Rent Pokemon Emerald for GBA
view large frontback

Pokemon Emerald

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.6

2196 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A big step for Pokémon games!

posted by htcat33 (WENATCHEE, WA) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Every Pokémon game I've ever played has had me begging to play something else after about an hour. Emerald was different. I played older Pokémon games before so the graphics stunned me. I love the easy game play and new places to explore. It had me guessing from the beginning so I was shocked. If you are a Pokémon fan be sure to rent this. If you haven't played Pokémon games this is a great game to start with. Pokémon is definitely on the right track!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this is the best Pokémon game so far!

posted by okamifan19 (STOCKTON, CA) Feb 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i really loved this Pokémon game! the graphics are awesome! it rains and it gets sunny, you can even see the shadow of clouds on the ground! the color is bright, and the Pokémon are awesome! you can even battle trainers more than once! i would reccomend this game to any Pokémon fan, or anybody that loves RPG games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Raquaza finally has his game. Die Groudon Kyogre!!

posted by Pugmug177 (ROCKAWAY PARK, NY) Aug 8, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2006

20 out of 28 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Every Pokémon game I played was ending boringly. Even Ruby and Sapphire stunk, but Emerald ruled!!!!! I love Raquaza, he defeats the two enemies, Groudon and Kyogre, plus you can catch him before facing the Elite Four, so it is much easier. And unlike Ruby and Sapphire, you have much harder things to do after the Elite Four. The Gym leaders are much harder, double battles with strangers, even better Pokémon, the Ultimate Pokémon Game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the few Pokemon trends which can never die

posted by KHMDark (COVINGTON, GA) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

We all remember the very first Pokemon games, Red, Blue, Green, and the oh so famous Yellow Versions. We all loved how original it was, on the number of Pokemon there were, and how it brought friends together for trading (and to use the ever so famous Copy Pokemon glitch through the trading). Now, about ten games later for the Gameboy, we have the Emerald Version, a remake from Ruby and Sapphire.

And let me tell you all, the greatness is still here.

It takes all of the good things from the first two games and makes them better. This version gives you more pokemon, pokemon that actually moves (as was seen on Cyrstal), and about twice as many Legendary Pokemon.

Of course, you choose if you want to play as Brendan (the male) or May (the Female), and it starts out much like a previous version did, by saving the Professor.

A lot is the same, except for the fact that you face both Team Magma and Aqua and has a more developed story.

Now, the only thing keeping me from giving this a 10 is the fact that you can't get all of the Pokemon unless you went to a Nintendo Event.

You CANNOT fight or catch four of the new Legendary Pokemon unless you were able to get to the event. And for a fifth Lenegdary Pokemon you need to mix your save from either Ruby or Sapphire that has a special item in one of the two previous games. But if you have either a Gameshark, Action Replay, or a Codebreaker, then you are able to get these five. For anyone who doesn't... well...

I would say that this would be a very good buy, at least a rent for anyone who loved the original game. This is a game for everyone to love and enjoy.

Now, you Gotta Go Catch them All!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the greatest pokemon game ever!

posted by dude123456 (HIGHLAND, CA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since May 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

POKEMON EMERALD VERSION is a great pokemon game with a ton of pokemon you can catch and train. you can get a mudkip, treeko, or torchic at the beginning of the game. I personally think it's the best pokemon game ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EMERALD guide

posted by treehooper (HILLROSE, CO) Feb 28, 2007

Member since Mar 2003

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Finally!!!!Rayquaza has his own game!!!!!Die groudon and kyoger!!!!Sorry if I being offensive to people who like them.I will give a little hint about the game.I will tell you about how get a glitch pokemon and I know how to get it.First you need to go to a Nintendo event and get the ticket to find mew.When you battle mew use just a normal poke ball and it will miss.but then shut the game off.(I forgot to tell you that you need to save in front of mew.)Then turn it on and battle mew.But mew will look like a wall.YOU HAVE TO USE A MASTER BALL YOUR FIRST TURN OR ELSE HE WILL KILL YOU IN 1 TURN!He is level 100 and his stats are maxed out.His name is MISSINGNO.Im not lying!!!When he comes out he has two moves:Transform and explosion.When he uses explosion,he does not die.Also,his contest stats are the max.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is SOOOO much better than Ruby and Sapphire

posted by Pokemaster (WILTON, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

20 out of 31 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I like how i can get Groudon, Kyogre, and Raquaza all at one time. Not seperatly. You can fight against Team magma AND Aqua. You get a cool green headband instead of the lame red one. You Get the battle frontier instead of just the Battle tower. You also get a cool collar on shirt.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pokemon: emerald

posted by sharks (KISSIMMEE, FL) May 30, 2006

Member since May 2006

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

the same with every pokemon game but it stands out from other gameboy games.There are a fair share of good graphics and a new story line and the BIG FLAW is that your allowed to catch raqwuaza the big green dragon on the cover before you beat the elite four.Has long has you save up the masterball that you have,the elite four is more or less of the elite TWO raqwauza pummels everthing accept ice pokemon and one hits enough but you can fix this problem by starting out with a treeko all in all the games good and hard but the elite four...come on raqwuaza alone can pummel 4 of them with a few hyper potions

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Brandy's Corner

posted by JIMMYSMACK (VANCOUVER, WA) Sep 25, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked how it had more Pokémon then the other versions. I also liked how I got a egg because the older versions never had an egg. The battles wear much tougher but the controls remained easy. One thing I did not like about this game was when I used flash it did not show the whole cave. In the older versions it would show the whole cave. If you love Pokémon you will love this game. If you don't like Pokémon, it is worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome. But...

posted by XBoxFan095 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 5, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's not available on GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by Kevin128 (Round Rock, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is freakin' sweet!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Emerald beats any other pokemon GBA game!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

POKEMON EMERALD GETS MORE AMAZING EVERY DAY! First of all, your in Hoen. Hoen has new pokemon, new characters, has pokemon contests, no Gary, has a battle frontier, even a fight between Raquaza Groundon and Kyogre! WHAT MORE COULD YOU WANT!?!?!?!? One little problem is that Ash once again isn't in it! WHAT IS THE MATTER WITH YOU?!?!??!?!? (Let him be part of the story for once!) ...Anyway later on in the game, you meet Team Aqua and Team Magma. The both awaken Groundon and Kyogre. They both have this EPIC fight! Then you have to get Raquaza to stop them! I want to capture Raquaza but I can't find him. Anyway this game is great! The best part is it's handheld! So you can take this epic game with you no matter where you are!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great addition, to the shiny series.

posted by Vizforte (FITCHBURG, WI) Sep 26, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Being a long-time Pokefan. I have played almost all the games. Crystal was the first to do something different than the other in it's same generation. Emerald follows up with this tradition. By adding in In-battle animations for the Pokémon, a new story involving both Teams from Ruby and Sapphire. Catchable Pokémon from the Johto region, such as Gligar.

As well as letting you catch Rayquaza before the
E4 (Elite four), and catching BOTH Groudon AND Kyogre after beating the Four. It is nice to see some Cut scenes in a Pokémon series. With Ruby and Sapphire letting down some players, having had lost any connection to Red, Blue, Yellow, Gold, Silver, and Crystal. Many fan's got let down by this. In Emerald you can get back some of your favorite Johto Pokémon, and if you play Fire Red, or Leaf Green you can get back even more.

SPOILER Alert!

Oh yeah, before i'm done. If you obtain a full Hoenn Dex. IE, have registered all the Pokémon in the Hoenn region, the Professor, will let you pick a starter from from the Johto series. Totodile, Cyndaquil, and Chikorita! SO there's a few upsides to playing thru Emerald. Good luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good game

posted by flame5029 (MESA, AZ) Jun 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game was really fun all Pokémon thru history are in this daycare contests even Rayquazza Groudon and Kyogre with all the starter pokemon if you even like rpgs you will love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Smellyft (PUTNAM VALLEY, NY) May 21, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

This game rocks my socks

The best game ever played if you guys want to get happy off a video game, this is the one.
I played it for about 1000 hours a day and still got my attention.

Buy it right now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Emerald Version

posted by Pokefan47 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 20, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game allows you to catch both groundon and kyogre!
Rate it 10 stars.... the title of the game even explains it, this game is a gem! Although it's hard to get the two pokemon, when it's......and you go to.....you can catch the ground pokemon, and when it's.......and you go to....you can catch that water pokemon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

the game is ok

posted by getbent (Chicago, IL) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i like the game, but the fact you can't run anywhere makes me not want to buy it. it isn't my favorite game, but it is one of my highest rated gba games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

lv up

posted by adrian5265 (BAKER, LA) May 14, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 22 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

never run in battel,put two pokemon in the daycare and battle that boy and girl with the camra to get money buy 56 hyper things and rivives to help beet the eltie four but battel till your pokemon our on lv 52 and have 6 pokemon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FUN!!!!!!!!!

posted by anime3443 (NORTH STREET, MI) Jun 19, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

bUt not aS FUn AS POKEMON RED!!!!!!!!!!!!!AND BLUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am sorry........but the first ones rock!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pokemon Emerald

posted by Pikalover (ROHNERT PARK, CA) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I didn't like this game because when I first played it was boring. It's just like Pokemon ruby and Saphire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon emerald

posted by scott5505 (PLANT CITY, FL) Jun 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

first time i played this game i loved it but once i got on gamefly i saw that i could not rent this game i was very disapointed i wish i could get this game form gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST Pokemon GBA game ever!

posted by theepicgama (COLUMBUS, GA) Sep 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I loved this game! Too bad you can never find it anymore. I miss playing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon emerald

posted by hair56 (JASPER, IN) Sep 24, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

the new pokemon is good but it has a little to it bit of a flaw to it but i still recmend it for pokemon lovers

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokémon emerald is the best game that came out....

posted by videos (ROCK SPRINGS, WY) Aug 10, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

This game is the best Pokémon game that came
out.I've played all pokemon games and i know that this game is great.This game should be the best game that came out. and it has even more great pokemon then before.pokemon emerald also has new legends witch has raqauza.I think that this game should get a 9.6 for the rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokémon Emerald Review

posted by shyguy (OVIEDO, FL) May 18, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

This game was better than Ruby/Sapphire, for certain. I was impressed by the more challenging levels and Pokémon I had to face off against the Gym leaders and the Elite Four/Champion. The game was pretty cool to allow so many types of legendaries you get to pick from. Excellent feature with the trainer card and all, and I enjoyed rebattling the Gym leaders at a tougher state of challenge. I became bored with the Battle Frontier though, mostly because it just seemed to take forever to do some of the Battle Gyms. Overly, a good game for something to do. Glad I was able to play it. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse