Rent Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.6

531 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Sky 001

posted by godzilajak (PLANTATION, FL) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pokemon MysteryDungeon explorers of sky was a heart warming game. I think it was a game about friendship and the past and present. It was a good game the graphics, moves and how the chareters looked were all very good. But how long it took to evolve was rediculous. It might be too long and was too hard for some. I must admit, it made me want to play over and over again. So if you are looking for a game that will warm your heart Pokemon Sky is your game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon explores of sky. OMG! Shaymin rocks.

posted by BISENN (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 21, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

This game is for anyone who likes pokemon. You`ll become pokemon crazy. Its hard but geting shaymin is tottaly worth it. But don`t get it if you like games with a lot of action and not a lot of talking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than Before

posted by Silverine (FAIRFAX STATION, VA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

16 out of 18 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Explorers of Sky is a definite improvement upon Time and Darkness. The amount of time it takes to save - always annoying before - has been reduced to almost nothing. Aside from that, there are a lot of cool new features:

-Kangaskhan Storage and Kangaskhan Rocks now tell you how many items are in both your bag and in storage, as well as how many you can have in them at one time.
-The Kecleon Shop also tells you how many more items you can hold, as well as allowing you to use the 'L' button to purchase more than one item at once.
-Outlaw missions have been given several new styles, including monster houses and running outlaws, in order to keep things interesting.
-You can receive challenge mail at Spinda's Cafe.
-When you recruit a new member in a dungeon, the new member is not automatically sent home. You can choose to have the new member replace a current member of your team.
-If your team is full and you need to add a client to your team, you can now choose which team member to send home.
-Chimecho now tells you what IQ skill each team member will learn next.
-Luminous Orbs also tell you the location of secret stairs.

A few flaws:
-It seems the Acute Sniffer IQ skill doesn't work accurately in all dungeons. It often doubles the actual amount of items.
-There seems to be a bit of a bug when upping the IQ of some Pokemon. It takes an extremely long time to get them to three stars, but they go up smoothly after that.

Though the story line is still the same, Explorers of Sky is a wonderful new game, and I would recommend it to anyone that has enjoyed MD games before, or has yet to try them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mystery Dungeon

posted by UNKNOWN24 (SARASOTA, FL) Nov 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i think the games great i reccomend people to try it but im stuck at upper part of temporal tower i face dialga he really tuff but this is a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Journey to the sky!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Nov 10, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

WOW. IT ROCKS! I like this game it's very epic and the story is good! But I noticed that it is similar to Explores of Time. (Which I have at my house.) I love the pokemon you can play as, Like Shinx!!! Don't you think Shinx are cute? I LOVE THOSE CUTE FACES!!!! :) ....Anyway. I like the game. End. P.S. Shinx are my favorite pokemon they are so cute! I wonder if Ash will catch one in Pokemon DP Galactic Battle.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Journey to the Sky!

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Explorers of Sky is a definite improvement upon Time and Darkness. The amount of time it takes to save - always annoying before - has been reduced to almost nothing. Aside from that, there are a lot of cool new features:

-Kangaskhan Storage and Kangaskhan Rocks now tell you how many items are in both your bag and in storage, as well as how many you can have in them at one time.
-The Kecleon Shop also tells you how many more items you can hold, as well as allowing you to use the 'L' button to purchase more than one item at once.
-Outlaw missions have been given several new styles, including monster houses and running outlaws, in order to keep things interesting.
-You can receive challenge mail at Spinda's Cafe.
-When you recruit a new member in a dungeon, the new member is not automatically sent home. You can choose to have the new member replace a current member of your team.
-If your team is full and you need to add a client to your team, you can now choose which team member to send home.
-Chimecho now tells you what IQ skill each team member will learn next.
-Luminous Orbs also tell you the location of secret stairs.

A few flaws:
-It seems the Acute Sniffer IQ skill doesn't work accurately in all dungeons. It often doubles the actual amount of items.
-There seems to be a bit of a bug when upping the IQ of some Pokemon. It takes an extremely long time to get them to three stars, but they go up smoothly after that.

Though the story line is still the same, Explorers of Sky is a wonderful new game, and I would recommend it to anyone that has enjoyed MD games before, or has yet to try them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Epic!

posted by mariolover (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Oct 18, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

It is a great addition to the series. The new pokemon (hero and partner) , the new items, and the new shops. They all are great. For example you can get a Mismagious super early in the game thanks to a few shops. I am playing through this as a Mudkip named Austin, a Phanpy named Money, a no named Chingling, and a Grimer named Leech. Together we are team Clam. Currently we are at the ceromoney for the first expedition i will post info on my youtube account Garchompmaster439. Anyways it is a great game and a must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rinse wash and repeat

posted by Kiziku (HOWELL, NJ) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

which is exactly what they did with this game.

I wish i could hit rewind and rent it instead of have bought it but since i lost my copy of explores of darkness it was the next best thing

THe thing i hate most about this game is there nothing to do with sky at all! They basically found a new title and slapped on the box of the old explores of darkness/time game. Same story same characters same ENDING! what the heck?

You do get to do special epsiodes with certain characters but as IGN said in there review its just like a bad fanfiction

Hardly any new a characters.

New caves but might as well been anyother cave you visit along the line in the game

To wrap up this up

If you haven't played explores of darkness/time i say whole heartedly go for it and dont bother trying the old one you will be sorely dissapointed in all the simlarities

If you played the last game DONT BOTHER WASTING YOUR TIME!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon rules forever

posted by predator23 (FOWLER, CA) Oct 21, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

Best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A really great game

posted by TheReviewer009 (COLUMBUS, NJ) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Pokemon Mystery dungeon is a really fun series, and this game is no exeption. The story places yourself being turned into a pokemon depending on how you place your traits at the beginning of the game. You are stranded on a beach when the pokemon who chose to be your partner comes to the beach finding you unconscience with no memory whatsoever of what happend before you crashed onto the sand. This game was a remake of pokemon mystery dungeon explorers of time, and darkness. Unlike the regular pokemon games (you know diamond, pearl.) You progress through places called dungeons where you will find items that help you on your journey. At first at the first dungeon, you can only hold one item. But when you progress through the game, you can hold more, and more items. As a remake, Explorers of the Sky adds optional sidequests that can done on the title screen that give you an idea of the characters backround stories. Downsides of the game are that dungeons can be a little bland, and the hunger issue that forces you to eat food such as big, or regular apples or you will constantly lose health. Unlike most pokemon games, this game expresses the most emotion I have ever seen in a pokemon game. I have played this game over, and over and I would cry at least once in the main story. The character development is outstanding, and the boss battles are really great. The pokemon series have a lot of good bad guys, but this one has one of the greatest. And the rare cutscences that happen during the main story are amazing for DS standerds. The controls are not that bad, and the graphics are very nice too, although they can be bad. I loved every moment of this game, and I think it should be tried out at least once for every pokemon fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heartwarming

posted by UnicornTwilight (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon returns with their 6th game, Explorers Of Sky, a retelling of the storyline of Time and Darkness but with added post scenarios and more Pokemon choices.

You find yourself washed onto a beach where your found by your future partner, what Mystery Dungeon is good at is telling a story that can be heartwarming, touching, and even angering, together you and your partner join the Wigglytuff's Guild to become explorers and find yourself involved in your origins as well as showing your worth in the Guild.

This is a story about friendship, trust, and miracles, and the real power anybody can have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

you should know...

posted by electavire (LAGUNA HILLS, CA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

the game definitely has some nice new features and such, but you should definitely know that the story is the exact same as explorers of time/darkness. if you played the others, you might be disappointed a little but its still fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool ,But It Can be Better

posted by linlin12356 (HUFFMAN, TX) Sep 25, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I Think That It Is Cool That You Can be A Poke'mon In The Game!

But I Wish That We can chose our own poke'mon that we are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could have been better...

posted by qwertyuiop786 (LOMBARD, IL) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The reason i gave a six was because it wasn't different much from the previous two mystery dungeons. There is only like five new dungeons and two parter only characters got upgraded for you to be and in return two got downgraded to parter only. Yah now you can get shaymin, but if you got explorers of darkness or time then i don't reccomend this because it is the same storyline. On the other hand if you did not get the two then get this one because it is a tiny tiny bit better.

So the reason why i gave a 6 is beacause in the game platinum it at least had a different-ish story line compared to pearl and diamond, but sky was'nt that different. Other than those things it's a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon explorers of sky

posted by Pokemonblack (YELM, WA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since May 2011

When I played this it would work sometimes but when it did work it was really fun I would recomend it to any person who likes adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I give it a good run through...

posted by Sashima8 (VICKSBURG, MI) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game, pure and simple, is explorers of darkness/time (or their proper names)

Now I know I don't dedicate myself to games a lot, but I do enjoy these ones. The thing I found hard about this game was simple.. just how easy it was...

Gummis appear much more frequently than in the other games, while at the same time they introduce a new element where you can trade gummies for stat increases. As far as I found out there was no limit on it, so gratz, you can now cheat your way to max stats.

while the game has that system I still found it challenging from time to time and I congratulate it for that.

But unless you liked the others a lot, or havn't played the previous two, I wouldn't suggest this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best pokemon game ever made

posted by jakew24 (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I loved pokemon growing up (im only ten years old though!) ever since the first pokemon game came out I wished they would make a game like this. Now my dream has come true. This is my first choice on a pokemon game.

I like this game for 5 reasons

1. You play as a pokemon

2. The game is chalenging and needs good strategy

3. You take a test in the beginning of the game that chooses what pokemon you should be.

4. It is an RPG so i love it

5. THIS GAME IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Sky

posted by Denise (IONIA, MI) Jul 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

I think it was good until i wanted to level up it froze on me but other then that it was good

~KH~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For the children.

posted by cokeisec (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

Well,not much has changed since the the first one.The storyline actually made sense this time,but there is more talking than action.But this one takes lots of patience.Hardcore Pokemon fans(as myself),people with patience,and the less irritated ones could play this game and pass all of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon:Explorers of Sky

posted by rtruth (WASHINGTON, DC) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

This game was really bad.I mean really ,what ever happened to the battle engine they have with every other Pokemon game ever invented?The missions were too long.You could die easily.Whenever you finished a mission there was another on waiting for you.I mean what was that all about?You didn't even have the chance to choose what Pokemon you wanted.In the game, was hard to level up.Plus you only have a limited amount of items you can have when in any other normal Pokemon game you had an unlimited amount of items.I wouldn't recommend this to a single human being. I mean I love Pokemon games but really this is the worst game I have ever played in my entire life and I've played a lot of games.If somebody was willing to pay me 1,000,000 dollars,I would not play it.That's how bad this game is.I hated is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same.

posted by tiloho (OSHKOSH, WI) Mar 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

This game is more of an update than a completely new game. It starts out exactly the same as the last 2 in the series. After you play to a certain point you start unlocking special episodes. These allow you to play as one of the other main characters. I've only unlocked Bidoof's so far but it seems interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pokemon mystery dungeon explorers of sky

posted by darkmoon (New York, NY) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game was just a bore it could not catch my attansion at all and the story was just stupid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »