Rent Playboy: The Mansion for Xbox
view large frontback

Playboy: The Mansion

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2
GF Rating
6.2

1917 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game!

posted by Holefannn (WHITTIER, CA) Apr 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

31 out of 33 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I love sims, so I saw that you could create the playboy empire and I was interested. The game layout is tricky to get the hang of, but its GREAT once you get it down. You create the magazine, topless centerfolds and all. I was pretty shocked that they showed all that, but i love it! Any one that likes the sims, or topless girls should get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hef has a decent game!

posted by Albino (LITTLETON, CO) May 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

15 out of 16 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

Playboy: The Mansion is very unique and exciting because you finally get to fulfill every man's dream... be hef and have relations with everybody!! you will be entertained with this soft core pornography game...mostly physically entertained...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Sims With Benefits

posted by wdwyer (LAKE ARIEL, PA) Jun 27, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

I have to tell the truth, I went into this game thinking it was just another Sims clone. I hate the Sims. Really the only thing that interested me towards this game was the articles...yeah let's go with that.

Seriously, I jumped into the game blind, just to see what the real learning curve was. It wasn't much, the on-screen help with the first issue was clear and easy to navigate. I was pleasantly surprised that not only can you do most of the things the Sims can offer, but the fact that you do more about the business side of Playboy than I thought. Sure I can sit here and go on and on about the oodles of topless girls in the game. But I was actually impressed with what it took to put an issue together (at least in the game). I like the fact that not only do you take the Covershots and Centerfolds, but you have to get Journalists, Celebrities, Photographers, and such all on the same page, just for one issue. I also enjoyed the fact that the game kept a running tally of every issue you create, and then let's you choose the Playmate of the Year. This is so much more than just a Sims clone, I couldn't have been more wrong.

Now to be fair there was one thing for me that caused me to score this a 9 instead of a 10. It looks WAY too much like the Sims. As I have said, I hate that game. But if you don't, you'll be right at home (Sim-speak and all). Eventually you may get bored (though I am on issue 13 now and have yet to put the game down). While there are "missions" to complete. The game boils down to wash-rinse-repeat. It wasn't enough to distract me, but I can see it.

Throwing parties, having an inner circle of friends, surprise celebrities (some that used their real names in this game), 2 girlfriends, the "ample" supply of Playmates. Let's just get this over with and say forego the renting, just set the "Buy-Alert" now.

And BTW, did I mention that you can earn reward points to unlock past issue covers and centerfolds? Yeah...you can!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Soso

posted by Jesse7 (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Jun 29, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I really thought that this game would be top notch but after the shock of the naked girls fades away it gets boring. But truthfully when i saw Carmen Electra my shock came back. But i will still have to say that the sim games are better for the more objects you can choose from.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very nice!

posted by sergio (LEBANON, NH) Dec 21, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2005

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Well I'm not exactly the playboy magazine person but I heard that this game was very good. So I rented it and thought that it was very good. I thought that it was very simular to the sims except for of course all the topless women and also the way to keep your mood up was be drinking and having parties and getting more and more popular. I thought that it was cool how you could have a lot of celeberties come to parties and stuff like that. Although like all the sims games playboy at some point gets pretty boring after playing it for 3 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Heff must have more fun than this

posted by Bunnylover (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First let me say that nudity in a game is awesome. If only Lara Croft was a playboy bunny. I liked the game for being the first of its kind but I found its repeat play to be boring. After the nudity shock wears off, filling your magazine with materials became very disappointing when you would spend time with potentials only to get a bad article. Although I liked the fact that you could shoot these vixens and place them in your editorial but the choices in the background to make the covers and centerfolds unique was very limited as were the pre-poses by the bunnies. Having parties with nude woman was exciting especially flirting to have simulated "fun" and lots of girlfriends fighting one another but playing Heff wasn't so exciting you pretty much stay within the mansion. Upgrading your mansion has its perks but thier isn't alot of choices to alternate your world. The game is good for its first time but repetitive play gets old. It does not have the same excitement as other sim games but it stays true to its theme. All in all it is a good play if you like to see nudity but if you want have a simulated challenge, it loses it through lack of imagination.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The Playboy name is the selling factor.

posted by JFloyd87 (LAWTON, OK) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Topless girls, wooooo. I think that is all this game realistically has going for it. I mean sure it plays like a sim game TO AN EXTENT, and if you like simulation style games I'm sure you'd enjoy this game at first. But, this game is far too repetative and don't pick this one up if you are looking for a challenge.

It plays like the sims except you aren't really required to nourish your character. So you don't have to face that hassle of using the bathroom, eating, sleeping, or hygiene. That is, if you really do think that was a hassle in the sim games.

So if you take what I just said and throw in the topless pixelated girl factor and the fact that your job is to maintain and produce the playboy magazine (which is no challenge) this is your product. I lost interest in this game in a day. If you are just looking for topless girls, then try google images (safe search off).

This is a mediocre game to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not Compatable

posted by xAmandax (DAISETTA, TX) May 5, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not compatable with new 360 console unless you do the update on it 1st. xbox (dot) com/en-US/games/backwardcompatibilityfaq.htm

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's porn

posted by guyperson (HERCULES, CA) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

It's not a real game. It sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

fhfhfhfhfhfhfhh

posted by shorts1 (GIRARD, PA) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

this game rules

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

nehh

posted by Phoetep (GRANITE FALLS, WA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

anypne else get the feeling that they made this just for horny gamers? did not rent it i borrowed it from a friend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but repetitive

posted by bigben1794 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

Rented the game with a more business outlook towards it rather than the "its The Sims with boobies" outlook. Running the playboy empire takes a lot of work but once you find out all the tricks to publishing 4 to 5 star magazines the game does get repetitive. The story mode will add addition play time compared to the freeplay mode simply because you have more goals to accomplish rather than just have a successful issue. All in all it was a decent game and its worth the rent...just make sure you can play it somewhere people wont be walking by on a regular basis to avoid awkward moments

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright game!

posted by jscott1979 (STEUBENVILLE, OH) Jun 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Good game, but the game play is VERY MUCH like The Sims. You can do free play, or individual missions. Game interaction is almost exactly like The Sims, but I must admit the game is more fun that the Sims.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Playboy: The Mansion

posted by bigrigo3 (BROOMFIELD, CO) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

My kids really enjoyed this game, especially the girls. They had fun making them up and watching the interaction. They did have a problem trying to get to the menu to get what they needed though. But as an over all it was a good game. Keep them coming

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Was Okay

posted by emmapds28 (WATERBURY, CT) Feb 25, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This game was okay. It wasn't what I had expected. I didn't like that the people don't talk. It was very tiring playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It's ok

posted by Clipped (ONTARIO, CA) May 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

Not bad... not great either. It's SIMS-like with lot's of T'n'A. However, what it doesn't have is creativity. Very lackluster and not enough like The SIMS, nothing in-depth or very unique. After you see the first 2 or 3 gratuitous ‘love’ scenes you get bored. The goals aren’t fun or interesting enough to make you want to achieve them. Rent this if you're in the mood for a game that will keep you entertained for an hour or two. But if you're in it for the long run and you want to play a game that is adult themed, fun and will keep you playing then rent “Leisure Suit Larry’. This one is just ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could be better

posted by Ernesto33 (WORCESTER, MA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

Alot of people have said it in other reviews this is a good game but after you get over the fact that there is actually nudity in this game all is lost and this game is very very very repetitive...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by avatarquin (SAVANNAH, GA) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game rocks! An adult themed Sims type game, finally!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Freezes..a lot!

posted by Grekomon (MERCED, CA) Nov 1, 2006

Member since May 2005

So I rented it more as cheap thrill. I had wanted to see if it was interesting. It was bad enough on its own, but the game would freeze, crash, and once hef got stuck on nothing, no button I pressed fixed him, so I saved thinking when i start again he'll be fine. Nope! Still stuck.

Didn't seem like they did much game testing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »