Rent Pokemon Colosseum for GC
view large frontback

Pokemon Colosseum

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.0

1127 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Re-Living the Pokemon Experience!

posted by vg2007 (SUGAR LAND, TX) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Wow! I haven't played Pokemon for years since it was on the GameBoy! First of all, THE GAME IS NOT JUST FOR 9-YEAR OLD KIDS!! It's a great game for those who like RPG and seeing bizarre creatures battle each other with insane abilities!

This isn't like the other Pokemon games on the GameBoy where you try to become a Pokemon master. The storyline is way much better and has a more Pokemon-related purpose.

Basically, you play as a teenage kid who WAS part of an evil organization bent on taking over the world by corrupting normal Pokemon into out-of-control, demoniac Pokemon called Shadow Pokemon. You leave the organization (or rather busted your way out and explode the darn place) while stealing a machine that can capture Pokemon right out of a trainer during a battle.
The whole point of the game is to stop the evil organization, and try to capture as many Shadow Pokemon as you can.

The graphics are pretty awesome especially the way the Pokemon look. The 3-D graphics of all the Pokemon are simply stunning!

The gameplay is similar to the GameBoy's Pokemon and the N64's Pokemon Stadium. However, the only difference is that now you can have a Pokemon duo battle where you get to send 2 Pokemon out to the battlefield at the same time. This is where you may have to form your own strategic team of Pokemon because every Pokemon has their own special effect, and if you combine their effects well, you may have a powerful combination right in front of you!

Music is AWESOME, especially the boss battles. The music combines well with the theme of the game and still has that Pokemon feel to it.

However, the downside is that, unlike the other GameBoy Pokemon games, you can't catch any wild Pokemon on the field and use them. You can only capture Shadow Pokemon during a Trainer Battle, and use only them. And it's really tedious trying to purify your Shadow Pokemon in the..."place".

All in all, it's a great game for those who are and used to be Pokemon fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Snag em all!!!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jun 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

AMAZING, that's what this game is! Really great!! See your a guy who is in this team called Team Snag Em. One day you steal the snag machine and meet a girl who can see evil pokemon. Then you both have to stop this weird guy named Mirror B. (I think he's stupid.) And you have to purify the dark pokemon called shadow pokemon. Along the way when you snag them from the evil trainers and open the shadow pokemons hearts. (I don't mean like really open them! I just mean turn them good again.) Also you can enter these contests to win stuff. BUT THEN LATER ON! You have to enter the colosseum and win the contest YAAAAAAAAAY! ...So rent the game and see what I'm talking about.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Bad disc

posted by ShadowLugi (WICKLIFFE, OH) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Dear NiteCourt,

It must have been a bad disc because I have played mine on the Wii. Your welcome for the info.

Sicerely,

ShadowLugi

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOOD

posted by Dominick (O BRIEN, FL) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

AWSOME GAME GRATE GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This is a very good game

posted by theprince7 (HARTFORD, CT) May 8, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Pokemon: Colosseum is a very good game, the pokemon are sooo real. It's like there right next to me. but the only thing I hated bout this game is that the story line is bogus and you really can't catch pokemon. Other than that this is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

story mode was weird and boring.....

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) May 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 17 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

i honestly hated this game, i just played when i was bored. the story mode is messed up. when you have to go back and forth to do random junk like buy 2 or 3 Pokémon balls. but really, i`m not a Pokémon fan so you might have a different opinion. i {if your not a Pokémon fan} 42% recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by ruben133 (SANTA MARIA, CA) Aug 17, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

gamefly can you please make this game renable again i would really like to play it please or at least sell it so i can buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pokemon Coloseum

posted by pokefactman (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game was pretty awesome. But I was disappointed. First off there aren't any Pokemon from it's time (Hoenn region). That's it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It looks like fun

posted by 13GamerB (ALLIANCE, OH) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

But silly me tried to rent it, but then maybe buy it. I don't like how GameFly taunted me with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best pokemon game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by supashort (COPPEROPOLIS, CA) Aug 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

pokemon colosseum is just a great game so much fun...... the only downside is that you can only catch shadow pokemon i wish they would make a new one where you can catch wild pokemon and you can get the hoenn starter other then that great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game

posted by Dakota420 (HINES, OR) Feb 12, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

this game has great graphics its way easy to learn a wide variety of pokemon and if you a pokemon lover u will absolutely adore this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Shadow Pokémon rock

posted by jacobblast (BELLE VERNON, PA) Feb 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

you'll master balls after you beat mirror b you beat 3 boss first enti next suecune Finley rico. also time flute commen celibe witch can open Pokémon hart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a little too tough

posted by pokeking (GROVETOWN, GA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

hard i won it about ten days ago for newer pokemon playes its a challenge

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

cheesy :C

posted by Camilla (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

Pokemon is C-O-O-L but is bad because is really boring the story mode cause u just catch black aura pokemon --
0

also when the poke mon attacks they don't look there attacking

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

must i say?

posted by XXXGhOsT (HACIENDA HEIGHTS, CA) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

please...this game is soo boring. i really hated the pokemons being shadow or whatever! i kept using shadow rush or whatever it was called. i really dont want to say...its too boring..tooo too boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »