Rent Planet 51 for PS3
view large frontback

Planet 51

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360, DS
GF Rating
3.9

225 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
2

Really Bad

yuck

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

this game is further proof that the Unreal engine is archaic garbage. This game looks and feels like Leisure Suit Larry Box Office Bust and is about as pointless. The only 2 reasons I gave it anything above a 0 rating is 1: the lowest is a 1 and 2: its an easy platinum trophy.
Planet 51 is worthless to everyone except trophy hunters.
Its to tough for kids to enjoy, and to stupid for adults to enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Do you like mowing lawns?

posted by dollyruth (LANSDALE, PA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Mowing lawns over and over and over? How about throwing newspapers? Over and over and over? If not, this game is not for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Aweful

posted by TWIT4LIFE (SANTA MARIA, CA) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Got it because I figured it would be an easy trophy game, and it actually isn't so easy. It COULD have been easy if the game makers had any sense of decency, but why those jerks would subject kids to this, I'll never know.

The game play sucks, the in game movies suck, everything is on cars so this should actually be billed as a driving game, it made me never want to see the movie again (and I actually did like the movie before this).

One of the main things that just annoyed me was that when your doing the ten levels for every mini-game (overkill, by the way) you can't stop! You have to do all ten levels in one sitting or start over from scratch next time!! Its not that the mini-games are too hard (though the dog catching was actually a pain in the last two rounds) but its so boring, repetitive, and all together mind numbing. It would have been so much better to do a few rounds of mowing that lawn, then leave so that you could maintain your sanity, then return when you think you could do it again. Even though the mini games are short, expect to spend about an hour getting to level ten for each one.

Finally, the worst trophy in the game by far was the timing trophy for one of Chuck's mission. This is 100% due to bad game making by the programmers. The timing is so close that you have to react with almost in human speed. My brother finally found a way to trick the system, but it was hours of annoyance before that happened.

Over-all...if you are a kid looking for something easy BACK OFF! If you are a trophy collector looking for a one day plat BACK OFF!!

I don't recommend to anyone with a working brain.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by pio258 (HOUSTON, TX) May 26, 2012

Member since May 2012

this is an awesome game. its the second time i've rented it. i might buy it. =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun storyline to follow

posted by Klink154 (DENVER, CO) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

I had fun with this game. It was definatly a kids game, but it has its challenges. If you have kids that loved the movies, they will love this game. If you like racing games, you might like this one. Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Make Me Play it Again

posted by oceanbdog (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I played almost all of it, I thought maybe this will be good to get a platinum trophy. WELL I QUIT! I mowed a lawn 12 times cause i failed twice, i threw a newspaper 10 times! I raced 10 times, I DID EVERYTHING OVER 10 TIMES! its painful to play. The easily ability to get trophies but it takes too long gives it 2 stars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »