Rent Port Royale 3: Pirates & Merchants for PS3
view large frontback

Port Royale 3: Pirates & Merchants

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.4

341 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Simulation and Strategy on the PS3

posted by Fluffy (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

22 out of 23 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Port Royale 3 is a game unlike most others so far released to the PS3. It has elements of strategy, simulation, and action. It offers a relatively free and open world, allowing the player to decide how to build their own monetary empire. The game can be very challenging, but it can also be fun and rewarding if you take the time to learn its combat and trading system.

Pros:
Fun gameplay
Good sound effects and voice acting
Open ended gameplay
Requires some thought and consideration

Cons:
Graphics are a bit dated for a PS3 game
Prone (as of release, without any update) to occasionally freezing

Overall I like this game a lot. I enjoyed Port Royale 2, its predecessor, as well. If you liked that game, you'll love this game. It took what Port Royale 2 had an improved upon it in most ways. I see this as an underrated game that may not be for everybody, but if simulations and strategy are your thing, you may enjoy this game very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game if you're into the sim/Adventure stuff.

posted by Bernal (LOCUST, NC) Oct 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying I'm a big Sid Meyers Pirates fan. I loved the sim/adventure aspect of that game, and find it is also here in Port Royale 3.

Over all I like certain aspects of the game. It's actually pretty deep in trading, upgrading, building, etc. There are a lot of things to do, and it could keep you busy for hours! But, I can see where it can be tedious. It is open world/sandbox type of game though so you can make the best of it if you do get bored, for example attack ships and towns hehehe.

It could take a bit to learn the trading aspect not just buy low and sell high but, also building warehouses/farms to produce resources you may need in other cities, and establishing trade routes, and commanding fleets.

I'm enjoying it so far. Since I like this kind of game I probably will keep it. I'ts a great game to sit back and chill with for when I need a break from shooters, and sports games.

Graphics are OK, sound is also OK. Haven't had it freeze yet. The cut scenes could be better, a lot better. Most are cartoon like drawings like in a book with a background dialogue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Koei Please make "Uncharted Waters 3"

posted by CaseyCash (BAYONNE, NJ) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was expecting something like "Uncharted Waters" and I received a game that could have been made for ios platform or some other handheld

I enjoyed it at first but the game lacks any real substance, story or depth at all.

The trading system is pretty deep and it is always good to play games that actually give you real life knowledge. I now know a little more about the geography of that area of the world because of the twenty hours I put in navigating it.

If historically set games are your thing, by all means go ahead...if not you may find this one too tedious and slow paced for your liking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

WTH?!?!

posted by Vanidor73 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Gives a tutorial for buying/selling goods
Gives a tutorial for sailing from port to port
Gives a tutorial for picking your nose at sea

let's me get into a fight and die...without a "COMBAT" tutorial ?!?!?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What, you can't rate a game zero?

posted by Juke (TAMPA, FL) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Let me skip my usual spiel about how a game should function in its capacity as an entertainment device. A game, I usually say, is worth a certain amount of entertainment, and that’s only what’s to be expected. Games sometimes tell a story or have a certain aspect that makes more art or narrative than just a “game.” There’s a difference between monopoly and say Assassin’s Creed.
Someone , some developer forgot that games have to be fun, not share the name with one of the most famous Maritime Ports in the western hemisphere. Port Royale proclaims it is an interesting and intense Age of Sail commerce and war time game.
IT. IS. NOT.
Let’s start with face value and work our way to the bottom.
Graphics are almost pixilated. You never see a ship up close, and battles look like something out of a gameboy (not DS, an Advance.) I’ll get to the controls later. Town are more impressive, but totally bland from a top down view. Cut scenes are Playstation ONE Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone Style, very cheesy, very still, and extremely poor. Your advisors (think the Sims) are blocky and honestly make Mario 64 look sharp.
There is no story. They say there is, but the next section render’s them… totally irrelevant.
Gameplay. All menus. You have a boat, but when you control it, you place and X on the map (map of the Caribbean/Gulf area) and hold L1 to get there. That he MAXIMUM interaction with high seas sailing you will have. In battle is, and I am being totally honest) like playing with slot cars. You turn the ship and when an enemy gets near you press L1 or R1 and hope it hits them, cause there not even a firing animation. There is a trade system, but it’s all menus, and you would basically be doing math with no real reason to gain from it.
I’ll wrap this up with this little tid bit. I finish games. Or at least I’ll get into enough to get the story, if not total completion. I sent this back same day, within an hour of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh need alot of patience

posted by roma94 (DALLAS, TX) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

if you dont have the patience make a convoy set to high speed then turn off your controler and boom half a billion then take to the seas

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ehhh

posted by iqusoe (ROUND ROCK, TX) Dec 5, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was expecting alot more from this game. It reminds me alot of a zynga game by look and unfortunately game play.
Alot of the game is just point and click directing your convoys to different ports and trading. Selling and buying goods is how you make money based on supply and demand. Its not a trading system you can expect to jump in and use i would recommend watching the tutorial videos. Other then that there is not much action to the game which is where i was disappointed. You attack other convoys and towns but theres no gratification to doing it. its basically your run of the mill. Age Of Booty type game with alot more trading and less fun action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by nastymacaa (GAINESVILLE, FL) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 30 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If you like trading bananas for corn for hours get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really bad game... Could of been so much better...

posted by WilliamTell (SUMMERDALE, AL) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Really bad game... Could of been so much better...
Maybe next try... But i doubt it...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucksssssssssssssssss

posted by gilbert1 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

this game sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really lame

posted by kc3559 (GALLATIN, TN) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

this game would have been decent if the controls had not been so cumbersome. other wise just fair.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the typical pirate game

posted by bigjesse19 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Mar 22, 2013

Member since May 2010

I think this is not your ave. game. This game takes skills of economic trading and politics. If your not into that then skip this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by ladybug31 (PITTSFORD, VT) Feb 8, 2013

Member since May 2012

Too confusing to figure out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by wccomics (CHICAGO, IL) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

If you like playing games that have endless trading with very little point and no conquest mode. Then maybe you will like it. I've played many including romance in the seven kingdoms which i enjoyed. But this was very boring with a ounce of annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Oh No...

posted by Sethmac75 (SEYMOUR, IN) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This is one of the few times that I say that computer games should not go cross console platform...nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Had Potential

posted by clashw (LAS CRUCES, NM) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

PR3 came up a disappointment though it did have potential. This could have been a top notch strategy game rivaling Civilization Revolution. However, lack of information (manual and online) and poor automatic controllers really held this game back. You can set up your own controls for trading and the warehouse, but again there is little guidance and it takes a long time.

The pirate battles were a complete waste of time. There is really very little point to doing them other than trying to add ships to the fleet. Otherwise, I just chose automatic. And, once again, there was a complete lack of explanation of controls for this area of the game as well.

Perhaps if I had played PR 1 & 2, I would have better understood the controls. But, a game should be playable by a new user regardless of version. I promise you new users to Madden 2013 don't feel they need to go back and play the last 10 years in order to play 2013.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fair

posted by Selectfew (MONTICELLO, FL) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Pretty good for a Civilization Genre game. All the mechanics are there. Big Map etc. But for a True Pirate Adventure , I was hoping for a more ADULT game. Graphic war , Warm Wenches , Rum flowing. But if you like Monopoly , this is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great idea, but poorly done.

posted by Joshua3886 (ARCADIA, CA) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2009

The game on the surface looks like a ton of fun. It has some great ideas for gameplay and the whole concept is innovative. However, once you get down to the actual details of the game, it falls apart. I won't say it's full of problems, but the problems it does have are pretty bad. The worst thing to say about it is the frustration factor and the lack of a good tutorial.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Exactly as the PC version

posted by ClassyG (ATLANTA, GA) Nov 14, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I played this game on the computer and liked it. When I saw it as a PS3 version, I got excited for all that it could mean. I was disappointed. It's exactly as the PC version. No differences really other than the view of the towns and there is interaction with other players if you're logged into the network. I was looking for more interactive fight scenes, better barter scenes, more interactive Govenor quest screnes... something...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »