Rent Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team

Not Rentable
GF Rating
7.7

886 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

good game, but exact same as the gba version.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

To keep this short and to the point : this is essentially a "dungeon crawler" (such as diablo or x-men legends) mixed with pokemon. Almost every single aspect of the pokemon franchise is held intact, and the combination of the diablo-esque combined with the rpg elements of pokemon goes down very well. This is a solid game, my only complaint (and the reason this review is a little vague and short) is that it is nearly the exact same as the gba red version. I expected a little more from the ds copy, which is why I am going to give this a seven instead of the eight I gave red. Nintendo needs to appreciate those of us who have purchased their latest handheld, and offer a little bit more than we get from the gba version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid dungeon crawler

posted by heimburg (ORLANDO, FL) Sep 28, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game plays very similar to Diablo, but it's turn-based instead of real-time. In this, and in some of the extra touches in the game, it feels more like a NetHack game than a Diablo game. If you've played NetHack (or rogue or Angband), you know what to expect -- infinite random dungeon crawling and leveling up.

The pacing is very solid for a DS game. You can play for 45 minutes or so and get a very rewarding experience, thanks to the mission-based gameplay. You probably won't want to play for too many hours at a time, as it can get repetitive. But in shorter bursts, this game seems to have a strong hold on my leisure time.

I haven't played the GBA version, and I can understand the complaints that the game is "just like the GBA version", but that doesn't really come across to people who haven't played the GBA game. The graphics are crisp and clean, and the top screen can be used for things like your dungeon map or status information -- it doesn't feel like a port, even if it is one. If you compare it to other DS RPG games, it stands up pretty well.

The game is a bit fiddly to learn -- the interface isn't as clean as you'd like. It can take a while to figure out how to get your allies to use items, or even how to turn in place without spending a combat turn. But once you get the hang of it, it's very smooth to play.

Another complaint is your allies: they start out dumb as posts, and if they die (without a resurrection item), you basically lose your mission. So early on, you have to babysit them constantly, or have them hang back doing nothing. You can improve their IQ and give them better combat rules as the game progresses.

I'd like to see more games in this style in the future. The formula can certainly be improved upon, but it's a solid game and pretty compelling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Game For All!

posted by Kazuya (BRONX, NY) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. It features a tactical fight system, along with puzzles, and mysteries that must be solved. Compared to some other DS games you can easily say this game's graphics are phenomenal. While this game is likely to be recommended to kids I can recommend it to adults because the rescue team is almost like a coastguard group but it works on land and other features of an earthly atmosphere. And for any gamefaqs or gamewinners site lovers dungeons are randomly generated so you probably won't find a walkthrough with the dungeons in your game but if you do consider yourself lucky. I give this game a 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon dungion blue

posted by chief117 (TEXAS CITY, TX) Oct 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game is probably the best pokemon game ever you can actually be the pokemon and have another pokemon follow you and you can find new party members that are wild and store them in some kind of home while you go kick butt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Great New Pokemon Franchise!

posted by TheGame (BLOOMFIELD, NJ) Oct 2, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The battle system almost seems to be real time, but it actually is'nt, you just dont go into a battle screen like the main rpg's. When you play this game don't think about comparisons to the main rpgs. The story line is very involving and meant to create an emotional bond with your partner and it does that very well! This is a great new direction for the series and hopefully will be a new spin of that they will continue, its not quite on the level of diamond and pearl, but that is because they are completely different games. The only problem is that the main story line is kind of short and the dungeoun traveling gets a little repetitive. It would have been nice to have to travel a little more since you only get to visit few places like the town and post office. But, this is a great game to get you ready for Pokemon Ranger and then The True Pokemon Games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its GREAT

posted by Bluejuan85 (NEW CASTLE, DE) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game is quite awesome. I truly am enjoying myself and I managed to defeat my first legendary PKMN in one swing but he almost defeated me though. This is a must-have for PKMN Fans I guarantee it. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game!

posted by gamewiz25 (DAHLONEGA, GA) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome! Once you get to sky tower,it gets hard though! I haven't even beaten it yet! But you just got to keep tryin' and levelin' up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

descent Pokémon game.

posted by LambOfGod (ANAHEIM, CA) Oct 24, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

first of let me start by saying that if you want a Pokémon game about catching Pokémon and traveling around doing battle this is not for you. this game was just oak for me, the main downfall that i thought this game had is that you don't really get to travel and explore, except for in the dungeons. then you have your base and the little Pokémon shopping center. when you go to a new place, it just goes there, you know when the screen turn black and you're there. the battling is pretty cool, but not great, i still like the old battling way better. i didn't get very far, but the story really didn't help stay in the game for too much. maybe it gets better, who knows? but im done with it, hopefully Pokémon diamond or whatever is a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

A decrease to the series

posted by insanty101 (DAYTON, NJ) Sep 28, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

When i rented this game i was expecting another basic Pokémon game. I was disappointed. it was not the battles ii was used to. the talking was enjoying. And it was overall just not the Pokémon i expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

best pokemon game ever!

posted by mattnbafan (COVINGTON, LA) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is great!The third legendary
pokemon is pretty hard.YOU JUST got to keep
trying though.Totidile is one of the best to play
as.This game is a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokémon mystery dungeon the first real pokemon game

posted by pokekid (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 25 gamers (16%) found this review helpful

this game called mystery dungeon is awesome ive never played it before but it sounds like fun.just imaggine no humans for the first time in the pokemon series of games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent game.

posted by Kiyousei (SANTA ROSA, CA) May 25, 2010

Member since May 2010

I never really got into the Pokemon game series, but I somehow ended up buying this game and it was well worth it.

Pros:
I for one enjoy the graphics very much. I'm very fond of that style of pixel characters and the cutscenes in the game were above average. Quests in the story line are enjoyable but sometimes have quite a challenge. The whole idea of rescuing fallen Pokemon while playing as one appeals to me, and proves to be very fun.

Cons:
One of the few weak points in this game is the excessive grinding(MMORPG term for repetitive hunting monsters for EXP) required to level your rescue team members high. Another is usually when you recruit Pokemon for your team, they are usually VERY low in level which goes back to point 1.

But besides that the game is fantastic, and has a lasting appeal.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best Pok'emon game Ever!!!!

posted by pokeguy (FORT SMITH, AR) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

You may think you know Pok'emon from top to bottom, but you're wrong. Until you live the life as a Pok'emon, you are not a true fan. You always see the perspective of Pok'emon through the eyes of the trainer, now, it's the Pok'emon's turn.In this game you play as a Pok'emon that decides to start a rescue team and goes on one heck of an adventure(which Pok'emon do you play as? Well, you decide in a manor of speaking). Plus, when battling with other Pok'emon, there are no battle windows that pop up every time you battle. If your buddy gets K.O'd in a dungeon, you can try to rescue them. Or it can be the other way around. You decide the outcome. You are the Pok'emon!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easy for beginners, fun for all

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Though a little slow-moving, this game has many of the same attractive features as the other Pokemon Mystery Dungeon games: good story lines, good progression of adventures, not too much dialog. Blue Team, more than the others, allows ample opportunity for power-ups before boss fights.

One interesting aspect is some of the jobs include shepherding a lower-rank pokemon through a dungeon to meet a friend. I found this challenging, because if I wasn't careful the silly things would wander off and get defeated before I had a chance to rescue them. Fail!

Lots of fun, and if you like it I recommend buying this one because it can be played over and over with the player as different pokemon characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game rocks!!!

posted by newsat11 (INGLEWOOD, CA) Dec 27, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

My son loves this game. He said that the whole theme of the game was enjoyable and that the game was not boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Mystery Dungeon: Blue Rescue Team

posted by darkcelepi (MASON CITY, IA) Aug 18, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

this is the best myisery dungeon game ever it gets even beter after you fight raqaza i had to play for awhile befor i fought him but after i did when i left i was heart broken for my partner after i pwend raqaza cause i left but so far the post story line has been better because i evolved my mud kip to marshtomp and to swampmert and i became so powerful that i'm going to firey field next then lightnig field and finally northwind field it'll be exiting and this reviwe will cotinue after i beat entei, riakuo, and suecoon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good game

posted by Socksmell (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

The ds verson is better than the gba because control wise. I've got to the part where you can allow your pokemon to evole. It's a cool game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!

posted by diddymario (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 30, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

this game is much different from all the other games!the game play is different love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Blue Mystery FUNgeon

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

THIS GAME IS SOOOO AWESOME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a pleasent game suprise

posted by NimbleLock (HAZEL PARK, MI) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

I was suprised how fun this game was ... this game has a good battle system and a pretty good story ... the only down falls are you dont get to pick what pokemon you want instead you take a quiz and one is assigned to you , you cant capture pokemon with a ball but instead you befriend them and if you dont like fighting you may get bored fast .... altough it has flaws this is one of my favorite pokemon games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love mudkip in this game

posted by mudkip (EDGEWATER, MD) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

the best of pokemon games have arived to the us and it's best to be mudkip. i named mine muddy and the ending is so sad i even started to cry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A New Way to Enjoy an Old Game

posted by Wendigo17 (EASLEY, SC) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

Well, being an rpg this game needs to have a good story right? Well, it doesn't really do anything new in the story department (same old save the world scenario),but I found it to be pretty engaging. I like how the story progresses around you and your pokemon pal with various ups and downs along the way. The randomly generated dungeons are kind of a bore and lack any real personality. There are also side quests that you can attempt which increase your rank, but they consist of finding items or escorting fellow pokemon to a particular floor within a dungeon (We all hate escort missions right?). After you've finished the game there's still more to do and more pokemon to collect, but it became tedious for me after the plot was stripped away. Not a bad game, but's it definately a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for all ages!

posted by Valacia (GRIFFITH, IN) Dec 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

Anyone who loves Pokemon games should have fun with this game. The game involves you in a way that none of the other games have ever done before while still remaining entertaining. While some skill is required to play, I feel anyone could quickly learn due to the detailed instructions that are given in game. The ability to have friend pokemon assist you in rescues is wonderful. The only problem I had was that the boss battles were slightly more difficult than maybe they should have been and you lose all your money and items if they are not stored. I feel that this game was a great step away from the usual catch pokemon and level them style that everyone is used to and is definately worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game.

posted by Soniccloud (SOMERSET, KY) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

This game is a fun new way to play Pokémon!
in the game you move around a dungeon and rescue pokemon in peril. The battles are turn based and the story is good, but the game does get boring half after a couple days.
I would say this game is a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon does it!

posted by gbdsmaster (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Oct 28, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Pokemon has never been my genre of games, until this bad boy game out! Pokemon Mystery Dungeon is awesome! There's was just one problem: a little unfair... In certain dungeons, it sends you there at level 1 with only 1 pokemon...But besides that, it was great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse