Rent Pokemon Platinum for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Platinum

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.4

2843 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Epic.

posted by BIOSHOCK46 (KAMAS, UT) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I got this game I expected it to be just like Diamond/Pearl. But there were actually quite a few changes, like following Gyratina into the portal to the world. The sophistication that the characters use in their language of the game is remarkable. It would be a lot better if you played the game if you're a little older, it just makes you understand it that much more. This game is a must.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Platinum lives up to the name.

posted by Guardian_Wolf (TRION, GA) Mar 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Platinum is certainly the best game in the 4th generation of Pokemon games. It corrected a couple of serious flaws with the previous entries, such as slow battle animations, and limited access to fire Pokemon, and added even more to an already great generation of games, including the best post-elite-four experience I've seen in the series, outside of adding a whole region.

As typical in one of the non-spin-off entries in the Pokemon series, you can expect a great RPG experience. There are tons of "Pocket Monsters" to catch, all with different strengths, weaknesses, attacks, and abilities, and most with the ability to evolve into even larger and stronger versions of that monster. Create your team of up to 6 Pokemon of your choice to participate in battles in a 1 vs 1 or 2 vs 2 format. There are also a ton of items to find and unearth, with a wide variety of uses, from simply restoring health, to even evolving your Pokemon or teaching them attacks. Formulate your perfect team to take on other in-game Pokemon masters, unique legendary Pokemon, and even real life trainers with the use of Wifi Connection.

There's a whole plot with plenty of trainers and masters to face, plus the excellent post-game with more Pokemon to catch, trainers to re-battle at much higher levels, and a special area where you can battle with special rules to obtain points for items! But there's more to find here than battling. Along with the side-goal of catching all of the nearly 400 different types of Pokemon that can be obtained in this game, there are also some mini-games to be played. My favorite of which is using the 'underground' feature to dig for useful items, as well as decorative to decorate your 'hideout' that you can show off through local Wifi.

The big downside to this and almost all Pokemon games, is that the story is lackluster, and lacks any real maturity to it... and overall the game is too easy. However these setbacks are easily outweighed by the games great qualities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game in the Franchise

posted by pokeplaya2 (GERMANTOWN, TN) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

38 out of 47 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Fortunately, Nintendo includes a few more obvious additions. If online social interaction is your deal, you can now hang out with up to 20 other people.

Aside from the plaza and battle video sharing, most of the big time bonus content is loaded toward the end. The new Distortion World is an intriguing the labyrinth of floating platforms that involves walking on walls and ceilings, riding down a waterfall using the HM surf, and battling it out with the new "Origin Forme" Giratina, the mascot pokemon.

After the main quest, a new Battle Frontier,that was first introduced in Pokemon Emerald, offers plenty of tournament variations that will keep you busy for a while.

if you haven't played Diamond/Pearl and are looking for a good RPG, other than the Final Fantasy series, Platinum is absolutely the way to go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pokemon game since yellow

posted by mario1981 (GRAND ISLAND, NY) May 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This game should be just a remake of Diamond and Pearl right?
WRONG.
This game comes packed with exclusive pokemon like Giratina and his Origin Forme, Shaymin (new pokemon) and it's sky forme. Here's a cool easter egg: To get a level 100 shaymin, do the process to get Spiritomb in d/p, except meet 50 people in the Underground. Go to the hallowed tower and you will encounter a lvl. 100 shaymin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

a better pokemon game

posted by wiifan2009 (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Apr 24, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

this pokemon game is the best in the series so far. the wireless, the mini games and etc. and some pokemon to catch like ralts, lickitung, duskull and some others. you havta trade misdreavious and murkrow from diamond and pearl and to get shaymin you can only get shaymin from an event so good luck. i give pokemon platnium 5 chatots out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good. but it just feels watered down.

posted by funndgames (CUMMING, GA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

17 out of 40 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

If your a die hard Pokemon fan, i don't think you need to read this, you've probably already bought the game and digested its repetitive goodness. Pokemon Platinum is the latest in the Pokemon franchise. And as such, to keep people interested, it needs to bring new things to its gameplay. But the whole thing feels like the same thing as the last three times we went through this. They release two games, the fans gobble them up, then they release the better one, and the skeptics begin to move in. Unless that is, the fans have already gotten to it. You can just hear the "so i herd u like mudkips?" from your computer, can't you? 8 gym leaders, the elite 4, a champ, and a large number of new Pokemon to catch are here. But it still feels repetitive. For any gamer twitchy or easily bored enough, battles become a chore. And you don't really need to catch em all, you just need to have a Pokemon with a type advantage over each gym. There are some new things, like additional story parts, that make it easier to follow, and improved online activities, but most people aren't here for that. Plus, like most games in the series, it treats you like your completely new, so you can guarantee there is a tutorial or at least 10 text boxes for everything. Come on, i think we all know how to use a pokeball by now. And some of the new Pokemon aren't that original. A lot of them feel like clones of older ones. And how many times are we going to have to see geodude and zubat? But if your new, this is a good plae to start. T bad it doesn't appeal to those of us who have seen it all before.
(And seriously, game freak, contests?)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sick!!!

posted by 2Kevin (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Platium is a new franchise for DS, it's differences w/ diamond & pearl a whole new storylines with new world called distortion world & if you love pokemon series go buy pokemon platium you wouldn't regret it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I havent played pokemon in forever, did i like it?

posted by LpsLost (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I LOVED IT! I played this game for 6 hours when i first started, then came on to gamefly and bought it.

its a BLAST, its taking me back to when i used to play it in the 90s.
The dsi makes it look REALLY nice, good color, the musics pretty good as well, any one who is a fan of pokemon for gameboy will LOVE the new one for dsi!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by naruto0314 (LAKELAND, FL) Mar 21, 2009

Member since May 2007

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good game. It is similar to Diamond and pearl but is more challenging.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's pearl or diamond with a few slight changes.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Apr 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Unless you are a rabid Pokémon fan, or have never played them before, don't bother with this game. I like Pokémon, but I wish they would make a completely different game instead of remodeling ones we have already played. I want to explore new worlds and talk to new characters not retread the same old path with a few slight improvements. The main differences in most Pokémon games are what monsters you can collect, with Pokémon rangers being the exception to the rule.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best Pokémon games I have played

posted by Gmiller (MILFORD, MI) Apr 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have been with Pokémon since the very beginning, and I can say that besides Pokémon Yellow:Special Pikachu Edition, this is the best Pokémon game I have played. The graphics were the best for a Nintendo DS game I have played; The enhanced story line did not make the game feel repetitive (I own and have beaten Pokémon Diamond); The challenges were fun and exciting; The random downloads over WI-FI make the game even more enhanced! With up to 493 Pokémon and over 30 formes to see, battle and capture, this Pokémon games needs to go into the record book. If you think it is too childish to play, think of this, why would Nintendo release a game based on monsters fighting each other with destructive attacks that would kill a human in seconds (It also has gambling!)

Despite the occasional flaw (nothing to do after you have completed the Pokedex and maxed out you Pokemons levels and received all coloured medals in the Battle Frontier) the game deserves a 9.3/10 but because this rating scale is based out of whole numbers; 9/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pokemon platinum

posted by colley619 (SPRINGHILL, LA) Jun 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

i expected a little to much when i got this game. a nice new thing is that its in the winter during this game but i expected to see a few new pokemon maybe but platinum was just a complete downfall, the only difference between it, diamond and pearl, is that u get giratina instead of palkia and dialga.but in pokemon pearl and diamond you can also get giratina. no new graphics or styler uses and the story line is the same. hope this helped u decide if u need it or not. which is why i rate this game a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is to good to be true. it has all the co

posted by metsfan777 (ALLISON PARK, PA) Mar 27, 2009

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is to good to be true. it has all the componts to a perfect pokemon game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best pokemon game ever!

posted by gameadict5 (EUGENE, OR) Mar 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

ok i know im not the biggest pokemon fan out there,but this is such an awesome game series that i have all but this version (because it came out today). its a a good feeling to have them because every time i get a pokemon game i start frome the begging(chosen between red,yellow,and blue). to have nintendo advance pokemon throught the years is really cool. what i like to do is compare the graphics to see how nintendo has advanced since the original gameboy. my favorite version(s) is pokemon yellow and crystal because they are no longer sold and ive found every other version somewhere. what it all comes down to is that pokemon is one of the longest video game series in the WORLD! (awesome!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the 100 year save

posted by jello500 (FARMINGVILLE, NY) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

a great additon to the pokemon games with 2 new pokemon and a handfull of new features with a hint of story tweaking however the game can take up to a full 10 minutes to save the first time and 5 there after. this annoying feature is more hindersome than it seems when you are trying to play in class (not that you do) but also it tends to freeze a little bit too often giving me the feeeling nintendo got lazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nardly dude!!

posted by subhaan16 (KEW GARDENS, NY) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Wat's up people! this game is the best game for pokemon and ds!! totally rent it otherwise i will say! Not cool dude!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Old Game

posted by Colbrain (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 11 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

This version is just a tweaked version of Diamond/Pearl. Same starters, its just a little bit different but I have had the game turned on for 15 minutes and I am already bored. I can predict what is coming up you meet the professor then get a Pokemon your neighbor selects the opposite of yours. you go home your mom gives you running shoes!!! Oh my, I think this has already happened before

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really cool game

posted by MrHaloCraft442 (CLEVELAND, OH) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

This is a Pokemon game I highly recommend. It has amazing gameplay, and amazing graphics. Gamefly, you are the best source of video games EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pokemon Game EVER!!!!

posted by Zstar (FINCASTLE, VA) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This Pokemon game is amazing! Pokemon has never been so fun. There is so much you can do! Wi-Fi plaza, GTS, Battle Frontier,and so much more!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pokemon Platinum

posted by OmegaXZ42 (ANGOLA, NY) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

When I received the game, it was not working whatsoever. At start up, it would simply go to a blue screen with a message saying; 'The save data could not be accessed. Please turn the power off and reinsert the DS Game Card.'
I attempted this many times but always received the same result. There is a big technical problem with this game and it should be fixed or replaced.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's a good game.

posted by UnicornTwilight (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Pokemon Platinum takes players to the Sinnoh region, you begin as either Lucas or Dawn (Your Free To Change The Name) as they set off on their first adventure encouraged by their best friend Barry (Also changeable) and Professor Rowan, this introduced many improvements from the previous Diamond/Pearl titles, including access to events (Now over) and the ability to capture both Dialga and Palkia, as well as the reverse world Giratina.

And the inclusion of a facility that hadn't been around since Emerald known as the Battle Frontier, with a new 150 to capture and collect this game offers many players a good feel of the Pokemon series. more easy to use Poketch apps, old players and new ones alike should enjoy Pokemon Platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game but with its problems

posted by Pokepik (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This is the best game since Pokemon Blue, but still it has some huge cons.

First off, the pokemon. You get to start with the same starters as Diamond/Pearl, but thats okay. The evolution process, its cool and all, but i don't like my Piplup being huge and fat, so maybe there should be a choice if you want to evolve or not. The mascot pokemon, Giranta, is probably the greatest mascot or a nintendo game (besides mario) EVER!
Now, here is a huge problem, The routes. Not neccesairly i dont like travelling through them, its just full of stupid trainers. When you pass one, they run up to you and instantly battle you. Its annoying having a trainer walk up to you while your Ninetails has 18 hp left and no potions. There should be a yes/no button. That would help alot.
The new world. the distortion world, is upside down, sideways, and full of cool pokemon.

The Gym Leaders are pretty hard, but the Gym Trainers are pretty easy. The elite 4 are harrrrrrrrrrrd!
But i actually dont like the Gym Trainers being easy..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's a Great game

posted by Rockstar56280 (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Jun 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

it's a great game. I suggest 6 and up should play. ive had this for 3 years and still didnt beat it! its kindve like diamond. Heres a tip: when you beat cynthia youre not done don't turn off the game and yell I BEAT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. because if you do youll have to beat the elite four again. Thanks for reading Goodbye :D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by samari20 (LOXLEY, AL) Jun 10, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I have played through this game, and I was amazed. I thought it would be like all the others, but when I played, I loved it. It has great graphics, and the starters were awesome. Although Turtwig is the most chose, I chose Chimchar. The gyms are pretty challenging and are cool. I love this game.

Over-all review: One of the best games you can play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nothing new

posted by WTDingo (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

the game Pokemon platinum is not really different from its sister game diamond/pearl. there is a brief change in storyline, and some gym battles are different. if you are a huge Pokemon fan like i am then you will enjoy this game but if not then it might be best to skip out on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse