Rent PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale for PS Vita
view large frontback

PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.1

258 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flawless

posted by Darmstrong916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ok let me just start by saying that the people who down this game because it's not "exactly" like smash bros need to quit gaming.

PS All-stars is its own game and the developers did a great job with being able to take games from different platforms and put them in one and make it a success. It is very similar to Smash bros of course but is very different in many ways. With the combos il just say is more technical and take a little more skill to perfect rather than in Smash bros.

The levels are very interesting and im glad they took time to put into them as well as doing something different with them that wasnt in Smash bros. Like, with blending to types of games in one level , for example (Parappa rappa Level for PS1 blending with Metal gear Solid PS2,PS3) that makes the levels more intuiging

I think the character is good enough i guess -__- of course there can be more obvious people like Crash Bandicoot or Lara Croft but whatever. The characters are ALL good in their own way which makes the fighting and styles more interesting, doesnt matter if your a God of War lover you might just like Sackboy from Little Big Planet lol

But regardless of what people say about this game i recommend everyone to put your guard down from Smash bros and try this out because its very worth your time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Playstation Awwwww Yeeeeah!

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Nov 27, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

=D

I was literally telling people how I was going to sell my Vita and be done with it.

But then I got this (having bought the PS3 version)
And boy did my mind change...

This is the perfect handheld game.

Obviously, everyone wants to compare this to Super Smash Bros. and rightfully so. In that comparison there's one major issue I had with PSA, and that's the lack of falling off of levels, and the buildup of damage. But, you can't approach PSA that way. Just because it has a different scoring method, doesn't make the game flawed by any means. You can't go into Baseball game and complain that it's not enough like Football because that's what you're used to. It's its own game, and what it does, it does fairly well.

The game is as balanced as you can probably get. People will say that Kratos and maybe others are too powerful, or not powerful enough, but in my experience, you can pick up and play as anyone in the game, and do just fine, capitalizing on each of their strengths once you really get used to them.

I really like the choice/mix of levels, although I wish there were more. Alternate costumes are pretty interesting, especially the few that are mashups (Sweet Tooth as an Outcast from Starhawk, Evil Cole in Drakes attire)

And here's a few other things to remember... with a game like this, let's face it: We asked for it. We wanted a SSB version of Playstation and we have it. And it's fun. There's simply nothing to complain about. The other thing, is that with ANY GAME like this, is there will always be a character or two, however obscure that people will whine about not being in the game.
Personally, I think Crash Bandicoot, Lara Croft, Snake and anyone from Final Fantasy should have had an appearance.

But, that's what DLC is for, and I hope there's a TON of it!

The story actually could have been good. But it never reaches it's potential. The Final Boss is lame.

Bring on the sequel! I can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Stunning

posted by swatblaze83 (ALLENTOWN, PA) Nov 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

From the moment I started playing it , I couldn't stop! It's one of the best I ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2nd best game on the Vita currently

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Uncharted:Golden Abyss will likely be the best Vita game that will ever be made but this is currently the 2nd best game on the Vita. It's simply PHENOMENAL.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great title!

posted by TheSneax673 (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jan 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game. People say its a copy of the SSB series, it's not. This is a completely different style game that is fun to play on the go or on a big screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Real Good!

posted by YaDigzz (COOPER CITY, FL) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is so legit. Just like the PS3. Play me online: YaDigzz

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great buy, terrible rent

posted by Nerdjitsu (STUART, FL) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is my favorite Vita game of 2012, but unless you have a friend/friends with a copy locally, it's not a great rental. Online is locked unless you own it. I was pretty furious about this when I received my rental (not Gamefly's fault, Sony's fault), and I hate to encourage such questionable business practices, but you're not going to get much out of this title unless you're playing against other people.

Having said all that, it's still advisable that you DO rent if you're just trying to determine whether it's worth a purchase. You'll be able to know if it's your kind of game by playing the AI. Just don't expect any extended fun until you purchase the full game and unlock online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Instant Classic

posted by RizenFromDeath (DEARBORN, MI) Dec 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Super Smash Bros for n64 over a decade ago than this is for you. took Playstation a while but they finally did it. I say around 40 hrs to platinum.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terribly Off Balance

posted by thesnoo22 (EAST MEADOW, NY) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Game clearly tries to rip off Smash Bros, but gets it all wrong. Characters are not balanced in the least. The developers tried to make each character play like they do in their game of origin, which ends up creating incredibly unfair character matchups. Kratos, for example, is the button-mash king, just like in God of War, while characters like Sir Daniel Fortesque are awkward and useless, as he was in Medievil. Making the characters play that way works in theory, but in practice makes a terribly unbalanced game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

the first game i rented

posted by magski65 (PORT WASHINGTON, NY) Mar 8, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

This game is fun and entertaining.The only thing I hade a problem with was the diffacalty with the maches.I hope other people enjoy this game and get tons of achevements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Fighting Game

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

When this game first came out I wanted to play it , because I really like the Smash Bros Melee on Gamecube and was hoping this game was a little identical to it. I was a bit right and i really liked the fighting styles and specials in the game. I recommend buying intstead of renting this game to gamers who like fighting style types of games, but with people who like different genres of games i suggest renting it . Either way you won't be dissapointed in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

a bunch of silly characters fighting

posted by tednmu1 (HENDERSON, NV) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

cool game man! just rent though bcuz after playing it a few times it gets old. also this is message for people who disagree with me......."whats that ? oh really ? why dont u shut ur mouth!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

PS Smash Bros. and that is not a bad thing

posted by Severen (GRAHAM, WA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

PS Allstars for Vita

+ Really Fun Gameplay.
+ Great Levels and Characters.
+ Cross Play for Vita and PS3.
+ Awesome Multiplayer.
+ Great Controls.
+ Great take on a great concept.
+ Good Character Balance.

- Not Exactly original.
- Loading Times can be a little long.
- Some Characters are more Fun to Play as Than Others.
- I liked it on Vita better than PS3.
- Some levels can be distracting and the mashups can be confusing.

PS Allstars for Vita/ PS3 is a really fun game. Not the most original idea to model your game after Smash Bros. but it works well and has really creative levels. The Character Balance is good but some characters are just more fun to play than others so most people will pick the same few characters. Loading times can be long but frame rate is solid and controls are good. The levels are a mash up of different games that transform as the fight goes on. It looks cool but can be distracting the first couple times you see it. Also Sony did announce that the DLC Characters in February will be free the first week of release. Cool move on their part.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very fun

posted by devoncoolman17 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) Jan 31, 2013

Member since Sep 2012

alot of people are complaining because of the online pass but it is so fun!and if you play this on the ps3 and dont have an online pass get a friend and have them play with you versus match time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale Review

posted by VampireJoe (PAW PAW, MI) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

The game is not that bad with people saying it's a ssb clone. IT IS SUPPOSE TO BE it's just sony's turn to do it with PlayStation characters. The game is fun with your family or friends. But there are some cons about the game. There are glitches in online, people using op characters such as kratos, raiden or dante. The game just doesn't really feel like a ssb clone to me. My excuse is also they made the supers only to kill people so no health....Just killing people with supers. I can't really get a game in 1st anyway because people using the op characters and people who just don't try other characters. The game deserves a 7/10 though it's not great enough to be a ssb clone but a good one to say the least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »