Rent Pokemon Conquest for DS
view large frontback

Pokemon Conquest

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

706 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just okay

posted by capthavic (ATHOL, MA) Sep 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all I'd just like to say that I have no idea why there are so many reviews complaining about not being able to clear save data. It took me less than five min to look up how to start a new game so there is no excuse. In case you are too lazy to look it up yourself just press and hold x+y+a+b at the copyright screen before it cuts to the title screen.

As for the actual game its a decent turn based strategy game that uses pokemon instead of armies. If you've ever played a pokemon game before then you will already know all about how certain types are better against others and such. The main difference is that you recruit warriors who use just one pokemon each and they have one main attack and one special action that they can use once a battle. It's pretty simple and not unlike games such as Final fantasy tactics. In between battles you have a region map that lets you move warriors to different castles, recruit warriors, and other stuff to aid your war effort.

If you are a huge pokemon fan then you'll probly love this game, but personally I found it dull and repetitive. There wasn't much strategy apart from the usual "use the type the enemy is weak against" and recruiting as many of those types as possible before a fight. Each map does offer some twist (shortcuts between two points, rivers that can't be crossed, etc.) but they did little to change the standard taking turns kicking each other in the shin. Maybe it gets deeper farther in but I honestly just so bored I didn't want to play anymore.

It's not a bad game per say and if you love pokemon that may be enough, but give it a rental first for sure and see if its for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, interesting, different.

posted by MegO (MADISON, WI) Jun 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I've been a long time strategy and Pokemon fan. FFtactics is one of mt top 10 games of all time, I've beaten every Pokemon game published in English. Heard about this game thought it crazy, weird and moronic. Then I played the game, and has a blast! It isn't like other Pokemon games, and honestly you could rename every creature and dissociate it from the "Pokemon" franchise entirely without changing any gameplay. It's Pokemon in name, slight tradition and art only.

That being said, I still thoroughly enjoy this game! "Linking" with new Pokemon, collecting new subordinates and conquering new castles is fun! The base gameplay doesn't really change much, but it's presented in such a way that it's still enjoyable. A bit more depth in the skills and ability system would have made it better. Having a grass/bug poke that only does a bug move, yet still takes the damage of a grass is annoying. But still workabl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new beginning for Pokemon

posted by jak1998 (AURORA, CO) Jun 25, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game is some thing new for Pokemon.In this game you don't just form a team of 6 pokemon but a whole army.The classic 6 holds true for how many can enter battle with you.

Graphics7/10
The graphics have some 3d pop like other Pokemon games but mainly just 2d design.

Gameplay 10/10
This is a truly fun game.Unlike other pokemon games you need more than high levels and type advantages,although those are useful here too.This game requires strategy the one thing most other games from this series lack.This game shows extreme similarities to the game series Fire Emblem. In this game pokemon have to be in a certain place to have their attack hit and you sometimes you will need control banners for victory.

Storyline 8/10
The story of this game is not in depth but the way characters act and talk towards each other is a lot better than most games of this series.you will learn about a new type of pokemon trainer know as a warrior.

Buy or Rent- I recommend that you rent this game to see if you like its style or not and then you can beat it and send it back,or you can buy it because there seems to be more to this game than just conquering all kingdoms. ;) Thank You for reading my review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

For the Hardcore, make sure you have free time!

posted by Syco1316 (ANNISTON, AL) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Anyone who thinks Pokemon is for children simply do not play them, or if they do then it is in sporadic burst and they are not very good at them. It's a Weird blend of Casual and hardcore all at the same time. this game leans a lot more towards the Hardcore. A lot of (What seems like) grinding. the battles play out like chess, a lot of thinking and time and strategy goes into each battle. This is one of my top 3 Pokemon Games Ever! It's Definitely the best Spin-Off! Give it a try, if your reading this then your renting it anyways, if you love it like I did, click the Keep button like I did as well and then Enjoy your Summer!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Pokemon Spin-Off

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The great thing about the Pokemon games is that they create their own world better than any other game I've ever played. People say games like Skyrim do a good job of dropping the player in the middle of their world for them to discover and learn the lore of that world. In my opinion the core Pokemon titles do the best job of this than any other game I've ever played. Although while the spin-offs have kept the collecting aspect of the Pokemon series' main games, they missed the aspect that connects the player to the world. Pokemon Conquest fixes that for the most part and is, in my opinion, the best Pokemon spin-off ever made. I don't generally like tactical strategy games, but Pokemon Conquest was simple enough and kept many of the gameplay elements from the core Pokemon games keeping the learning curve easy and allowing people not very familiar with the genre to get into this easier rather than spending hours learning the basics of the game. I still think the core Pokemon games do a better job of creating memorable characters and getting the player invested in the Pokemon mythos, but this doesn't forget about that completely either.

The art style was a very nice change of pace too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tactics fans and Pokemon fans rejoice!

posted by thatsabigtiger (CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA) Jul 16, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Probably the best Pokemon spinoff ever made!
Fans of Final Fantasy tactics and Ogre Battle will love this game! If you like tactics games or Pokemon guys you're in for a real treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Spin-off EVER

posted by DanNaruto1 (CHANNAHON, IL) Jun 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Ranger, Pokemon Mystery Dungeon, Pokemon Snap. Pokemon Conquest is probably the greatest Pokemon Spin-off ever made. Between conquering kingdoms, linking Pokemon to become your friends, and the clever strategy system, this game is simply amazing. There is extra side stories to beat after you complete the main story. Which is nice, but I wish you could use your character instead of other characters, but that's just me, other people might like using other characters, so it's really up to you. This game shouldn't be missed by any Pokemon fan wanting to try somthing new. This game is defiantly worth it. 9 out of 10

This review was written by Daniel Reid of
Sacred Dragon reviews

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by appmaker44 (GERMANTOWN, TN) Jul 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I dont have enough money to keep the game now but when i do im renting it again and keeping it. Thats how much i like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The game was interesting but not my cup of tea

posted by Tatsunohouou (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Sep 11, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The storyline is intreaging, the problem is the controls and the game play itself didn't lend well to first time users. I wanted to like the game but it just didn't seem to fit well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

new game

posted by bertram504 (SOUTH JORDAN, UT) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

there is no way to delete saved data

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pokemon fan but...

posted by anna259831 (NAPLES, FL) Jun 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

5 out of 25 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

So boring. The battle concept is weak. The only thing good about this game is the graphics. The only people who could enjoy this would bee 7 and under.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

rent to see first

posted by cobraking (CLARKS SUMMIT, PA) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

as a fan of turn based strategy games i thought this game was very good but i stopped playing after 7 hours b/c i came to the realization that as a completionist i would need to buy it to get the full experience. i recommend renting it so you can get an idea of whether or not you want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a strategy rpg for pokemon = sucky and horrible

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) May 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

i was honestly expecting this game to b really good but it turned out to b horrible. its really confusing and it doesn't make sense. all u do is battle for more kingdoms.

this game = a waste of time to rent

but rent it if u like pokemon

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pokeman conquest

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Shallow and boring conquest...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Apr 1, 2013

Member since May 2010

Every pokemon has only ONE ability, and when you factor in the fact that two different pokemon would end up with the same ability and the result is a generic clone of the franchises that they are based on.. Only two hundred types of pokemon are available and then you find out that both Tepig, and charmander have the exact same ability(I am NOT impressed.....)! Why would anyone want two different pokemon to use that EXACT same ability? It sounds like they were ijnvolved in cutting corners... This game doesn't feature the use of Pokeballs, and each pokemon only has one ability, which is copied by another pokemon... To get New pokemon a ONE button guitar hero minigame is produced the more times you connect the timing the more effective the conversion process... I miss pokeballs... Music seems out of place.... Man! this game is such a boring and shallow let down... Try before you buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I CAN TAKE OVER THE WORLD

posted by 1EP1C (SPRINGFIELD GARDENS, NY) Feb 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game was very AWSOME I got to take over different kingdoms and recruit alleys to join me on my journey to take over all the regions and I unleashed THE LEGENDARY POKEMON all I can say is perfect game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Grrrrrinder!

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

I got this with a skeptical expectation. The link grinding is tedious like, and it's not in 3D. Fact is, I suppose I can't even say 'Hey this is fun.' Another fact is, I still haven't sent it back, and have played it everyday since I've had it... It's addictive and as entertaining as a phone app during odd times of the day. I guess I can't go any further than to say worth the rent, but its a tactics type game, so people who want action and have no patience should not play this. I'm probably gonna purchase it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Mind Is Blown

posted by JonniePoodles (COLVILLE, WA) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Although most Pokémon fans would be a little shaken by a Fire Emblem mash-up with their all time favorite franchise. This game serves up a shocking semi realistic battle system with silly characters. I have to be honest. How fun this game would be was not my first thought heading into game play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

this game

posted by drkonecharlie (WINDSOR, VA) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the game was a good one only if you like both strategic and Pokemon games it could be better in recruiting Pokemon and warriors but overall a good game ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

ok but not great

posted by trying11 (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 14, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Not good enough for pokemon fan but too boring to challenge RPG games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

help plz?

posted by catheal (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 29, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

anyone able to tell me how to rest the saved data?
i like to play a new game and make my own proggerss not go off someone elses choices
little help plz?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »