Rent Pokemon Trozei for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Trozei

Not Rentable
GF Rating
5.7

375 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Not Too Cutie For Older Gamers

posted by Zohluff (SONOMA, CA) Jul 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My feelings are mixed on Pokémon Trozei.

The objective is simple, line up four of the same kind of Pokémon, either vertically or horizontally, and try to set off a chain reaction. This simple objective along with completely touch-screen based game play makes for one addicting game.

What I also liked about this game was how, although this game was a Pokémon title, all cutie, childish Pokémon antics were absent and Trozei was tolerable for older gamers.

Unfortunately, once the gamer gets his fix of Trozei, the addiction subsides and the game play becomes stale and repetitive. Experienced gamers might be disappointed on how the fast paced action gives little time for thoughtful interaction and the games ends up feeling like a frantic game of half-thought out flicks and pulls.

Definitely worth a rent, but might get a bit too repetitive for purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Could be better

posted by icytower (NOVI, MI) Apr 24, 2006

Member since Feb 2004

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This games gives the puzzle & Pokémon fans something each group can enjoy. The game itself is a cool diversion from the normal Pokémon games that have been released for the handheld systems over the years. That being said, I would personally only recommend this game as a rent, unless you are a hardcore Pokémon fan. Also, if you have any difficulty with hand eye coordination then this is not a game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay

posted by gamegirl22 (WESTFIELD, MA) May 1, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I think this game could definitely be better. Although it is challenging, there is not much to do except trozei pokemon. The game is not one of the better ones out of the Pokemon series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a very deep game

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) May 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love a good puzzle game, and I like Pokemon, so this sounded great. However, it didn't stay in my DS for very long. The game just doesn't have the polish level you'd expect from a Pokemon game. The sound, graphics, and interface are all fine, but they don't ever shine.

The game mechanics are very simple. You have a big grid of Pokemon, and you match them up. For some reason, this act is called a "trozei." (I have to assume a bigger Pokemon fan knows why they're called that.) As you beat wave after wave of the little guys, you occasionally see rare ones. If you trozei these rare pokemon, you "catch" them. Gotta catch 'em all... except they have no value or interest. In a real pokemon game, catching a new Pokemon is interesting because it has unique behaviors and stats. In this game, you're just earning badges.

Maybe what this game needs is a "hard" mode -- it's especially difficult to lose at this game. It can be difficult to catch the rare pokemon, however, but catching them just didn't interest me.

I sent this game back very soon after I got it, and was fairly disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Mentally challenged monkeys could win at this.

posted by Marioman (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Poke'mon trozei is a pathetic attempt at a puzzle game. Lets break it into detail.
The story is weak. People kidnapped poke'mon, so you rescue them with a trozei beamer. Yes, there is no further storyt than this. it is just a weak excuse to make a touch based puzzle game.
Gameplay is so easy, my 3 year old sister could beat it by scribbling on the touch screen. You line up four in a row, the a "trozei" hapens, making you able to rescue 3 poke'mon in a row, then just pairs of pokemon. Nothing happens in the story other than the reoccuring bosses that never change.
I would say buy this game if you are a hard core poke'mon fan (I only rented it because my sister wanted to try it.) however, the lack of gameplay modes (versus and story), the simple gameplay, and totally stupid story drives off even the biggest fanboy.
Verdict :PASS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bad

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Jul 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is just bad. There is really no variety ton this except that it is a bad puzzle game. When you get a trozei other trozei's will follow making it easy. There is a story mode where you play as a agent trying to look for pokemon who were stolen by a gang. This game is just bad only a pokemon fan would like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's... kind of ok!

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Feb 5, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

First play Tetris Attack. If you like that, then you could give this a try. The style of gameplay is similar although this isn't as good.

If you play this, you'll need to be patient. At first clearing levels is embarrassingly easy; yet actually scoring any decent points is too difficult. This makes for a mindless game where you could hardly lose or truly win. But as you play on through adventure mode, the difficulty of clearing stages will finally start to make things interesting, while your own skills will improve such that you could actually score decently. And so for a few hours, this can end up being quite fun!

I wouldn't bother with the Endless Mode, because you'll have to play for, like, an hour before it gets anywhere close to where you might fail, unless you just get too tired first. The battle mode is probably a lot of fun if you have someone to play with. You could spend countless hours on this game adding all the Pokemon to your list, but the mechanism for doing this isn't particularly interesting and I'd only recommend that to hardcore Pokemon fans. Otherwise, the overall gameplay does not require that you be a fan of or even familiar with the Pokemon series.

It is impressive that each Pokemon has its own animated tile. Sometimes when playing fast it can be hard to tell them apart. It's hard to blame the game for this when there are so many different pieces, but what would have been nice would be if each level had just one Pokemon of each color so you don't have, say, two different kinds of purple tiles in play. The music is decent except unfortunately I found the boss theme to be annoying.

Overall, this isn't exactly a great game, but if you take it for what it is there is some fun to be had. I'd recommend it as a rental to puzzle fans looking to wash away a few hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not the game I ordered!

posted by sneaky8882 (PEORIA, AZ) Mar 21, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

This game was mailed to us. This was way down the list on my daughters GameQ! She was very upset because she was looking forward to playing Pokemon Diamond which was the number one listed on her GameQ! It is hard to believe GameFly was out of stock of all other games listed in GameQ before this game. We may cancel our subscription if this keeps happening!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the lame, cheap game

posted by afhubasduz (CAPE CORAL, FL) Oct 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game sucks and it almost has nothing to do with Pokémon!Do not buy it or rent it. All You do is touch some Pokémon and stuff. And the characters are UGLY and the graphics SUCK too!They should either make a better version or do not make one at all! It also easy if it is not being cheap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

u have to have patients.

posted by jeromeis (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jul 1, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This game is hard so u have to have some good patients. The game is fun at time to time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For the Birds

posted by Kalika (AUSTIN, TX) Jun 20, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

There's something about this game.

Maybe it's that I couldn't figure out how to start out at a new user. Maybe that it's just plain bad.

I had this thing in my DS for maybe 2 minutes before I was just sick of it.

I could not make sense of the patterns. The line clear was all vertical, but if you moved fast enough it was horizontal then L shaped. The game just did not play right for me. Sorry for the lack of explanation - but like I said. . it was in my DS for 2 minutes. I can't give something a weak rating without saying SOMETHING.

I'm typically the type of person that LOVES these type of games. This one was just for the birds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Cool but barley anything to do with Pokémon

posted by Charizard (SNOHOMISH, WA) Jan 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

I cant tell you how much I love Pokémon and frankly, I was downright disappointed. The storyline has horrible, the characters looked like they had come from a marvel comic book, and, honestly... WHAT DOES TROZEI MEAN??? Whoever made this is dishonoring Pokémon!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good

posted by Socksmell (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

Really crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why can't I do something else!!!!!!

posted by DarkBanana (ROCK TAVERN, NY) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

The game starts out good but its the same thing over and over. It really gets to you after a while.Right now I am begging my parents to let me bring it back now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »