Rent Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Ranger: Shadows of Almia

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

826 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the original!

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Feb 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This game starts out slow(you're a student) but gets interesting once you become a ranger. You can recharge your stylus with an extra pokemon instead of releasing it immediately. You can also have more than one partner pokemon in total. You can only use one at a time, but you can switch between them by going to your family farm or whenever you meet a new one. There are new areas to explore(underwater) and area effects(like target clears with a wider range). The capture technique is better too. You don't have to keep your stylus touching the screen the whole time. You fill a gauge that allows you a couple seconds of rest without loosing progress.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by Raptor1133 (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

its a really great game.
the visuals r great[for the ds anyway]
gameplay:its a smooth to the point game. there r puzzles or mazes but the charchters basically tell you the way.
ending: and even the crdits go buy fast so u can get right back to playin.
i would say to rent it since it is pretty short but is great for traveling and a great time waster

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is sweet

posted by Bhep34 (ALLISON PARK, PA) Dec 2, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This pokemon game is sweet, you draw circles to capture the pokemon, and it has everybody. There are obstacles in your way, and specific pokemon have different field moves to break them. If you liked the first one, you'll love this one ever more. It's basically like the normal pokemon, only there are no trainers, you don't fight, and ash catchem and dawn aren't in them anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good edition to the pokemon series

posted by uunash007 (FALMOUTH, ME) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game starts slow, and is repetitive. The first few missions are pretty lame, but if you stick with it, you will be rewarded. it is very fun and addicting and the pokemon selection is nice. a good story line and nice capture system only complements this installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game

posted by pokemonlov (THORNTON, CO) Nov 13, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the best pokemon games so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pokemon ranger shadow of almia

posted by robin1107 (ROXBURY, MA) May 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game is really good i recomended the kids will love to play the game it has a lot of good levels is just so good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Excellent for beginners!

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Dec 26, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For anyone new to DS, or even new to gaming, Pokemon Ranger: Shadows Of Almia is a terrific start. It has an excellent intro/tutorial "Ranger School" that walks users through basic functionality.

Though at times a bit wordy, it's a sweet story line that's easy to win and easy to build strengths.

I played for about 4 hours in the first session, and the time flew by.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

this game is amazing.

posted by munchlax (BUSHKILL, PA) Mar 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game rocks.its way better than the first one.its a bit longer.more bosses.more challenging but there is a downfall. it's a litlle annoyinger if you dont like the battles.. but a overALL reveiw i give it a 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than First one.

posted by loverblue (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 31, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have played the first Pokemon Rangers, and this one. I overall like this one better. I think it has to do with the story line, and the fact that with the first one, i had gotten stuck at some point, and could never figure out how to get past, and nobody else i knew could do it either. THis one, has a bettery storyline. You get really addicted trying to win, and beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

good until one part

posted by bobman (FALLS CHURCH, VA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this is a pretty good game it has good graphics good storyline (etc) but this game has two drawbacks one big one small the small one is because i love games where you get to choose what you look like not just hey are a boy or a girl because in this you don't get to choose what you look like that was the small drawback the big one is when you get to be a ranger and you have to capture those Pokémon that are banging against the cliff i could never capture them ever!! so if you are a really really good gamer at everything you could probably do this game so in the end i had do give it a five

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hmmmmm

posted by blainer (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Dec 23, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is so wierd. I thought it would that it would take a while to beat it. It only took me five days to beat it and I was really mad when I found out that it took nothing to win. If I had to make a suggestion whether or not to get this game when I decided to get it I wouldn't waste the time on it. Also I would have to commend the game's makers on making an easier game for kids to play. Thank you for reading my review. Game on!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon ranger Shadows of Almia review

posted by Pikalover (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Tomorrow I will be getting this game and by looking at it looks like a perfeect game,and also I hope my second favorite Pokemon Mime JR. is in it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

4/10

posted by flygon12 (Saint Louis, MO) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Pros:Vibrant graphics, good storyline
Cons:Pokémon Ranger Shadows of Almia does not contain most of the elements that make Pokémon games unique (leveling, moves, items, etc.)which means that if you would like to raise/ catch 'em all you should play Pearl, Diamond, Platinum or Mystery Dungeon.

This game is really only meant for die hard pokéfreaks/collectors and should only be played by the very patient, as it gets rather boring as you progress through the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Played it once, twice, and maybe a third time

posted by DARCARIO (SKIATOOK, OK) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

This game is one of the best pokemon games I've ever played! I've played and completed it twice in a row! It's so good, it's like I keep coming back for more when I'm coming back for the same thing. For a DS game, this is an ultimate.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by AwesomeDud (WINCHENDON, MA) Nov 21, 2010

Member since May 2010

This was a very addicting game when I first started playing, after I made it to the last RANK you can be, and I started doing all of the quests, the game started to get boring. It became boring from the lack of things to do, the storyline after, and the annoyance of going all around the map to find the pokemon to finish the quests, my main goal was to get 2 more pokemon so I could get Regigiggas which would complete my Pokedex... So, I give this game an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Rangers SOA, best one by far!

posted by MSfanatic (CHAMPLIN, MN) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I fell in love with this game ever since i got it. I finished the whole game story and i was astounded. I loved the storyline which at times could pass of as funny. The music was great. I found myself huming it. I like the way you capture the pokemon by circling your stylus i think thats cool. The story line was something i will not soon forget and i love the varieties of pokemon to capture. This was actually the first pokemon game i played and thats what got me hooked on the game series.

I say BUY IT. There is alot of stuff you can do even after you play through the storyline. It is a great one to have in your ds collection. And worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for younger audiences

posted by LGryphon (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I've been playing the Pokemon series since Red and Blue on the Game Boy systems and decided to give this branch of the series a shot. It is a good game but unless you are a younger player the storyline may as well not exist. For younger audiences it promotes helping those in need, responsibility, teamwork, etc.

The game play itself is solidly built if somewhat repetitive. The entire game is done with the stylus and you "befriend" enemy pokemon by drawing circles around them until their meter bar fills. The prologue is boring dialogue heavy but does its duty explaining the mechanics of the game. It gets better afterward when the dialogue becomes shorter and you spend most of your time playing between getting missions to continue the story. In between you can complete quests to break up the monotony and upgrade your stylus.

However, something about the game is addictive and if you can make it past the prologue you'll have trouble putting it down. I finished the story in 35-36 hours. As with most Pokemon series, once you finish the main storyline resuming the save opens up new areas, quests, etc., to explore. A definite must try for younger fans of the Pokemon series and a good time waster for older audiences with time to spare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Easy

posted by NarutoWiz (IOWA CITY, IA) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

It was really easy but fun. I'm not a pokemon follower or gamer but I got through it 1.5 days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon ranger: shadows of almia

posted by dragonman6 (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jan 4, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

beat it within three days

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a step up

posted by theironG (PITTSFORD, NY) Sep 14, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

better then the first. the characters ability to run was good (the first was painfully slow). the story fell a bit short compared the the originals. it was a good deal harder too. The introduction of multiple partner characters was a good addition. the pulsel and minle got boring. its wirth getting if you are a fan of the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Eh... it's alright.

posted by edzoologis (ALEXANDRIA, KY) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game is pretty average. It is DEFINITELY better than the first though. The game starts out boring, but after an hour it starts getting fun. It has still captured that feeling of fun, but it is REALLY boring when it starts out. And that is my only problem with this game, it starts out boring. And that is the reason it is worth a rent, but not a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game was so great

posted by edtheman (SALISBURY, MD) Jun 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I loved how you could circle arond the pokemon. It was so great that I said to my mom "can I have it?"That how great it was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »