Rent Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team for GBA
view large frontback

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

822 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Read this! It will explain everything.

posted by Readthisok (FAR ROCKAWAY, NY) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

OK, here is the scoop of info. You wake up as a pokemon. You don't remember anything past that. Oh, you're wondering which pokemon you will be? You take a quiz. Anyway, you wake up as that pokemon in the middle of a field (not a baseball field) and another pokemon (of your choice) is standing by your feet (if you have feet). He/She asks if you're alright and after a long confusing confersation He brings you into his "home". Not much to see there, just a few apples and lots of grass. Just a simple "sleep and go" home. The next day you wake up as the pokemon you were before. Truth is that I am so far in this amazing game that I can't remember exactly what happened but I'm gonna do my best. The other pokemon (your partner) comes in and asks if you slept well and goes outside with you. Suddenly he stops you and explains all about rescue teams and how he was always fond of them. You have no idea why he/she is saying this to you until he asks "Will you make a rescue team with me?" You are going to have to rent the game to find out the rest. Trust me, it is an A MA ZING game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pokémon Game EVER!!!!!!!

posted by Aacosta (BUCHANAN, NY) Nov 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The reason is that you are a Pokémon, you can talk to other Pokémon and you can recruit other Pokémon to your team. I thought the ending was awesome yet pretty sad too. I give it two thumbs up and this is a must have game for red and blue rescue team. Also I was pretty shock when my Pokémon (Pikachu and Squirtle) became wanted fugitives over some old folklore it was pretty sad. So if your thinking about getting the game, GO GET IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokémon dungeon

posted by sethtalan (CALEDONIA, IL) Nov 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wasn't as good as I thought it would be. I thought you would actually be wild and people would try to catch you and you would fight them.

You lived in a community of Pokémon and no humans. But you are a human that got turned into a Pokémon.
Not bad, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Gotta catch them all

posted by jakeob (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a pokemon game but not a trtaditon one. in this verison of pokemon insted of being a human you are a pokemon rescured. This leads to ton of Old school Random Dundgend Questing pokemon stley. This game was great but you should rent this game before you deside to get this version or one of the 4 ds version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game, but not the Original PokeMon

posted by SnastyZ (GUILFORD, CT) Jul 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This was a fun game, but it didn't have the flavor of a regular pokemon game. It is not turn-based, nor is it as advanced or difficult as a regular pokemon game. the objective is to rescue pokemon who have gotten into sticky situations, nothing more. Each mission isn't much harder than the next. It's fun to play if you just want to mess around, but if you are into a serious pokemon game, this isn't for you. Sorry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rescued from boredom!

posted by okamifan19 (STOCKTON, CA) Feb 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i thought this game was really cool because it lets you be the Pokémon instead of being a Pokémon trainer, its definitely different from all the other Pokémon games! in the game the battle mode is similar to final fantasy tactics. some other neat things is that you get to go on lots of rescue mission's to save other Pokémon! and some other features include collecting items, and even food! i highly recommend this game to any Pokémon fan, or anyone that loves RPG games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pikachu VS Diablo

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 23, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

17 out of 28 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

What happens when you mix one cup of pokemon, one cup of diablo, and a tablespoon of your own personality? Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is born. If you've never played a "dungeon crawler" such as diablo, xmen legends, or more recently - tao's adventure for the nintendo ds - then be prepared for a new experience. Unlike previous pokemon games, the action in this is on the spot, without a cut to an RPG-like battle sequence. All of your favorite attacks are there, evolving is there, absolutely every aspect of pokemon in it's most simple form is left in tact; with the exception of the change in battle experience. This game focuses heavily on exploring (sometimes quite lengthy) dungeons, which can get a little tiring after your fourth mission in a row, but this title actually does manage to stay fun even through the longest parts. My favorite aspect of this game is the "personality test" you take at the beginning which decides the pokemon you will be. It is surprisingly accurate (providing you are honest) and it is fun to see which pokemon the game says you would be. This is not your typical pokemon game, but with the off-beat titles that have been coming out under the name lately (such as dash and trozei), this is definately a welcome change of pace for any action-rpg/pokemon fan. Definately one of the best GBA titles available right now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ONE GOOD GAME!

posted by cjbuddy09 (MAULDIN, SC) May 7, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was really good but wen i got it the game was screwed up and i couldn't save but still a good game8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome + pokemon = Pokemon mystery dungeon!!!!!!!!

posted by dsntheman (Winona, MN) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

this game is so awsome....i played it until 3am in the morning!!! all those pokemon fans should get..if not buy this game!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

POKEMON+AWESOME+DUNGEON CRAWLER=POKEMON MYSTERY...

posted by enortimus (DELTONA, FL) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

THE GAME IS PERFECT ITS THE BEST POKEMON GAME I EVER PLAYED. I WAS HOPEING THEY (sorry bout caps its just so awesome!) WOULD MAKE A GAME LIKE THIS FOREVER!!!! FOR ALL THE PEOPLE READING THIS I AM TELLING YOU TO GET THIS GAME!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

!!!Perfect Game!!!

posted by argentina9 (NORTH BAY VILLAGE, FL) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Perfect game because you get to talk to pokemon its the same thing as the other games exept!YOUR! the pokemon it has a HOLE new adventure at the last part of the game you see why are you a pokemon and stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the greatest game ever other than greater games

posted by guyinpants (ROLLING HILLS ESTATES, CA) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

when i first played this game it didn't have the best graphics but once you start playing you can't stop playing. it is probably one of the best games i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by bhhhhhhhhh (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Charmander + Pikachu combo rox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

POKEMON MYSTERY DUNGEON RED RESCUE TEAM

posted by megashadow (FORT WORTH, TX) Dec 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

ITS A PERFECT GAME FOR EVERY YOUNG ONES.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what happened to Pokémon?

posted by gamer56 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Dec 6, 2007

Member since May 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Listen, I like Pokémon. it has a lot of good games, and an Aneme show. But, gosh dang it, they have gotta try harder if they want to make a good game. The entire game consists of pressing the a button and moving. I sent it back after one mission. To readers in general: if you rent a game just because it has Mario, or Pokémon on the title, Nintendo and the Pokémon Company aren't going to try hard to make a game. There just going to dump some slop into a game cartridge or disk and call it a game. no offense. To The Pokémon Company: TRY HARDER.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring.

posted by Demon15 (Forreston, IL) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I wasn't too pleased with this, I got to the second level and wanted to quit. Not to mention my game refused to save, but there's not much else to say.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tight

posted by Pokemot (RANCHO MURIETA, CA) Apr 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is tight its like you are a pokemon in its own world ya

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i'm a psyduck and i found that cool!

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

when i started playing this i was a psyduck u pretty much r a human in the pokemon world helping pokemon out as a rescue team where u go to dungeons. i enjoy these games for that reason and ther other reviews shouldn't b negative cuz of that. rent this game plz u won't regret it. mayb u'll go to a psyduck like me. pssssssssssssssssssssssssssyyyyyyyydddduucckkk (got a headache)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team

posted by PhillipVorrasi (DOVER, FL) Aug 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This review will contain some spoilers:
Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team was a very fun and different style of Pokemon.
I have played this awhile ago and I thought it was great.
I really wanted to play it again so I rented it and finished again.
Now this game angered me at certain boss battles..but trust me they are not as hard as they seem to be.
Especially Articuno..
There's a thing called Linking moves and I had no idea what that meant and honestly I didn't pay attention that much.
But after my 500th try against Articuno I beat him without linking then I found out what it does.
Anyways,in my opinion the story could be a tad better then what it was.. I mean it was good yeah,but a human turning into a Pokemon just to save the world of Pokemon?
That just didn't sit right with me but it was good enough.
One huge issue I have with the Dungeon set up is there could be a pathway that can take awhile to go through and you end up hitting a dead end..I found that extremely annoying at times.
But it leads to more exploration so I guess it's fine.
I finished the game with only Max Elixir's and Revivor Seeds.
And trust me if you link good moves together you'll be fine trust me.
Now all in all Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Red Rescue Team was different and it all worked at the same time.
I highly recommend you play this if you're a Pokemon fan.
3.5/5
7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its cool sort-of.. kind of mundane realy

posted by catheal (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

you get up you work you sleep and every now and then the story gets intresting and you fight some legendarys. its ok but gets boreing real fast

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST POKEMON GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by numnum (LOMBARD, IL) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

As the title says this is the best Pokemon game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I wouldn't call this a "pokemon" game.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 24, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

What happend? See I like pokemon games and I LOVE the anime show but this game is just wrong. Your a pokemon who lost it's memory and you join a rescue team. So the entire game is doing rescue missions and saving other pokemon. THAT'S IT?!?!?!?!?! I hate how it has no trainers! I think the pokemon having trainers is better! The trainers are cool (Ash) and they are the whole story. :) (Ash) But it's very lame because the pokemon are the main thing. (I like how in the show Ash is the main character! The other trainers don't stand a chance!) So the game gets pretty boring and not really much of a point. Maybe a new pokemon game will come out that is worth having the name "pokemon". ;) (With Ash in it.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »