Rent Pokemon HeartGold for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon HeartGold

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.4

1950 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best remake yet

posted by Merlitaru (FORT EDWARD, NY) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

61 out of 64 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I'm 26 years old, I still play pokemon. I've been playing since it first came out on red and blue, and I've bought nearly every single pokemon since. This is hands-down the best remake yet. Not only does it give us access to pokemon that have been previously impossible to get without acquiring the gamecube games, but it adds a whole new level to the playing ground.

I love the pokewalker. I take it /everywhere/ with me, to work, at home, it's almost always clipped to my pants. The only downside is that you can only get one level per walk, and your steps reset as the date changes over, so you have to get your hard-earned steps back.

The gameplay is just like every other pokemon, you walk around, catch pokemon, take on the gym. The storyline is much improved, however. And the music? I love the music in this game, in all the other games I can't bear to listen to the music because it grated on my nerves after a while. This one I can't stop listening to it.

It has all the features of Gold/Silver, with some additions here and there. You can collect pokemon from Diamond, Pearl, Ruby, Sapphire depending on the music that's playing on the radio at the time.

The absolute best part, for me, is that you have a pokemon following you this time around. It adds a whole new level of personalization. I love turning around and talking to my pokemon and getting a message of 'it playfully nudges you in the stomach' or some other message, it gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside :3. And it's not just one pokemon that can follow you, it's every single pokemon that can be caught. Which can lead to some interesting companions.

They also added some new mini games. I'm addicted to the voltorb flip, and the pokethon is very fun to play as well.

All in all this is a game that was worth every single penny I paid :3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever

posted by AndyNGabbi (KINSEY, AL) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have played this game and it brings a challenge to Pokemon but what caught me off guard is the ability to have Celebi in it and i also figured out what is the basic for mew its Celebi also i have played this game so long it has over 50000 hours of long and fun game play its just awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Simple, yet amazing.

posted by LordWas (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game starts like every pokemon game does; but with different credentials. What I mean to say is, the pokewalker; although it's difficult sometimes to get the pokemon you want, is phenominal. The pokewalker comes bundled with the game in it's own little compartment, and happens to be able to obtain more rare pokemon. The pokewalker counts steps like a pedometer, only in a circular motion.

Pokemon Heartgold itself is great, but what i would've done is made the trainers in the game more difficult. it was too easy for me. That is the only regret i have from my first play. However, if you are a pokemon fan as much as i am; you will have no trouble in liking the game. That i can guarantee!

For all of you newbies that don't know what pokemon is, or have trouble understanding what pokemon is about; first off, you start out as a trainer to taim these creatures, then you quickly get showed how to catch a pokemon. Using the pokeball can catch these beasts. a pokeball is a type of capsule device that opens up when thrown at a pokemon and, after three wiggles and an insane amount of luck, catches the pokemon. Also, the pokemon gain experience points after you battle the pokemon against other trainers. Eventually, your pokemon can level up. I could go on for days explaining what pokemon is about, but i'd rather keep the review short.

Overall a great game, fantastic job nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pokemon game

posted by Goku13 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pokemon heart gold is awesome .your Pokemon follows you around like in Pokemon yellow for gba.the poke walker is beast ,you can take it anywhere and level up on the go.The battle frontier adds more to do then just the elite four.then when you beat the indigo region you get to go to kanto and pick a starter . which adds a lot more fun to the game.I have played every Pokemon game ever made but all the other ones get boring after awhile.Pokemon heart gold will keep you entertained for at least 80 hours.the graphics are the best for ds,the length is very long.the story line is exciting.time to catch them all again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon heart of gold version

posted by oogabooga (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this was the best game ever because i got to pick the really rare pokemon in the beginning but in others you would ususally have to capture them.
peace and love...oogabooga

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!

posted by msariha (BALLWIN, MO) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This beats all the other remakes! The new amazing graphics and 3D is just amazing! Also you get to go to both johto and kanto? If your new or old this game is just the perfect thing and so many stuff to keep you busy after the game so many high leveled trainers, high leveled legendaries, and wild rare pokemon. Some Sinnoh and Hoenn pokemon are introduced within the game. A lot more are in the pokewalker if you buy it from a store. The new games now are really amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Game

posted by Cowmaster2 (AUSTIN, TX) Aug 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is by far the best pokemon remake EVER.

Pros:
-Global Trading System: trade with people around the world
-Easy to follow story for kids and adults to enjoy
-Will be challenging for people new to the series
-Graphics are amazing for a DS
- A LOT of replay value

Cons:
-This is not a game to rent. There is tooo much content and things to do in this game. IT IS A MUST BUY.
If you like pokemon games, buy it. If you just want to try it out... rent it for a short while. THEN BUY.

There are no flaws whatsoever in this game. It is perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon heartgold

posted by neonblood (HAZARD, KY) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2007

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game really surprise me big time i was thinking aww man this is goin to be another pokemon platinum. i was wrong the whole ideal of your 1st slot pokemon to follow you around was great remind me when i was a little kid playing pokemon yellow for the GAMEBOY [RIP] this is a great fun game with sum puzzles along the way if your a true die hard pokemon fan this game will be all you ever wanted great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The new version of gold

posted by canboom (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

You better get ready for a awesome game! I didn't get heartgold from GF but if u have pokemon gold for gameboy, u should know that heartgold is a enhanced version of the gameboy game pokemon gold.Also try out soulsilver!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It is addicting

posted by GmaeHead13 (HUMMELSTOWN, PA) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I had the origin gold version and loved it so i decided to try the remake and i love it even more. This is a great game. There is just something about Pokemon games that is so much fun. This is a must play if you own a DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Addition

posted by KBlessitt (BROOKS, GA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I've played almost all the pokemon games for the Gameboy, Gameboy Advanced, and the DS. After all that I have played the only ones that always stood out for me was Pokemon Gold and Silver for the Gameboy Color. This is one of the best remakes in a game series thus far. They kept what made Gold and Silver good and added what made Diamond and Pearl great and thus you have HeartGold and SoulSilver. Great game worth a rent but you will end up keeping it. Because its that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game.

posted by someguy117 (GLENDALE HEIGHTS, IL) Apr 4, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is probably one of the best DS and DSi games of all time. I love this game. It is just so much fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon HeartGold

posted by Xidon15 (JENISON, MI) Mar 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I'll admit it: after chugging through several dozen hours of Pokemon Platinum, I felt that my time in the world of Pokemon RPGs was coming to an end. There's only so much "gotta catch 'em all" one can take, and after playing through the addictive series for more than a decade, I felt maybe it might be time to pass the review gauntlet off to another editor.
But then Nintendo and Game Freak did something devious: they sucked me back in again. Curse those guys tickling my gadget fetish with the bundled Pokewalker...

Pokemon HeartGold and SoulSilver are the two latest games in the Pokemon RPG series and are remakes of Pokemon Gold and Silver that existed on the Game Boy Color. On the surface the two games are virtually identical to each other, but each houses different species of Pokemon to make them unique. Game Freak did more than give the experience a new coat of paint with the 3D engine from Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum; they also added things to discover during the massive quest. Most importantly, the new Pokewalker gadget brings a welcome twist to the familiar franchise, making HeartGold and SoulSilver a bit more attractive to those who've already experienced the series several times over the last 14 years.

Just like the previous games in the series, HeartGold and SoulSilver do an excellent job weaning you into the addictive gameplay that the series is known for.Though the game evolves with the systems it's made for, it's the same game we've been playing for years. I wouldn't blame anyone for skipping over this Pokemon update now because they've done it all before. J, it took Nintendo to throw a new gadget into the box for me to get excited for yet another Pokemon game.

HeartGold and SoulSilver build their foundation on a ten year old quest. They look identical to Diamond, Pearl, and Platinum because HeartGold and SoulSilver are using that same tech. You've played, learned, loved. And yet, the franchise slowly dies. After this will probably be last.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVE IT

posted by Pardeepb (FRESNO, CA) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

ive played and beat all the pokemon games there has been. but i wud have to say tat this game is on the top of the list. prolly right next to pokemon yellow. yellow was my fav game of them all. this game is awesome but its just missing some originality, other than that i would highly recommended it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by RKnight80 (RIVER FOREST, IL) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have never been a very big Pokemon fan, but this game has converted me.... The pokewalker addition for the full retail game is also awesome. The graphics are top notch for a DS game and the gameplay is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

really good!

posted by Kami123 (CHELTENHAM, PA) Sep 5, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i loved this game! the graphics were cool and it was exiting to see what happens! But even if its just a remake(i never played the 1st one sooo)i wish that instead of the pokeatalon(sry no no how to spell!) they put in contest for us as well! but overall fun cool and cute charas!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Pokemon game yet

posted by Gokuss8 (MYRTLE BEACH, SC) May 2, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest, I'm 25 years old, and I still play pokemon. I've been playing since it first came out on red and blue, and I've bought nearly every single pokemon since. This is hands-down the best remake yet. Not only does it give us access to pokemon that have been previously impossible to get without acquiring the gamecube games, but it adds a whole new level to the playing ground.

I love the pokewalker. I take it /everywhere/ with me, to work, at home, it's almost always clipped to my pants. The only downside is that you can only get one level per walk, and your steps reset as the date changes over, so you have to get your hard-earned steps back.

The gameplay is just like every other pokemon, you walk around, catch pokemon, take on the gym. The storyline is much improved, however. And the music? I love the music in this game, in all the other games I can't bear to listen to the music because it grated on my nerves after a while. This one I can't stop listening to it.

It has all the features of Gold/Silver, with some additions here and there. You can collect pokemon from Diamond, Pearl, Ruby, Sapphire depending on the music that's playing on the radio at the time.

The absolute best part, for me, is that you have a pokemon following you this time around. It adds a whole new level of personalization. I love turning around and talking to my pokemon and getting a message of 'it playfully nudges you in the stomach' or some other message, it gives me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside :3. And it's not just one pokemon that can follow you, it's every single pokemon that can be caught. Which can lead to some interesting companions.

They also added some new mini games. I'm addicted to the voltorb flip, and the pokethon is very fun to play as well.

All in all this is a game that was worth every single penny I paid :3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Bosoxs505 (SCRANTON, PA) Mar 15, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Got this game Monday 15 2010 right now its pretty good. If you expect this game to be better than Platinum, ITS NOT, almost but not

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible

posted by Awsomness (SCHERTZ, TX) Apr 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 21 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

This is just another platnium and honestly platnium is alot better and I already beat HeartGold but still I cant stand It and the Pkewalker is dumb.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Heart gold

posted by weter133 (MADERA, CA) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

This is a really fun game if your friend or brother has it or has soul silver you can trade pokemon and itst just really

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great experiance

posted by flamekaise93 (NORTH PORT, FL) May 14, 2013

Member since May 2013

im glad they made a remake Pokemon gold and silver were my fave generation what with umbreon and espeon and the three dogs and some how they made it even better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I'm not happy

posted by A12345Rdog (WINFIELD, KS) Feb 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I have not got the game yet it was sent on 12/7/2012 in now it is 2/5/13

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Horrid

posted by mattwr1992 (SOUTHBURY, CT) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

When coming back into Gold Version as a remake i was hoping for it to keep some originality, while at the same time bring some cool new concepts to the game. Instead they pretty much ruined the way your bag/options work, and nerfed the old gold version i used to love. I think i may purchase the gameboy version just to replay it. I recommend Pokemon Black/White Version 1/2 over this. Sorry but it was a very bad remake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i hope this sold more than Black/White did

posted by emanresuetaerc (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

honestly nintendo, even a carbon copy of 2nd with better graphics far surpasses 3rd and 4th gen pokemon

they ruined one of the best games out there with Ruby Sapphire version by not allowing people to trade from the past generations to the new one.

all they keep doing is ripping off the original idea in 1991 and what's worse is they aren't improving it

you kind of grow annoyed with the team plasmas, team galactics, team magmas and aquas... the elite fours... the professors....

nintendo would make more money if they weren't hiring incompetent people to develop a game franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ehhhhhoooohhh ahhh wow ugh

posted by mrstephen (HARRISON, OH) Oct 1, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

the new pokemon soul sliver and heart gold game's seem way to repeative is i know it's pokemon you battle every 30 steps you take well i think the people who make the gaem need to have a little lesss batlle in pokemon and add a little more exp from battles to even it out it takes for ever to battle unless action replay but still it take way to long all i waned to do was battle a little bit then challenge the gym leader not battle 22 times then challenge the leader i say OVER KILL ON THE BATTLEING i would give it a 7 but they DID some really cool things . check it out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse