Rent Pokemon Battle Revolution for Wii
view large frontback

Pokemon Battle Revolution

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.5

2855 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Battle Revolution

posted by Catch1bullet (CLYDE, OH) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Truly a Pokemon revolution. This game puts the A in awesome.

Pros:
Epic
The "easy to master" feel
The BATTLES

Cons:
Small lack of control
Only super epic if you have pokemon diamond or pearl

An A Overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Flashy; Nothing More

posted by herpofool (WHITEFISH, MT) May 11, 2012

Member since May 2012

I remember the days of the gameboy and the N64 as Pkmn Stadium was one of the best games in the entire series, with an in-depth guide to battling for newbies and veterans alike, and an unbelievable amount of usable poke'mon to select from, as well as the ability to use your own gameboy poke'mon to battle in it. When I got Pkmn BR, I was hoping for the same thing to happen; I didn't get it.
It isn't too bad, honestly; you're allowed to send all your poke'mon from your DS games (Diamond, Pearl, Platinum, Heartgold, Soulsilver) to equip to mulitple different trainer personalities, and with the huge amount of poke'mon being over 450 is a pretty big pill to take; lot's of variety. However, the character creator really is pretty limited as you can choose from only 6 character palates, and have to unlock un-alterable costume pieces.
The gameplay is the same as any other poke'mon game, and has been sped up from the last 3D adventures on the Gamecube; faster battles plus even more flashy animations leads to brilliant battles; fighting against other players is a definitive must if you can. The WiFi battles have somewhat good connection, although by the time of this writing it's most likely the online battles have halted.
The huge problem with this game, however, is its lack of substance. You can battle-and only battle, usually in stadiums with the same generic rules of elimination; defeat this many trainers to get to the leader, rinse and repeat. New players will need a real player to learn the ropes, as there's no learning curve here. The rental poke'mon for those who don't have a DS game to use are also very limited and basically impossible to get anything at all, as the way to get rentals is you'll need to return constantly to the 1st stadium to trade in your old poke'mon for your defeated opponent's poke'mon, which will usually be worse than your own. It'll really be bad if you find yourself playing after having beaten the game this way.
Final: only for the big time f

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Why so limited?

posted by 13GamerB (ALLIANCE, OH) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I have a DS, but let alone having a WORKING one, you have to buy another game, make progress on that, then transfer them so you can fight 3-D with no adventure to it. 3-D seems fun, but when you gett stuck with the presets, go find another 3-D pokemon game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Room for Improvement or an Awesome Sequel

posted by Bori (PEYTON, CO) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first aspect to notice about PBR is its graphics. It was definitely a great idea to keep the 3D battling characteristic in a home console Pokemon game. My reason to first have wanted it was the setting of moving PKMN, running or gesturing to attack. It’s quite refreshing from moving pictures. Most colors of the designed pokemon stay true, and you can even see some texture, although when you look up your generation 1 PKMN, they all seem to be made with less effort than the others Ex: Tauros looking as if he trotted in from PKMN Stadium. Most other PKMN go through a nice Poke-make over when transferred to PBR.
If Nintendo makes a game with characteristics PBR lacked, it would be awesome!
With the custom trainer, you are limited. Only certain ‘types’ of trainers can wear certain things. Like a ‘Young Trainer’ can’t wear the same shirt as a ‘Cool Trainer.’
Another thing to be improved is when you knock an opponent’s Pokemon out. Remember in the handheld games, it would ask you if you wanted to change PKMN? Not in PBR
The removal of a certain battle type would do wonders. Fortune Battle, a new system of picking Pokemon, frustrates me and most likely tons of other Poke-fans to no end! An almost random selection of your own, and your opponent’s PKMN is basically what happens. You and the AI can get each other’s PKMN. Basically, your team strategy is dumped. You usually end up getting most of the AI’s weak PKMN, while they get your powerful PKMN that have good moves. You got Molly’s Clampearl! Molly got your Palkia! Now at this point, you want to smash your head in the TV. If you somehow come out victorious, you have to do the same thing in 5 more battles of the same kind. Since this (mis)Fortune Battle puts you at a huge disadvantage, it becomes the worst road block, because you can only move on in the game if you beat this arena. Please Nintendo, never do this to us again.
If Nintendo took fans’ suggestions, they could make a much more satisfying experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it!!!!!!!!!

posted by pokemonmaster (REDDING, CA) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game and for a few reasons one you can us your DS pokemon two awesome graphics and three the music was good but I did have one problem I felt the one player mode was way to easy. All in all love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME GAME

posted by petuniarobin (MURDO, SD) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I got this game less than a week ago and I am almost done with it. It might be easy to finish but it is worth it because it is very fun for any pokemon game lovers, but the pokemon look very fake and plasticy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waist of time

posted by Suffern187 (WASHINGTON, DC) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I’ve played this over a friend house.
I didn’t like it much and this is why.
The pokemon games that was on N64, you at least was able to pick what pokemon you want and it was fun battling.

But this time for whatever reason.
You have to beat same place twice just get ONE rental pass with 6 pokemon on it.
All of the pokemon on their hardly have any good attacks -.-
For whatever reason wii believes every person on a DS and Wii cause you can only have good pokemon by taking your pokemon off from your DS to put it on this game. This game Sucks >.>

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best of the best

posted by pokedude (ACTON, MA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have played a lot of Pokemon games over the years but none as good as this one. the graphics are amazing and its wifi enables so you can put Pokemon from your d/p into the game. you can also battle others online which i thought was the best part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could've been better.

posted by EvenFrow (EUREKA, CA) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

I liked the graphics and all, but I really didn't like the gameplay so much. There were some parts where the game just didn't feel very smooth. It wasn't a terrible game, but it also wasn't too great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHAT THE HECK NINTENDO !!!!!!!!! 2

posted by nickk4 (LEWISVILLE, TX) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

i thout the 2 prequals wher AWFUL!!!!!!!! but when 4th gen 3D came out i bouat it what a whast of 40$ i wanted adventure not stuck in coleseom 4 the rest of the game its AWFUL SKIP IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only for Pokemon fans

posted by JohnnyRX (FAIRVIEW, TN) Aug 15, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

This was a good game for me, but only because I have a copy of Pokemon Platinum. If one doesn't have one of the DS Pokemon games, this will be a very forgetful experience. The whole point of it is to brin your handheld Pokemon to the bigscreen, and if you don't have handheld Pokemon, you're pretty much a fish out of water. My time with it was good, though. Crisp graphics and animations really made my Pokemon pop. The sound and the announcer weren't the best in the world though. It was a tough game as well, but a little short. Overall, a good game for a Pokemon fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

4 pokemon fans~

posted by Kami123 (CHELTENHAM, PA) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game was awsome! I didnt like the fact that you had only a spicific type of clothes to wear though) and i really hated the announcer too he wuz annoyin. but the graphics and the game itself was awsome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by werty30 (BROKEN BOW, NE) Jul 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

An amazing game, very fun pokemon console game really, my favrorite of all pokemon discs. I own a unplayable copy of the game, that is why it is in my gameQ. A fun game, I hope more people can and will enjoy Pokemon Battle Revolution becuase it is a pokemon revolution.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon reveiw...from a child's eyes

posted by singergirl (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I'm no critic, but as crazy for pokemon games as I am, this was practically the perfect game for me. The graphics were sweet, the quality very high, and the battles heated to an epic level! It was awesome! My mom, the account holder, doesn't understand pokemon, but I loved it, and it's all good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I LOVE IT!! :D

posted by Davis1 (Lakeport, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is for pokemon fans i think the best part is the opprotunity to fight people online i used action replay to get the ultimate pokemon team the team is empoleon torterra infernape dialga giritina and arceus i reccomend this for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The DS/Wii Pokemon Glory

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is the first EVER game for pokemon on the wii where you can COPY YOUR POKEMON FROM DS TO WII!!!! Then use them! (Duh...)
This game has many different types of battle, and you can also use rental pokemon (Like the N64 ver.) if you don't have a pokemon ds game. But if you have one of these games:

Pokemon Diamond and Pearl
Pokemon Platinum
Pokemon HeartGold and SoulSilver
Then your set! So read, set, beat the crud out of them!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

kinda good

posted by COOLTOAST (UPLAND, CA) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2006

i admit this game was boring just battling i expected more like the old gamecube pokemon games i hate the waterfall colisseum so its um.... a little good i should say (not really) so yeah i dont like it that much

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awsome!

posted by ryan7926 (KITTANNING, PA) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game so far,is the best pokemon strategy I have ever played.
you can use pokemon you copy from your nintendo DS games,
copy them on the game. Instead of using the weak pokemon the give you at the beginning of the game. the is also fun because you can go
and use the Wi-Fi connection and bttle people around the world.
so, create your own caracter and make your way to the BATLLE ROYAL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good grafics

posted by geoffery (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 4, 2010

Member since Jan 2009

The game has good graf.s but unless you gest want to battle with no traveling and no pokemon cathing this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst One Yet/EVER

posted by Tmac23 (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Jan 28, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This was one of the most terrible game I have ever played.. Im so glad i used gamefly instead of buying this cuz I would have been seriously madd. Dnt buy play rent borrow from a friend if you still have somewhat a passion for Pokemon

All you do is fight no training, leveling up, evoling nothing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Don't rent.

posted by zakman (LEBEC, CA) Dec 14, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

This is the dumbest excuse of a game I've ever ran across.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon 3d perfected?

posted by myobuu (WILMETTE, IL) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you are a big pokemon fan this is the game for you with customizable trainers, beautiful stadiums and tough challengers and unlockable gifts for diamond and pearl makes this a great game
bonus it doesnt old with the much needed wifi battling feature

cheaters beware this game can tell the difference between a real pokemon and one gotten with a cheating device

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool

posted by estevato (RIO RICO, AZ) Nov 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

kind of disapointed

really good graphics

you should look for mario kart wii smash bros brawl legend of zelda twilight princess

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ugh!

posted by Band0Nerd (ADAMSVILLE, AL) Sep 20, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It was okay, it has alot of POINTLESS battles. Most of the pokemon SUCK! Ehh... About a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pokemon battle

posted by Horgel (PATCHOGUE, NY) Sep 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

just as the previous pokemon battle type games. gets extremely boring and repetitive after first few battles. lost interest during first sitting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse