Rent Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare for Xbox One
view large frontback

Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

Also on:PS3, PS4, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.4

668 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worst Game Ever- Family wont let me play my xbox1!

posted by MightyGStar (EDMOND, OK) Mar 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has had my wife and kid playing for hours. It is a lot of fun, and highly recommended for families.

Great graphics, solid gameplay. Hours of fun.

Now, if only they will let me play Forza5 tonight - Its my turn.. (but really, I want to play too!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I don't really "GET IT"

posted by JohnH (MISSOULA, MT) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like PvZ... I like shooters... I don't like the two combined... Apparently.

It's nice that it's a lower paced shooter with clunky shooting and controls in a friendly enviroment. But there are massive issues with balance and progression that keep it from being a great game.

For one, balance is an absolute mystery. Some Sunflower weapons are weak and don't seem to work, others are vastly overpowered. You're on your own to figure out what is what. Sometimes the Allstar's cannon does nothing and sometimes you'll die as soon as you even see one coming at you.

They knew the balance was way off, so they added a "Classic" mode where no one can use anything but default characters. Taking away a lot of the game that would otherwise be available.

The progression also makes this a disaster. It's near impossible to compete against established players with better unlocked characters. Oh, you see the Dark Sunflower is a murder-machine, great, too bad the only way you'll ever unlock it is with Sticker Packs (IF YOU ARE LUCKY) that cost 40,000 coins... So how long does it take to get 40,000 coins? About 3-5 hours. A 20 minute match might net you 5,000 coins if you on your game and your team wins. Poor performance on the same match, expect 2,000 coins.

It seems to me the sheer number of stickers, the ineffectivness of the potted plants, and the "cost" of stick packs, that this game was supposed to be Free To Play or at least support microtransactions at some point. So I would guess that the progression was intentionally stretched out in order to promote sales.

I see people that love this game all over the place.... But I guess I just don't "GET IT". It attempts to be carefree and fun, ends up being a loose shooter that you have to seriously grind to get anything good. This game was clearly not made for me, someone who loves shooters and pvz oddly enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game annoying kids

posted by SgttTrey904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Sep 16, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

game very fun but the kids are on there are annoying as hell they scream and yell just a warning you're going to have to mute everyone lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Flat out fun

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 12, 2014

Member since Sep 2011

There's not to much to say about this game other then it's extremely fun. Super fun game got this for my girlfriend because she's been playing PvZ on her phone. But once I played this I kinda took over. Hands down this is the game to get if your down for some clean family fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game since the recent update as of 08/13/14

posted by ebertt (ATLANTA, GA) Aug 12, 2014

Member since May 2010

All the bad reviews were based on the game before the update as of 08/13/2014. To the people that played the game and dismissed it I suggest U pick it back up and play now!! I've always played this game on my tablet and now I think the console version is much better!! They've added new maps, new character upgrades (some free ones too!!) new multi-player objectives w/ new Bosses, as well lots of ingame goodies and mad funny animations. I give this game a 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GREAT, but not for me

posted by JoeyPwner (NEW BRAUNFELS, TX) Aug 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The Plants Vs. Zombies game was very entertaining at first with the goofy characters customization and earning card packs with currency you accumulated throughout playing the game. After figuring the game out and playing it for a couple weeks it became tedious to me. I'm the kind of person who needs great replay value to highly recommend a game, but children will find this game a blast. The price and kid friendly content makes this great for anyone trying to find something for their child.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its alright

posted by fangarai (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Thought it was going to be funner. After a few hours of gameplay i got bored of the game. Im glad i rented this game instead of buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the worst game ever made

posted by Paul916 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Aug 5, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

game freeze,bad glitches

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Plants vs. Zombies: Garden Warfare

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Aug 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

I didn't think this game would impress me the way it has. I like Plants vs. Zombies, but I wasn't sure how a Third Person Shooter variation would work out. There are plenty of customization options for your characters and several different tactics to use to your advantage. I spent all of my time playing Team Vanquish. I would've played this game a lot more but my summer is running out and I want to play as many games as possible, so I ditched the game at level 20. If you are already good at shooters, then I highly recommend this game. It is a great break from serious shooters like Call of Duty and Battlefield. This game is great for gamers of all kinds! Give it a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I really want to like this more, but...

posted by bdollar (BLUFFTON, SC) Aug 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

I have been waiting to get this game from GF for a while and was eagerly anticipating firing it up. I've watched videos of people playing PvZ:GW and it looked genuinely fun, but now that I've played it I think I had more fun just watching.

Graphically the game looks great. The visuals are crisp and the art style is a refreshing change from the gritty, dingy, washed out norm of most shooters. The characters are well designed and the environments are large and somewhat varied. The sound design is also well done.

Gameplay is where the game loses me though. Keep in mind that I have played a lot of Battlefield 4, 200+ hrs into Titanfall, and have just recently finished playing the beta for Destiny, so if you enjoy those as much as I do then this may not be the game for you. From movement to weapons to pace of the matches everything just seems so slow to me. Respawning away from the action and having to watch my character slowly waddle their way back to the action became aggravating and boring. When I did make it back to the action I was still bored. I guess I just don't "get it." I didn't feel that satisfying sense of urgency/nerve-racking moments that I get with other shooters. I haven't had any issues with the game balance being off as I was consistently finishing in the top 3 on my team even as a low level player, but I could see how it could be frustrating to some.

I know a lot of people love this game and I wanted to love it too, but I was just simply bored with it. If you are like me and enjoy the fast pace/constant action of the games I mentioned before then Plants vs. Zombies : Garden Warfare may not be for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Big change from first game

posted by Redsoxnation21 (SEFFNER, FL) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This is a totally different game compared to the first title. It is no longer a tower defense game. Though it would be nice if they added a "classic" mode where that was an option. You get to play as either the plants or zombies and play online in various modes like team vanquish (deathmatch). I also have a 5 year old that enjoys this as this game is great for younger kids. All of the downloadable content is acquirable through card packs in the store which can be purchased with coins earned through gameplay thus no out of pocket expense for dlc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

gamer 88vx legit

posted by chester123 (HIALEAH, FL) Jun 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

FUN FUN FUNNY GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It takes some context

posted by WeaponXi2 (ALLENHURST, GA) Jun 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

If you're going to play Plants vs Zombies Garden Warfare, it's likely for one or more of these reasons. One, you are a fan of the original PvZ and you figured it was worth trying out. Two, somebody told you it was a good game and you want to take a break from traditional shooters. Or three, you want to have the experience of a shooter in a family friendly environment. In all these cases the game delivers, however if you are in the first category there may be some context you have to keep in mind.

Before addressing that however, I'll go into some basic points about the game. First, the graphics are decent and crisp as they should be on next gen hardware, however the use of animated characters and environment make it a moot point as you can only make an animation style like this so crisp. Audio is good as well. You won't hear any full scores but they do a decent job of mixing old songs from the original game into various parts to give nostalgia. The game play is pretty solid although you may experience some rendering problems at the beginning of some stages. And the fact that they have dedicated servers on the multiplayer vs side means you're connectivity is as good as your internet. The controls are intuitive and the biggest problem you might have is remembering what classes do what. Besides that you have on screen reminders so you should get used to it quickly enough. It's not a twitch shooter so even younger kids can get in on the fun.

Now to address our first category players. While attempting to use the team based shooter strategy, the makers also wanted to give PvZ fans something recognizable from the first game. The basic idea that zombies are invading and the flowers defend. Therefore the Flowers have a natural advantage at a distance. Zombies have to focus on suppressing the Flowers until they can close in. You have to try to imagine how the zombie might approach if you were playing PvZ. With that in mind hopefully it will help some understand the flo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by twoDeeP92 (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Fun shooter

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun, Yet Unbalanced GamePlay.

posted by MrSche (MEMPHIS, TN) May 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

The graphics are great. The concept is great. The characters are great.
Here's the problem,...
The Zombies have such an unfair advantage in fighting, it makes you rage quit. Gardens & Graveyards is the worst. The zombies have GUNS. REAL GUNS, and they use them well. The zombies have more energy. The zombies have more allies. The zombies have more abilities.
The Plants are tuff, but going head up against a human team of zombies is frustrating. The biggest draw back are the Plants health. 4 or 5 shots from a zombie, your re DEAD. It takes almost 2 reloads to take down a zombie. And reloading is sooooooooooooo slow. The leveling is awful between the two factions.
Also, there is no single player campaign...the closest thing to it is Garden Ops, which is pretty fun as long as you are playing with others on your team. You wont get very far if you're alone, unless its on easy.
This is a fun game, but has a serious flaw in the leveling system, game modes and upgrades. So it makes it get old and frustrating quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun spin on shooters.

posted by gator4life108 (DENVER, CO) May 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

I play a lot of BF4. This felt like a fun cartoon version of it. Nothing serious just going out and messing around. Game felt chaotic and a lot was going on. I felt lost running around the map. Pea shooters are overpowered and used a lot. Cool game and props for them trying something different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Buggy!

posted by gabraham (SALEM, OR) May 5, 2014

Member since May 2014

For whatever reason I couldn't even really play this game. Loading into multiplayer matches took forever (>10min) and then when I'd get in my screen with be black while i heard the match going on around me or I'd see everything but not be able to move. It's definitely some sort of network/server issue because I never experienced this when playing by myself in a private game. That being said, when the game actually worked it was still just a mediocre shooter with cartoony PvZ characters and weapons. Meh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Super Lag

posted by EvilMonkie (CRESCENT CITY, CA) May 4, 2014

Member since May 2014

I only played 3 matches over 2 days as the lag was so bad I couldn't move my character half or more of the match. Completely ruined the experience for me. I tested my internet connection at these times and found them running averaging slightly higher than normal speeds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FOR ALL AGES!

posted by Joey7Jawz (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Apr 26, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

If you played PVZ before and enjoyed it, I recommend you rent this game and experience it in third person!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Couldn't Play

posted by Dank_OG (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 18, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I'm not sure whats up with this game. It kept asking me for an ORGIN ID and password. I created a fresh one, then when I tried to enter it it said my account was attached to another ORGIN ID. There is no way to locate "old ORGIN ID's" and the system would not accept a new one. FAIL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best games I've played all year

posted by Baminy (ATHENS, GA) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

When they originally announced this game at E3, I was excited, but I had a bad feeling that something was going to go wrong. Well, that certainly was not the case. Garden Warfare is an interesting combination of a shooter and a strategy game, and the game puts a PvZ spin on some classic multiplayer game modes. The only reason that I give it a 9 is because of the lack of a campaign mode, but the multiplayer makes up for that to the point where it doesn't matter. I highly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Funny

posted by mloap (SANFORD, FL) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

Funny game, entertainment guaranteed. But not so challenging and no campaign mode, like Titan fall, those who like to play without be online won't like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertaining Game

posted by x_OneFiftyOne_x (PERRYVILLE, MD) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

PVZ is a great, entertaining game for the whole family!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Rare Gem that is a fun mp experience that works!

posted by MKGgamer (SAINT PAUL, MN) Mar 25, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

Let me start by saying this game is MP only onnce again no single player. but its not a bad thing with this its whacky and alotta Fun. you dont need to be competitive you can just relax and enjoy yourself playing this game and if you have kids they can enjoy it to. and it doesnt get old so i say pick it up at the price of 40$ and all the DLC coming out is FREE so ya what a deal!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FUN!!! FUN!!! FUN!!!!

posted by starlight74103 (ONTARIO, CA) Mar 13, 2014

Member since Sep 2012

Did not expect this game to be so addictive and fun. Quirky and cute while, simple and fun. Not too complex and love how they have a mode where they strip away all the perks and upgrades to level the playing fields. And for being a EA game, has worked pretty good since the launch date. Impressed and a great game to play when want to unwind from regular FPS'es. Has a team death match and sabotage/domination mode (which is I think the coolest mode), and a horde/mass effect multiplayer mode to it. Game has a TON of play-ability and is worth every min of renting/owning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse