Rent Pokemon SoulSilver for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon SoulSilver

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2179 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just plain epic.

posted by weirdo (GOODYEAR, AZ) Apr 21, 2010

Member since May 2007

19 out of 19 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i mean, johto has always been best, no one can deny that. the pokewalker was beast, the gym leaders were more challenging, like how the pokemon follow you around, the legendaries were beast, i mean, you can capture zapdos, articuno, and moltres! amazing. u can get mewtwo, and also, i got arceus from my action replay from my pokemon pearl, and i sent it over, went to the ruins of alph, and this guy took me to some ruins, saw cynthia, and got dialga!! used him for the rest of the game. best thing after that, refighting your rival at the pokemon league on mondays and wednesdays, and the double battle with your rival against clair and lance? wat is that?!?! it was a frickin awesome idea! rematches against the gym leaders? omg. and re-doing the elite four when they have higher levels was great too. because in past games when your pokemon are lvl 80 and theirs are lvl 50, it gets a little boring. second time, they're lvl 60 to 70. just grand.
mini games were cool too. kinda pointless tho.
10/10 man. amazing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love Johto!!

posted by Amiona (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When I heard they were making a remake of Silver and Gold, I fliped! I have always loved the Johto series the most, but my orginal stopped working correctly. So I quickly reserved it at Gamestop.

Anyway, the game is a lot like the orginal but deftianley better graphics and sound. I espically noticed the differences in the water. It looks more natural plus the sound of the water fades in and out as you approuch it. The story is still pretty much the same but a few minor changes here and there. Like the Komono girl...I don't recall her in the orginal. But it's been years since I played it.

Oh, the mini-games are pretty cool and fun. I espcially like the chopping blocks one. The Pokewalker is awesome! I'm a person that likes to take 40 minute walks a day, so it's nice that I can take a Pokemon along with me!

So if you are a true hardcore Pokemanic, buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by djzbasebol (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game they just need more trainers to train on and make the elite four a bit eisier. You can explore Kanto along with jhoto!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun addition, but adds little new

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Besides better graphics, and a few more options (that generally exist just to move the story along), this is more or less a normal addition to the pokemon franchise.

There really isn't much new, but they don't do anything to screw up the winning formula either. If you love pokemon, you'll love this. If you're looking to get back into pokemon, it's as good a place to start as any.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Soulsilver-Masterpiece? Or Blunder?

posted by ProfHibiki (QUINLAN, TX) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I have mixed feelings about Pokemon Soulsilver. They aren't cleverly blended together, but more of a suspension that fights each other while one tries to stay on top.

Aspects that are Positive: The brand new, slimline and glorious region of Johto recreated in the masterful craft in the DS capable drive. I believe that this really revolutionized remakes, and made me love them even more. Now, I'm a die-hard Pokemon fan, and most of the games still stun me even now (with exception of Gen III games) but this one just struck me as amazing. I am really glad that the game creator really took their time with this game and made it a marvel in the DS format. Now, I like the new additions, in the Pokeathlon, Battle Frontier (which was still harvested from Platinum) but it still all made it worth while. I preordered this game in January of this year, so I got it at 9:37 that Sunday morning of March 14th. I loved it, didn't put it down for exactly 14 and a half hours straight. Everything recreated wonderfully. The music in the games is also splendid and enjoyable to listen to over and over and over and over...

Aspects that are Negative: I don't have many negative reactions to this game, except that the Team Rocket storyline falters and ends too suddenly. I didn't like that with the Gen II version, and I don't like it with the Gen IV version. I think it should have been stretched a little farther, similar to how Team Galactic's story was extended to Stark Mountain in Pokemon Platinum. And, my only other negatives are...well, there are none.

Overall, the Johto Region received a masterful display of recreation in a marvelous and stunning view. Almost every part of this game deserves a 13 on a scale of 1-10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

chi1468s

posted by chi1468s (FLUSHING, NY) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it's great version to have it and i hope they have another new type of version like gold/silver,too :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Silver and Gold REALLY SHINE!!!

posted by JRose0120 (AUSTIN, TX) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Soul Silver and Heart Gold Pokemon are like no other pokemon game. The game has better graphics and sound than original games. This game also has a long story. It sometimes seems the game has no end. This game has a completely different perspective.

The new pokewalker is also amazing. Take a pokemon with you wherever you go! It's just like taking a dog on a walk. Just me, but I give these stunning games 100 out of ten... !!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hard to rent ... need to purchase

posted by StratMan (MIAMI, FL) Mar 16, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I wouldn't rent this only because if you do you are missing the Pokemon walker, which is worth the purchase. Before you can use the walker you need to acquire at least one additional Pokemon who you can then transfer to the walker. It works very well, just start the game, select the transfer to walker option instead of starting a saved game and the IR on the device from the game cartridge will link and transfer. Once you have the Pokemon in the walker you can charge it by walking to acquire more watts (sound familiar). It doesn't take a lot of steps to get more watts, 3 needed for each Dowsing search and 10 needed for each Poke Radar use. For Dowsing, you have 2 chances to select from 6 areas. It will tell you hot or cold on the first try. If you find an item you can keep only 3 in the walker so one can be overwritten. Searching using the radar is simple. Look for the "!" in one of the 6 grass areas, click the large button, then look for another "!" or a combat will start. Combat you each have 5 health bars and can choose to Flee, Combat or Pokeball. In short having the walker link to the game allows you to play on the go w/o the DSi. It adds another flavor of addictiveness to the whole Pokemon world and I see this as another step on how gaming can be portable in many ways. I feel this walker is well worth the purchase alone (much like a tomogachi). The walker also keeps stats for each day used, how much and how far you walked. Leveling up Pokemon, while not playing is easy, fun and addictive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Soul silver Review: AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by McGiggityG (PROVIDENCE, RI) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was just amazing! I just wish they would make a pokemon game where you would travel to all 4 regions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jhoto? Again? Sure

posted by Yoshi2000 (CARLTON, OR) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The story is fairly similar to what you may have seen in gold or silver, just with a few tweaks. You will be having a pokemon follow you throughout the game, much like pokemon yellow. You can't turn this off, though. But this goes for every pokemon in the game, which is all of them to this point. You want Dialga? Sure. However, some pokemon won't appear in some areas(you can't really have a 17-foot Lugia in your upstairs bedroom, can you?).

The Safari zone returns, which connects to Cianwood, with its own new route. You can now change the areas of the Safari zone, and customize it to make new pokemon appear.

The underground, which was introduced in D/P, will not make a comeback, as well as contests, which includes poffin making. However, it is replaced with a new pokeathlon, featuring 10 new minigames. Each pokemon has their own strengths and weaknesses in the minigames(sound familiar?). For example, a Pidgey would have a better stat in jumping than in power. You can also play god a little and change stats using aprijuice, made from apricorns.

Apricorns are items found in trees in Jhoto. They can be ground up into juice, or made into exclusive pokeballs. All the trees now contain apricorns.

"But wait! if all trees contain apricorns now, where do I get berries? Are they just not in this game?" Not at all. Now, you carry portable berry pots, where you plant berries and water them. However, you might just end up forgeting about them.

You can go to Kanto once more, but it' the same as it was before.

The battle frontier is also here, but its the same as platinum, so don't get your hopes up.

in all, Soul Silver is a good instalment to the series, but not very many new surprises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Oh My Pokemon!

posted by DeathRose (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Let go ahead and face it, Pokemon has been one of the few big name franchises that just keeps all of us waiting for their next release, much like Final Fantasy. It always has something new in every game, whether it be simple, small, big, or just interesting. This game is no different.

Though belonging to the Gen IV, they have mopped the floor with Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum. Everything has a nice rendition to it. Grass is no longer '2D' and is now 3D, almost looking like small shrubs. The graphics are smooth, the soundtracks of the original Jhoto reign has be reformed with some new things, also very nice. They have even brought back what we, or at least I, have always liked: The Pokemon following you like Pikachu in Yellow Version! Any pokemon you have in the first slot of your party, no matter if its an Onyx or a Pichu, will follow behind you. You can talk to it and it will yawn or do something, and it can even pick things up like the small Pokemon could in Heartome City in D and P.

The Storylines incorperating Ho-Oh and Lugia are just lovely, and I think the only thing bad about this new game is that you cannot capture Suicune[SP?], you have to trade it. Other than that, this game is worth the buy and the cherish. The pokemon walker is a lovely addition as well. You can capture pokemon in it as you walk and get items as well. The game is amazing and well worth as many hours as you can pour into it. And not to be as long winded as I already am, but...WOW, Its just pretty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleased

posted by cooke28 (GRETNA, NE) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game. I played the original Silver and this one tops it by far, I think seeing the Gyms remodeled is worth the play itself. And the 3-D redo of everything is just awesome.
There was some bad stuff tho. Low levels. LOTS of low levels. Your still encountering lv. 9's at the third gym. It's pretty hard to train in this game but luckily (or sadly depending on how you look at it) you don't need to because most of the Gym Leaders suck!
Anyways I really did love this game right up until I had beat the elites and the Gym Leaders (all 16) and all that was left was to fight Red (Ash) and all my Pokemon were 20 levels under his weakest because that's all it took to get through everything else.

All in all I liked it.
Although you deffianatley need some free time if you wanna get far on this game.
Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best remake yet

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) May 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I'm 25 years old, and I still play pokemon. I've been playing since it first came out on red and blue, and I've bought nearly every single pokemon since. This is hands-down the best remake yet. Not only does it give us access to pokemon that have been previously impossible to get without acquiring the gamecube games, but it adds a whole new level to the playing ground.

I love the pokewalker. I take it /everywhere/ with me, to work, at home, it's almost always clipped to my pants. The only downside is that you can only get one level per walk, and your steps reset as the date changes over, so you have to get your hard-earned steps back.

The gameplay is just like every other pokemon, you walk around, catch pokemon, take on the gym. The storyline is much improved, however. And the music? I love the music in this game, in all the other games I can't bear to listen to the music because it grated on my nerves after a while. This one I can't stop listening to it.

It has all the features of Gold/Silver, with some additions here and there. You can collect pokemon from Diamond, Pearl, Ruby, Sapphire depending on the music that's playing on the radio at the time.

The absolute best part, for me, is that you have a pokemon following you this time around. It adds a whole new level of personalization. I love turning around and talking to my pokemon and getting a message of 'it playfully nudges you in the stomach' or some other message, it gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside :3. And it's not just one pokemon that can follow you, it's every single pokemon that can be caught. Which can lead to some interesting companions.

They also added some new mini games. I'm addicted to the voltorb flip, and the pokethon is very fun to play as well.

All in all this is a game that was worth every single penny I paid :3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOTTA CATCH EM' ALL POKEMON but you dont have to

posted by havochaos (BOONE, NC) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome it's the same thing as the other pokemon games but that's not a bad thing at all, i hope they never change the formula for pokemon games, this games has hundreds of pokemon i think 493 of them, you can have any pokemon follow you around and there is lots of special events you can unlock but you have to have certain pokemon etc,, so basically this game is awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect Game

posted by cromostone (UNIONTOWN, OH) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Soulsilver is the best game for the ds. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game, not perfect.

posted by 786sonic (MARLBORO, NJ) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Soul silver brings back no memories because I never played silver. It was completely new and made want to cry out of enjoyment. But getting your starter to own took way to long and the frequent calls from your mom giving you a useless item made me angry. Also I did not care that a trainer wanted to rematch me because they are gonna lose again. The game was a little annoying but good in overall. For someone who played the origins they will probaly like this game but not as much as new gamers

I give it a 9.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LUGIA use areo blast!

posted by Naruto5555 (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good. but it was way 2 easy 4 me. i mean the elite 4 were pushovers!team rocket was easy 2. it was easier than platinum. the mascot of the game is LUGIA and his special move is areo blast.i have all the ledendaries in the game so i now that HO-OH special move is sacred fire.i m gonna wait 4 black and whit versions
come out so peace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sincerely,
naruto555

P.S: i didint mean 2 rub it in when i said i had all the ledgindaries.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WAY COOL

posted by UNKNOWN24 (SARASOTA, FL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

IT IS AWESOME GRAPHICS 10 OUT OF 10 GAMEPLAY 10 OUT OF TEN IT IS THE GREATEST GAME YET BUT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good But Bad

posted by Derek001 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

For one I am a pokemon fan.
For two...Im Bored.

I love to sit around for hours and train my pokemon until they are strong enough to wipe the floor with anyone I go against but I just wish they would do something different or change it around. Samething over and over, If you come out with multiple games atleast change it. I like the games they come with but the samething over and over and over just kinda ruins the series for me. I would love some suprises or changes to make the entire game different and bring pokemon back into the spot light as a great game. Nowadays I believe its looked at as just another game. You get a starter, roam around and get more and train, beat up some trainers and the end. Kind of repetitive dont you think? You should probably come up with something different if your going to put forth the effort and money to come out with more games. Doesnt make much sense to just send out another of the same you have been giving out for....well i dont know how many years now but obviously thats my point.

If you like pokemon then this is a good game to get but dont be thinking there is something new in it or something thats ganna put this game on top of the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

deserves a 10 but

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

can't transfer Pokemon to XY without trading to Black/White first, which is a drag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What the?...

posted by Mim (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Excuse me, but I never got this game. Specifically says that it only takes 2-4 days to get here. Well Im on my 5th day and it still hasn't come. It says its at home but its not. Anyone else experiencing this? But dont get me wrong; I love this game. Disappointing I won't play it... But the pokemon are so cute and cool. The legendary ones are soooo cool. You can get Articuno, Zapdos, Moltres, Entei, Suincine, Roku!!! (Think its how you spell it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back and Better Than Ever.

posted by YOSHIEGG42 (BELLMORE, NY) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

My first Pokémon game was Gold. Now when I heard that there was a remake in the works, I instantly got excited. This game brings back all of the nostalgia you could ever want from a game ---- ten fold.
Gameplay - 90%: This game brings back the old formula that everybody loves. Nothing too too special, but it's still as good as ever. Fun battles, Rivals, Gym Leaders, and the final battle - Ooooh, that final battle. So good... My one complaint is that the in-battle animations are a bit sluggish. I would turn them off, but they do look cool, so... different strokes for different folks, I guess.
Looks - 95%: Now this game looks fantastic - The in-battle sprites are VERY polished and refined, and even the overworlds look bright and vibrant. Thnk back to Red & Blue: Brock's Gym, what did it look like? Think that, but 1000 times better. In short, this game really delivers in the graphics category.
Story - 85%: Don't get me wrong, this game's story is pretty good: you're a kid who goes on an adventure to collect all 16 badges and become Pokémon Champion, while beating up Team Rocket in the process, but it's really just the same story as Red & Blue/FireRed & LeafGreen. For that: only an 85.
Lastly, Sound - 100%: This game's soundtrack is my second favorite Pokémon soundtrack to date (second to Black2/White2), and this game has some awesome music!! The Gym Battle theme, the Champion Theme, even the overworld themes! All beautiful renditions of the Gen II musical pieces. Speaking of those, you can even obtain an item called the GB Sounds to listen to the second generation's music tracks in the Gen IV game! So cool!
Final Verdict - 95%: This game is a fantastic remake of my first Pokémon game, and the fun battles, expansive content, and AMAZING looks and music makes it my favorite Pokémon game as of April 28th, 2013. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could be the best Pokemon handheld game!

posted by mynameisnathan (CLEARWATER, FL) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Being a longtime pokemon fan i was so happy to hear about a remake of silver version. This game has everything silver version has and more! It fixed every problem in the original such as slowly walking everywhere etc. I think this one is my favorite! Graphics have improved alot through handheld pokemon games in the past and love that tiny touch of 3D. Amazing game! 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Game But...

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

In my younger years I was a Pokemon fanatic, I had to have every single game and watch every single episode I could find. This has somewhat persisted to now as I still watch the TV series and monitor news of events. Yet throughout all my history with the franchise, I had never played a game that took place in Johto, and after playing it I can say that I am only lightly impressed.

Don't let that fool you, I still enjoyed this game but because I had unfortunately played the games to come after these before Soulsilver, the technical step backward I took clouded my viewpoint. I got too used to the Pokemon moving (however slightly) in Black and White so seeing them still again took a bit of fun out of it.

Nevertheless the classic Pokemon game formula still shines here and doesn't disappoint. The Pokemon roster is rather stagnant (by that I mean less variation in type availability than in other games) but the nostalgia of backtracking to one of my favorite regions made up for it.

Here is the issue I have with this game overall though. While I can respect it being innovative with attempting to include the Kanto region as well as Johto, the Kanto region is just boring. Outside of fighting the other eight gym leaders, there is just nothing going on there. No second storyline, only one further encounter with Team Rocket, and besides cameos of people from other games, the people just aren't fun either. The only thing that kept me there outside of the gyms was fighting a very strong trainer in one of the final areas...

Don't take my grim sounding demeanor to say that this game is bad (I wouldn't have given it an 8 otherwise). It still is Pokemon and it did still have me playing until I accomplished everything I could, but it just didn't bring anything new besides the poorly fleshed out second region.

Overall, I wouldn't tell you not to play this, but with new and better titles out there now, I doubt you'd miss anything by skipping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon soulsilver version

posted by ltlnvlfern (MOORESVILLE, NC) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

couldnt get the whole experience from the game cause it was suppose to come with a pokewalker too but it is 1 of my favorite pokemon games to this day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse