Rent Pokemon Pearl for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Pearl

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

1977 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Catch 'Em All

posted by Silvan (CHAMPLIN, MN) Jun 26, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First of all, I will admit that I'm 21 and playing pokemon since it first came out.
That being said, this is probally my favorite version to date of all the games.
It is always a little slower in the begining. Catching guys and leveling them up can be almost annoying after a while. However, with all the fresh new faces and ability to trade with people all over the world via Wi-Fi, it more than makes up for it. Don't like that guy you just caught? Put him up for trade and see if you can get that one that keeps running away from you.
To continue on the lines of catching guys, it was even more fun when I learned that I could "import" my guys from previous versions, so I wouldn't have to re-catch and re-level the same ones all over. I could even have my favorite legendary guys to face off against the elite 4!
Now, normally I would give this game a 10. However, there are a few bad apples out there who have been hacking the game, making it tough for hard working trainers like myself to enjoy the wireless battles accross the globe.
All in all, this is a fine addition to any poke-fan collection. I highly suggest having Wi-Fi setup for this game, but it isn't required.
For added fun, get the new pokemon for Wii and face off against people in stunning 3D.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absolutely Perfect!

posted by huktongamz (ENTERPRISE, AL) Apr 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

28 out of 37 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Ive been playing Pearl for about 4 hours now and it's everything I could have asked for!! BEST Poke'mon to date!!!!!! Classic gameplay with newer 3-d graphics and a way better BAG. It plays much faster and smoother than al the rest, puts RANGER to shame, and is more addicting than ever!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WARNING...

posted by alexbonao (BRONX, NY) Sep 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

You will get addicted if you play this game. The battles between you and other trainers are great. Huge map. Solid gameplay. Sorry Gamefly but I will not be returning this game any time soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST POKEMON GAME EVER!!!!

posted by leerer (OAKLAND, CA) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game as soon as i could, AND IT ROCKED!!!.
The graphics kick butt compared to the other ones yah its repetitive i know, but i still Love it.

The new pokemon are awesome and the new features like the touch screen and poketch ROCK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokémon dimond,pearl soon coming platinum

posted by GTAIV4 (POTTSVILLE, PA) Dec 17, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rented this game asap and when I finally got it and tried it i couldn't stop playing. Its graphics are awesome you can migrate Pokémon from any of the previous one like leaf green,fire red, emerald, ruby, or sapphire. There are hundreds of new Pokémon to obtain and many new rares. the new map is huge and takes a while to get all non-contest need areas. I now own Dimond and my friend owns pearl so we trade back and forth all the time to get all the Pokémon we need. If you get one of the Pokémon dimond or pearl becarful try to get it on a weekend. P.S. try to get your friend to get one of the two and you get the other so you can complete the pokedex. P.S.S. watch for the next new Pokémon game out Pokémon platinum

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cool graphics,but Nintendo's runing out of ideas.

posted by Royinfinit (RANCHO PALOS VERDES, CA) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I loved the game play, the graphics,the new legendaries, but sometimes I think that Nintendo is running out of ideas for Pokemon. they totally need better starters in my mind, though every other aspect of the game is fine,like the smoother battle system. overall it has some good Pokemon, (like the new legendaries) but others are lame. (like the Bidoof) I still strongly suggest that you play this game,so later you can have your favorite Pokemon from Emerald or leaf green and fire red.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i left a whole party full of legends on here

posted by deewwe619 (SHONGALOO, LA) Jul 22, 2009

Member since Oct 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is the same as all pokemon games but the next person who gets the copy i got will have a mewtwo,groudon,kyogre,rayquaza,ho ho, and the starteer pokemon .... i may have left an achiest on it but i font remmeber

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

legendary capture guide

posted by oxshaw (LA MESA, CA) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

every one of these you must have the national dex to get
rotom
to catch rotom go to the mansion in the woods after you get the national dex and talk to the girl outside go inside shake the tv on the second floor and catch rotom with a quick ball .
cresselia
to catch cresselia go to canalave city and talk to the boy boy in bed in the house with a plack next to it then go to the dock and the guy says would you like to go to fullmoon island once there you are there go to the little area to go into there you wil find creselia go up to her and press a she will imedetly flee pick up the lunar wing go back and heal the boy with it and from there it will be mesprite all over agian and if you dont have the marking map yet go get it from jubilife city when you get the map you can see were she is get a pokemon that knows mean look so it wont flee then wittle down its hp with fighting or psychic moves then throw out an ultra ball and end it.
giratina
to get giratina go to route 214 and then go on to the spring path you will see the fourth lake use rockclimb and head into turnback cave use defog to see better and just start walking this place is huge and anoying if exit the same way you entered any room you will go back to the entrance wounce you visit the three pillar rooms you canzip into giratinas room blast it with an ice or ghost type move then wittle it down with grass or bug type moves then throw out a dusk ball or timer ball to catch it you must take it back to the room once a month or it will go back taking any item with it.
heatran
to catch heatran go to sstark mountian and ecourt buck through it he'll take the magma stone then go to the survival area and talk to him he'll return it and then heatran will be there blast him with a fighting type move then start throwing out timer ultra and dusk balls.
regigigas sucks he is a normal type legendary with the speed of a snail and to his ability slow start he has no power.save before taking on anyone so if u lose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the gamer

posted by imbored (LAKE ALFRED, FL) May 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i thought the game was awesome but i got it the second day it came out and in that same week i beat it. it was hard but as the same time easy there are some people that to only get you have to trade and that would be hard if you don't know any body that has the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

enjoyable to a degree

posted by codegeas2 (GUYTON, GA) Jan 21, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

(i apologize for any misspelling in this review)

At the very least, it's something to do while having some fun during it. It's not a bad game but it...left a lot to be desired for. Well, i'm just gonna skip to the pros and cons of the game
PROS: the new wi-fi features, i mean how cool is that?! you can battle others on line, trade with anyone in the world, and while doing all that, you can even talk with the people provided you have the wired head-set.
just TONS of little Pokémon critters to find and catch, i believe that there are a little over a hundred new Pokémon for everyone to find, battle, capture, train, then use against you're in game rival, or beat you're friends or brothers

CONS: almost no touch screen actions are need, all movement are done by using the d-pad.

the infamous air bubbles. i mean c'mon, we know the nintendo DS games are capable of voice overs, but instead, we watch row after row of air bubbles

the general dynamic of the game. story involves you going around the world and battling any trainer who looks at you funny, fight the gym leaders, get the badge, fight the gang (i.e team rocket, team magma, team aqua, and the new team galactic) repeat till you get eight badges, go to the Pokémon league, fight the elite 4, beat the champion, and then catch all the Pokémon you have yet to. then again, that is basically what Pokémon is...just saying'

i'm not saying this was a bad game, i just think it's a bit lacking and had a lot more potential, well, hoped this helped somebody out there

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Flat out pokemon.

posted by FrozenSilv (ANDOVER, MA) Jan 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Have you ever played Pokemon Firered or leafgreen? Have you ever played pokemon Gold or silver? Maybe Emerald, ruby or saphire. If you have, THIS GAME IS THE SAME THING WITH A FEW NEW FEATURES. You may stop reading here, because I am about to go over stuff you already know. If you are new to pokemon, keep reading. You see, this game is about a boy -you choose name- and his friend -you choose name-. dreaming of becomeing pokemon masters. So one day, they are attacked by wild creatures (pokemon of course) and are forced to use pokemon that are not theirs. Which (with the owner's -who is a pokemon proffesor- approval.) He asks you to find details on every pokemon in shinnoh (reigon). But other trainers challenge you, suprise! To battle with pokemon. Oh, you can also catch Pokemon in the wild. And there are contests, which you don't get to compete in until later. The ultimate goal of the game is to beat the elite four. Who are really good at fighting with pokemon. Sound appealing? Click rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I'm getting too old for this

posted by geldonyeti (BATTLE GROUND, WA) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played the heck out of Pokemon Sapphire, enjoying the simple battle mechanic and catching new Pokemon late into the night while winding down before bedtime.

However, over time I became bored of waiting for combat to slowly play out in a manner probably intended to make it easy for kids to keep up with. Once you get the types down, it's not all that hard to beat this game. You're left with little more than a game that radiates the trademark Pokemon charm, but has little substance beneath it.

In 5 minutes of play, I can see that Pokemon Pearl is basically the same game re-engineered for the Nintendo DS. There's some pretty good features such as a Pokedex that can be quickly navigated using a clever spin-wheel and the stylus, and the Pokemon animate better here than ever.

Aside from that, it's basically the same game. The combat still plays out slow and shallow, no matter how quickly I set the combat speed and how many Pokemon I catch.

Kids love it, but I think as a rental Pokemon Pearl falls flat. Maybe there would be some appeal to collecting your Pokemon and knowing the spoils of your adventures throughout the region are there, alive and well, on your mantle when you're not playing them. However, a rental needs to be returned, and being left with just the gameplay this isn't very satisfying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

p03m0n rules like you now

posted by bully55 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

this game has everthing you can dream of the best is ??????? you well have to find out for your selves you have to get it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pokemon d & p

posted by firestar (SAUGUS, MA) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

4 out of 21 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

Played demo it was great geting both games tommorow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good if you like more of the same.

posted by lionsother (SAINT LOUIS, MO) May 27, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to get into this game and really did put in a number of hours into it. Unfortunately, I found the game to be too much like the others and quickly became bored with it after a few hours. If you enjoy the same old Pokemon style of catching all the creatures, fighting them, leveling them and battling with friends then be my guest and enjoy this game; if you are looking for something new then go elsewhere. Still, I will clap for the added online fighting and trading abilities--those being the only things setting this game apart from the others.

If you have never played a Pokemon game before then you owe yourself a shot at playing this one because it is the best, but if you are looking for something new and fresh in the Pokemon series then look elsewhere because it sticks to its tried and true money making formula.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

wat happened

posted by garra101 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) May 7, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

we all like these games we hide em from our freinds cause theyll think yur a geek but this games lost its touch seriosly u have to be lv 40 to fight 3rd badge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by OmegaXZ42 (ANGOLA, NY) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I really enjoyed playing this game. The pokemon, the game play, the story...they're all excellent. It's now one of my biggest favorites for the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

eeeeeennnnn

posted by kiwi76 (MONTGOMERY, AL) Sep 29, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

the game was a little to hard. My brother finished the 1st and 2ed and 3rd gym I could not finish the 4th gym .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Another Pokemon Game...

posted by ladylibra92 (LAHAINA, HI) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I've always loved Pokemon but I think it's time for an end..

The story hasn't changed much from the old games, your still catching pokemon, challenging gym leaders then the Pokemon League and while doing that you have to stop an evil organization that plans on taking over the world.

There are new pokemon for you to train but I find many if not all of the Pokemon really boring and poorly created. Their look and their names are horrible. Even the towns sound really stupid.

This game is only fun if your part of the new Pokemon generation, but for those that new the real, fun, old Pokemon I'd just skip this and rent something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pokemon pearl =ok

posted by adamgh3 (STUART, FL) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2005

ahh this is okay. the pokemon arent that new to me.the gym battles they sucked monkeys but i would have given this a 4 if it werent for ACTION REPLAY.walking through walls is fun to ya know. also mining = awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pearl Is Awesome!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 22, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

Pokemon Pearl is pure awesome!! It has new Pokemon, new controls, and I think even improved graphics!
And it's way more fun then other DS Pokemon titles. There's much to do in here! :)
All in all, this game's awesome! Well, I'm gonna end here right now because I'm still playing it (which I bought!) right now and trying to catch 'em all! ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon is Addicting

posted by GmaeHead13 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

I rented this just to get some high level pokemon to trade over to my copy of Heart Gold and am loving playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pokemon pearl

posted by tcamp1911 (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

My son likes this game he beat the elite four 2 times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The ultimate pokemon game.

posted by jirachi (TUCSON, AZ) May 18, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

This is the greatest pokemon game I have ever played.I would seriously recomend this game for anyone.If you are having trouble deiciding whether or not to get this game I say get both!Or just get platinum all 3 are awesome games.Pokemon you have out done your self again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maybe I Am Just Nostalgic?

posted by Lawson (BOWLING GREEN, KY) May 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Gameplay wise, Diamond/Pearl are very addictive games and holds up to their predecessors. However it seems as if Gamefreak has ran out on interesting Pokemon for us to catch, but I am also willing to blame the previous versions Pokemon for my lack of interest for the game. I own the game, and have picked it up at least 3 or 4 times, when in the past I couldn't put a Pokemon game down. However, this game is definitely worth a peek if you are new to the franchise, and will be a great addition to your DS library, although if you are given the chance to play other games, I would suggest you explore previous versions, like Fire/Red or Leaf/Green for the GBA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse