Rent Pokemon SoulSilver for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon SoulSilver

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2202 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

User problems

posted by NJE160904 (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

Good game, but when I tried to save it so I could come back to it later, it wouldn't save because other users had gone before me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

deserves a 10 but

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

can't transfer Pokemon to XY without trading to Black/White first, which is a drag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What the?...

posted by Mim (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Excuse me, but I never got this game. Specifically says that it only takes 2-4 days to get here. Well Im on my 5th day and it still hasn't come. It says its at home but its not. Anyone else experiencing this? But dont get me wrong; I love this game. Disappointing I won't play it... But the pokemon are so cute and cool. The legendary ones are soooo cool. You can get Articuno, Zapdos, Moltres, Entei, Suincine, Roku!!! (Think its how you spell it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back and Better Than Ever.

posted by YOSHIEGG42 (BELLMORE, NY) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

My first Pokémon game was Gold. Now when I heard that there was a remake in the works, I instantly got excited. This game brings back all of the nostalgia you could ever want from a game ---- ten fold.
Gameplay - 90%: This game brings back the old formula that everybody loves. Nothing too too special, but it's still as good as ever. Fun battles, Rivals, Gym Leaders, and the final battle - Ooooh, that final battle. So good... My one complaint is that the in-battle animations are a bit sluggish. I would turn them off, but they do look cool, so... different strokes for different folks, I guess.
Looks - 95%: Now this game looks fantastic - The in-battle sprites are VERY polished and refined, and even the overworlds look bright and vibrant. Thnk back to Red & Blue: Brock's Gym, what did it look like? Think that, but 1000 times better. In short, this game really delivers in the graphics category.
Story - 85%: Don't get me wrong, this game's story is pretty good: you're a kid who goes on an adventure to collect all 16 badges and become Pokémon Champion, while beating up Team Rocket in the process, but it's really just the same story as Red & Blue/FireRed & LeafGreen. For that: only an 85.
Lastly, Sound - 100%: This game's soundtrack is my second favorite Pokémon soundtrack to date (second to Black2/White2), and this game has some awesome music!! The Gym Battle theme, the Champion Theme, even the overworld themes! All beautiful renditions of the Gen II musical pieces. Speaking of those, you can even obtain an item called the GB Sounds to listen to the second generation's music tracks in the Gen IV game! So cool!
Final Verdict - 95%: This game is a fantastic remake of my first Pokémon game, and the fun battles, expansive content, and AMAZING looks and music makes it my favorite Pokémon game as of April 28th, 2013. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could be the best Pokemon handheld game!

posted by mynameisnathan (ORLANDO, FL) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Being a longtime pokemon fan i was so happy to hear about a remake of silver version. This game has everything silver version has and more! It fixed every problem in the original such as slowly walking everywhere etc. I think this one is my favorite! Graphics have improved alot through handheld pokemon games in the past and love that tiny touch of 3D. Amazing game! 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Game But...

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

In my younger years I was a Pokemon fanatic, I had to have every single game and watch every single episode I could find. This has somewhat persisted to now as I still watch the TV series and monitor news of events. Yet throughout all my history with the franchise, I had never played a game that took place in Johto, and after playing it I can say that I am only lightly impressed.

Don't let that fool you, I still enjoyed this game but because I had unfortunately played the games to come after these before Soulsilver, the technical step backward I took clouded my viewpoint. I got too used to the Pokemon moving (however slightly) in Black and White so seeing them still again took a bit of fun out of it.

Nevertheless the classic Pokemon game formula still shines here and doesn't disappoint. The Pokemon roster is rather stagnant (by that I mean less variation in type availability than in other games) but the nostalgia of backtracking to one of my favorite regions made up for it.

Here is the issue I have with this game overall though. While I can respect it being innovative with attempting to include the Kanto region as well as Johto, the Kanto region is just boring. Outside of fighting the other eight gym leaders, there is just nothing going on there. No second storyline, only one further encounter with Team Rocket, and besides cameos of people from other games, the people just aren't fun either. The only thing that kept me there outside of the gyms was fighting a very strong trainer in one of the final areas...

Don't take my grim sounding demeanor to say that this game is bad (I wouldn't have given it an 8 otherwise). It still is Pokemon and it did still have me playing until I accomplished everything I could, but it just didn't bring anything new besides the poorly fleshed out second region.

Overall, I wouldn't tell you not to play this, but with new and better titles out there now, I doubt you'd miss anything by skipping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon soulsilver version

posted by ltlnvlfern (MOORESVILLE, NC) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

couldnt get the whole experience from the game cause it was suppose to come with a pokewalker too but it is 1 of my favorite pokemon games to this day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!

posted by Und3adPhant0m (THEODORE, AL) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

BEST POKEMON GAME YET!!!!! HOURS AND HOURS OF GAMEPLAY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the awsomeness of pokemon soul silver

posted by Vinchino (LINESVILLE, PA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

this game would be a pick that i would recomend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by bucksmooth (MCKINNEY, TX) Mar 4, 2012

Member since May 2006

i thought it was so cool i loved all the pokemon, gym guys are a little easyer to beat........................ I LOVE IT :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A well-done remake!

posted by UnicornTwilight (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Pokemon Soulsilver returns players to the Johto region first appearing in Pokemon Gold and Silver, this remake includes Platinum upgraded graphics, improved sound quality over previous installments and the ability to walk with your Pokemon both in and out of your game, new additions include Sinnoh evolutions and species, as well as a new exclusive scenario where you decent the Whirl Islands to capture Lugia unlike in the original it's not optional to catch/battle/run from Lugia, as well as eggs now hatching at level 1.

Old fans of Pokemon Gold and Silver will find this is a beautiful remake of a game they had loved when they were younger and new players will be able to get a taste of the two regions most elite players began with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

9.5

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jan 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This is definitely the generation of pokemon with the most content. Two entire regions to travel through is something every game in the series should do. The first, third, forth, and fifth generations are great, but they all feel much shorter than the second. The little side quests they add after the player has defeated the Elite 4 can't even come close to touching the addition of an entirely new region to travel through.

The people who are saying this is garbage compared to the original games are showing flat out nostalgia bias. Ignore them. Nothing was changed for the bad. After the game is beaten there's the addition of being able to capture pokemon from later generations and even if you're one one those people who don't like the newer pokemon, its completely optional. The addition of third and forth generation attacks makes things more interesting and broadens gameplay and strategies. And how is the addition of online multiplayer ever a bad thing?

The only other changes from the originals are the pokewalker which, again, is optional and the first pokemon in your party following you. It kind of seems gimmicky and doesn't add much, but its not really hurting anything either. Like Mario and Zelda, Pokemon is very well deserving of being one of Nintendo's long lasting properties. Every game is a quality entry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by GAMERLORD412 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Sep 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

AWSOME GME 4 DS GMERS I RECOMMEND 4 ANYBODY ITS AWESOME BRO

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as Heartgold.

posted by Rockstar56280 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Its the same but 1 thing. : in SoulSilver Ho-oh is lv. 70! in HeartGold Lugia is lv.70! I Actually liked it better because after 2 years my ho-oh is lv. 97! Sadly i can't battle you guys because i have Zero Wifi. I hope i can review again. Goodbye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome one of the best pokemon games ever!!!!!!!!

posted by sonicfan10 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

awesome i mean this game is great its so cool that you can walk around with your pokemon!!! Its way more different than dimond, pearl, platnum, white, and black!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wait? theres more

posted by doctorzeus (VICTORIA, MN) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

well the main story is fun not to mention bringing back the original pokemon that all got us started. The 1st region is accually very fun and at the end you get to catch, you geussed it, lugia!. once i finished the first region i was so tired of trying to get there i was almsot sick of it, and the 2nd region seemed, half-(BEEP) because you go to a gym get the badge move on. So its a fun game just next game if our gunna have 2 regions make sure that they are both put = amounts of time into it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Impressed

posted by jbp1087 (GREENVILLE, TX) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Overall it was an okay game, kind of seemed like it was in slow motion half the time. Not my kind of game, I'm more of a fast pace gamer. I grew up with Pokemon and was in junior high when pkm silver, gold, & crystal came out for gb color. So at first I was excited that they remade this amazing game and couldn't wait to play. I just received it in the mail today, and I am returning it today. No offense to the others who loved this updated version, guess I'm just old school.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Favorite

posted by iamaustin (SWANTON, VT) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Pokemon Silver,Gold&Crystal have always been my favorite generation on Pokemon games, although, every time i play it my team consists of only generation I Pokemon minus the starter :D, so i was completely stoked when a friend told me remakes of the games came out. immediately i got this ginger kid to give me his DSlite (later giving me his DS as well HA!)
and i rented it off GameFly. So far i've got 50 or so hours on it, and i'm still enjoying it just as much as i was at the beginning of the same. i'm in love with my team, (Articuno, Pikachu, Red Gyarados, Dragonite, Kadabra, and Typhlosion) i also like to mix it up with a Snorlax, Tyranitar, and Mewtwo. Some nasty pokemon.. Overall i give this game a straight up ten, hands down. When your mom's making you food, and you're bummed because 20 minutes seems so far away when you're hungry, just play some Pokemon Soul Silver, and the time will fly. This game is about as hard to put down as a piece of wood drenched in gorilla glue. I'm a diehard Pokemon fan, always have been, always will be. I started out with blue version one Christmas morning some years ago, and i've been hooked since. The graphic change is so much different, and everything makes more sense. With the 2D games i couldn't real make out some objects that made me feel silly when i saw them in 3D. Stoked is an understatement before i played the game, SOAKED are pants when i played the game. ;

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleased

posted by cooke28 (GRETNA, NE) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game. I played the original Silver and this one tops it by far, I think seeing the Gyms remodeled is worth the play itself. And the 3-D redo of everything is just awesome.
There was some bad stuff tho. Low levels. LOTS of low levels. Your still encountering lv. 9's at the third gym. It's pretty hard to train in this game but luckily (or sadly depending on how you look at it) you don't need to because most of the Gym Leaders suck!
Anyways I really did love this game right up until I had beat the elites and the Gym Leaders (all 16) and all that was left was to fight Red (Ash) and all my Pokemon were 20 levels under his weakest because that's all it took to get through everything else.

All in all I liked it.
Although you deffianatley need some free time if you wanna get far on this game.
Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best pokemon Game.

posted by kingkong10 (LYNNWOOD, WA) Aug 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Pokemon soulsilver is the best pokemon game that I have ever played. It is a great remak of pokemon silver version. This game is really fun. The pokemon in the game are awsome! The starters are better then the ones in diamond and pearl version. For grass is Chikorita. For fire [My personal favorite type] is cyndaquil. And last but not least, for water is totodile.
There are alot of pokemon you can catch in this game. From pidgey to lugia all pokemon are cool. The elite four are more epic in this game and are harder to beat. This game just blew my mind. When I first got it I stayed up a whole night playing the game. There are some parts in the game that will slow you down like puzzles or having your pokemon getto higher levels. The end of this game was the best ending to any pokemon game I have ever played. You fight pokemon trainer red Who is ash from the pokemon TV show. After you defeat him Prof. Oak gives you a gift. The gift is a pokemon. There are three choices of pokemon. Bulbasaur,Charmannder or Squirtil. I hope this review helps all you pokemon fans and gamers. Now go Have fun with Pokemon soulsilver!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by austin245 (OCALA, FL) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this is a horrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by djzbasebol (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game they just need more trainers to train on and make the elite four a bit eisier. You can explore Kanto along with jhoto!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LUGIA use areo blast!

posted by Naruto5555 (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good. but it was way 2 easy 4 me. i mean the elite 4 were pushovers!team rocket was easy 2. it was easier than platinum. the mascot of the game is LUGIA and his special move is areo blast.i have all the ledendaries in the game so i now that HO-OH special move is sacred fire.i m gonna wait 4 black and whit versions
come out so peace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sincerely,
naruto555

P.S: i didint mean 2 rub it in when i said i had all the ledgindaries.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

meh

posted by melonwarri (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

better off playing silver. they ruined all my old memories here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Pretty Good Game!

posted by spaceface7 (NORTH AURORA, IL) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This new Pokemomn game is one of Nintendo's best so far. With returning to the Johto Region, you can now have Pokemon you haven't seen in Diamond or Pearl, like Cyndaquil, Weedil, Tauros, and much more. My only complaint is, that the gym-leaders can be a LITTLE bit overpowered, and often players will be rematching gyms up to 3 or 4 times, before they earn the Gym-Badge. But overall, this game is great, and I like the return of the original Pokemon. A must-have game for Pokemon fans. And even if you gave up on the video game saga during Diamond & Pearl, I can highly bet that you will enjoy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse