Rent Pokemon White for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon White

Rent

Keep for: $27.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.3

2697 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Pokemon Veteran's Journey

posted by EmoChips (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

52 out of 56 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Disclaimer: I grew up with Pokemon and have played every single Pokemon game on Nintendo's handhelds.

The Good:
-Same ol' thing- If you've played any Pokemon game beforehand you have played this game. That may be a bad thing for others who have gotten tired of the formula, but I do believe the phrase "if it ain't broke, why fix it??" stands the test of time. Nothing new is brought to the formula besides a couple of the next points.

-Team Plasma- The antagonists in this game are the PETA of the Pokemon World. It's nice to see a team with an actual goal, as hypocritical as it is.

-Three rivals- For the first time that I can remember, you are given many rivals instead of just one. You start out in a town with your two friends, and each of you gets to choose one of the three starters [finally answering the question of what happens to the third]. Later on you'll meet another wanna-be hero who will also regularly battle you. More rivals= more pop-out-of-nowhere-when-you-really-don't-wanna-battle moments. And I love those haha.

-The depth perspective- they lowered the camera for this game and added non-sprite textures. Definitely makes it look better and weird [in a good way] for certain areas.

-New battle system- looks so oh very cool and pretty.

The Bad:
-The touch screen- In my honest opinion, HeartGold/SoulSilver had perfected the touch screen's use. They seem to have taken a step back here by having the lower screen be this online "xbox guide" esque thing to do online activities and things of the sort. You are once again forced to press buttons and such to find many things or to choose Key Items. Ugh.

The Ugly:
-The Pokemon- There's only a few cool looking pokemon amidst the sea of cutesy useless ones. It's obvious at this stage they're running out of ideas. I enjoyed the new continent, but the pokemon were extremely meh.

Overall score- 9/10

Buy/Rent- Definitely a buy like every handheld pokemon. These will last you for SOOOOO long, months, even years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but they are running out of pokemon.

posted by AquaRox (DEXTER, MI) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

The plot of this game from beginning to end is really fun and exciting. You're not just walking around and stopping a team of villans who all have the same plan but just with a different name. Team Plasma actually proves a point saying that pokemon might not like being captured and told what to do by humans. The first time I battled the Elite Four I was very happy they only had four pokemon each. It makes it much easier for you to continue the story and not spend weeks leveling up, even though I had to do that anyway.

What made me dissappointed were some new pokemon. I am not a big fan of pokemon that are just living objects like trubbish or litwick. I loved having oshawott as my starter. And it was great when he was a Dewott. He is basically a water ninja pokemon. I was pretty against evolving him into samurott because he just looks weird but I knew I had to because of the strength increase. Overall I love this game but I wish they improved some of the pokemon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game holds well, but it could improve..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Apr 9, 2012

Member since May 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the mirrored edition to pokemon black!
I think the pokemon series could be better if they just combined the two games in one though! This is not a bad game, but it does feel a little old to play almost the exact game. In the end though, I wound up buying both only because it was recommended...
Still it was also only aeround 20 bucks, so I figured why not? 32 different pokemon seemed reasonable for the price, yet still have this feeling..... Call it a collectors intuition, but after careful examination of various reveiws and guides there seemed to be some difference, but bthe next installment to the pokemon series better have some greater differences betrween the two before I buy both again! I have heard that some pokemon games have different plotlines between the different ones......... This one doesn't seem to have those differences, but maybe i am just jumping to conclusions.... That is why we have services like gamefly, though right? Anyway, try before you buy! (note: if these games weren't 20 bucks I wouldn't have purchased them, but these are my first pokemon purchases.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by zachattack13 (AVON, CT) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I already had White before I joined Gamefly, which I'm new to. But anyway, the game is amazing with graphics, new pokemon, though I still don't understand the weird noises they make when they come out to battle. I already have Zekrom(the pokemon on the front), and all three of the starter pokemon that are already at their final evolved stage. No, I didn't glitch the game with the code or anything. I did something with my friend... I dunno if I'm allowed to tell you this, but I'll tell you what I did. If you're really selfish, and you have another friend or sister or hamster or goldfish with pokemon White or Black, have them start the game over. Then when they go through the LLLOOONNNGGG beginning, have them give you their starter pokemon. And each time they start over( which should be 6 times total, but I'm not there yet), they should choose a different starter. Now you have all three of the starter pokemon in your thing in the Pokemon Center, I think It's called a PC, then the person starts over 3 more times. And they give you the three different pokemon AGAIN. And then for the 7th time, they don't trade to you, but you give them whatever pokemon they don't have as the starter to them. Then that way, you'll both have the three starters. And whatever pokemon you have left over, you can just release. Okay, that's all. I know it's confusing, I got confused around "LLLOOONNNGGG" up near the top. Alright, enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A New Start, A New Journey, A New Beginning

posted by pokeyasha (REYNOLDSBURG, OH) Mar 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Black and White Version, the games take me back to when pokemon had just started and your goal was to catch 150, sure it grew.....and grew......and it got harder and harder to collect them all. Pokemon black and white makes it so that no oldies return and give us the whole experiance with the newbies. The names are increadbly unfamilier but a fun new experiance for all. In these games version differences aren't limited to what pokemon appear. In white there is the white forest, only accesible to those playing the white, and black city that is only accesable to those playing black. Overall this game is amazing and a good experiance for veterans(like i) and newbies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Diffrent game mechanics system,same old charm

posted by Dartic (SAINT JOHNSBURY, VT) Mar 8, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I have at one point owned all of the Pokemon games ( not including the spin-offs pokemon pinball and the like. )Pokemon Blue and Yellow , where the first games I ever really owned I would sit for hour and hours at my grandparents and play them and now even as adult I enjoy picking them up out of nostalgia I currently own pokemon white and Pokemon heartgold I enjoy the fact that I don't need to have a long tangled up cable to between the games anymore as well as having a new battle system,the pokemon games have come a long way in 14 years( doing math in my head don't fault me if wrong) Many of the things that have always been have changed, much of it for the better. If you played Pokemon as a kid pick it up again you may be surprised to find you will enjoy it again, Pokemon is a game that anyone any age can really get into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Didn't think I'd be interested; liked it anyway

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Apr 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's not hard to think of things that could be improved about the Pokemon games. Like the fact that you have to spend so much time training your individual party members. And the fact that most of the game isn't really challenging at all, as you'll mainly face opponents with less balanced and smaller teams than you have.

And then there's the fact that if you've been playing since the beginning of the franchise, you've basically already played this game. Four times.

I wasn't going to get this game. I had to be convinced by someone getting the partner version, Black. I thought I'd play it a little bit each day to appease my friend but otherwise not get too involved.

Then I went ahead and pretty much played the game nonstop for about two weeks. It was kind of crazy!

I don't know what it is about this game, this franchise. I guess it is satisfying to build your own team, catch 'em all, outdo others. Even if outdoing others in the main game is really easy. And even though, with each sequel, the goal of actually catching them all gets even further out of reach. This game does have improved graphics, with the Pokemon now animated even as they wait to attack. And things seem to move just a bit faster, even if the pace is still comparatively slow to other games. It may not sound like much - it didn't to me in the previews - but I did notice the improvement in this game when I went back to Diamond so I could transfer over my old team. One big improvement: now TMs can be used to teach moves repeatedly. Thank goodness.

Pokemon is easy to mock, but I cannot truthfully deny that this game roped me back in and kept me as engaged and entertained as any other game I've enjoyed.

So if you think you've already outplayed the Pokemon franchise, as I had thought, don't count yourself out just yet. And if you've yet to start your Pokemon journey, there's no time like the present. I mean, unless you want to wait for the inevitable improved remake...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another cool Pokemon game!

posted by Decker22 (DELTA, UT) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Black & White's touch screen and bag menu mechanics is like the not so good limited one in Diamond & Pearl. Why didn't Nintendo use the full touch screen and bag mechanics like in Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver, but with Black & White color scheme? This is the only thing that bugs me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PK White

posted by AddNoise (MORRILTON, AR) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

White>Black

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

How come they put pokemon white avaible low?

posted by Miggy22 (HERNDON, VA) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 23 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

After all those hard training and evolving my pokemon soul silver and my platinum version had paid off now my next journey begin tomorrow after I get pokemon black version. I rented pokemon white to try it out if I like the games or not I'll soon find out for sure

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ah pokemon white you ROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOCK

posted by domnics (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 29 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME ROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOCKS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It was ok.

posted by animelover5097 (CHILTON, TX) Aug 6, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

It was ok but I had already finished Pokémon Black so I got this next. When I opened the game I noticed that it was exactly the same as Pokémon Black. But it still was fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon white or black is great

posted by LUCARIOfan (PEARCY, AR) Jan 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

pokemon white so far has become a new deal of my so its great to you who knows

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceptional Pokemon Titile

posted by AaronFoo21 (RIVERDALE, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I've played every pokemon game since Pokemon Blue, and was unsure how I would react to the new generation of Pokemon. the truth is, I couldn't be happier. The story is fresh, the pokemon are unique, and the landscape is absolutely beautiful. The multiplayer aspect works amazingly well, you can trade and battle with other people locally or through wifi. Overall this game is stunning and extremely well-made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just awsome

posted by Legendary4545 (MARY ESTHER, FL) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The graphics and the effects on how the view of your character changes is awsome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOMENESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by sth44 (MADERA, CA) May 7, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

When I first got this game I was like is this just like heartgold man was I wrong this game is a lot better with pokemon that are better and cooler looking(except for jigglypuff) kidding but if you dont have the game I would get it because it is the beggining of a new era of pokemon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Really What I Expected

posted by yoshimetroid247 (OCEAN SPRINGS, MS) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Ok don't get me wrong. This is a cool game with graphics ahead of the ds's time. But I thought it would be the same as always; same pokemon(pikachu, machamp, gyarodos, etc.) same items like the old and good rod, and a safari zone. But NO! None of that! It dissapointed me when i found out that it was just generation V pokemon. And the fact that you can't fish until after you beat the game and no safari zone. But despite my frustrations, it was a cool game. Creative storyline, great music(exept for the final boss), and solid graphics and pokemon.
So here are my ratings:

Gameplay - 8.3
Graphics - 9.5
Sound - 9
Reliability - 7.3
Overall - 8.5

This is a rent and buy it if you like it. I hope the sequel is better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My View Points on pokemon white version

posted by pichufan4ever (STERLING HEIGHTS, MI) Feb 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

When i played Pokemon for the other systems they were all the same plot, someone gos on an adventure with a Pokemon and does stuff along the way the only difference was the new region and Pokemon. However this game was all out awesomer then the rest of them. it was mainly the same but now you had more to do other then catch em all and collect all 8 badges, this also showed how the new group of bad guys were more cool due to the top fact that they wanted people to release there Pokemon instead of them stealing them all. you have 2 rivals who show true character in the game the girl Bianca wants to be able to go on a Pokemon journey but her father is overprotecting and thinks shill get hurt, the boy Cheren constantly wants to be the strongest trainer ever. also you see through out the game named N he is the son of the leader of team plasma witch is the new bad guys. and he thinks that Pokemon should be free because he can talk to Pokemon. so i suggest to buy/rent Pokemon black or white versions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Veteran

posted by PkmnTrainer_Red (GREENSBORO, NC) Feb 15, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game is simply amazing, it feels like I started playing pokemon for the first time. This game is must-have, there's no doubt about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The next generation.

posted by UnicornTwilight (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Pokemon White brings players to the Unova region, this time with completely updated graphics from the previous Diamond/Pearl/Platinum and Heartgold/Soulsilver, traverse a large region rendered in full 3D based on America, and partake in the new Triple and Rotation battles, this installment adds many new features such as fully mobile Pokemon in battle, enhanced soundtrack and new moves.

In White two towns have been altered from Black, in White you get the White Forest for capturing Pokemon from other generations not easily obtained in Unova as well as a old time looking Opelucid City.

All around a good game, bringing back all the previous elements and tweaking and enhancing them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

okay

posted by babygirl1743 (HARRISON, MI) Jan 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

the game wus okay but the older ones are better then this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon is Extrodinary!

posted by Pockysticks (RANCHO CORDOVA, CA) Jan 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I have played Pokemon throughout my life and even though it may seem "repetitive" to some, to me it is such a wonderful game. If you love Pokemon this game would prove no less than the old generations, with new Pokemon, place, and devices this game is refreshingly fun to play. You even can connect to the internet through "Dream World" experimenting with little mini games to get Pokemon you could not get in White or Black.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

best pokemon game yet

posted by BANDIT345 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is very fun and they made many improvements on the game. i haven't played pokemon since i was a kid but i now have a nintendo 3ds and figured might as well try it out see whats changed it has better graphics cool pokemon and it feels like a whole new experience i will definatly be playing the next one to come out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game sucked

posted by wolfstine3do (THORNTON, CO) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this game when i had received it it did not work i tried it on 3 different d.s. es and they could not reed it at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Same Great Thing.

posted by michael123 (FORKS, WA) Sep 16, 2011

Member since May 2004

I have been playing Pokemon since Pokemon Blue and Red. Through out the years of playing this great generations of games. I must say that Pokemon Ruby and Saphire have been my favorite all time. But Pokemon Black and White are a great contender. With all of the new starter Pokemon that you can choose from in the beginning and the brand new legenderies that you can capture in the end. All of the Pokemon look great! But one thing that i noticed from this is that it seems that they are running out of ideas for new Pokemon. I am interested to see what the Pokemon will be in the next 2 games. If you have enjoyed the Pokemon series like i have you will enjoy these two games for sure. =)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse