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Disappointed... :/

posted by zombieluv (VISTA, CA) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

This game was fun but it was badly scratched,so i was only able to play 1 round at a time -_-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Terrible

posted by jpc2k7 (LONG BEACH, MS) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

All the AIs kept noobing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fighting Game!

posted by Araiza (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

To get down to the point, my experience with this game is that it is super responsive. The kids (ages 8-12) absolutely loved this game; you should have seen how excited they got, both watching and playing this game. I also really enjoyed this game (age 25) and played through most of the storyline, which is short-lived, unfortunately. I still very much enjoy this game & plan to keep it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Very Fun Game

posted by Foxxy_Kyle (DENVER, NC) Jun 26, 2012

Member since May 2011

As the huge kinect fan that I am I had to play this, it just looked great. But honestly I was a tad bit disappointing in it because everything in the entire campaign is exactly the same. Very repetitive. Overall the game is fun though especially with friends. Great concept by the game, I just wish they could have put a little more diversity with each battle.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Scratched disc

posted by Torakib (SCHAGHTICOKE, NY) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i couldnt play the campaign because the disc was scratched

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool but...

posted by Davesivle (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 2, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

when I first got this game I was excited and couldn't wait to play it. But when I put it in it keept loading for ever and I cleaned it and it worked for a while. Then it didn't if say loading so now I'm returning the game and hopefully the next game I get won't be scatched.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

PowerUp Heroes

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Apr 4, 2012

Member since Jun 2008

this game is awesome perfect for people who are bored of the kinect and want something new to try this game reminds me of the good old arcade fighters but instead of playing with a joystick you are the controller.i would most definitely pick this one up. i give it 8 out of 10 on the fun factor .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not so bad

posted by Bartuby_Jones (CULVER CITY, CA) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

I dont think this game would have done as horribly maybe if they advertised better because there is no one to play online. Without that its fun for a day or two but really doesnt play so poorly seeing as it uses the kinect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by Edoe132 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2007

I have to say, this game is pretty good. My daughter and I are loving this game. Great exercise game as well. Now it's time to get a Mortal Kombat game that works like Power Up Heros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool Game

posted by jebus187 (SANFORD, FL) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Its not amazing but for a kinect game it pretty flockin entertaining. One of the moves is like the Lui Kang fireball or like the last airbender or something... its awesome!!! Been waiting my whole life to throw fireballs at opponents. It is definitely a novelty but fun none the less for kinect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

powerup heroes didnt play at all

posted by turboandtyler (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

please send me a game that works this game would not boot up it kept reading loading this is the second time ive hada problem with gamefly its sent me games later than i should have recieved because they were ariginally suppose to send my kids motion sports. and that game finally came and now powerup heroes doesnt work. im not wasting my money. contact me dad jeff. la londe 9548515746. asap. this is unacceptable. i want a call asap. thanks concerned dad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun times

posted by lucki1122 (CHAMBERSBURG, PA) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

I think..... this game is great, have I played better yes but it is an entertaining game. Me and my kids love it and it does make you feel like you in the game, and is that not what its all about?
The story line doesn't seem that bad, I will admit that we played vs alot more then story mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awsome game

posted by Punsisher (FORT WORTH, TX) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

Love this game it is one of the best kinect games they have out yet. The only problem I found with this game was there is not enough people playing it yet so you can't find anyone online to fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Powerup Heroes

posted by JaxtheRipper (LAUREL, MS) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Pretty fun game, especaily for younger audiances. worth a rent if your own a Kinect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Exercise for Fatty.

posted by Kilnavock (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

As a larger guy, this was a lot of fun and good exercise. Good menu system and short and sweet story line. YAY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for adults with kids

posted by josuemarbach (SPRING CITY, PA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I loved it, being an adult and playing this with my 4 year old. it was pretty awesome. I would pay money to buy this game in the future. I give it a 7 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I want fun competitive rewarding online matches...

posted by JM64 (NEW KENSINGTON, PA) Dec 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

...which is why I'm sticking with Kinect Sports 1 & 2. Same Day return. I pray to God I can make it to the mailbox in time for today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

short campaign

posted by GFcritic (AUBURN, WA) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Feb 2008

spoiler alert: finally beat the last character on level 2 of the campaign only that was the END of the campaign! I don't play online so thought 2 levels was pretty weak. Decent game but too short IMO if you only play offline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse