Rent Pokemon Ranger: Guardian Sign for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Ranger: Guardian Sign

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.4

738 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very entertaining

posted by Assasain15 (Copperas Cove, TX) Oct 8, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

12 out of 12 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Normally i would say this just like all the other Pokemon games, but this one is different. You would love this game Pokemon fan or just starting, this game story is so enjoyable it just sucks you right in. Graphics are nice for the DS and very basic. Controls...whats hard about drawing a circle?... it's a lot harder in this game TRUST ME!!!! Anyway, this game has in interesting pace to it as well, it's not to hard but at the same time its not that easy. Music:Beautiful. This game is great i recommend getting it. TIP: Catch as many DIFFERENT types of Pokemon throughout the entire game, it'll help you later, trust me. OPINION: Ukulele Pichu is so Adorable (:

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty good.

posted by kaelynXD (HAVERHILL, MA) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had a ton of fun playing this game.
I think it's alot easier compared to a normal Pokemon game, but it's still fun.
I enjoyed the storyline even though a few times I predicted what would happen, and for the most part was right. I liked all the characters, except Ben, I thought he was very annoying, always pointing out the obvious, "Look! It's ....!" No kidding, Ben, I can see with my own eyes!
Another thing I didn't like was that it's hard to do the missions in the past by myself. I didn't have anyone to play them with, so after about 5 missions I couldn't do it anymore.

Besides all that, I really liked this game. I honestly could not put it down, I played it for hours straight.(Which is probably way I beat the game very quickly)
Another thing that was great is that it reminded me of my childhood, everytime I saw a Pokemon I remembered from the show I'd go "Oh! It's that Pokemon, .......!!" and then I'd see the actual name of the Pokemon and go "Oh, that's what I meant."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Worth the Time.

posted by dillon820 (LAKE WORTH, FL) May 31, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game just is not worth the time. First off the story seems very repetitive with barely any change from mission to mission. Another problem is that there is so much talking. I would be ok with this if the text wasn't so boring it almost seems they are saying things just to talk and point out the obvious you can already see. I was so bored with the dialogue I almost had to send it back early. Also why is everyone giving it an 8 when in the review they only point out the negatives of the game. The last game was so much better I began to wonder if they were both made by the same company. Don't get this game unless you have nothing better to do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pokemon

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Nov 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i'm a big pokemon fan pokemon ranger 3 is fun, the pichu is cute too. i give pokemon ranger 3 4 wingulls out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Seriously, an 8 guys?

posted by getpsycho (DALY CITY, CA) Dec 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I can't believe this game got an 8.1 out of 10. With 166 reviews!!!!! Seriously? What kind of crowd IS this?

Anyway, I'm a game programmer, and this game is garbage. I will admit the concept of the pokemon ranger is a good one, and the previous game was entertaining. And it's pretty. But the storyline is ridiculous! My wife is a writer and she couldn't believe the redundancy of the writing. Albeit, it's a kids game, but last time I checked kids weren't that stupid. Let's give them some credit please. The majority of this game is the terrible dialogue, and then once I suffered through that, I realized that there are only three REAL guardian signs. The rest just activate rematches. What kind of reward is that? I feel like I should get a cash reward for playing this horrible, slow, redundant, repetitive game. Really, guys? That's quality gaming these days?

Thanks Pokemon Ranger, but I think I'll pass on the next one. I'll stick to the classic pokemon gameplay thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

half good

posted by pauljr8 (DETROIT, MI) Jan 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

i would give it a half because in every pokemon game the bad guys always wants to use pokemon for power over the world

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by Austinlog (DOVER PLAINS, NY) Sep 10, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

It was a good game but Pokemon platnium is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun game

posted by esps1189 (OAK HARBOR, WA) Jul 31, 2012

Member since May 2012

Never played the ranger games before so it was nice to know that this had a great way to introduce you to how to play and had a decent story line but I did not care for the face that you can only have a certain amount of pokemon total and that every time you use a pokemon for an action required to proceed with the story line, they go away. Otherwise it was a fun game and worth playing once if you are a pokemon fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A game about drawing loops... wierd..

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Mar 13, 2012

Member since May 2010

Here I thought it was a pokemon game which I read was about catching poemon, but it was more about drawing rings or loops called "capture rings" around the pokemon... Highly repetitive and quite boring, I now realize why used nintendo ds's keep having circles or loop scratches into their touch screens!! Games like this and legend of zelda: phatom hour glass are the cause of them... thankfully, I had screen guards for my ds... If you are going to get or play this game make sure you have those screen guards for your ds... Beyond drawing loops, rings or circles, I didn't see anything worth while, so caution is advised when trying out this game, and be careful of corperate hacks giving 10s or 8s, but the 8's could be just some hyper pokemon fans... In truth I found the game to be boring... Be careful about trying this one folks, and get some screen guards!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Ranger: Gardian Sign

posted by daggerknight1 (LUFKIN, TX) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game rocks hard. When y gwt it and start it up get ready for a crazy time. At first it's hard to beat the first boss. He's a pain inthe but. You really need too juice up your styles to at least level 15 cause this s.o.b. ia tough as nails. Getting to the end is well worth the time and headache. Have fun dudes and dudets/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokèmon Ranger

posted by qicksilv3r5 (OZONE PARK, NY) Jul 31, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The best of the three ranger titles that are out there. the game is exciting and it has a story line that will keep you interested for a very long time. Pokèmon fans will love being able to summon legendary Pokèmon like Latios, Rioku, and Ho-Oh. The plot line may seem to drag on in the beginning, but by the end it is all worth it. It may not be a buy, but it is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Really Fun Game

posted by JuniorProd (READING, PA) May 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

i've played the game pokemon shadows of alima and it was fun but had a few flaws, in this game the fixed all of them and had to put a restraint, if a poke assist pokemon is hit in battle it leaves, but if not it stays and u can use as many as u want! just they need to recharge(only like 3 seconds) over all this game deserves a 10 rateing and was very fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not Enough Free Time

posted by GDD08 (MIDDLEBURG, FL) Apr 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I really like this game but there is way to much talking going on I wish that you could move more or have more free time. In all the other non-ranger games the only really long dialogue besides some boss battles and the begining for new players in this game every other time you go to a new screen. If they make a new ranger game and fix this I would definetly like that game a lot more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by Anitec21 (MESQUITE, TX) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

This game is fun some say it was difficult but i got use to the controls. I play this game all day if your a pokemon fan i say check it out then buy lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »