Rent Pokemon Battle Revolution for Wii
view large frontback

Pokemon Battle Revolution

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.5

2856 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Only worth it with a DS

posted by NickSaeger (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

Like the title says this game is only worth it if you have a DS. I don't and I made the mistake of buying it. It's okay, but without Diamond or Pearl Pokémon it is very limited in fun or options. SO like I said I made a mistake, but no one else has to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

PBR

posted by ichigo1080 (URBANDALE, IA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

even though i am more of a bleach fan then anything this game was okay.I dont play much pokemon games.i did play them on gameboy but thats it.graphics are great,gameplay doesnt have much realistic control,but i did find it worth my time.i do not own a ds so that takes away most of the advantages.but being able to customize my character and fight online was fun.once i get a ds and diamond and pearl i will probly get this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I am an adult and should have known better!

posted by JMRain99 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Oct 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

I should have realized that Pokémon would not have been a game for me. Pokémon came around a bit after my time and I got to honestly say that I the gameboy Pokémon game interested me. I was hoping for an experience that in some way resembled that;...sadly, instead I had an experience that was worthy of collecting drool in my mouth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

No Fun, lame kids game.

posted by linuxmint (OKLAHOMA CITY, OK) Oct 15, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

I hate it and my 13 yr old does too (he used to love anything pokemon) maybe we've just outgrown pokemon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun for the first hour....or so

posted by JobShaddow (CHANDLER, AZ) Oct 15, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

If you really like Pokemon, and you've played all the games...then this will entertain you for about an hour. Then you get bored out of your mind because there is only one thing to do. Battle. Over and over and over with no breaks. There are no side quests or mini games or anything. Just battling. If you like that sort of thing, it's great. But if you liked any of the other games where you actually DO something other than battle,you won't like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by tracy836 (LEESBURG, FL) Oct 12, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I got this game for my 8 year old son. He loves the game he had a great time playing it, problem is, we've had it 2 weeks and he has already beat the game, so im glad we didn't buy it, but he did really have a good time playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not a fun game

posted by gameguy200 (O FALLON, MO) Oct 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2004

For this game is not fun. For the only thing that you have to do is to press the a botton. I can do more in golf than in Pokemon. When you frist start the game, it will say a little thing, and then you go into a coluselm, and then you battle. There is no adventrue, action, or even a RPG game like the nindendo DS. If you guys like pokemon, then rent the game frist.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Check it out

posted by Gh0stface (NEWARK, DE) Sep 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

Pokémon Battle Revolution is an awesome game granted that you have the other components needed to use the game to its full capacity. With the nintendo ds and either pokemon game you can create your own gym as well as fight for other people's badges at their gym. Without the special tune-ups your really wasting your time buying or even renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is boring!

posted by Ryoma12 (VALLEJO, CA) Sep 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

i thought its gonna be fun! but its so boring if i were u .. just play diamond/ pearl its way better than thhis!!! im sorry but im just telling u the truth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad!

posted by GonzalJ13 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 1, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

good game,fun,but too short,and easy to beat.
i beat the game in 2 hours,and with no saves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old Pokémon

posted by gamelady (CHESTERTON, IN) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Got this for nephew who was really excited about it. However he had problems loading his Pokémon from the Diamond & Pearl games. Other than that he played for a day, and lost interest and said it was the same old stuff. He does recommend it for people who are new to Pokémon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by Shadow12 (FOUNTAIN, CO) Aug 26, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

This game was awesome i loved the graphics and color{but the graphics are kinda blocky}and with a diamond or pearl version you can get your pokemon in the game.Then theres wifi.I loved wifi and I think that wifi connection is faster after every time you play.Point is that this game was really fun but didnt have much to do with the wii remote.8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Finally!

posted by Soniccloud (SOMERSET, KY) Aug 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

Finally there is actually a good Pokémon battle game since Pokémon stadium.
They did a really good job!
The graphics are beautiful and you would not be able to get a more realistic Pokémon battle unless you hired some scientist to genetically engineer some real Pokémon for you!
The did a great job with camera angles and cinematic' s.
The DS to Wii compatibility is awesome and online is great!
A must have for Pokémon fans!
I will probably pick this one up when the price drops.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

To simple

posted by CecilX (PETERSBURG, VA) Aug 22, 2007

Member since May 2007

The game has very nice graphics, and the import feature is nice as well. Unfortunately what I played of the game it was very repetitive and not interesting. One night of play was all it took to get the feel for the game.

If you are a Pokemon fan rent this title. If you have a child who is a fan of the series buy this game. They will play it with their friends and enjoy it. But for the average gamer (who's age group is 15+) this isn't for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not so much of a revolution

posted by yoshigamer (VISALIA, CA) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

the pokemon seris goes on i was expecting more from this game yeah sure it has wi-fi connection and nice stages but please i need more action. it really isn't a revolution

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Try harder nintendo!!

posted by Stevester (LINCOLN, NE) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game could have been so great, yet nintendo decided to rush it and it came out complete poo, or near-poo. Here's whats good about this game. The graphics the pokemon look cool and were very nicely animated based on the wiis graphic capabilities I would give the graphics a 9 out of 10. Difficulty I would give an 8. At some times I breezed through stadiums and other times I played for hours cussing at the screen because it was too hard. When you make pokemon hard for me it is actually more enjoyable. Also online gaming was fun and had little kinks the wait time would get somewhat ridiculous but never too bad.
Ok with all the good stuff out of the way lets get to the bad. First thing I notice right away is the annoying announcer with about three phrases, I swear if I hear "Immolated by blast burn!!!" one more time I'll freak! I know there is an option to turn the announcer off but then you would be stuck with the repetitive music and lack luster pokemon cries. Why didn't nintendo give the characters voices?? I understand there are a jillion different pokemon but they could of just had the trainers say generic things like "You can do it!!" or something. The last major complaint I have about this game is that the pokemon moves look horrible.. and when they get hit by the moves they look even more horrible.. My favorite was when you do a ko on an opponent and their pokemon is still dancing around until they notice that they have no health and they finally "faint" if they are going to get ko'ed then change the animation you lazy butts!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

What are they doing?!

posted by teejay13 (GREENVILLE, NC) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

This game is rushed, repetitive, and basically not good. They threw it together just to get it out there. There's no mini games or anything to do but battle and buy different outfits for your trainer. The pokemon have no texture to their bodies, so they look no better then there gamecube versions.

I'd like to say it's just a glorified version of the first pokemon stadium, but I think stadium was better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The graphics rock out loud!!!

posted by ryan410 (BOLIVAR, MO) Aug 1, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

The main thing that I can say about this game is the graphics and the fact that if you use a physical move, then your Pokémon went over and attacked them directly. I was really disappointed that you can't move or level your Pokémon up or even choose if you want to be a girl or a boy. My favorite beginner's pass has the girl, so I have to be stuck with being a girl. And the other thing is that you can't even choose your person's name, you can only choose the name of your file but that isn't your person's name which made me kinda mad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

REALLY FUN GAME BEST POKEMON YET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by FreshP (BOULDER, CO) Jul 19, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

i really liked this game it was way more realistic and had great ways to catch pokemon. the wii part made it way BETTER EVery pokemon fan needs this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Many cool firsts, but ultimately weak.

posted by Paradise23 (OXNARD, CA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Worth renting only if you have diamond or pearl, the fact that this game offers a lot of firsts for the Wii makes it more exciting. The game feels very shallow and rushed though. The graphics aren't nearly as good as i thought they would be. Many of the battle animations look no different than the N64 versions. The pokemon still stand in there "spot" instead of running around trying to make the battle more intense and realistic. No effort in that spot. Instead of pokemon fainting right after they fall, they run back to their spot to then faint. Very robotic. I guess you can say that if you were to compare this game to what it could have been if more time and effort was spent on it, it would really suck.

So for a 50$ price tag, low depth and no extra features makes this game feel very very weak. But, the fact that it is pokemon little kids will love it anyways. It has it's fun moments i am still enjoying it but it could've been way cooler. It feels more like an expansion of the DS games than a full fledged game. It is nice to have if you feel like battling online or battling your friends on a big screen, but like i said very shallow.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

got a battle them all.. with new pokemon!

posted by halokid (CANTON, OH) Jul 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

This game is only about 1 sole thing. That is battling Pokémon. Without Pokémon diamond/pearl this game is basically nothing. Same as Pokémon stadium for the nintendo 64. except for u cannot choose from Pokémon in the game. you would either have to use the horrendous rental passes or have diamond/pearl for a good team!

Now the graphics are not very good. Sure it'll give some the "oh my god my brand new Pokémon are 3d!" feeling but it'll leave some gamers wondering why they look so weak. The fire from flamethrower is horrendous! looks almost like cardboard flames from those fake fires.
Online is also bad. Say what you want sure it's the first on line game for wii but it's still bad. Exchanging friend codes is hard and most people don't remember they're whole friend codes so friends sometimes cant even play with one another! Random battle is fun but leaves you with the feeling that more could have been done as you will find many players have a team full of super powerful leg end aries. You can both agree to exchange passes so you have their team to use but... by using their team it makes it less fun for every1 else.

Basically only get this game if you're a die hard Pokémon fan. Because then you'll get a blast out of playing online. For others just rent it and get the rare unlockable surfing pikachu and save yourself $50.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good for pokeMANIACS!! horrible for anyone else

posted by HerofTIme (HILLSBOROUGH, NJ) Jul 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

Poketopia's neon lights and city sounds attract many trainers, but I for one am not falling into the giant fly zapper. Graphically, this game is fantastic! But, this game's beauty is only skin deep. Within the Candy-Coated world of Pokemon there is battling. This combat is usually served with a side order of story, and some collecting (for zest). This pokemon atrocity is not a game. It's a rushed off the market after-thought to pokemon Diamond and Pearl. Now, do not get me wrong, I like Diamond and Pearl, I own Diamond, and am having fun with Battle Revolution fighting my friends in DS Battle Mode.
But, thats about it. DS Battle Mode is the only reason to buy this game. Wi-fi is in essence, a cake baked in too hot an oven. They rushed it. Maybe Wii is not ready for Wi-fi, and maybe the Wi-fi just is'nt good, but the online play is all about battling! Battling is the heart of Battle Revolution, and without a villainous gang to stop or a world to save, there is no motivation to battle. With no motivation battling is no fun. Nintendo and the Pokemon Company designed this game to draw in gullible 8-year-olds. Im 14 and I like Diamond version, because it has substance. There is nothing in Revolution. If this game was cheaper, or even came as a pack-in with Pokemon Bundle, its score would rise to maybe a 7 or 8, the cost of this game is not worth it. Thanks to GameFly, you can try it before you buy it. Pokemon Battle Revolution 5 out 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Gotta Catch Em All....Well Maybe not..

posted by jrb9803 (MORROW, GA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

This game has been hyped since the Wii's release in November, i will admit i was very hyped up about Nintendo going online..but sadly if you dont have Pearl or Diamond for the DS its about as fun as a info comercial..with that out of the way..the game does deliever in a lot of ways..there is a in deft fighting system(ie every other Pokémon game) with multiplayer using your DS as a controller..as well as the online play that lets you choose between fighting a friend or someone on the net. takes a little bit to load but it works out great...all in all if you have Pearl or Diamond rent it..If you dont stay away at all cost

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Way WAy WAy To repetitive

posted by SternFan (POWELL, OH) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

First of all people are giving this game way too much credit.
The game is nothing but a pretty version of Pokémon stadium. Hmm.... that game wasn't a quick money scam at all. If you absolutely love the Pokémon universe check it out. But for anyone that isn't 12, or living with their mother(Just kidding). Don't come near this thing. It works for a quick poke fix, if you've finished Diamond and Pearl. But has no longevity, the lack of adventure mode really sucks this game dry. A two might be generous. However the online works pretty well especially since friend codes are absent, but then again no voice chat what so ever. Hmm... NAH!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Reveiw

posted by mr1234 (MCDONOUGH, GA) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

This game is extremely fun, especially for major Pokemon fans, but it is repetitive, and the story line is quick. The wi-fi, the DS connection, and graphics make up for this though. If the game had all of that stuff, plus a story line somewhat like coliseum, I hold have given it a 10. Great game though. I would suggest for big pokemon fans to buy it, but for someone just looking to beet it, i would suggest just renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse