Rent Planet Puzzle League for DS
view large frontback

Planet Puzzle League

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.3

281 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

I was expecting more...

posted by SALVADOR (LACEY, WA) Jun 21, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

But that's not to say that this is a bad game. It's the first American Puzzle League with out a license slapped on to help it sell. First there was Tetris Attack, then Pokémon Puzzle League, which the PL has nothing to do with. The planet part just means that you can play with with anyone in the world. Unfortunately, since you can't communicate with them in any other way, it still feels like you're playing against the computer. However, it is much more difficult than the computer, which is one of my main concerns. PPL doesn't even try to be hard. It's always so boringly easy, and the three difficulty settings all seemed exactly the same. It trys to be fast but it takes 30-40 minutes until it finally starts to ramp up. One of the most unforgivable is its lack of unlockables. Once you turn the game one, what you see is what you get. You could play this game for years and not get anything new. There's nothing to unlock, no bonus skins, music, difficulty levels, there's not even a story. But what's there is fun, and should keep you coming back now and again forever. Just know what you're getting into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Handheld Tetris Attack

posted by TheBilly (FAIR OAKS, CA) Aug 29, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It's handheld Tetris Attack. It has the basic modes, it has some online play. If you liked Tetris Attack, then I guess this is a bit better. You get all the basic gameplay, you can play it multiplayer or online, but there's nothing really great here. It feels sort of hollow, like they did everything TECHNICALLY right but didn't put any real soul into it. And for that reason, it's not particularly great if you've already played this for hours and hours back when it was called Tetris Attack on the SNES. I was looking forward to a DS rendition, but this was sort of stale.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game

posted by foxy42 (YONKERS, NY) Mar 9, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Basic game involves clearing the field as the tiles come up from the bottom but the trick is that you can only move them horizontally not vertically. They have a couple of different modes that add different wrinkles to it and several different backgrounds and tile sets to choose from for variety but basically it is all the same game. Fun but it does get boring after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not what I expected! Very unhappy with this game

posted by LoveGAMES (YAKIMA, WA) Jul 29, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

I wish I had found Game Fly FIRST and just rented it, but unfortunately, I paid good money to buy this game! I did not find the graphics up to par with other games I own. It was too "outer space" style graphics for my taste. I also didn't care for the music or sound effects. This might appeal to a younger crowd. Also, it became very boring in a really short period of time! I would GIVE this game to anyone who might want it, that is how much I disliked the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lost interest after a few hours.

posted by ScottyD0 (PROVO, UT) Feb 14, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

After playing this for a little while I enjoyed it at first. Then it got to be the same thing over and over. Switching modes didn't make much difference for me. One thing I thought was funny was I never would give up trying to play it like bejeweled and it didn't work that way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

The Planet's Puzzler of Choice

posted by HumanWaste (GLENDORA, CA) Jul 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Though the majority of content won't blow the minds of Puzzle League veterans, this iteration in the series proves that Puzzle League is still one of the most in-depth, skill-based puzzle games ever made (next to Tetris, duh!). And if you're new to any of this, it's almost guaranteed that you'll be making Puzzle League old-timers cry for their mommies thanks to simplified modes and the godly inclusion of touch controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »