Rent Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Explorers of Darkness

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

687 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good sequel.

posted by Marioruler (PERU, IL) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a really good sequel to Pokemon Dungeon: Blue and/or Red Rescue Team. I haven't beaten it yet. I am on the part where you verse Groudon. He isn't that hard but nonetheless he is hard. You want to get munchlax because he has his own special cutseen and he knows 4 moves to begin with and one of them is metrenome. The hero/sidekick pokemon are Piplup, Chimchar, Turtwig, Torchick, Mudkip, Treecko, Chickorita, Totadile, Quilava, Bulbasaur, Charmander, Squirtle, Meowth, Pikachu , Skitty, and Muncklax and yes I do have the strat guide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Easy to learn, fun to play

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Jan 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not usually a fan of fighting games. I prefer strategy/adventure over endless battles in dungeons. That being said, I think I'll probably pay to keep this one.

The story line is a bit tedious, but probably more engaging for the under-12 set.

So why would I want to keep it? Simply, this is an addicting game and I want to keep playing! I like the scenario of being a pokemon among pokemons. I like the simple progression of dungeons. It's easy without being ridiculously easy - just enough challenge to keep it interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game for a great series

posted by Raikishi (JOHNSTOWN, PA) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

this game is an excellent sequal to the first one and it is challenging i havent beaten it (yet). it has 20 chapters to it beware the final chapter is hard!now you must take the test of strength wit and ability.hope you have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

For an 8-year-old, Very Good

posted by jakeswolf (OSWEGO, IL) May 8, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the first Mystery Dungeon game, and this is basically the same thing. I was able to get into the first game, but got tired of it fairly quickly. I haven't played much of this new version, but the game play and setup was so familiar that I didn't feel like doing the same thing over again.

Personally, I would have rated this much lower, but I rented it for my eight-year-old son and he LOVES it. He doesn't seem to notice or care that it's just like the first game. He gets a huge thrill from meeting new (to this particular game) Pokemon and I already know it's going to be hard for him to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Does anyone here remember Sega's Fatal Labyrin

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Mar 28, 2012

Member since May 2010

If you remember Sega's Fatal labyrinth game from the Sonic's Ultimate Genesis collection and liked that game, then you should try this game out.. The game does not really give you a direct control over who you want to be( I mean, come on, they ask you a bunch of random philisophical question to determine what kind of pokemon you want to be???? Why could they not just give us a list instead?) This game devolves in to a cheap knock off of fatal labyrinth only it has pokemon, and as a result it fails to impress.. It is not a bad game.. It just falls short by using an old game design that was abandoned ages ago. but with a few graphical improvements ..... At least sega fixed one issue, and that was in the ultimate collection where they put in a handy save function... This game does have a save funcyion too, but sadly it seems too be located in your bed at the guild, there is also another one that is unlocked later after you lose the first one otherwise you have only quick saves, and the auto save function... At least this game has shops and the labyrinths are not that big compared to Sega's Fatal Labyrinth... If you like it that is just fine, but I don't think that it is the game for me...Try Before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better then first game

posted by swrdrunner (TUCSON, AZ) Nov 4, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I was very reluctant to get this game. The first Mystery Dungeon version was BORING. All you did was go on missions you selected off the mission boards. That got old REALLY fast. This game is very similar to that except they expanded on it to make it much more fun. Now there is a storyline where someone is stealing the Time Gears and you are given mandatory missions you need to go on to advance the game. I still prefer the regular pokemon games to mystery dungeon, but this game was well worth purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Misery dungeon 2: explorers of darkness\time

posted by darkcelepi (MASON CITY, IA) Aug 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

after i played the first one and this one came out i thought i should give it a shot and i got so far i beat the four regis and it was hard but i had a little assistants from dialga, uxie, azelf, mesprite, and phonie it was though getting dialga but i got him and his recruitment rate is guarantied but you can only get him after you beat primal dialga yes a dialga without reason without remorse and a cool color sceam you know the Jewel that regular dialga has but this time it's red and you know dusclops in sinno he evolves and you have to fight that evolution of him his name is duscknoir and let me tell you he's tough bye bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

It's not the best, and not the worst.

posted by rockon7 (BRENTWOOD, TN) Aug 8, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

It's a great game and all, but there's too much talking and it's action times aren't very long. Not close to the first 2 games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Glitchy

posted by game54life (DISCOVERY BAY, CA) Jun 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I liked the game however, the game is glitchy because everytime i go into a dungeon i get the message that the game was removed when it was not. Don't know if this is an isolated incident of a defective cartridge but all that matters to me is if i can play it. And i wasn't able to, as i get frustrated.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by Snow1118 (WOODHAVEN, NY) May 25, 2008

Member since Apr 2006

good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokémon

posted by Alex1992 (FREMONT, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

I bought this game and enjoying it daily.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a good sequel overall

posted by daniel30 (ROME, NY) Apr 26, 2008

Member since Mar 2005

I've played the previous Pokémon mystery dungeon series of games should be interesting. Getting use to the controls is very important to enjoy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »