Rent Pokemon SoulSilver for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon SoulSilver

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

2212 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad

posted by austin245 (OCALA, FL) Aug 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this is a horrible game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Impressed

posted by jbp1087 (GREENVILLE, TX) Jan 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Overall it was an okay game, kind of seemed like it was in slow motion half the time. Not my kind of game, I'm more of a fast pace gamer. I grew up with Pokemon and was in junior high when pkm silver, gold, & crystal came out for gb color. So at first I was excited that they remade this amazing game and couldn't wait to play. I just received it in the mail today, and I am returning it today. No offense to the others who loved this updated version, guess I'm just old school.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good But Bad

posted by Derek001 (BLOOMINGTON, IL) Mar 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

For one I am a pokemon fan.
For two...Im Bored.

I love to sit around for hours and train my pokemon until they are strong enough to wipe the floor with anyone I go against but I just wish they would do something different or change it around. Samething over and over, If you come out with multiple games atleast change it. I like the games they come with but the samething over and over and over just kinda ruins the series for me. I would love some suprises or changes to make the entire game different and bring pokemon back into the spot light as a great game. Nowadays I believe its looked at as just another game. You get a starter, roam around and get more and train, beat up some trainers and the end. Kind of repetitive dont you think? You should probably come up with something different if your going to put forth the effort and money to come out with more games. Doesnt make much sense to just send out another of the same you have been giving out for....well i dont know how many years now but obviously thats my point.

If you like pokemon then this is a good game to get but dont be thinking there is something new in it or something thats ganna put this game on top of the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

User problems

posted by NJE160904 (CINCINNATI, OH) Apr 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

Good game, but when I tried to save it so I could come back to it later, it wouldn't save because other users had gone before me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

meh

posted by melonwarri (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jul 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

better off playing silver. they ruined all my old memories here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What the?...

posted by Mim (DOYLESTOWN, PA) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Excuse me, but I never got this game. Specifically says that it only takes 2-4 days to get here. Well Im on my 5th day and it still hasn't come. It says its at home but its not. Anyone else experiencing this? But dont get me wrong; I love this game. Disappointing I won't play it... But the pokemon are so cute and cool. The legendary ones are soooo cool. You can get Articuno, Zapdos, Moltres, Entei, Suincine, Roku!!! (Think its how you spell it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as Heartgold.

posted by Rockstar56280 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Its the same but 1 thing. : in SoulSilver Ho-oh is lv. 70! in HeartGold Lugia is lv.70! I Actually liked it better because after 2 years my ho-oh is lv. 97! Sadly i can't battle you guys because i have Zero Wifi. I hope i can review again. Goodbye!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Good Game But...

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Feb 24, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

In my younger years I was a Pokemon fanatic, I had to have every single game and watch every single episode I could find. This has somewhat persisted to now as I still watch the TV series and monitor news of events. Yet throughout all my history with the franchise, I had never played a game that took place in Johto, and after playing it I can say that I am only lightly impressed.

Don't let that fool you, I still enjoyed this game but because I had unfortunately played the games to come after these before Soulsilver, the technical step backward I took clouded my viewpoint. I got too used to the Pokemon moving (however slightly) in Black and White so seeing them still again took a bit of fun out of it.

Nevertheless the classic Pokemon game formula still shines here and doesn't disappoint. The Pokemon roster is rather stagnant (by that I mean less variation in type availability than in other games) but the nostalgia of backtracking to one of my favorite regions made up for it.

Here is the issue I have with this game overall though. While I can respect it being innovative with attempting to include the Kanto region as well as Johto, the Kanto region is just boring. Outside of fighting the other eight gym leaders, there is just nothing going on there. No second storyline, only one further encounter with Team Rocket, and besides cameos of people from other games, the people just aren't fun either. The only thing that kept me there outside of the gyms was fighting a very strong trainer in one of the final areas...

Don't take my grim sounding demeanor to say that this game is bad (I wouldn't have given it an 8 otherwise). It still is Pokemon and it did still have me playing until I accomplished everything I could, but it just didn't bring anything new besides the poorly fleshed out second region.

Overall, I wouldn't tell you not to play this, but with new and better titles out there now, I doubt you'd miss anything by skipping this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wait? theres more

posted by doctorzeus (VICTORIA, MN) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

well the main story is fun not to mention bringing back the original pokemon that all got us started. The 1st region is accually very fun and at the end you get to catch, you geussed it, lugia!. once i finished the first region i was so tired of trying to get there i was almsot sick of it, and the 2nd region seemed, half-(BEEP) because you go to a gym get the badge move on. So its a fun game just next game if our gunna have 2 regions make sure that they are both put = amounts of time into it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleased

posted by cooke28 (GRETNA, NE) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Pretty good game. I played the original Silver and this one tops it by far, I think seeing the Gyms remodeled is worth the play itself. And the 3-D redo of everything is just awesome.
There was some bad stuff tho. Low levels. LOTS of low levels. Your still encountering lv. 9's at the third gym. It's pretty hard to train in this game but luckily (or sadly depending on how you look at it) you don't need to because most of the Gym Leaders suck!
Anyways I really did love this game right up until I had beat the elites and the Gym Leaders (all 16) and all that was left was to fight Red (Ash) and all my Pokemon were 20 levels under his weakest because that's all it took to get through everything else.

All in all I liked it.
Although you deffianatley need some free time if you wanna get far on this game.
Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LUGIA use areo blast!

posted by Naruto5555 (BROOKHAVEN, PA) Jul 11, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty good. but it was way 2 easy 4 me. i mean the elite 4 were pushovers!team rocket was easy 2. it was easier than platinum. the mascot of the game is LUGIA and his special move is areo blast.i have all the ledendaries in the game so i now that HO-OH special move is sacred fire.i m gonna wait 4 black and whit versions
come out so peace!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

sincerely,
naruto555

P.S: i didint mean 2 rub it in when i said i had all the ledgindaries.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun addition, but adds little new

posted by rmfreeman (NEPTUNE, NJ) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Besides better graphics, and a few more options (that generally exist just to move the story along), this is more or less a normal addition to the pokemon franchise.

There really isn't much new, but they don't do anything to screw up the winning formula either. If you love pokemon, you'll love this. If you're looking to get back into pokemon, it's as good a place to start as any.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Jhoto? Again? Sure

posted by Yoshi2000 (CARLTON, OR) Mar 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The story is fairly similar to what you may have seen in gold or silver, just with a few tweaks. You will be having a pokemon follow you throughout the game, much like pokemon yellow. You can't turn this off, though. But this goes for every pokemon in the game, which is all of them to this point. You want Dialga? Sure. However, some pokemon won't appear in some areas(you can't really have a 17-foot Lugia in your upstairs bedroom, can you?).

The Safari zone returns, which connects to Cianwood, with its own new route. You can now change the areas of the Safari zone, and customize it to make new pokemon appear.

The underground, which was introduced in D/P, will not make a comeback, as well as contests, which includes poffin making. However, it is replaced with a new pokeathlon, featuring 10 new minigames. Each pokemon has their own strengths and weaknesses in the minigames(sound familiar?). For example, a Pidgey would have a better stat in jumping than in power. You can also play god a little and change stats using aprijuice, made from apricorns.

Apricorns are items found in trees in Jhoto. They can be ground up into juice, or made into exclusive pokeballs. All the trees now contain apricorns.

"But wait! if all trees contain apricorns now, where do I get berries? Are they just not in this game?" Not at all. Now, you carry portable berry pots, where you plant berries and water them. However, you might just end up forgeting about them.

You can go to Kanto once more, but it' the same as it was before.

The battle frontier is also here, but its the same as platinum, so don't get your hopes up.

in all, Soul Silver is a good instalment to the series, but not very many new surprises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

deserves a 10 but

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

can't transfer Pokemon to XY without trading to Black/White first, which is a drag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Back and Better Than Ever.

posted by YOSHIEGG42 (BELLMORE, NY) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2009

My first Pokémon game was Gold. Now when I heard that there was a remake in the works, I instantly got excited. This game brings back all of the nostalgia you could ever want from a game ---- ten fold.
Gameplay - 90%: This game brings back the old formula that everybody loves. Nothing too too special, but it's still as good as ever. Fun battles, Rivals, Gym Leaders, and the final battle - Ooooh, that final battle. So good... My one complaint is that the in-battle animations are a bit sluggish. I would turn them off, but they do look cool, so... different strokes for different folks, I guess.
Looks - 95%: Now this game looks fantastic - The in-battle sprites are VERY polished and refined, and even the overworlds look bright and vibrant. Thnk back to Red & Blue: Brock's Gym, what did it look like? Think that, but 1000 times better. In short, this game really delivers in the graphics category.
Story - 85%: Don't get me wrong, this game's story is pretty good: you're a kid who goes on an adventure to collect all 16 badges and become Pokémon Champion, while beating up Team Rocket in the process, but it's really just the same story as Red & Blue/FireRed & LeafGreen. For that: only an 85.
Lastly, Sound - 100%: This game's soundtrack is my second favorite Pokémon soundtrack to date (second to Black2/White2), and this game has some awesome music!! The Gym Battle theme, the Champion Theme, even the overworld themes! All beautiful renditions of the Gen II musical pieces. Speaking of those, you can even obtain an item called the GB Sounds to listen to the second generation's music tracks in the Gen IV game! So cool!
Final Verdict - 95%: This game is a fantastic remake of my first Pokémon game, and the fun battles, expansive content, and AMAZING looks and music makes it my favorite Pokémon game as of April 28th, 2013. :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Favorite

posted by iamaustin (SWANTON, VT) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

Pokemon Silver,Gold&Crystal have always been my favorite generation on Pokemon games, although, every time i play it my team consists of only generation I Pokemon minus the starter :D, so i was completely stoked when a friend told me remakes of the games came out. immediately i got this ginger kid to give me his DSlite (later giving me his DS as well HA!)
and i rented it off GameFly. So far i've got 50 or so hours on it, and i'm still enjoying it just as much as i was at the beginning of the same. i'm in love with my team, (Articuno, Pikachu, Red Gyarados, Dragonite, Kadabra, and Typhlosion) i also like to mix it up with a Snorlax, Tyranitar, and Mewtwo. Some nasty pokemon.. Overall i give this game a straight up ten, hands down. When your mom's making you food, and you're bummed because 20 minutes seems so far away when you're hungry, just play some Pokemon Soul Silver, and the time will fly. This game is about as hard to put down as a piece of wood drenched in gorilla glue. I'm a diehard Pokemon fan, always have been, always will be. I started out with blue version one Christmas morning some years ago, and i've been hooked since. The graphic change is so much different, and everything makes more sense. With the 2D games i couldn't real make out some objects that made me feel silly when i saw them in 3D. Stoked is an understatement before i played the game, SOAKED are pants when i played the game. ;

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Pretty Good Game!

posted by spaceface7 (NORTH AURORA, IL) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This new Pokemomn game is one of Nintendo's best so far. With returning to the Johto Region, you can now have Pokemon you haven't seen in Diamond or Pearl, like Cyndaquil, Weedil, Tauros, and much more. My only complaint is, that the gym-leaders can be a LITTLE bit overpowered, and often players will be rematching gyms up to 3 or 4 times, before they earn the Gym-Badge. But overall, this game is great, and I like the return of the original Pokemon. A must-have game for Pokemon fans. And even if you gave up on the video game saga during Diamond & Pearl, I can highly bet that you will enjoy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

chi1468s

posted by chi1468s (FLUSHING, NY) May 30, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it's great version to have it and i hope they have another new type of version like gold/silver,too :]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A good game, not perfect.

posted by 786sonic (MARLBORO, NJ) Apr 1, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Soul silver brings back no memories because I never played silver. It was completely new and made want to cry out of enjoyment. But getting your starter to own took way to long and the frequent calls from your mom giving you a useless item made me angry. Also I did not care that a trainer wanted to rematch me because they are gonna lose again. The game was a little annoying but good in overall. For someone who played the origins they will probaly like this game but not as much as new gamers

I give it a 9.2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I love Johto!!

posted by Amiona (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

24 out of 25 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

When I heard they were making a remake of Silver and Gold, I fliped! I have always loved the Johto series the most, but my orginal stopped working correctly. So I quickly reserved it at Gamestop.

Anyway, the game is a lot like the orginal but deftianley better graphics and sound. I espically noticed the differences in the water. It looks more natural plus the sound of the water fades in and out as you approuch it. The story is still pretty much the same but a few minor changes here and there. Like the Komono girl...I don't recall her in the orginal. But it's been years since I played it.

Oh, the mini-games are pretty cool and fun. I espcially like the chopping blocks one. The Pokewalker is awesome! I'm a person that likes to take 40 minute walks a day, so it's nice that I can take a Pokemon along with me!

So if you are a true hardcore Pokemanic, buy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WAY COOL

posted by UNKNOWN24 (SARASOTA, FL) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

IT IS AWESOME GRAPHICS 10 OUT OF 10 GAMEPLAY 10 OUT OF TEN IT IS THE GREATEST GAME YET BUT IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could be the best Pokemon handheld game!

posted by mynameisnathan (CLEARWATER, FL) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Being a longtime pokemon fan i was so happy to hear about a remake of silver version. This game has everything silver version has and more! It fixed every problem in the original such as slowly walking everywhere etc. I think this one is my favorite! Graphics have improved alot through handheld pokemon games in the past and love that tiny touch of 3D. Amazing game! 10 out of 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon soulsilver version

posted by ltlnvlfern (MOORESVILLE, NC) May 25, 2012

Member since May 2012

couldnt get the whole experience from the game cause it was suppose to come with a pokewalker too but it is 1 of my favorite pokemon games to this day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!!!!

posted by Und3adPhant0m (THEODORE, AL) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

BEST POKEMON GAME YET!!!!! HOURS AND HOURS OF GAMEPLAY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the awsomeness of pokemon soul silver

posted by Vinchino (LINESVILLE, PA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

this game would be a pick that i would recomend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse