Rent Pokemon Ranger for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Ranger

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

1137 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome and challenching game

posted by pokemon987 (CLERMONT, FL) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was really fun and challenching. The storyline and graphics were awesome. I liked the way you draw circles around the pokemon to capture them. To me the best part is getting to capture legendary pokemon. The most challenching and my favorite level was getting to capture Rayquaza (it was awesome). I really recomend ths game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A whole new way to play POKEMON!

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

20 out of 25 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I am very surprised at how much fun this game is. For me, the last two spin off titles (this and mystery dungeon) have been the best experiences I have ever had with pokemon. More or less this title follows a very similar plot to all of the others (except for mystery dungeon), what makes this game unique is the way you catch pokemon. Essentially, you use the stylus to "circle" around a pokemon you want, several times, and bam theyre caught. Where this gets interesting is being able to use other pokemon abilities to aid you in capturing. The entire game can be controlled with the stylus, and it makes a huge difference. Not too many games can use the stylus for the entire game, well, but this one does. The graphics are cute (theyre more like megaman battle network than the typical pokemon style), the sound is good, everything is good. the story is the only part i find a bit lacking, but its easy to oversee something like that when the gameplay is as good as this titles is. best pokemon to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A brand new Pokemon...

posted by Mashiara (GLENDALE, AZ) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This is a great game, though it is quite easy to beat. The new stylus system is very easy to get used to and fun to play with. Though it was a quick game, it had a great story line and there was never a dull moment. Once you’ve beaten the game, you can go back and try to catch all the Pokemon you missed during regular game play. There are also some mini-games in the form of capture challenges.

I would suggest this game for Pokemon fans, and also for anyone who is interested in a fun game that doesn’t require a lot of thought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Must buy game to get Manaphy

posted by erstruck (OAK LAWN, IL) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying, if you are more than ten years old, the only reason you are playing this game is to get Manaphy. Well here is a first hand look at the truth, when it is rented, the data; including the eggs transferred over, remain on the game. This remains so even if you start a new file. Now I know it is shocking, but for once Nintendo has a fail-safe on a game. The result, in order to get the Manaphy egg you must: 1. Buy a New copy of the game. 2. Beat the story mode. 3. Go to the ranger net and beat the manaphy egg mission. Just remeber, do not rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the pokemon company hits another home run!!

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this pokemon game is a little tough to figure out at first but they teach you along the way and just like the other pokemon games they are addicting this is a must rent and or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

eh

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i didn't find this game very fun cause all you had to do was draw circles around Pokémon. the story didn't seem very interesting. And the circle thing got old really fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simply painful.

posted by CheezError (MARTINSVILLE, VA) Jul 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Okay so I am going to start by saying, I have played the Pokemon games faithfully since the day Pokemon Red and Blue hit the shelves. I have even delved into the side genres a couple times with the TCG (Not horrible but not great) and Pokemon Snap. But for me it's always been about the core gameboy and GBA/DS RPG games.

Okay so let's get this straight, this game is not your typical Pokemon game. The strategy and depth that make the other games great is completely missing from this game. Not that it claims to be a typical Pokemon game either. Truthfully the only reason I rented it was to try and get a Manaphy that can be transferred over to Diamond and Pearl once the game is beaten.

Fellow gamers, I a seasoned Pokemon vet only made it a little past the half way mark. This is a terrible game. I wasn't expecting a masterpiece when I rented it. But I also didn't expect to hate it either. And well, I do hate it. with every fiber of my being.

The graphics are pretty, the sound is annoying. The story is the most garbled gibberish you will ever read in your entire gaming career. But that is nothing compared to the game play. As mentioned before you will find no tactical depth of any sort. This... is simply a game.... about drawing circles.... around pokemon as they move about. Yes.... you simply draw circles hoping the little animals don't break your circle..... that's it.

Enthralling yes? No I didn't think so either. So hopefully I have sated your curiosity about this terrible train wreck of a game. No legendary pokemon is worth the pain you will experience during this game.

And I note that I only gave it a one because there is nothing lower in the scoring chart.

(Oh and also I thought I'd add that you can play a promotional game on Neopets with the exact same gameplay. No story and no walking around.... but those were... the better parts.... and they still were awful. So don't bother. For your own sake.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wicked!

posted by donkeyguy (GLENDALE, CA) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so cool, love how you catch the pokemon it is way more fun than any other of the pokemon games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another poke-spinoff!

posted by Airoblast (AGUANGA, CA) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In Pokemon ranger you are a Pokemon ranger in which you must constantly go and help people/Pokemon in trouble, or other stuff which end up helping people (e.g. Clearing sewers). the new game controls are pretty strange and new, but are surprisingly fun. well that is until around the 3rd mission when Pokemon start to be a very big challenge to capture. and seeing how you can only use the Pokemon once, and that includes having it assist you with capturing other Pokemon, it does get annoying when you go back to where you caught that Pokemon and you have to recapture it multiple time. so the the capturing process gets harder very fast, and often very annoying when Pokemon start attacking the capture line. so this game is both a challenge and a annoyance. but i admit its pretty fun, although it helps if your a fan of the Pokemon series. I do think Nintendo should have added other stuff but they didn't. this game is great if you have allot of free time.

Gameplay: 8.2
Sound: 8.5
Replay value: 3
Graphics: 7.4
Overall: 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IT ROCKS!

posted by vannie (SAN MARCOS, CA) Nov 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Its so much and I'm totally going to by it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Read to find out why

posted by Pizzalogic (DAVIE, FL) Nov 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game is not your average pokemon game. Its great they are going for a different appraoch, but I have to say, this was not the way to go.

Gameplay:
Its frustrating. You take your stylus and draw a circle around a pokemon running around the buttom screen. Then you use him to put out fires and help with other dangerous tasks.

Problem? Its odd drawing circles around a pokemon, its not that bad. Its just not god enough to make a game out of it. Alot of times the pokemon runs into the circle and it breaks casuing you to loose health.

Graphics are not that good. They are around the same as an SNES. The game is not that impressive.

Another problem is. You dont get to choose your pokemon. You pretty much put into situations where they choose for you. You dont feel like your in control to much.

Closing comments:
In the end, this game offered nothing enjoyable. Its another dud like Mystery dungeon. Its sad to see such a good franchise like Pokemon do bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rent to get Manaphy on your Diamond/Pearl save.

posted by RedLesPaul (CAMARILLO, CA) Jul 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is unfortunately not worth owning at all. Now that Pokemon Diamond and Pearl have been released for the DS, most players who will be wanting to obtain Manaphy and Phione will be renting this game. However, drudging through a game that is painfully boring will prove to be quite a task.

When it all comes down to it, Pokemon Ranger just isn't fun. You draw circles. That's it. There is entirely too much dialog to sit through as you advance the story. I found myself picking up the game for a few hours at a time and then abandoning it for days due to the sheer boredom that came with playing it. The fact of the matter is that the game play does not change whatsoever. Most good games will allow the game play to evolve so that your strategies will have to improve as you progress through the game. In Pokemon Ranger all you have to do is draw more circles in a shorter amount of time.

If you're an absolute die-hard Pokemon fan you'll definitely get some enjoyment out of this game. It's a lot like the anime series you can catch on TV. There's a lot more of an emphasis on the Pokemon and their feelings rather that just battling. While that is all well and good, remember that Pokemon first came onto the scene as a battling game. Since this game is a lot like the animated series, a lot of the ridiculous Pokemon dogma and ethics that come with its own mythology will turn many players off to actually giving the game's dialog a serious try.

All in all I was disgusted every minute I played the game, I just finished it so I could transfer Manaphy to my Pokemon Diamond save file.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pokémon fans rental

posted by NINsane73 (JUSTICE, IL) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have to say as a fan of the original Pokémon on GB and GBA I have to say I was interested in trying out a new game with new ideas and hoping for the best. Unfortunately like most Pokémon that strayed off the beaten path this one comes up short also. While Pokémon Ranger is not a bad game it certainly lacks the addictiveness that its previous installments had. It really gives you no reason to capture all the Pokémon as based on what type (i.e. electric, fire etc.)they all do the same things in battle. Also, speaking of battles they seem more like a warioware mini game than the base of this game. Every fight consists of drawing circles around the Pokémon to capture it and using previously captured Pokémon's abilities to make that job easier. Another issue that may turn off younger audience is this game is VERY TEXT HEAVY and you can't skip past it. As a rental it is decent for Pokémon fans that are waiting for diamond and pearl while avoiding mystery dungeon but it will just be a short distraction as the main game can be beat in 8-10 hours and the bonus missions only extend that about another 2 hours or so. But to sum it up I had some fun with it as a rental but due to the length I am glad I did not buy it. Hopefully Nintendo continues to expand it's Pokémon universe with new ideas and games while maintaining the quality that we haven't seen since emerald and ruby.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

really sucks

posted by blahblaher (CHULA VISTA, CA) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i really did not like this game it wasnt that fun the graphics were not good it sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pokémon Range

posted by brianak28 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

When I first saw this game on the market I absolutely wanted to buy it. But I like to first try the game before I buy them. So, I rent it on Game fly. I counted every second until it came on my mail, when I got it I couldn't wait until I could play it. When I finally played this game, the game lousy. It was lame. I couldn't even figure out the game's purpose, (how to pass it.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!

posted by Shadow275 (BROOKLYN, NY) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

4 out of 40 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

Since I'm playing this game before Wii, Diamond and more, this game is very cool. I saw some videos about it and it's cool. Can't wait to get it and play it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I like the pokemon games with trainers in them.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Well I wasn't that thrilled about it. Like always NONE of the trainers from the show are in it. I like the pokemon games with trainers in it. Not some stupid rangers that use them to "help" them! I hate those rangers! They think they can help the world and the pokemon. (They can't!) Plus that stupid capture net is hard to control! WOULD IT KILL THEM TO PUT ASH IN THE GAME?!????????!?????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO IT WOULDN'T! (He makes the story great! And pitiful Dawn makes story boring! And Gary made the story stink.) I like it when the trainers are in it because it's all about them and they just seem cool to me (Ash) they also deserve to be in this game! (Ash) But anyway I think this game is weak and dosen't deserve to exist because it dosen't have :)Ash:) in it!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I give it a 7

posted by 47265ll (PEARSON, GA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Like most Pokemon games, they could've done better, but it was pretty good and definitely an interesting contrast to the past gaming style used. There isn't any real side quest type missions to hone your skills and such. The missions come in a straight line one after the other leaving little to no room for much else. To be straight forward, the most "battle" type experience you'll get is drawing circles around a flailing, moving pokemon as fast as you can until you catch it to release it. It's pretty uninteresting for a person like me who's always loved the traditional "catch-and-train" gaming style of pokemon games but I'm sure anyone will get something from it. No doubt it can be exciting and indeed challenging, you may find some satisfaction in the game's overall unique style if nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by kalvin505 (ABERNATHY, TX) Dec 10, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

It was incredible it blew my mind the ending. If you are a big fan of pokemon then you have to play this game. It gives off the exact vibe as its other games. From 1-10 i would give it a 16.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

One of the worst games my DS has had to suffer loading...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pretty sweet

posted by treydavids (POTOMAC, MD) May 11, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

the game was pretty difficult times but this game was AWESOME!! This game was a game unlike the other Pokémon games but it was challenging. I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL THE SEQUAL: POKEMON RANGER BATTONAGE!!!!! RENT THIS GAME PEOPLE OF EARTH!!!. SO as i was saying the game was very very................... WHY ARE YOU STILL READING!!!!!! GET THE GAME ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

about pokemon ranger

posted by amaha08 (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

Dear Game Fly

Pokemon Ranger is a bad game because it is impossible to go across the water to get other pokemon. It is impossible to beat the first mission and that's why I'm writing this review.

You should make a better pokemon ranger.

Love

Amha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pokemon ranger was great

posted by caw418 (COLUMBIA, SC) Mar 30, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

this is a game in which you use the touch pen which is great. this game has many challenges which wll put your brain in good use. however the game challenges may have been too easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So disappointed...

posted by SmplGmrGrl (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

This was my unfortunate introduction to the Pokémon franchise. I wish I had read the reviews here before buying the game on a whim while out and about... I'm renting another to give it all another go but this one is seriously repetitive and rather dull... circles, circles and more circles... where's the story?
Thanks.
Oh, and the 2 is because I did like the graphics, if nothing else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

is change really that bad?

posted by maxgamer (COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA) Dec 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Well I thought I grew out of pokemon games. Then I played this one. The unique change from regular
Pokemon games is excellent. Instead of battling all the time, you will be capturing and helping out the Pokemon world. This might sound boring but when you really play the game the story and all the challenging times you have to capture a lengendary pokemon. You will have a fun time with this game, but hey, thats just my opinion right!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse