Rent Pokemon Fire Red for GBA
view large frontback

Pokemon Fire Red

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

1375 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

RETRO

posted by Willz916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 24, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game is great if you a old skool Pokémon fan and a newbie to the game this is almost the same as the original just with color and better graphics it is a must buy for the old skool poke' gamers lol like i said it has the old skool feel new system most remakes turn out bad but it sticks the original both are fun i have leaf green but i suspect they are almost the same just the usual one has about 10 different Pokémon you cant get in the other version and viseversa pick it up buy it what ever you like just see how far pokemon has come since the original 151 and where it all started

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pokemon firered

posted by pokymon (SHERMAN, TX) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is the best game i have ever had. you can trade from different regions. i started with a bulbasaur. THIS GAME RULES!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than original blue version

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Aug 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This game is basically blue with better graphics and more features. A bit of the storyline was changed too, but still WAY better than the original! Want a good pokemon game? Rent this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game rocks!

posted by Carlos007 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

You can choose from bulcasaur, charmander, and squirtle, beat team rocket and all 8 gyms! You can challenge the ellite-4 as many times as you like! this game was one of my first games and is still one of my favorite games!!! TRY IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon fire red

posted by jacob12345 (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

pokemon fire red is a good game for kids.no bad words in pokemon fire red. it is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Expansion Pack to The Original Pokemon Games

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) Oct 4, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

For anyone who has ever played a "normal" pokemon game before, be warned - this one is not much different. That is a good, and bad thing, in Fire Red. Essentially this is a re-issue of an old classic (the original gameboy title), filled with everything that has already been used in later versions of it - such as breeding, two on two battles, and excellent graphics. The plot is the same as in the prior game, which is a little disappointing for those of us who have held onto this series for such a long amount of time. Something else that is the same is the number and selection of pokemon available. This title has the basic originals. That, for me, is a good thing. It is nice to revisit a time before the pokemon team clearly began struggling for new ideas of what monster could look like. It is nice to travel down memory road, and that is exactly what you do with this game. This is not so much a new experience as an expansion pack to an already good game. That is the main reasoning behind the Seven-score. Maybe a little more bonus content would have been nice. Something a little more fresh than what has been presented already. I wouldnt say the game is any better or any worse than the originals or the later titles, however I will say that this format and style of game, although very repeated, never seems to get TOO old. C +.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome Back.

posted by Closetkid (BUFFALO, WY) May 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

As I say again welcome back. Pokémon Fire Red is a reincarnation of the R/B/Y series. It has all the old memories that you can remember with some new bonuses such as breeding and updated graphics. All in all this game is a vast improvement over the rest of the series and should be in your gaming library a.s.a.p. The only negative i give this game is the music but that might just be me.

Graphics 10
Game play 11
Sound 8
Overall 9

Expect further reviews from the Closetkid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Tastic

posted by BeastBoy (WINCHESTER, CA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

8 out of 19 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Fire Red the best pokemon game I have played but i would save up for a Nintendo DS cuz there are new pokemon games coming out "Pokemon Pearl" and "Pokemon Dimond" with 356 all new Pokemon but now back to Fire Red its like a new version of the old one of the the first gameboy that has the sqare games its called Red Version but this one has better graphics then the old one but when you first start out in your room go out your house in to the wild grass sombody will come up to and say stop its dangerous and he will take you some whare there you will find your cousin but that is whare you get your first Pokemon you get to choose between Charmander, Bulbisuar, and Sqertull and then your journey begains. you now train your pokemon for the gym battles and the elite 4 good bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokémon Fire Red

posted by scorpion6 (WARREN, MI) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This adventure is in the Kanto Region. Your adventure starts here, at Pallet Town. Walk to the grass behind your house, then Professor Oak will appear. He takes you to his Lab, where you get your first Pokémon. Choose from either Charmander, Bulbasaur, or Squirtle. What I liked about this game was almost everything! Make it to Mt. Moon, and go through the cave that leads to Cerulean City. What I disliked about this game was that I can't beat Pokemon League! Your adventure ends here, Indigo Plateau.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

awesome game

posted by buyerer (BROOKLYN, NY) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i really liked it i just cant understand how u get the johto pokemon , if any one responds please tell me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the old school pokemon

posted by bean515 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

i liked it because it had all of the old pokemon not the new ones.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well...

posted by WolfGirl09 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jun 24, 2007

Member since May 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Well,it's okay.I say it's like Pokémon Yellow for gameboy advance without your starter walking outside it's pokeball. It is also cool with different islelands and all but,when you beet the elete 4 there is nothing to do.Also Mewtwo won't be much of a catch if you already caught Zaptos,Moltres,or Articono with your master ball.I say the best person to play this game would be someone that is playing Pokémon games for the first time.B+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Just another PokeMon game.

posted by SnastyZ (GUILFORD, CT) Jul 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game, PokeMon Fire Red, really wasn't that interesting. The style was the same as Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald. No major changes were made to the layout of the world, and many of the building looked like the ones in Ruby, Sapphire, and Emerald. If you wanted a PokeMon game that was almost the same as all the others, just with the original PokeMon, this is the game for you, but if not, try PokeMon Red Rescue Team.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Y U NO UP FOR RENT!?!

posted by gracepetcoyle (LAKEBAY, WA) Aug 19, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I love this game... I own Fire Red! I'm just sad that I can't get squirtle or the leaf one. (it's been to long that I forgot :/ ) but I love the game! It's the best on out of them all! No ice cream cone Pokemon lol. but its probably just cuz it was the first one I played so it started me on Pokemon. the games are amazing! Graphics are... ok i guess. but its old so no 3d(s) graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

pokemon firered

posted by sachiko (TAMPA, FL) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2007

the game firered does not save every time i play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by bigguy4 (WEST LAKE HILLS, TX) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

worst game I have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same

posted by mingtoe (PLANO, TX) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

This game seems like a repeat. It may have a different terrain and Pokémon, but it is still the same old storyline. Become the best! I gave it a 5, only because of the Pokémon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

e09r0ukbk,lkvijcjhbjnbvc

posted by wqedwrerwe (PLAINFIELD, IN) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

it sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »