Rent Pool Party for Wii
view large frontback

Pool Party

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.0

498 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor Use of Wiimote

posted by Googa009 (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Dec 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very disappointing. Playing pool on the Wii should include more than just lightly thrusting the Wiimote forward. The Wii is defined by its unique controller and this game takes no advantage of it at all aside from pointing at the screen to arrange your shot. Even this can be done by the digital pad. The amount of unlockables is a plus in this game, but still this change the lack of quality controls. I personally prefer WiiPlay pool where the Wiimote is utilized more like a pool stick not just a plain controller.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you play pool, don't play this game

posted by BrianSmith (SAN MARCOS, TX) Sep 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

The main problem with Pool Party is the controls, which is the only factor that really matters when you are playing pool.

Power is almost impossible to control. The power meter flies up and down with the most subtle movements.
The ball physics are not even close to real. Wii Play has better ball physics in their billiards game.
Don't worry about bottom english, your cue ball almost stops when it hits other balls.
Left and right english cause the ball to curve wildly rather than causing the cue ball to spin and imparts spin to other balls.
If a ball comes vaguely close to a hole, it drops in. Don't worry about the fact that the ball is going way too fast and should have bounced off and out of the pocket.
Getting an overhead view of the table requires going to a menu and cycling through camera angles.
And, to add insult to injury, when you scratch, it actually gives you the same message it does when a normal ball goes in, as if it were a good thing that you scratched.


The simple fact that this game is unplayable as pool is enough to give it a very poor rating, but the horrid music and the exceedingly annoying background noises that persist when the music is off really hammer home the lowest possible rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Vomit

posted by EvilXenon (KEENE, NH) Jan 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The physics were okay... and that was pretty much it, the music selection was terrible, I would rather be stuck in an elevator listening to Liza Minelli for a few hours than play 10 minutes with this game.

What is the point of selecting a hot blond as your character when you can't even watch her bend over the table?

For a Wii game... they sure didn't take advantage of the mobility of the play controls, I would have liked to to see more. I would send this back to gamefly today, but sadly the mail has already gone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I would rather be behind the 8 ball

posted by Stressor (TAYLOR, TX) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is lame. The games is just not great.

The controller functionality is too sensitive. Also, it is very awkward. Trying to shoot is very painful and at times the slightest movement is a shot and at others, Shrek could not hit the balls. It is hard to get the power behind the shot and almost seems random. It needs an adjustment for sensitivity.

The graphics are lame as well. Just was not at all appealing.

The lack of a tutorial is another failure in this game.

The most disturbing aspect is the music. It defnitely gets on the nerves.

I sent it back after 2 games.

Dont even bother. Hopefully, ESPN will come out with a better tournament version of a billiards game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not what I expected

posted by voelcker (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had very nice graphics and visual elements, from the table, to the pool balls, to the scenery around the table. Unfortunately, looks aren't everything. All I can really say is that it's not as entertaining or fun as the billiards mini game in Wii Play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game sucks

posted by wiihacker (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Sep 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wow...the worst pool game ever....the interaction is very slow, also sometimes your ball won't even shoot.I wasted one of my rentals with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Gee Geds

posted by Silasrye (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Is this game Awful.
I was really looking forward to a pool game, thats all my one friend wants to play on a wii, and the one that came with wii play was pretty bad, I thought.

You would think a dedicated game would be better but it isn't. The graphics are terrible, yes there is flicker and for what, I know there are some physics involved, but graphically this has got to be one of the simplest games you could make.

OK fine, If the gameplay/controls were good, I wouldn't mind, but they are awful.

You cant really move your view around to see what you want. You cant really put any amount of spin on the ball, without making it curve (for example getting a spin of the rail, but shooting straight at the rail).

Its difficult to control power, and who knows what the levels mean.

Actually letting a shot go feels like dookie (you wouldn't believe what they censor here).

Lining up shots is to fast, and quantized, I feel like i cant adjust in small enough increments.

Long story short, this game sucks, its not worth a rent, and they know it sucks thats why its so cheap. I pity anyone who actually bought this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

looking so good but fall to short

posted by brockly (MODESTO, CA) Sep 8, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Pool Party is a fun game. If your in a Pool hall 2 to 3 times a month. you should rent this one for you and your Buddy's. but if your looking for a fun game to play with your family. this one might not be the one for you. you have so many options to add to the game but not the ones you want. you get different pool cues, ball, places to play, tables to play on, music. but people are looking for is to play there MP3's off a SD card.
play with 4 players people in some games not all the games but some. they have meny game to play snookers full and short, 9 ball, 8 ball, killer and they keep going on. you have a choice of 13 one player game and 10 2 player game. so you have a nice change of pace. but for me the game fall a little short. the game flickers in the game like you don't have a fast enough video card. and the music is better that midi music but not up to night club live music. I would love to drop some MP3's on a SD card and watch the game pick that up. but its not in the game. and you don't see your character just a head of who you are. the pool cue is play like a ghost is shooting that you can't see. the graphics are OK not great. they are not going to win any awards but that were not shooting for that. just a fun game to play with (one)a Friend.

Pros:its fun. you have many game to play. easy to pick up. its cheep for a Wii game.

Cons: graphic Flicker, Can't play your MP3's. The game play is arcadish. can't play 4 players or Wifi with a buddy. music could be better.

All in all: Its a fun game for what it is. If you love pool get two of those Wii pool sticks and have fun. but if you just looking for a fun game with your family this one might not be for you.

1 out of 10: 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

pool party

posted by nomader (NEWAYGO, MI) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I would like to have seen better realism in the setting of shot prep, I.E. the cue stick moving to set the power.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not so hot...

posted by rn5777 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I've played much better pool games just using my PC and keyboard or even a Razor cell phone for that matter. I would not recomend this game to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pool party

posted by memoagley (KYLE, TX) Apr 9, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

the game doesnt work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

no instructions

posted by lalocarade (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 30, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

no instruction on game at all.How to play game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Its...not good

posted by BEAUX25 (TAYLOR, MI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

I was upset that i wasted a couple days renting this game. There is better games on cell phones no lie!! Just leave it alone trust me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pool Party could be better

posted by texasangie (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I couldn't wait to rent this game, I have a tendency to really enjoy the more basic games over a lot of action going on all around me. I like being able to have so many choices of tables, backgrounds, cue sticks. But, I have to say that I was disappointed that I couldn't get better control of the cue stick. Maybe it was just me. If they make a Pool Party 2, maybe they'll figure out a way to have more control of the cue stick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by poolshark (KAYSVILLE, UT) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

I'll admit I expected Pool Party to be a top notch pool experience on the Wii. I rented it and was amazed at how many varieties of pool there are to play inside this game. The play control lacked a little for me in how it was not as precise as I had hoped. But that being said this game is Very addictive. By playing and winning games against virtual opponents that vary in skill and ability you unlock new pool queues, balls, tables, music and pool halls. I love the pool game in WiiPlay (which is a must have game because of the controller it includes), but the limitations of a single game of 9 ball with okay play control make Pool Party the best game of pool on the market. And I say that because pool is much more fun on the Wii than playing it on any other system with your thumbs alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not much of a party here.

posted by 1218bc (WASHINGTON, DC) Feb 11, 2008

Member since May 2007

While it does have nice graphics and a soundtrack that you can turn off, I simply cannot give this game anything higher than a 2 based on South Peak Interactive's failure to actually take advantage of the Wii's unique motion controls. Much like the hyped Brunswick Bowling, Pool Party is built on a button-based interface, completely ignoring the Wii's ability to have motion-control. This game could be on any platform and it would play the same. If you're going to make a pool game for the Wii, let's try actually building it FOR the Wii. Hopefully someone out there can do better than WiiSports and WiiPlay - but who's going to be the first to get there?

At least we know its NOT going to be South Peak Interactive's Pool Party.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse than Aquaman!

posted by Adamah (Pahoa, HI) Jan 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

This game is so bad I had to send it back before completing a whole round of pool. Everyone quit after three or so shots because they couldn't handle it. The music is so bad it took about a minute for it to become annoying. While the game has a variety of options for game play, it does not really utilize the benefits of the wii remote at all. The wii play version is actually better than this piece of trash.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

SUCKS!

posted by Pokemonfan (LAKELAND, FL) Dec 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

This game sucks. I regret buying it. I didn't rent it because I love pool and saw it at the store and bought it. And boy do I regret that! Terrible game. I am sorry for anyone who bought this game. I'm ashamed of the Producer and designer for coming up with this. Ban this game! Ban it! Ban it! Ban it! BAN IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent Pool Party

posted by jake11 (LITTLETON, CO) Dec 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

worst game I've ever tried to play. If you've played Wii Play's 9 ball, you've played a way better game than "9 balls" or any other game on Pool Party.

Graphics are pretty poor, no detail. Control? yeah, good luck with that. Sound? if you like 15 second beat loops, you'll love it. Otherwise you'll be like me and mute the sound immediately where you can. Game progression? well, my first upgrade was a different colored cue stick. And I didn't expect much more.

Huge glitch in game: If you are in 2 player mode, and the first player scratches, do not choose to let the first player re-rack and retry breaking. It makes the first player have to use the second player's controller to break.

Summary: worst game ever. I tried playing one game with a friend, and two games on my own, before putting it back in it's envelope and sending off the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

The lamest pool game ever!

posted by jesse1981 (REDDING, CA) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

This game was a real disappointment. I had been looking forward to playing this game. That is until I played it. The controls were impossible. I think that they had good intentions, but could not deliver. I would have to say that this game earned the rating of horrible from me, simply because that's exactly what it was.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Pool Party could have been better.

posted by twister782 (LINDEN, TN) Oct 6, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

I enjoy playing billiards. It's just this game could have been set up a lot better:

-The options for the game seem a bit awkward.

-There's no tutorial in the game to help you learn how to play.

-Playing a computer opponent: If you make similiar shots, the computer will always do the same moves, each time you play a certain match.

-The in game music is in small pieces and loops too quickly. I think it would have been better to add larger music files in shorter numbers.

-I would at least like to see hands or an actual person playing around the table. Instead, I see a floating cue stick.

I wouldn't go and buy the game right away, unless you were a devoted billiard fan. But renting it first would be the right way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pool Party Misses the Pocket

posted by HockeyStud (IRVINE, CA) Sep 23, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

As an avid Pool Player, I was excited to see this game come to the Wii System. After experiencing the Pool Game in the WiiPlay Software, I had high hopes for this title devoted completely to the game of Pool.
First, the good: Pool Party gives an incredible array of options for game play, like different table choices, environment choices, ball choices, cue stick choices and, best of all, an awesome library of music to enjoy during game play.
Now the bad: The game play itself is where this game, unfortunately, falls short. Setting up shots is difficult. The game only shows you where you're shooting the cue ball, but won't show you where your shot will ultimately go. This makes it hard to properly angle the balls to sink into a pocket. Not to mention that the pockets themselves are often off-screen when trying to aim. This is difficult enough for seasoned Billiards Players and I can only imagine the frustration to newcomers of the game. This is why Pool Party only deserves a "weak" rating of 4.
In short, Pool Party lacks some very basic, but important, properties of game play that I have found even on a Billiard Game installed on my cell phone! Hopefully later versions of this or similar games will focus more on real Billiards game play and less on game options.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible!

posted by robg3381 (HILLIARD, OH) Sep 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2002

I think this is the worst game I've played for any console in a long time. Don't waste your time. If you're looking for a good pool game to utilize the Wii controls, go for WiiPlay or wait for a better game to come out. The graphics are horrible, no instructions inside the game to assist in learning how to play the game. There are a few options of different backgrounds, cues, players, etc. But the actual gameplay was VERY disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

How did this escape BETA!!!???? What Physics?????

posted by Shazbot (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 16, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

I tried. I really DID try to give this a shot (sic). I tried for hours but it just got worse the longer I played it.
Bottom line - physics - the heart of a pool game. This one has physics brought back from some alternate reality when the Stargate had a power surge.

The fact that in the credits the guy credited with the physics has his name as 'French TokyoGuy' tells you everything - even HE did not want his real name on the game for this travesty of UNreal world physics.

Take the thinnest cut you can and hit it as hard as you can - the cue ball stops dead on contact instead of flying round the angles.

Balls that levitate in pockets so that when you try to sink them the cue ball only hits the object ball as it falls down the pocket.

Have a foul break and want to make your oppo take it again? Get ready to swap controllers with them because it will put their player up but your controller still has control - FARCICAL.

Want to hit sidespin - get ready to aim 6 inches to one side of the ball you are aiming for even if it is only 6 inches away - the cue ball will bend like it's metal and there is a magnet under the table.

I could go on but I haven't the energy after banging my hread for three hours against this horse manure on DVD.

NOT EVEN WORTH RENTING NEVER MIND PAYING FOR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pool something

posted by iminertia (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Me and my pool shark buddy Bom, played one round of pool and sent the game back. It doesn't use english correct, and none of it is realistic. This game sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse