Rent Pokemon Battle Revolution for Wii
view large frontback

Pokemon Battle Revolution

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.5

2856 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pokemon reveiw...from a child's eyes

posted by singergirl (BARTLESVILLE, OK) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I'm no critic, but as crazy for pokemon games as I am, this was practically the perfect game for me. The graphics were sweet, the quality very high, and the battles heated to an epic level! It was awesome! My mom, the account holder, doesn't understand pokemon, but I loved it, and it's all good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The DS/Wii Pokemon Glory

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Mar 23, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is the first EVER game for pokemon on the wii where you can COPY YOUR POKEMON FROM DS TO WII!!!! Then use them! (Duh...)
This game has many different types of battle, and you can also use rental pokemon (Like the N64 ver.) if you don't have a pokemon ds game. But if you have one of these games:

Pokemon Diamond and Pearl
Pokemon Platinum
Pokemon HeartGold and SoulSilver
Then your set! So read, set, beat the crud out of them!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pokemon Battle Revolution

posted by Catch1bullet (CLYDE, OH) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Truly a Pokemon revolution. This game puts the A in awesome.

Pros:
Epic
The "easy to master" feel
The BATTLES

Cons:
Small lack of control
Only super epic if you have pokemon diamond or pearl

An A Overall

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Room for Improvement or an Awesome Sequel

posted by Bori (PEYTON, CO) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The first aspect to notice about PBR is its graphics. It was definitely a great idea to keep the 3D battling characteristic in a home console Pokemon game. My reason to first have wanted it was the setting of moving PKMN, running or gesturing to attack. It’s quite refreshing from moving pictures. Most colors of the designed pokemon stay true, and you can even see some texture, although when you look up your generation 1 PKMN, they all seem to be made with less effort than the others Ex: Tauros looking as if he trotted in from PKMN Stadium. Most other PKMN go through a nice Poke-make over when transferred to PBR.
If Nintendo makes a game with characteristics PBR lacked, it would be awesome!
With the custom trainer, you are limited. Only certain ‘types’ of trainers can wear certain things. Like a ‘Young Trainer’ can’t wear the same shirt as a ‘Cool Trainer.’
Another thing to be improved is when you knock an opponent’s Pokemon out. Remember in the handheld games, it would ask you if you wanted to change PKMN? Not in PBR
The removal of a certain battle type would do wonders. Fortune Battle, a new system of picking Pokemon, frustrates me and most likely tons of other Poke-fans to no end! An almost random selection of your own, and your opponent’s PKMN is basically what happens. You and the AI can get each other’s PKMN. Basically, your team strategy is dumped. You usually end up getting most of the AI’s weak PKMN, while they get your powerful PKMN that have good moves. You got Molly’s Clampearl! Molly got your Palkia! Now at this point, you want to smash your head in the TV. If you somehow come out victorious, you have to do the same thing in 5 more battles of the same kind. Since this (mis)Fortune Battle puts you at a huge disadvantage, it becomes the worst road block, because you can only move on in the game if you beat this arena. Please Nintendo, never do this to us again.
If Nintendo took fans’ suggestions, they could make a much more satisfying experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best of the best

posted by pokedude (ACTON, MA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i have played a lot of Pokemon games over the years but none as good as this one. the graphics are amazing and its wifi enables so you can put Pokemon from your d/p into the game. you can also battle others online which i thought was the best part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pokemon 3d perfected?

posted by myobuu (WILMETTE, IL) Nov 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

If you are a big pokemon fan this is the game for you with customizable trainers, beautiful stadiums and tough challengers and unlockable gifts for diamond and pearl makes this a great game
bonus it doesnt old with the much needed wifi battling feature

cheaters beware this game can tell the difference between a real pokemon and one gotten with a cheating device

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Best for Hardcore Battlers ONLY

posted by DebLee (ALBERTSON, NY) Jun 22, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

22 out of 29 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

This game is tough to rate. During the first gameplay, you think that this game is for Pokémon gamers of all levels. The animation looks awesome. You can sync your Pokémon from Diamond, Pearl or Platinum.

The battles start out easy. There are several Coliseums that consist of rounds of battles. Most of the battles are 4 rounds and then a challenge by the Coliseum leader. If you beat the entire Coliseum, you get points that you can trade for costume items or Mystery Gifts to send to your Pokémon game.

However, the game gets increasingly difficult as you advance to new Coliseums. Some of the Coliseums force you to pick from a random set of Pokémon. If you aren't familiar with EVERY type and evolution of EVERY Pokémon, you will have problems.

In short, if you want to be able to beat this game in it's entirety, you MUST be a Hardcore Pokémon Battler. You must be able to predict correctly what your opponent will pick, and how to counteract their strengths. It is TOUGH and not for the casual Pokémon fan!

If you're not an Expert Pokémon Battler (i.e. if you can't beat the Pokémon Tower in D/P/Platinum) you will NOT enjoy this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I LOVE IT!! :D

posted by Davis1 (Lakeport, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is for pokemon fans i think the best part is the opprotunity to fight people online i used action replay to get the ultimate pokemon team the team is empoleon torterra infernape dialga giritina and arceus i reccomend this for kids

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun but Repetitive.

posted by Muffinman2 (FREMONT, CA) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

38 out of 61 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Pokémon Battle Revolution is a fun game, but like any other Pokémon game it is repetitive.
The game play is smooth, and the ability to transfer your Pokémon from Diamond and Pearl, without buying any extension for the Wii is a plus, but The announcer ends up saying the same thing over, and over again. Not to mention the lack of story for single player.

This game is another great addition to a long line of fun Pokémon games, but if you are going to buy a fun multiplayer Wii game, I suggest waiting for The new Crystal Chronicles game, or simply buy WarioWare Smooth Moves.

As Far as Pokémon Battle Revolution goes, it's fun, it's repetitive, and if you were looking for a fun Pokémon game, you found one, but between you and me, I would choose Pokémon Diamond and Pokémon Pearl or Battle Revolution any day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not Fun Without a DS

posted by googoo (PELHAM, AL) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Revo was intended to play with a DS. Meaning that you can download pokemon to your Wii via DS connection. Other than that it isn't good. P.S., online is bad. Rent this game if you have beaten any pokemon DS games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game in the world.

posted by eagles1 (RICHMOND, OH) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

30 out of 54 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This game is great because its the first online game for the Wii, first game where you can use your ds as a compatible controller, and is the first pokemon game on the Wii. This game is quite boring if you dont have a ds diamond or pearl and a nintendo Wifi. You dont need to have both of these just one to make game more exciting. At the end of the game you can unlock a pickachu with these attacks surf, volt tackle, tail whip, and thunder wave. You can also buy stones, tms, and hold items. If you want a exciting wii game you should rent it from this very great gamefly and enjoy the fun. Its always better to try your games before you buy them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its fun

posted by ThanatosAz (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Sep 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

First you really need one of the ds pokemon games either pearl or diamond to really enjoy this game.

That said I really like the tourny play and unlocks. The graphics for the game are engaging and my kids love watching the game as much as playing it. Other than not being able to pick your own critters unless you have the ds pokemon this game rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Pokémon

posted by TlKRnKnot (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 3, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I was really into Pokémon when it first came out. Tried out the Coliseum game for N64 & thought it could have used more work to make it entertaining(I do understand the limitation at the time of the 64). With Battle Revolution seems much of the same. I don't have the DS Pokémon so I couldn't really enjoy the full experience. Maybe it would have been "fun" if I have Diamond/Pearl. Its a bland game that needs a full fledged RPG on a console...Maybe it should be put in hibernation until they can revolutionize the franchise w/something new that its worth making another one...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pure genius

posted by inolle (WAVERLY, MN) Jun 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2004

13 out of 27 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing, take Pokémon stadium give it a good announcer, awesome looking graphics and the fact that its online and this is what ur looking at. I love how when u uses moves like aerial ace u actually get to watch the Pokémon physically hit the other Pokémon but do note this only applies to physical moves moves that are not physical such as flame thrower are done just like how stadium did them, this is the first time i have failed to shut off the announcer he actually makes the battles a bit feel like i'm in a stadium fighting with my Pokémon , not to mention wifi battling which means i can battle all my Friends from the online communities i know or complete strangers, and my favorite feature has to be the ability to make customized avatar no more joe generic for me. this game is easily worth picking up solo but it should be noted that there is much to do a side from rental pokes if u dont have diamond or pearl.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

love it!!!!!!!!!

posted by pokemonmaster (REDDING, CA) Mar 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game and for a few reasons one you can us your DS pokemon two awesome graphics and three the music was good but I did have one problem I felt the one player mode was way to easy. All in all love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

well sigh umm well

posted by ieatgnomes (SUN VALLEY, NV) May 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This really was the worst Pokemon game they have made yet.I love Pokemon and have been playing all of them from the 64 to platinum and this one was worse then the 64 one. at least the 64 one had fun mini games the only reason im not giving it a 1 is the graphics are cool watching the Pokemon actually battle and the whole Nintendo wifi. you really should try the game cube game it was desently fun. I had hi hopes for the game but dam it really let me down dont buy dont even rent stay away from this game. if your new to pokemon dont let it take you away from the awsome pokemon series it really is one of the best game series ever just stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst Pokémon game ever

posted by twitch (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

16 out of 38 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

i recommend not playing this game due to not being able to do anything Pokémon related. You do not find Pokémon or catch them or watch them grow as you train and battle them. That is what Pokémon is all about. Yes the battle is a big part of the games but when you do not have the other aspects of the games it makes it a very boring game. i do admit it does have good graphics for the wii but when you do the same thing over and over again the graphics go down the drain when you fall asleep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Online Enabled

posted by Shifter (VISALIA, CA) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome. In Pokemon battle Revolution u can batlle online against other people in the country. I would know because i hace the game. This is the first online enabled game for the wii so far in USA. You can also play against ur friends in this game by typing in there wii code and searching for them. The one thing about this game is if u do not have a nintendo DS or the game pokemon diamond/Pearl
you will half to use a rental pass all through out the game which alredy has pokemon set for you and u cant pic what pokemon u want unless u play the DS game and rase ur pokemon from the start then copy them to the wii. If i were u i would by the diamond or pearl game if u have a ds because with out it u can get bord using a rentsll pss on this game . I would no

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible pokemon game, don't even rent this.

posted by wario37 (NEDERLAND, TX) Jul 28, 2008

Member since Jul 2003

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is just horrible. In the past, Pokemon Colosseum games on gamecube and N64 let you pick the 6 pokemon you wanted to use, not so in this version. Unless you can transfer pokemon over from your ds game Pokemon Diamond/Peal you are stuck with a "rental pass" which is 6 pokemon you are stuck with for the entire game. And in this game, the pokemon do not gain levels, nor do they evolve.

I was very disappointed with this game, and will be less likely to try other pokemon games for the wii, should more come out. Really, if you want a fun pokemon game go play Pokemon Diamond or Pearl on the DS. Nothing is better, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

POKEMON BATTLE REVOLUTION

posted by shadearth4 (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty good if you have a ds. But if you don't then it's pathetic. You can't catch any Pokémon and you can't walk around or anything
it's all fighting. no fun whatsoever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

awsome!

posted by ryan7926 (KITTANNING, PA) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game so far,is the best pokemon strategy I have ever played.
you can use pokemon you copy from your nintendo DS games,
copy them on the game. Instead of using the weak pokemon the give you at the beginning of the game. the is also fun because you can go
and use the Wi-Fi connection and bttle people around the world.
so, create your own caracter and make your way to the BATLLE ROYAL!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

An enhanced Pokémon Stadium game

posted by wiiluvinit (SANTA ANA, CA) Jul 7, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

Sure, this game has online capabilities, but basically it's another updated version of the N64 game and all you do is point and press a button and sit back while they battle it out. It doesn't fully take advantage of the Wii capabilities. I was expecting at least some sort of movement with the remote control. But nothing. Plus, why is it that half the time - this game is basically just reading what it says on the screen. Bottom line is if you're a huge Pokémon Stadium fan, this is the game for you. But if you're like me and prefer some action and excitement while having your brain be useful - then avoid it. If you're a parent especially and your kid is begging you to buy this like my niece has, save yourself the money and rent it instead. Because as a parent, if you want your child to actually stimulate their brain and move around - this game is a bad idea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

They ruined Pokemon. :(

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Pokemon Battle Revolution is kind of terrible. It's not very fun. It's just battling until you get sick of it and buy a game worth playing. (The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess is worth your time. But not this game.) In other Pokemon games your a kid who dreams of being a pokemon master and you have black hair, and you have lots of friends who think they are better then you, and you have a rival named Gary....! WAIT! (I might be talking about Ash.Who is in the show Pokemon. ) .....Um...forget all that other stuff! Lets start over..."In other Pokemon games your either a boy or girl who becomes a pokemon trainer and you battle gymleaders and stuff." or a human who was transformed into pokemon. Even a guy who snags shadow pokemon from evil people and purifys them. But this game is not very good. It's a battle each second! With NO story. It makes me bored. I sure hope the future Pokemon games that come out are better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pokemon Battle Boring

posted by jkiddfan (SYRACUSE, NY) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is just adding to the ending of Pokemon D/P. This is like battle tower except you get to battle in different stadiums. It's fun going online and battling people because you don't kno what pokemon they will have. The only unlockables in this game is new clothing and items. If you don't have wireless communication to the internet or don't have d/p then don't bother with this game. This game is worth a rent but will get boring after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game ever...

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'd rather buy a copy of Ninjabread Man than have this game given to me for free. If you don't have a DS, you're out of luck and have about 6 pokemon to choose from. The battles are lamely slow paced and the graphics look like n64 graphics. This game is bad. What was Nintendo thinking? They need to BURN it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse