Rent Plants vs. Zombies for DS
view large frontback

Plants vs. Zombies

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.6

864 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

plants vs zombies Ds great game!

posted by Mariorules (LA PORTE, IN) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2006

19 out of 20 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

I really enjoy this game. It's the same game but you can take it on the go! I mean who wouldn't kill zombies with plants while in the car? who knows? I bought the game already when it came out and I love it. 50 levels with 22 minigames and survival games can keep you good for the next 1 or 2 months. I played the xbox ver. and the pc ver and comparing it to the ds is a bit different. first is the graphics are a bit different and the music is a tad bit different. but still this game is awesome game and I recommend people if they played PVZ for the pc or xbox that have a Ds then they should rent this game. hopped this helped people!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'm taking up botany. No real reason, heh heh...!

posted by LemmyKoopa (MADISON, WI) Jul 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I hate zombies, and would have never given a game with this title a second look, but strong reviews got Plants vs Zombies onto my rental list and into my DS. And thankfully so, because this game is awesome, entirely and captivating.

In PvZ you invest solar energy to build up an army of hand-selected plants to defend against and drive back an increasingly resourceful hoard of zombies.

The gameplay is excellent and keeps you engaged with what I consider to be the best level of difficulty. I can't say the game is really hard, seeing as I only failed in adventure mode twice. But it puts on appearances of being hard, by forcing you to make good use of resources and to make snap decisions when you find yourself in jeopardy. It keeps you engaged and feeling good about your success while rarely being frustrating or uninteresting - perfect! Every level introduces a new plant, zombie, or gameplay element to keep things lively, while a handful of levels with different rules entirely add to the variety even more.

The adventure is plenty fun on its own and should last about ten hours. It can be replayed with additional restrictions that make things more difficult to double that time. A few dozen minigames and puzzles extend this game's lifespan even further. I think ten hours is already pretty good for a game of this genre, but those that get heavily invested could easily spend 25-30 hours, nearly all of which should be a delight.

I haven't played a lot of Tower Defense-type games as to be able to say if this is the best. Nor do I know whether the DS version of this game is the best though I'll at least point out that the touch screen controls work great. But I enjoyed this game thoroughly and can't come up with any particular complaints. So this game gets a rare perfect score out of me along with my highest, most all-encompassing recommendation. Play it! Just remember, if you play so much that your brain rots, I guess that means the zombies won!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Plants vs. Zombies

posted by Spider744 (TAMPA, FL) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very good game, I enjoyed it a lot. The game is Fun at first, but as you keep playing it, it does get boring. I still encourage People to get it though!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SO COOL!!!!

posted by daze1005 (CARMEL, IN) May 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS SO COOL AND ADDICTIVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good but not same as pc

posted by pokeman23 (NAPERVILLE, IL) Jul 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

pc you can make your own zombies and fight them to this one you can't i would give it a 10 if so but still awesome game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros:
-Everything

Cons:
-Nothing

BEST GAME EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

P vs. Z ipad remake awesome

posted by ash123 (DALLAS, TX) Mar 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is like the best tower defense/action adventure game EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Typical Tower Defense game

posted by Polygon (GROVER BEACH, CA) Jan 19, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

5 out of 17 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

this game is basically a tower defense game for the ds. its limited and hardly worth a rent. but if your really into td games give it a shot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Liked it but too complex

posted by kaallen168 (DUVALL, WA) May 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

I couldn't figure how to use all of the game features, but liked it anyway. Gave me too many confusing directions that I didn't care about and couldn't disable. Liked the zen garden though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

plants vs zombies

posted by poorflick (HENSLEY, AR) May 4, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

long story but it is the same old you have to unlock vesus and survivel and miegames

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome awesome AWESOME!

posted by Questionairre (MONTGOMERY CENTER, VT) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

i loved this game! i have a trial of the pc version and it is so fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

coooooooooooooool!

posted by superluigibro (CHULA VISTA, CA) Dec 10, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

such a good game you can play all new mini games so cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »