Rent Portal 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Portal 2

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.4

17467 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"Now you're thinking with Portals!"

posted by saeroshf (COLUMBUS, OH) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

57 out of 57 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just fantastic.

Being a huge fan of The Orange Box, specifically Portal and then hearing about this games release make me pretty excited. If you've ever played Portal 1 you know what to expect, the same morbid humor from GLaDDoS and even a few new characters.

Portal 2 takes the same exact game play mechanics from Portal 1 and throws in quiite a few new things in to make the puzzles even more fun and frustrating. Probably the biggest edition to the series is the introduction of Co-Op multiplayer. You play as two robots created for testing helping each other through the various levels, using your own individual Portal devices to navigate these seemingly impossible tests.

If you enjoyed Portal 1 or Portal: Still Alive (DLC edition) you're going to love the new aspects and characters that Portal 2 brings to the table.

Buy or Rent: RENT-- Simply because once you've completed the single player and co-operative modes, you're going to blaze through the levels because you remember them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Portal 2 from the POV of some one new to the story

posted by wlfmn (GREAT FALLS, MT) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

24 out of 24 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was recommended to me by my supervisor at work believe it or not and I wasn’t disappointed in the least. You don’t need to play the first one to be able to jump into this sequel but it does make you want to get a hold of it just to see how it all began. As I’ve always seen with Valve they strive to impress and this is yet another example of how. Portal 2 is an outstanding title and a rather interesting break away from the standard "shooter" most gamers are used to playing. It will make you think and there is little to no repetition in the puzzles. Best of all it’s one of those games you don’t have to worry about who you play it with or where as it is still a blast but is very clean. Ill definitely be giving this game a second play through before sending this one back. If your not afraid to break away from the norm and are especially a fan of Valve then this is well worth the rent!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) May 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

40 out of 44 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

The dark humor of this game was toned down from the original. I was happy to see GLADOS back even though you "killed" her in the first game.

This game looks awesome, plays great and I found no technical flaws at all.

There are new gameplay elements to the puzzles as well as Awesome co-op.

There are many puzzles which will challenge you, some are very hard but all are enjoyable and the underlying story moves the game along at a good pace.

I highly recommend this game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Portalriffic!

posted by R1V3Rr4t09 (FALL RIVER, MA) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

One of the best games I've played all year. The storyline was great! I love how easily I fell in love with Wheatley and quickly grew to dislike him. GLaDOS was as evil as ever and to see a soft side of her, yet still a bit sadistic, with Caroline was a nice touch. The puzzles were amazing and well crafted. The only downside would be the multiplayer. The multiplayer seems flawless but it's hard to stay in a match with other oppenents who choose to leave matches. But thats a human error and has nothing to do with the craftmanship of the game itself. This game gets a 10 by me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Break from the pack

posted by Treyos (CHESTER SPRINGS, PA) May 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

In this day and age, first person games are supposed to be shooters. So when I see one that isn't, I'm usually intrigued. When the first Portal came out, I was hooked, and this continuation of the series improves on what made the first game so great.
The dialogue is really well written, offering moments where I actually laughed out loud right from the beginning. The puzzles are challenging, but not so challenging where I was ripping out my hair from frustration. The new game play additions made some puzzles incredibly fun to solve. Also, the co-op was amazing. If you have the right partner, it can be extremely entertaining. It didn't feel tacked on for a second and I was impressed with how well it worked.
The only thing keeping this from a ten for me would be the length. I wanted so bad for this game to just keep going, and I can't help but feel as though it was still too short, which was the main point I had issues with in Portal. But that shows how wonderful and fun this game actually is. This is definitely worth your time and more than warrants a rental. 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game of the Year Possibly?

posted by Dinosaucer (LAKE ELSINORE, CA) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

27 out of 36 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Portal 2 is the best game I've rented from Gamefly this year. It improves over the original game in every catagory.

The graphics engine used here seems to be updated with better lighting, textures, animations and so much visual variety over the first Portal.

Top notch voice acting is also very humorous. Cool music and sounds add to the overall atmosphere and immersion.

The single player story mode starts where the first left off. It has very good pacing and surprises along the way. Very good story overall.

There are even more puzzles to solve in the single player story mode than the first Portal game including new puzzle elements like lasers, light bridges and more. The puzzles are just as challenging if not more this time around.

Basically the gameplay is the same as the first but they added a zoom feature to help shoot portals long distances.

I just beat the game and the ending was really good. Right now I can't think of any negatives about Portal 2 and I have yet to play co op.

It is my game of the year so far until I play the next Elder Scrolls probably. I recommend this game to everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by Blublur (CONIFER, CO) Apr 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

23 out of 31 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

Just wow. This game is why gamers should game. This game has everything, great puzzles that get you thinking, the perfect amout of strategy and an awesome story.You will literally be hooked on this game from the start to the finish.If you are reading this and have not clicked rent yet, shame on you because this game is great. A must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Awesome

posted by thenukeofnukes (RICHMOND, VA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

27 out of 39 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Ok, so I'm not done with it yet and I haven't even beat the single player yet, but that is how good it is. i can already rate it a 10 out of 10. The graphics are great, the gameplay is fun, the controls are good, and it is interesting and funny. Anyone who liked Portal will love Portal 2! Good job VALVe. It also seems to be full of suprises which it exciting and interesting. Of course, any game that is unlike any other game made is interesting. Modern Warfare and Black Ops have nothing on Portal 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Diamond in The Rough

posted by CanadianVandal (SPRING, TX) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

25 out of 39 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

In a game industry saturated by shooters done over and over each year, Portal 2 brings a unique experience that shouldn't be missed! This puzzle game requires the use of your brain, a rare occurrence in the current game marketplace. Portal 2 is not for kids who actually think Black Ops is a good game, fail. The commentary from the lady robot is hilarious, a game that actually makes you laugh? That is rare. Portal 2 is not for everyone, but if you have half a brain you will love it!

The reason developers are producing the same shooters and not developing unique games is because a failed game can bankrupt a company. Sales show brainless kids will buy shooters, no matter how bad they are - Homefront. The success of Portal 2 however proves that there is a strong market for non-shooters. Take a chance developers! Portal 2 did...and it's a smashing success.

This game will be in your memory for years to come, enjoy.

PS- Developers, please stop making the same shooters. Learn from Portal 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a long awaited return

posted by petercheez (CORYDON, IN) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

11 out of 18 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

this game is amazing . 10 all day . its dark humor makes it a must play along with the first one and the whole halflife series ..

new puzzles and new challenges await you in the remains of the old apurature science laboratory..

be wise and buy this one its a must have..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but....

posted by SaintJames012 (AMES, IA) Sep 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

honestly this is a fun game but its not my kind of game. 7/10 just because I will admit it was a fun game to play, but I will have to pass on actually getting it. People who dont like puzzle games will find this game amusing and entertaining, but might not like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Bad

posted by StarsHockey (FRISCO, TX) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It has a very interesting storyline, and is quite funny. Although all you do are these test chambers that are like puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Haha oh wow.

posted by HouserMD (WICHITA, KS) May 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you don't have a sense of humor, don't even bother. This was amazing and frustrating and ultimately satisfying. My goodness, what a great game. Perfect ending.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

From good to great

posted by 8280PIE (CHARLOTTE, MI) May 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The original Portal was the story of a test subject, Chell, going through the simple 19 testchambers and defeating GLaDOS, and that was pretty much all there is to it. Now Portal 2 on the other hand...

3 Main stories makes this game MUCH longer and in depth than the original, and your little personality core, Wheatly is there by your side (mostly..)

The plot mostly revolves around you exploring the aperture science department (Mostly in ruins) while solving the mysteries of GLaDOS and doing a few "tests" along the way.

The gameplay is the same as the original, so veterans wont have trouble handling the controls, but on the other hand new gameplay elements like Faithplates and Repulsion Gel will give you the same mind boggling entertainment that everyone loved from the first game.

A new co-op mode is now available and is it's own original story featuring 2 nice little robots each armed with portal guns. The main difference between normal and co-op is now with 2 portal guns, the developers had more freedom to make the tests much more complicated, featuring elements in the game not normally introduced until way later.

Overall, not a terribly challenging game, it has a great plot, great gameplay, and a hilarious script.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Portals

posted by ScottieDoesKnow (COVINGTON, LA) May 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Portal 2 will challenge your brain, tickle your funny bone and draw you into the story. How does a game revolving around "testing" manage to be so FUN. I dont know, but it is. I highly recommend it. I was completing "test" and saying BRING ON THE NEXT ONE! IS THAT ALL YA GOT! Cant say that's ever happened before.
This game was a welcomed change of pace from your average first person perspective "shooter". You will be challenged, but it wont be your reflexes or accuracy that will get you through. It will be your ability to problem solve. You will not be rewarded by bigger, badder guns or swords. These things are of no use in aperture labs. Simply knowing that I was smart enough to pass was reward enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simple, Brilliant, and Awesome

posted by lax3131 (ORLANDO, FL) May 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

A supierior and updated version of the original, Portal 2 offers a much longer and deeper story with an almost equally long, completely different co-op story.

Gameplay is mostly exactly the same, save for a few new obsticles and mechanics. The puzzles are just as fun and take a bit more thought than before. Co-op is also fun and enjoyable as with you and a partner controlling 4 portals instead of 2, and you will probably have more fun killing and sabotaging your partner than rushing through the puzzles. However, have a friend or you will end up playing with a random person online or trying to juggle two controllers like me(and added challenge if you're up for it.

Overall, no flaws, very fun, and has one of the best endings I've ever seen in a video game(had me smiling and laughing for some time afterward).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PORTAL 2

posted by BOGGIE (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I LIKE THE FEELING YOU GET WHEN YOU SOLVE A CHAMBER,I'AM STUCK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of a Few Games Worth the Price Tag

posted by NITROCIDE (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I am going to keep this short.

If you like puzzle games you should buy this game no questions asked. Developers that make games like this need to be preserved and they need to know we appreciate the effort and thoughtfulness they put into the game. If you don’t believe me that this is a great game rent it. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Refreshing Change of Pace

posted by Mr_Goodkat (TAHLEQUAH, OK) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

12 out of 21 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off, this game WILL NOT REQUIRE YOU to shoot, stab, saw, chop, smash, bludgeon, choke, dismember or disembowel anything. This is GOOD NEWS for those of us who are tired of being suckered into buying or renting the multitude of mediocre button mashers and FPS's!

Some of you might think "What? No hordes of undead to kill? Whatever shall I do?" Let me assure you what Portal 2 lacks in typical gore and violence it more than makes up for with a clever story, amazing strategic game play (puzzles/levels) and brilliant sarcasm thanks to a solid script and voice talent.

I never played the first Portal game but I had read good things in reviews on the net. If you're a first time player it will take a minute to get use to the game play and objectives as they are "unique" from anything you've probably played. This game is critical thinking and problem solving bliss. So if you're impatient, easily frustrated or of "below average" intelligence I would recommend killin' zombies instead.

The controls were tight and responsive although in some portions of the game the ability to actually "run" would have given the game a smoother pace.
Aside from the (obvious) excellent puzzles and game play the dialogue and voice acting were a real treat for fans of subtle and hi-brow humor. Fans of Ricky Gervais will recognize the co-writer and director of The Office UK's Stephen Merchant as the robot Wheatley. Veteran voice actress Ellen McLain(Portal, Mass Effect 2 series) returns as the pleasantly sarcastic GLaDOS and veteran actor J.K. Simmons(J. Jonah Jameson in the Spiderman franchise) provides comic relief as Aperture CEO Cave Johnson.

You will not be able to just breeze through this game. It will take a certain amount of thought and time to clear some of the harder levels but nothing that would make you want to throw a controller.
Portal 2 is solid in all aspects except for replay value but it does have co-op mode. I refuse to give 10's (no game's perfect!) so 8.5 solid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the most enjoyable gaming experiences, ever

posted by aeontide (CINCINNATI, OH) May 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Portal 2 is an escape from CoD: Shoot Stuff, BF: Shoot Stuff and Watch It Crumble Some, and DA2: Become A Legend By Washing Everyone's Shorts... With Swords. It most resembles the free fun we look to in interwebs-based Flash games, be they Tower Defense games, or physics based puzzle games. Portal 2 weds the fun of Flash games with the graphics and bling of your PC or console, seamlessly, I might add.

The environment is stunning, real care went into creating the gaming world, and the details we expect from a budgeted game are most certainly present. You can read signs, door signs, painting captions, artwork on walls, etc. and learn about the world, the room you're in, etc. Valve continues to impress me, releasing some of the most intelligent games (I'm a scientist, so seeing random maths scattered about, references to quantum physics, etc. is a definite bonus). Graphics are amazing, the music and sound perfected to create an atmosphere reminiscent to the way that Amnesia creates the atmosphere for horror.

The puzzles (many dozens of them) are harder, less obvious, and many are quite rewarding when you finally figure it out. The puzzles take only minutes to actually perform the necessary tasks, but figuring those tasks out is the fun, and you'll be scratching your head for at least several hours to get through the single player. More headaches ensue in the multiplayer campaign where you and a friend have to coordinate and cooperate to make your way through the puzzles. The addition of several experimental substances (bouncy, speed, and put-portals-anywhere) adds to the challenge as you have to incorporate them into your solutions.

The story is polished and developed as far as it needed to be, the Portal developers (likely from having to create the previous installments on limited resources) have a talent for telling a great tale without the fluff. Humor abounds, with far more wit than before.

All around, this is the most fun I've had gaming. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game, A Must Buy

posted by Sean39 (San Ramon, CA) May 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I purchased Portal 2 when it came out for the Xbox 360 and is definitely worth it.

The game is a significantly improved version of the original and it is just as great, if not better.

The voice acting is very funny and seems funnier each time you play the campaign.

The Co-Op is extremely well made. You can even hold "Y" to view your partners screen to tell them what to do. It's a lot of fun to kill your partner too and GLADoS even comments on it.

Graphics have improved as well and work with the game.

Valve is also releasing free DLC for the game but the only issue I have with the game is that 360 players get a little ripped off.
PC players can create levels.
PS3 players can play levels created on PC.
360 only gets free DLC that the other systems also get. Valve might add the ability to play the PC created levels but at the moment it is not possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

From Refreshing to Engaging

posted by Roty22 (CONROE, TX) Apr 19, 2011

Member since May 2009

14 out of 26 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

The first Portal version released with the Orange Box was a refreshing fps/puzzle phenomenon. Portal 2 is the exact same concept with a AAA budget. Great game, just play it and you won't be dissatisfied.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Valve is stunningly clever

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 21, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Aperture Labs and GLaDOS are back and are smarter & more devious than ever. The single player and co-op campaigns will have you coming back for sloppy seconds and thirds. But expect to spend the majority of your time "testing" in co-op play. If you thought 2 portals was crazy, imagine puzzles with a friend where you can now create 4 portals between the 2 of you.

Diabolically dark humor and sarcasm await you around every corner, in both the co-op and single player campaigns. It is intelligently well written, and GLaDOS' creepy robot voice will no doubt entertain you or even make you laugh out loud. It remembers you destroying it, laying on thick guilt trips and one liners to insult your stupidity and inability to solve its puzzles during testing. GLaDOS is personally guiding you through tons of gauntlet like chambers and portal creating goodness. Expect tons of new objects to use, in-game physics & science, and ways to use teamwork. Teamwork is huge in co-op, but I shouldn't have to mention that.

Being P-Body & Atlas in co-op is a seriously deep addition. Small things like being able to gesture, i.e. playing rock paper scissors, high fiving your partner, dancing the robot, etc. add a lot to the already solid gaming experience. Expect to think more than outside the box to solve some of the testing chambers. You may find more than 1 way to beat a chamber, you may fly through some quickly, or maybe it will take you and a friend 20 minutes to finish one because it's that tricky or the solution is in front of your face and you just don't know it. You'll likely have all of the above.

Valve gives Portal 2 its own personality. Marketing it perfectly also helps, and they've done that with hilarious P Body & Atlas YouTube videos and trailers. I'm glad it's available for the 360 for everyone to enjoy. Good luck surviving the testing.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First Time Playing Portal,I Was Not Disappointed!

posted by WizzardFingazz (SIGNAL HILL, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Fluid controls,beautiful gameplay mechanic,awesome graphics. You don't want to miss out on this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Surprised

posted by Bauer24 (LANCASTER, CA) Apr 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I never did play the first Portal game though i heard about it it dis not call my attention. I decided to try this game more because of a lack of options than anything else. Honestly, i'm glad that i did. This game is different than any i have ever played. The story is well told and is entertaining from start to end. The Tests were hard enough to make me stop and think but not too complex. I recommend this game for anyone who wants to try something different and wants to solve some tests. Co-op is great. It requires some actual teamwork amd communication from all parties involved. Which makes it different than most games. Give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse