Rent Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.5

731 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent sequel! Better than the original!

posted by jason913 (PLANO, TX) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I adored the 1st game in the series so I had to pick this up!
The first game had a great story, good combat, and (usually) non-fussy controls.
The 2nd game improves on every facet of the original!
A must-buy!
P.S: May not be best for casual gamers, controls need a bit of experience in gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Yahoo

posted by WolfGirl09 (RIVERVIEW, FL) May 26, 2008

Member since May 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yahoo!!Awsome game.The controls arn't very fussy so you don't have to press the buttons like 500 times.I like it's story better than the first games.This ones story is longer and more complex.the characters in this story you feel stronger emotions for wether anger or happyness.

You are a pokemon that was once a human.You are awakened on a beach by a timid pokemon that will soon become your partner.A Koffing and a Zubat come along and steel your partners most prized possesstion.You go into a dungon and fight them and take back your friends possetion.Then your prtner askes you to join an exploration team.Later a sneeky Grovile thief is stealing time gears,gears that hold time in place.And that's just the begining.

I like the music. It is good.I like Team Skull's Theme the best.That song has been permanantly implanted in my brain!Now I want that song on my iPod.

The best person to play this game is the causal gamer but I would recomned renting first because it seems a little repetitive to some people.If you are reading this Shinichiro Tomie,wrighter of this game,good job.You made me really want to sock Dusknor right in the mouth.That I haven't felt in a long time with video games.For newbies,here is some advice,give Grovile a chance and think of what he would what with the time gears and you figured out part of the story.I'm not sayng it's easy.Also,think about Dusknor.When you get to the part where your character notices a slight smile,think.Why would he be smiling?If you really can't figure it out,I'm not ruining it for you but if you really want to know think "Switch" A

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon Explorers of Time

posted by kelly123 (PRINCETON, NJ) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

In this adventurous game, you can choose a pokemon and learn powerful moves. Go through exciting dungeons such as Dark Crater,Concealed Ruins, and Midnight Forest. Recruit powerful legendaries from the past pokemon games such as Kyogre,Rayquaza,Zapdos,Mo- ltres,and Celebi. You can even recruit pokemon from the recent games like Diamond and Pearl. Some of these pokemon are Dialga,Palkia,Darkrai,Gir- atina,Cresselia,Manaphy, Electivire,Magmortar,Weav- ile,Gliscar,Mamoswine,and Porgon-Z. You can evolve your starters,too. This game is a continuation of pokemon mystery dungeon red and blue,and is definetly better. In my opinion,this game gets a solid 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good sequel overall

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is a good game overall. Getting use to the controls in this game is very important in enjoying this game along with patience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokémon mystery dungeon.

posted by Alex1992 (FREMONT, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I bought this game because I couldn't wait. I should have removed it from my que. My only problem with the game is when you keep turning it on and off the game default to restart...so beware. If you don't want to start the game all over again refrain to too many shut downs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon

posted by michele999 (ADELANTO, CA) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

best game ever it was so fun i love Pokemon i watch it ever day i have all the cards

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same ol same ol

posted by ninja11347 (MANTECA, CA) Jun 9, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

while this game packs hours of fun and is not to easy but not 2 hard its still same ol same ol its the same exact thing as every other mystery dungeon game u wake up with no memory as a pokemon and join another pokemon to make a explorer team if they thought of something new this game coulda had a ten out of ten

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Game

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

In this adventurous game, you can choose a pokemon and learn powerful moves. Go through exciting dungeons such as Dark Crater,Concealed Ruins, and Midnight Forest. Recruit powerful legendaries from the past pokemon games such as Kyogre, Rayquaza, Zapdos, Moltres, and Celebi. You can even recruit pokemon from the recent games like Diamond and Pearl. Some of these pokemon are Dialga,Palkia,Darkrai,Giratina, Cresselia, Manaphy, Electivire, Magmortar, Weavile, Gliscar, Mamoswine, and Porgon-Z. You can evolve your starters,too. This game is a continuation of pokemon mystery dungeon red and blue,and is definetly better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wonderful!

posted by Kami123 (CHELTENHAM, PA) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I loved this game it was much easier to complete and get legendaies than red and blue! The ending at the end still will make a tear fall down or 2 but still a wonderful dramatic fun and exiting game! i reccomend this to die hard fans, not fans, haters, etc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad.

posted by sirchico (IRWIN, PA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

Now, I'm 11. And I really think pokemon is babyish. But this game wasn't bad. Not bad at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best pokemon games ever!!!!

posted by Pharaoh13 (OSWEGO, IL) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

Other then pokemon diamond and pearl, this is the best pokemon game i ever played! You feel like a real explorer. I recomend this game to anyone!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Thats weird. I like this game

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

This games storyline suprisingly hooked me from the beginning........................ I guess that makes me stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Pokemon Dungeon Crawling Sequel

posted by Sparkvark (LAVALETTE, WV) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

Gameplay-7
Yeah I give it a seven. Honestly, there wasn't much change from the original. I found it annoying though that every time I went into a dungeon I had to reequip any items I had...and considering the number of times you have to enter dungeons, it'll be a lot. Other than that it pretty much stuck with the original which was a good decision.

Visuals-7
Yeah the visuals get a seven as well. The cut scenes look pretty nice and the surroundings look nice as well. You'll be hopping around all over the world, so why not have something good to look at while you do it? The dungeons though, look painfully similar to the original.

Music-5
Why a 5? Well this music made me try to drive my head through the wall. I cannot give a fair score here because after the first fifteen minutes of hearing that sickening theme of the town...I muted my DS. So honestly don't get this game if you're looking for an out of this world musical score.

Story-9
A pokemon rpg...with a story. OMG! Seriously though, this game did have a decent story. At some points I found myself wondering "What's going to happen next" or "How will they get out of this mess". I wasn't disappointed with this at all. So if you are looking for a pokemon game with an actual storyline to it, get this. Now. I mean it.

Re-playability-8
OK let's say you beat the game. You know the story. Now what? Well...how about a Post-Story? Yep, Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Time doesn't just end with the credits. You will continue to play after you beat it...now being able to change the leader! Hoorah! Now let's say you beat the post story too? Well there is no Post-Post Story but you will be able to go after the goal that has been shoved up out butts since Pokemon Red/Blue: Gotta Recruit 'Em all! With nearly 500 recruitable pokemon, you could be busy a while.

Overall...I give this a 8
If you're a fan of the series or just a dungeon crawler fan, you might want to pick up this game and give it a spin.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Very Suckyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by nofear66 (SHREWSBURY, MA) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This game didnt work. i tried cleaning the game and blowing on both the game and my game slot on my DS and nothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everybody should play this!!!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 30, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

LOVE this game. I was kinda bored when I started out. All I did was watch some evil pokemon take a relic from your partner. (That's not really evil. But it fit's in with the story!) I want to give the game a ten. But sometimes I can't complete a mission so I have to lower my rating. (BOOOOOO!) I think the story is really filled with mysterys. I never know what's gonna happen next! Well I'm done with this review now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever!

posted by Payton1107 (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) May 10, 2009

Member since Sep 2005

This is the best game I ever played. I like how you can pick your own partner and find out the mystery about you being a human. It is so fun that you can battle other pokemon to level up. It is fun to battle different bosses while you level up. If you like pokemon go out and buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Overall great game

posted by babytaz (CROSBY, TX) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This game is really cool. I was reading on ign & other site about this game and I kinda had mixed feelings about it but I bought it anyways. I have to say that this game is better than I thought that it would be. It is even more fun if you have the action replay for the DS because if you do, you can pick out of all the Pokemon to be your partner. You get to actually get to pick who your Pokemon is by placing your thumb on the screen and it reads your aura. It starts slow for about an hour, but after that it is fast paced & is great.There is a lot of chapters because I am on chapter 15 & I will just tell you that it starts to get a tad twisted on chapter 13. So I would say that overall it is a 10 out of 10. If you are a parent with kids you have to get this for them because it is user friendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too much

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Dec 31, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This isn't like any other Pokemon game. This is more like Final Fantasy. There are too many things to do. Its not just walk and battle to reach ur goal. They've included way too much clicking and options. This makes it more confusing as well. I wouldn't recommend this game to an enemy. It's a lot better when u walk and just battle and have the four options. In this u use one move in battle and can select which move that before getting into battle. I consider that to be quite inconvient when u walk into a battle unexpectedly, u don't pick ur main character they do....I was a weak Meowth. That definetly didn't help the games entertainment level... u do get to choose ur partner tho, not like it helps make the game more etnertaining....I say pass dun even rent this one, looks good on the cover but the mysteries need to stay in time and in the darkness.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Whoa boy...

posted by Delirium (SOUTH MILWAUKEE, WI) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

If you like the Pokémon Pearl, Yellow, Silver, Crystal, whatever games, I definitely recommend you STAY AWAY FROM THIS ONE.

I was sort of hopeful that this game would utilize the same battle system as the other GB games but this is a weak turn-based game with much dialogue and even more "I don't care what you little Pokémon have to say" feelings.

I didn't get very far and thus my opinion doesn't reach very far into the game but I did to some mountain and I instantly was slaughtered. Kind of weird seeing as the damage from the first battles were about 1 to 2 HP and the second you jump into some mountain you take 17 HP and you're dead in two hits.

I really don't have the patience and unless your 8 year old kid wants this game for some unknown reason, don't pick it up. It's not nearly as fun as playing the regular games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like comfort food, with a twist

posted by Gsensei (KELSO, WA) Jun 6, 2008

Member since May 2008

I started playing Pokemon young and unfortunately the virus has stuck with me since then. I can't not play the new version whenever it comes out. That said, this was a fun new way to play the game for me. I've yet to play the first of this incarnation of Pokemon, but I'm certainly thinking about it now.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »