Rent Pokemon X for 3DS
view large frontback

Pokemon X

Rent

Keep for: $32.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Used: $32.99

GF Rating
9.0

383 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon X: Perhaps the Very Best After All

posted by vanolar (KIRKSVILLE, MO) Oct 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Since it's release, I have been playing the game non stop, finishing the story in under 24 hours of gameplay. Before it was released, I was determined that this would, at the very least, be the second greatest generation of the beloved series (I enjoy Gen II the most because of the large post-game play). However, I would like to retract that and say that Pokemon X (and Y) are the greatest Pokemon games to date, surpassing many of my expectations. First, the graphics are some of the best that I've seen on the 3DS system; taking the traditional franchise into 3D went very well, taking the current number of 718 Pokemon (yeah, only 70 new Pokemon to catch) into this realm, and creating a wide world. There is a lot more to this game than ANY previous installment, traditional or spinoff. First, there's the many ways to train your Pokemon, as X and Y make Pokemon training much easier, such as the new Exp. Share effect that works on all party Pokemon (like Exp. All in Gen I) and Super Training (a new feature that helps build up the Effort Values of Pokemon). With these methods, it's quite easy for young and old fans to enter into the game. Second, there's the new Fairy-type which adds a new twist to the battle. There have been many Pokemon reclassified as Fairy, so there's the challenge of changing the mindset of those familiar with the classic system. Third, Pokemon Amie is a fun, new feature that allows players to bond with their Pokemon (and has a secret as well) by playing minigames. Fourth, and perhaps the most exciting revolution, is the Mega Evolutions. These transformations add another level with battling and bring this game to a whole new level, featuring older Pokemon with a brand new look. Of course, there is also the Trainer Customization, Boutiques, and much more that make this a more exciting, fulfilling game. Now, the biggest problem with this game is that they still haven't fixed the GTS. That aside, Pokemon X and Y are the very best in the franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3D Pokemon? Easier to EV train? Yes please.

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Jan 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Honestly, this is the first new Pokemon game I've actually enjoyed in 10 years.

3D without having to wear glasses is definitely a perfect idea for Nintendo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the BEST Pokémon Games!

posted by mgalbraith503 (OLYMPIA, WA) Aug 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

This game is everything you could ask for in a Pokémon game. A good perk is that you not only get a Kalos region starter, (minor spoiler ahead) but you also get a Kanto region starter! I've been waiting for something like that for a long time. AND IT'S HERE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pokemon x glitchy broken edition

posted by auron420 (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

this game is cheap and there's a horrible game breaking glitch that if you save in the first city you won't be able to contine your journey horde fight is ridiculously cheap and wonder trade is so pointless i got nothing else to say but get your act together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Game is way to easy and fast

posted by Masterjedi170 (ANAHEIM, CA) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

I expected this game to be fun and entertaining like the last game. I do like the new game and styles, but its just to easy. I beat the whole game using the same pokemons without ever getting defeated. Pokemon black/white was harder then this game.

Also i dislike of trading pokemon from previous versions. You have to pay to trade older generation games. You get a free trial but once its up you loose those pokemon from the bank.

All i have to say is it could be better, and it feels this game was rushed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It is good! But...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jan 24, 2014

Member since May 2010

This is a game that has a formula that is old, but reliable.
But it still seems some what of a jip that we have to buy two versions of the same game to get them all.. I don't see why they don't just show us two completely different worlds? Would that really be so hard game freak? ?
This is what I liked about this game:
1. deeper world with more immersion than a normal pokemon world.
2. New EV super training system to more reliably train our pokemon!
3. We get some options to pick and choose what we look like! These could be expanded!

This is what I think this game could get to improve to bring out the true potential of the Pokemon franchise..

1. this game can be improved by giving gamers the ability to merge or gene splice our pokemon!
2. a pokemon adoption clinic or a pokemon pet shop to sell used pokemon for in game cash!
3. A more extensive character builder to let us the gamers be our own selves!

4. I propose some new types of pokemon!
Poltergeist type(possessed objects seriously we already have garbador, trubish, volt orb, and bennet)- strong verses normal, and psychic type, immune to poison, and resistant to ghost moves.
Fallen type- Strong versus all types except holy too which it is weak versus.. an entirely new type that is either undead or cursed. This type is taken from other pre-existing lines of pokemon, and since they are cursed they are a special breed that can't be caught by normal means...
Holy type- pokemon that learn moves that are good against ghost, dark, psychic, poltergeist, and fallen type.
but they would be weak versus normal, fire and steel..

I just thought it could help give some new ideas because this generation didn't even bother with adding another 150 new like they did in other generations, which means they might very well be running out of ideas!!! They only added like about 90 or so new pokemon... Seriously, they might have to switch up their game or they could lose their edge..
Try b

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a new adventure in the kalos region aka france

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Oct 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

the kalos region is very interesting!! everyone needs to rent this game cuz its on one of the best systems made by Nintendo if u hate Nintendo too bad rent and don't b a big baby!

u get the fooling: skates where u can use these to go faster by using the circle pad
new starters to choose and plus u get to choose a kanto starter

mega evolution: I haven't seen it yet but I am excited!

this game is worth a rent cuz its a new region and a new way to b a pokemon master!

I wanna b the very best no one ever was...

doom doom

to catch them is my way to test to train them is my cause...

i'll travel cross the bare searching far and wide...

in pokemon to understand, the power that's iiiiinssssiiiiddee!

remember that theme song! have fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »