Rent Pokemon Y for 3DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Y

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $32.99

GF Rating
9.0

415 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

I Want It To Be The Best Like No Pokemon Ever Was.

posted by zetabeam (DECATUR, GA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2011

Here's my review of Pokemon Y

Plot 10/10
I can't find a real fault in the plot.
The plot is relatively dark at some points but that makes it all the better as it draws you in. You really want to stop Lysandre from destroying everything.

Graphics 9.5/10
Stunning. Simply beautiful. The graphics in this game really bring the Kalos region to life. From the breathtaking Anistar city to the cathedral-esque Pokemon League. Even the character sprites are vibrant and full of life, and do a good job of personalizing each character. My only dislike is that the 3D function could not be used in towns or while traveling. While i'm sure there is a technological reason for this i still would have liked to see everything pop out of the screen.

Characters 9/10
I want to see them more in depth
I've played many a video game and i've really never seen too many characters that stand out from the cookie cutter adventure buddies that come up and challenge you, then run away you win. Pokemon Y has some of the best supporting cast i could hope for. Each character is just fleshed out and different enough to feel like we're really friends.

The Antagonist (Lysandre) 10/10
Seriously, out of everyone in the game, Lysandre has to be my absolute, hands down favorite. Sure he wants to destroy the world, and kill almost everyone, but he is not without just cause. One quote of his lingers in my mind
"The strength to protect, huh? But what are you really protecting? A tomorrow that will only end up being worse than today?"

The Antagonist's Team (AKA Team Flare) 0/10
Far from adequate opponents in any situation. Team Flare all but ruined this game for me, I know i shouldn't take them so seriously but, in my opinion they don't fit in this game. Team Flare was far too incompetent. From their design to those depressingly obvious hints they give you, its just bad.

Misc. 7.9/10
Pokemon Y had other little hiccups too but if you can overlook Team Flare, these aren't game breaking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pokemon has advanced!

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 19, 2013

Member since May 2010

Pokémon has come a long way and they have even tried to give us a little character customization to boot. Okay, so it isn't the grand customizations we were hoping for, but they can give us more options in a future installment... Music track is slick and smooth, which means it fits perfectly.. Animation is deep and colorful and it hits the cartoon theme of the pokemon world...
You can catch starters now which is an improvement also.. A new type known as fairy type has been added..
They really should change the series motto to "Just try to catch them all we dare you!! POKEMON!!"
There are a lot of pokemon and I don't know if you CAN catch them all truth be told..
What would be cool if they let bus make our own pokemon.. Here are a list of possible IMPROVEMENTs they could do in the FUTURE....
1. pokemon merging would be a nice improvement..
imagine trying to merge a Pikachu with a Charmander, or a haunter with a Snivy.. Or maybe even merging a Charizard, Gyrados, and a Dragonite! that would be a full fledged dragon! Or maybe give players there own breeding facility with expanded options...
2. increased character custom options would be cool..
It would be nice if I made my guy character with a beard!
Even better if our characters didn't have to be ten, or if our characters aged over time, they would not have to die of old age, but some aging would be nioce..
3. POKEMON ADOPTION CENTER could be used so players could sell unwanted pokemon they catch for cash and players could also buy pokemon; if they are having a hard time finding the one they are looking for..

I was always curious about the idea of a Pikachu that could fling fire balls.. Maybe parasite eve for the psone stuck in my head?? I just thought the concept of a fire breathing rat would be hilarious.. This is a good game to be sure at any rate! Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

To easy to bet the game

posted by shyann555 (BOBTOWN, PA) Dec 19, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Game was good but to easy to bet the whole game... But love the background stuff they did with this game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse