Rent Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness for GC
view large frontback

Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.9

1925 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Shadow Lugia, I choose you!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Aug 10, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

22 out of 25 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness is a Pokemon game for the Gamecube. This is not the first time they've made such a game for the system, but there are some aspects of this game that may entice gamers to pick up the old Pokeball again. XD has some game mechanics that fans of the older games will not be used to. You see, the world of XD is infested with Shadow Pokemon, which you can think of as Pokemon that have fallen to the dark side. Now, it's your mission to capture these fallen Pokemon and return them to the light side of the force (mixed up my sci-fi there, but similarities abound). You use other healthy Pokemon and use of shadow Pokemon to help these wayward creatures open their heart and return to normal. However, the group Cypher is trying hard to create a bunch of these little critters. Now, unlike many Pokemon games, the majority of the Pokemon you catch here are shadow Pokemon you catch during trainer battles. The only others you're allowed to catch are some wild Pokemon you'll find at designated Pokesites which you catch by leaving Pokefood you buy at the Pokemart. All of this gets so boring you might go out of your Pokemind, but it's something to do if you so Pokechoose. There's also bingo, coliseum battles, virtual battles and 82 Pokemon to purify, which will take you pretty long (over 20 hours) to complete along with the main story. All of this might get a bit tedious as you jump into battles, watch the Pokemon come out of their balls and read experience disbursement over and over again. However, Gale of Darkness made me remember why I played Pokemon in the first place: it's a clever, simplified adventure game with shades of RPG goodness. I was disappointed that free-roaming is virtually non-existent, but this is a decent reminder or introduction to the Pokemon series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How great this game{POKe'MON Gale of Darkness} is!

posted by Mariobro (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Oct 17, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game is so good I give it a 10+++!!! This game has good grafics and the POKe'MON look kinda real if they were real! If you are a real pokemon fan. You would agree with me. This advanture game would last for ever!You can love your pokemon as long as you want and make them stronger as you play! This is to all you pokemon fans out there {Well the ones with the gamecubes amyways} You must get this game,long live the pokemon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
P.S. This is not Mario bro!

P.S.S This is Mario bro and I am letting my freind{Poke' Frake} write a reviwe!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

8 years and still running strong

posted by GameflyGuy (OLATHE, KS) Sep 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pokemon has been around since 98 and has had some great games. This game is no exception, taking place after colliseum left off this game brings in some new challenges. New mini-games such as battle bingo and battle SIMs. This game also is a lot longer with the sidequests. This game will have pokefans and RPG lovers rejoice. If you dont know what pokegame to buy, get this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best Pokémon game EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR- RRRRR

posted by masterman (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think that this is a perfect game. It is better than Pokémon coliseum. it has a new Pokémon has better graphics. I even rented it twice. it is that good. that is all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3 gurus response of XD

posted by the3VGguru (WILMINGTON, NC) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Pokémon XD Gale Of darkness
XD uses different aspects of purification and snagging to allow different people play the game in different ways. Well I think it's the unique storyline that takes people on a roller coaster with twists and turns that you cant get off until the rides over. The cool Pokémon are the true absolutes in this game. The never ending supply of Pokémon like XD1 makes for the best of a game. We the three gurus give this game 5 thumbs up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon XD reigns supreme over console Poke games!

posted by GamerBoy (METAMORA, MI) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

15 out of 23 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Pokemon XD is a really good game for the Nintendo Gamecube. The basic objective of the game is capturing shadow Pokemon and purifying them. You start out with an Evee still. (WHY?!?!) If you think that it's an open world game, your wrong. Basically, there's a big map, you choose were you want to go, then with a poof you appear in the area. The battles are intense and fun. Most of them are with two Pokemon out at a time. I kept using the same Pokemon and by the end of the game I had a Lv. 49 Umbreon, Lv. 51 Ursaring, and a Lv. 50 Donphan. The game is long enough to level up your Pokemon that much! Plus there's always a battle tower to keep you entertained. The game is a MUST HAVE FOR POKEMON FANS!!!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokémon XD: Gale of Darkness; a great game!

posted by latiasfan (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is very enjoyable. Although the plot line is similar to POKEMON COLUSSEUM, I still find it to be a great game. Like many other Pokémon games, it has you attached to play it, one objective at a time, until you just can't stand to play it anymore! =) You start with an Eevee, then early in the game you have the choice to receive what is necessary to evolve it into whichever of the 5 evolved forms you want. The Pokémon you obtain can be grouped to make a wide variety of Pokémon, so you can group them however you want. I would suggest this game for any Pokémon lovers, because it sure keeps me playing for a few hours at a time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's not as good as the GBA titles

posted by TheApester (MCGREGOR, TX) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2003

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

PKMN XD:Gale of Darkness is a VERY light-hearted title,despite its slightly-disturbing box art.You play as an o-so-cute boy named Michael (that's what I named him) who has to stop a resurrected team named CIPHER.The plot is quite interesting when you first get your hands on it,but once you beat it you're like, "Now whatta I do?" I won't tell you any of the game's other plot lines,so don't snoop this review just for stupid spoilers!
But I will note that it is a bit more intense than PKMN CM,and the ending always nearly busts me into tears.
The gameplay is the same as it had always been ever since 1998, but it's a transmission in 3D this time.However,they give us a top-view instead of a REAL RPG camera view.And the gameplay is no different.Just basic turn-based action like Final Fantasy.There are,however,some goodies to fool with,such as trading or battling with a player
from Ruby,Sapphire, or Emerald versions on the GBA.And then there's always battle disks,bingo,or
classic brawling at that Tower thingie in Colliseum.
The graphics have been probably reused from the
first 3D installment, so there's nothing new in the graphics department.However,the music isn't.
Some music is reused, such as the overworld themes and a few battle themes,but the casual songs that play in the backround are a bit more memorable than the other game's.And,one of the most crazy annoyances is that it uses the robotic
sounds for the Pokemon rather than their anime cries.
Overall,the game wasn't really a groundbreaker,
yet it wasn't a failure blanket either.I got to
"purify" more PKMN, including that Shadow Lugia.
But I won't reveal my secret!

-TheApester

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pokemon xd:gale of darkness

posted by sharks (KISSIMMEE, FL) May 25, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

like any other pokemon game u have a starter pokemon and evolve it but it has a fair share of surprises and of course a bit of humour,pretty hard if you dont know your selected pokemon well,the graphics run smoothley and has a story to remember and to add a gameboy link(sold seperatley) higly recomended to pokemon lovers =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not worth

posted by Joey1993 (BRONX, NY) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is good but the storyline is ruined, it shows who the bad guy is before you even face him, then the battles are just long lasting every corner theres a bad guy to fight and the its so cheesy with the graphic but you know what this game is good only for when your bored I give it a 3.5 out of 10 so ot worth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Like the Other, and still as bad!

posted by TheProX (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 9, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I must admit, it's hard to review a game that I didn't finish copletely, but when a game won't keep me, someone who is easily excited and easily has his attention snatched up, it's clearly not very good.

The only real problem I had with the game was that it wasn't fast enough. After 40 minutes I only had maybe 2 battles. 1 every 20 minutes. In a Pokemon game, that's nt enough. Any "real" handheld game is mayb 3-5 every 20 minutes. Maybe it's the lack of wild Pokemon. Who knows.

Now, I kinda sorta liked the story. Saving Pokemon from being shadow-y (and completely and totally powerful) is great! But, it's not exciting enough. Maybe if I could have put some of my FireRed Pokemon in there...

The visuals in this game were awesome! The only way it coulda been better was if you could customize your character. And if mouths moved correctly. I swear it looked like horrible japanese movie dubbing.

Music was... enh. I listened to the radio or listened to podcasts instead of the in game music. Nothing made me hum the music and annoy my parents for the day.

Overall it's less than half good, and I think desirving it's 3 from me. If you love your handheld Pokemon, I would advise you to not play this game.

Thanks
- The Pro X

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pokewrong

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 25, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 13 gamers (15%) found this review helpful

nothing diffeernt from collesem not addicting. i played this half way got bored whent and bought mario party 7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Idea

posted by MrChaos (SUMNER, WA) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I liked the idea of stealing peoples Pokémon who were evil in some sort of way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

my game didn't work

posted by shadow1 (AYDEN, NC) Jan 11, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 20 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

the reason i rate this game horrible is because i couldn't play mine because i didnt work on a brand new gamecube now i hate this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

really bad

posted by gmaniscool (BATAVIA, NY) Apr 9, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

meow beaches don't rent this bagged game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pok'e Problem

posted by danny13 (NORTH POTOMAC, MD) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 16 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

It's harder to catch wild Pok'emon in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon's done it this time!

posted by tomkarl (HAMILTON, MT) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

Pokemon XD: Gales Of Darkness is better than the first shadow pokemon game. You play as a very cool looking character, who you name yourself. Your first pokemon is a single Eevee. But, you soon get a chance to evolve it. You can also snag normal pokemon in this game. Most of the trainers you battle look the same as the others do, lots of bodybuilders, roller boys, laidies, ect. Overall not the best game I have played but, fun for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pokemon Game Made

posted by CriticMan1 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jul 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

This game I must admit is the gratest game I have ever played and I think everything is perfect.The graphics get 10 out of 10.The gameplay gets 10 out of 10.Last but not least the story line gets a big 20 out of 20!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOADS OF FUN

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) May 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Perfect game loads of fun and a lot of pokemon to catch i bought this because it was so much fun. I recommend that you buy it because you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game

posted by bunyman4 (PYLESVILLE, MD) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

The first time i played this, i was probably four years old. This was one of my first video games. Not only did this game's massive amount of text help me learn to read, (I can understand how it may be annoying for some people) but it was, and is, the best pokemon game ever. This game had really good graphics for its time, that made you want to try out a new move, just to see how it looks. Although the game is MUCH easier than colleseum, i think this is a good thing. Gave me hours of quality entertainment trying to purify shadow lugia. I've maxed the timer on this game many times. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice Game

posted by xd0012 (BOISE, ID) Sep 26, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

Pokemon Xd gale of darkness is a good game you get to do something different. First your not a person who is trying to beat Pokemon elite four . what is good about this game its different you get an eevee take on cipher and you don't haft to walk to places

what i didn't like was lack of Pokemon only a few legendarys and cipher isn't as god now

I rate this game 8.4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Fboy56 (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I hated Pokemon Colusiem but this was a way better stroyline. And at least you don't have dumb girl folowing you and to top it off your not a thief anymore

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This game was ok.

posted by JesseShaw (Conshohocken, PA) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

For many reasons whatsoever, this game was pretty good. The thing that I like the most about this is that you can go back and get the pokemon that you missed. Also the art of purifying pokemon is a lot easier, along with more pokemon. I got so bored in collosseum that I had to use a cheat to make it so every pokemon was shadow, so i had something to do, but this game gives you enough to do. I give it about a 6.8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon XD Gale of Darkness

posted by ShadowLugi (WICKLIFFE, OH) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game is an awesome game in pokemon. As you make your way through the Orre region you find many pokemon. Shadow pokemon are also being recreated as the criminal cyndacite cipher returns. Snag and purify all the shadow pokemon and unravel the mystery of the Shadow Lugia. It is a race against time to save pokemon and the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but NOT like the first!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

It rocked ok. But I wasn't that thrilled afterwards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse