Rent PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale for PS3
view large frontback

PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita
GF Rating
7.2

1796 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game - Hope for Expanded Content

posted by EZTRGT_vGF (MUNCIE, IN) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros: The game play was good. The controls were easy to pick up on, and simple in there conception. It was fun to play as my favorite Playstation characters.

Cons: Content. For a game meant to bring Playstation's best to bear, many key starts of the system were missing. Maybe they are saving them for future content updates. But on the same vein, there were to few stages. In addition, there was too much "fluff" content. I could care less about the hundreds of icons that were there, give me playable characters like Lara Croft or really any Final Fantasy character (I do prefer Star Ocean though, so if any of the higher ups at Playstation see this, may I suggest Claude C. Kenny!). And the opening as closings not being full motion was a real drag!

Verdict: All in all, a fun game. Just lacked the right content to make it a real contender to SSB franchise. Something to look forward to, maybe?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good game

posted by Wescom3207 (CHARLOTTE, NC) Dec 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

After playing the game on here the game is as advertised. A good game with a unabashed Smash Bros influence. Unfortunately the arcade mode is a bit redundant and the great value of this game is in the online play which you need a pass for.

A very good game and plenty of fun. Worth a look.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Just as Good as Smash Bros.

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) Nov 27, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

It gets many things right that Smash Bros. fails at. At the same time it fails at many things that Smash Bros. gets right. Its so mixed that I can't decide which I like better. Most of the opinions you're probably hearing as to which one is better are probably biased... All-Stars and Smash Bros are extremely close in quality. Using supers to rack up kills works surprisingly well and adds strategy to the game. The combo system is very deep and is well worth learning. The story mode is lacking and is actually just a typical arcade mode for each character like the ones found in Street Fighter and Marvel vs Capcom. It would have been nice to see an assembling of the Playstation mascots with an abundance of cutscenes showing how they interact like the Subspace Emissary in Smash Bros. The limp, 30-second cutscenes we get make the game seem like it was made on a strict budget. The budget also harmed this game in the way of its roster. Super Bot wanted to get characters like Crash Bandicoot, among others, but couldn't accomplish that because of the price. We endup with only twenty characters, two of which are the same character in different forms. Hopefully the game will get a sequel with a bigger budget. That could end up being the start of an extremely well-received franchise. The good in this game is pretty much the gameplay itself. Unlike Smash Bros, it has online multiplayer that actually works. And its one of the best multiplayer experiences I've ever had. The core gameplay is extremely addicting, especially when you're trying to experiment with a character's combos. A bigger budget with more characters and an actual story mode would have made this game an easy 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Best Crossover/Fighter Game I Have Ever Played

posted by ilawson94 (EAST BETHANY, NY) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Ok folks, let me clear this up. Yes this game was inspired by Super Smash Brothers, no doubt about it, but this game right here is in my mind better than any of the Super Smash Brothers games period. Here are my reasons as to why this is.

1. Super Moves Are The Only Ways To Kill Opponents

As sweet as the thought of straight up trashing your opponents is, all too often my opponents in SSB would just spam a single radial or otherwise powerful move until it killed you. Here you can do that all you want, but it will bring you no closer to winning (aside from charging your Super Move meter).

2. Incredible Roster of Characters

Any SSB game I have played has by and large the same roster of characters over and over again and very few I can take seriously. Here you can have Nathan Drake, Cole Macgrath, Sweet Tooth, and Kratos in the same arena duking it out. I dare you to tell me that doesn't sound awesome. Granted there are a few silly fighters here too but the sheer awesomeness of the others largely overshadow it.

3. Awesome Soundtrack/Arenas

Tons of arenas with ever changing environments and characters make this game so much more enjoyable. The opening sequence alone for the game was making me cry nerd tears inside just watching it. My favorite arena is the Metropolis world that suddenly explodes with God of War creatures. Too awesome!

If I had any solitary issue with the game it is with only that there is very limited direct character interaction outside the brawling. There are one on one rival battles with each story that feature a brief exchange between the two characters involved but outside of that there is very little play on the individual characters personalities. This game would have gotten a perfect 10 from me otherwise.
Highly recommend this game to anyone who had or has played any of these franchises.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Playstation Awe-Some!

posted by StarRaven (LAKE WORTH, FL) Nov 27, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

=D

I actually wasn't expecting to like this too much, especially after not being very impressed with the beta. BUT, this is a fantastic game.

Obviously, everyone wants to compare this to Super Smash Bros. and rightfully so. In that comparison there's one major issue I had with PSA, and that's the lack of falling off of levels, and the buildup of damage. But, you can't approach PSA that way. Just because it has a different scoring method, doesn't make the game flawed by any means. You can't go into Baseball game and complain that it's not enough like Football because that's what you're used to. It's its own game, and what it does, it does fairly well.

The game is as balanced as you can probably get. People will say that Kratos and maybe others are too powerful, or not powerful enough, but in my experience, you can pick up and play as anyone in the game, and do just fine, capitalizing on each of their strengths once you really get used to them.

I really like the choice/mix of levels, although I wish there were more. Alternate costumes are pretty interesting, especially the few that are mashups (Sweet Tooth as an Outcast from Starhawk, Evil Cole in Drakes attire)

And here's a few other things to remember... with a game like this, let's face it: We asked for it. We wanted a SSB version of Playstation and we have it. And it's fun. There's simply nothing to complain about. The other thing, is that with ANY GAME like this, is there will always be a character or two, however obscure that people will whine about not being in the game.
Personally, I think Crash Bandicoot, Lara Croft, Snake and anyone from Final Fantasy should have had an appearance.

But, that's what DLC is for, and I hope there's a TON of it!

The story actually could have been good. But it never reaches it's potential. The Final Boss is lame.

Bring on the sequel! I can't wait!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a while

posted by zombieninjax (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I played this Great idea of a game. I love how i can play characters the i love, but it just lacks fight moves and how easy to repeat a move over and over to build up a special makes the game repetitive. I did enjoy the experience of fighting with SweetTooth against Kratos that was great. Could use more modes, moves, and better finishers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

its OKAY

posted by NM21x (JONESBORO, GA) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

its a fun party game.. if u loved SSBros. then youll like this.. the online pass got me though.. sending this back early.. dont feel like dishing out 10 for a pass..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Can't really understand the hype.

posted by Adonys86 (ROOSEVELT, NY) Jan 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Many people claim that if you like smash brothers you will like this as well.

I don't really understand that statement.

They are similar games, of course, but any experience one has with smash brothers makes the flaws of this game shine through. First of all, the AP based one shot kill function was a terrible idea, I understand that it was made solely to distance this title from smash brothers but they should have just kept a ring out based victory system and let the pieces fall where they may.

This one shot kill thing just doesn't work on several levels.

First off, it undermines skill. If you are beating people and are the most skilled, your victory is still not guaranteed. A player who had a more difficult but certain progress to filling up their meter can just enter the fray and kill you in the middle of your onslaught and there's nothing you can do about it.

Secondly, because of AP collection characters are tiered. If you're playing with 3 others, you had better just forget about Dante. He's flashy and all but after mastering him its clear that he will always be open to counters and stuns. His attacks rarely blow back and can be walked through while taking damage which is a BIG problem when playing people that have even the slightest idea of what they're doing. Characters like Kratos and Sweet Tooth stun and/or paralyze with two taps of the square button in some cases, sending your character flying across the screen and giving them time to set up.

Party brawlers do not lend themselves well to combo gameplay which NIntendo understood from day one. It is too easy to lose your character and timing in the hellish fray. Simple button presses in conjunction with direction flicks is the easiest and most straightforward otherwise you have characters that are high risk low reward that are just pointless.

Again, the AP meter and one shot kills was a very bad idea that fell flat even if people aren't willing to acknowledge it.

Feel free to disagree.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bofo, A smash

posted by nomorewordz619 (NEW YORK, NY) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

For a Brawl Knockoff this is surprisingly fun. I have a few minor complaints though, the Ratchet AI is Stupid and there was a one day online bug on the Vita, but besides these complaints everything else is smashing. Polygon Man actually talks and his boss is more exciting than Master Hand, 20 characters is a good start for a first game, but if there is ever a sequel for the PlayStation 4, I expect at least 10 more characters.

AND NO, CRASH IS NOT IN IT, STOP WINING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

5 out of 10

posted by Assassinofkings (FAYETTEVILLE, NC) Dec 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game was fun, has a good feel to it if you like Smash Bros not exactly a whole different concept but not the same either.

Suggestions:
Play online at your own risk, this game is filled with soulless spammers. This game is a lot more fun with a group of friends, that you know won't play cheaply.

You use a power level system where if the move hits it is a 'kill' you fight as you may in Brawl, but instead of knocking a person off the screen, you gain AP by dishing it out, each level being a more destructive ability, Level 3 being either an instant kill, or a god more for a short amount of time.

Definitely a game for friends, again, enter Ranked and Unranked battles at your own risk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Flawless

posted by Darmstrong916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

ok let me just start by saying that the people who down this game because it's not "exactly" like smash bros need to quit gaming.

PS All-stars is its own game and the developers did a great job with being able to take games from different platforms and put them in one and make it a success. It is very similar to Smash bros of course but is very different in many ways. With the combos il just say is more technical and take a little more skill to perfect rather than in Smash bros.

The levels are very interesting and im glad they took time to put into them as well as doing something different with them that wasnt in Smash bros. Like, with blending to types of games in one level , for example (Parappa rappa Level for PS1 blending with Metal gear Solid PS2,PS3) that makes the levels more intuiging

I think the character is good enough i guess -__- of course there can be more obvious people like Crash Bandicoot or Lara Croft but whatever. The characters are ALL good in their own way which makes the fighting and styles more interesting, doesnt matter if your a God of War lover you might just like Sackboy from Little Big Planet lol

But regardless of what people say about this game i recommend everyone to put your guard down from Smash bros and try this out because its very worth your time!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Great Crossover Fighter.

posted by d3v4daw1n (NATHALIE, VA) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I first heard that Sony would be creating a Super Smash Bros. type game I was instantly eagerly awaiting its release, I must say I was moderately disappointed in certain aspects, and yet pleasantly surprised in others.

There are several factors in Battle Royale that I do like over Nintendo’s predecessor. There is a fair amount of customization in the game. The stages in this game are also incredibly enjoyable, the art styles of the stages stay true to their origins, and each one is colorful in its own way. My favorite part of the stages though, is that they cross over between games. It’s incredibly fun, creative, and gives personality to each level.

My main issue with this game is the scoring system, which grows boring. It’s as simple as beating up the enemy to fill a bar, and using a special ability once the bar is full to kill them. While this is fun starting off, I would have liked to see other game modes involving stamina or knocking opponents off the map. There’s a wide range of characters, but I don’t feel that Sony’s product blends the characters together well. Some feel bland and out of place. Certain characters feel fluent, while others take a bit of practice. Kratos for example, requires little more than mashing buttons and he’s slicing and dicing everything in his perimeter.

In closing, I did find this game fun. I give this a 7 despite the repetitive kill system since the game play is enjoyable in small bursts. I found playing through each campaign to feel like a chore after a point. Fans of Smash Brothers will enjoy this, but should be weary that it isn’t a clone. As a rental, you should also be aware that you require an online pass to participate in online game modes, so that takes out what is likely a considerable portion of the fun. I’m sure I would give this an 8 if full access was available without an access code (depending on how enjoyable online play is) but I feel 7 is appropriate for what fellow renters will have acce

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not great.

posted by Khedgified (ZEPHYRHILLS, FL) Dec 24, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

We were expecting so much more with this game. It was very disappointing. I think it was hurried through testing. You have to completely restart the game to go back to the menu options. You can't back out like on all other games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IT'S FUN IF YOU LIKE PS CHARACTERS!

posted by Sonic123 (VIRGINIA BEACH, VA) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Ok so a lot of people have been underating this game but it can be fun. it's a good game and by the way, it has the new dante because crapcom wanted to advertise. You only get the original by his level 3 so it's a good game. you just need to appreciate it! ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

True Desperation

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 13, 2012

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Let's get what matters out of the way first. This game is fun to play. Having said that, let me follow by saying this is something we've known since the first smash brothers game on N64. As fun as the game is, if you've played smash brothers, digimon rumble arena, powerstone and the like, you know what to expect. The story is extremely lazy. (Spoiler Alert) Nobody knows why all these different people are coming together, especially the game itself. You just show up, and start fighting, and one person in particular points you out halfway to start some bs with you. Once you have bested that person, the 'final boss' throws a bunch of clones at you. Some endings hint at other characters from your selected one's world will be joining in the sequel, but its still like "Why were you here to begin with?" Sorry, but 'I'm gonig to this gathering' isn't enough. It screams of sony's desperation. "Copy everything, just put our name on it" seems to be the running theme of MS and Sony over the past 5 or six years. Though I am not a PS fanboy, I do love PS, and I was really looking forward to this being a really great game, not just smash bros for playstation. It works out though, because I liked playing smash so much. I was told the point of the game was for multiplayer, but then if the reasoning is so shallow as all that, then why is this game even necessary considering there is a better version of this out? Just for the character skins I guess...
In any case, totally worth the rent. As smash as proved, this type of gameplay is fun so why not, I suppose.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Dec 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

INCREDIBLY underrated game!!!! One of the coolest games in the PS3 library and definitely worth playing for anyone that owns a PS3!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ah-Freakingmazing

posted by SuperSaiyanXbox (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 5, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I'am so happy they decided to make a game similar to SSB. What I really like about this game is that it's more of a fun type game that you can play with your friend's or by yourself. Honestly, I really don't care to much about fighting games cause people online spam and talk trash etc etc. This game is simple, no frustrations, you don't have to know any speacial moves in order to win you just play and have fun.

Now some people complain that this game is to much like SSB -__-. I say who cares cause in SSBB for the wii it was IMPOSSIBLE to find a online match. I mean the game itself is really fun but I wanted something different. This game has everything I loved about SSB but has its own new gamestyle. The online is smooth in this game so I really see no problems.

I recommened this game to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Easy to learn, fun to play, long lasting

posted by kyle54312 (KISSIMMEE, FL) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Battle Royale is a game that many can enjoy.

The single player, gives you a quick taste of each character. The only down side to this is that the story is told through clip art with a short cut scene in between. I would have liked to see this more developed, however storys in fighters are never really any good anyways.

The mutiplayer is a different story offering 2v2 and FFA's they have ranked and quick match. Ranked scales on a belt system were you move up if you win and do well and down if you do poorly. At the end you get titles and the cycle starts over again.On top of this each character can go to lv 999 whcih can keep you busy for awhile.

Battle Royale is a first of what i think will be many. While it's not perfect, it's still a game any ps3 owner should look at.

Pros

-Very fun and additive game play
-Wild range of charters which will be even bigger soon
-Lost to do
-Online is good, but can be buggy here and there

Cons

-Story mode could use more time
-Game lacks higher lv goodies for the characters

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Something is missing

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 17 gamers (24%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
I was really hoping this would be good as it is the first cross-buy game which means you get a free Vita copy as well with purchase of the PS3 version.

However, I played it and it is only somewhat fun. I blame the camera angles mainly as it shifts perspective and it is really easy to get lost. It isn't a button masher as there is skill to be learned for each character ..... it just wasn't that fun.

At best wait for the bargain bin and buy it.... Unfortunately with the cross-buy system it tracks the disc used to get the Vita copy and can only be used once. So chances are a used copy will already have taken the cross-buy copy.... I think this will be a problem for Gamefly as I could have used the disc and gotten a free Vita copy and returned the game. I'm honest so I didn't do that, but this will bite someone who buys it in the future.

Pros
=================
1) at least it isn't a button masher
2) Sony characters & backdrops for the fights
3) environments adjust behind you

Cons
==================
1) camera angle changes throughout match and when it switches to a high perspective it is hard to follow
2) just didn't feel fun enough to play more than once

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

6.2 - All Stars or No Stars?

posted by SlaughterFox13 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

First watching the intro video when starting the game, I had high hopes. Had fun characters that played VERY well. The game however is quite silent with unmemorable soundtracks. With the DLC characters, the roster was not very big in number. The unlocks felt very worthless since most of it was for my online tag even though you had to pay for a pass to play online.

The characters felt unbalanced, some being way more overpowered or faster than others. Some characters would have long ranged attacks yet NO close range attacks, some attacks could not even stun enemies. Some characters have ONLY close range, that being a little better when using weapons. There are about five weapons in the entire game, most with the same feel of attack, guns for long ranged attacks and melee weapons for close ranged attacks.

Going into this game, I expected it to be memorable, like most fan-based fighters should be. Not the case, however. Instead some controls felt clunky, some characters not even moving when attacking. Making me feel like I am a solid brink wall with arms, thrashing around in the same spot. There isn't a running machanic. If you are a slow character, tough, you're just going to have to get used to being slow and clunky. You can not throw a weapon up or down in the game. Weird since there are plenty of throwable weapons in the game. Feeling like a clunky wall yet?

The character attacks are impressively well made. Most characters have the very same attacks they do in the games they appear in. Sometimes the background of the map causes attacks and such, very fun when playing with three other players. The game felt funner with teams of 2 on 2 or just a 4 man free for all, no 1 on 1 play.

I did like the game, it just did not feel memorable is all. Maybe it wasn't supposed to but when you have Ratchet and Jak fighting each other, you can't help but want it to be memorable. All and all, I feel it should have been a free HD copy installed into the PS3 or somet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great if you have friends

posted by x40x (PORT JERVIS, NY) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Biggest drawback of this game is you have to buy an online pass to play online when clearly the main focus of a title like this is online play. The game feels like it was rushed. The leveling system is completely useless. Each character in this game has very unique moves, fighting styles, and abilities, which could be either good or bad but with 20+ characters its a bit much. A good portion of your play time will be testing out each characters move set to see which one you prefer the best. I give this game a sad 6 because for a rental unless you have a group friends that are willing to learn a characters move set and play the game there's nothing much to it. The story mode is very lacking in depth. This game could have clearly been better if it's development wasn't rushed. As a side note it leaves a bad taste in my mouth how much of the content in this game (characters, costumes, extras, ect) that you can only get by purchasing through playstation+.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Shockingly Disappointing

posted by Imhotepsson (BATON ROUGE, LA) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

This game is BAD. The characters all play the exact same way, the only difference is the different animations each character has. The gameplay is LITERALLY "Mash Square, circle, or triangle until your special meter goes up, then press R2". The way you have to win matches in Arcade Mode is completely random (Sometimes, you can only win by having the most kills at the end of the 3 minute period, other times you can only win by eliminating all enemies at the same time, & other times you can only win by eliminating the enemies one by one. Plus, the unlockables you get are so meh that there's no incentive to unlock them unless you're some kind of hardcore completionist.

The graphics & sound are passable, nothing really memorable in a game that tries to be memorable.

The only reason why I'm not rating this a 1 is cause the background events that happen during a match are pretty well done, & cause the final boss is Polygon Man, a nice throwback to Playstation's very 1st mascot (Though the boss battle is absurdly easy, even on the All-Star difficulty)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

No Online Pass

posted by Basskarma (EDWARDSBURG, MI) Apr 2, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Great game but if you plan to play online with friends that have this game i would suggest not getting this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great for KIDS

posted by rican_ena38 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game is an amazing replacement for kids who enjoy shooting and killing games (yes, there are many out there). There is NO blood and includes tons of characters that both the kids and the parents recognize.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Perfect for keeping the kids entertained

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Dec 6, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I actually purchased this game because I accidentally activated the free PSVita version on my account while renting it. It turns out to be a fun addicting game. However very repetitive. Like I said in the title, it keeps the little ones entertained. And after I gave up on anything Nintendo that isn't Zelda, I've been waiting for something to properly fill the shoes of Smash Bros. And this comes close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse