Rent Pitfall: The Big Adventure for Wii
view large frontback

Pitfall: The Big Adventure

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.1

401 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Doesn't overcome "Pitfall"s of bad controls/camera

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Sep 30, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's the remake of the Atari 2600 game (goes way back, doesn't it?)
Pitfall: The Big Adventure has you playing as Pitfall Harry. You set out and explore the land, helping other explorers and scientists while dealing with alligators, natives, and other nasty creatures.
But dealing with those guys is nothing compared with trying to get a handle on the controls. Making the double jump is tough because the slightest wiggle of the Wiimote or Nunchuck causes Harry to dash or attack, and I miss the jump and have to do it again. The oversensitive controls also caused Harry to run off ledges and platforms adding more aggravation to the game.
Also, the new moves like the Heroic Dash and Leap are badly implemented. For best results, I want Harry to stand still while I perform the move. But shaking the Wiimote/Nunchuck caused him to dart all over the place, so it caused me to miss the leap or jump and I'd have to try it - again and again and again.
The camera also is a pain; I constantly have to adjust it in order to set up for the next jump or take on the next enemy.
Pitfall: The Big Adventure isn't all bad. The characters are interesting, some puzzles are well designed, and it's got lots of content, not to mention the sheer fun of beating up unruly natives.
But the bad and baldy implemented controls and camera doom Pitfall: The Big Adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pitfall: The Big Adventure

posted by patrickgf (ALIQUIPPA, PA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just as the same as the GameCube edition, and I still haven't mastered that game yet. If you have this particular game on GameCube, do keep it. For the Wii version, the controls are too confusing, and I cannot figure out how to swing the remote and which buttons on the nunchuk to push to jump and/or punch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ugh.

posted by jeezlouise (ROWLETT, TX) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Too complicated. I was hoping it would be like the 1980s Atari version with the same name but it isn't even close.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Okay

posted by proudmaof2 (SPRING, TX) Feb 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It was okay I guess. I wasn't to excited about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Could have been greaty

posted by shawncdh (OREGON, WI) Feb 9, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This could have been a great little platformer if not for the horrible jumping controls. I fell to my death so many times it was stupid. Honestly it wasn't my fault. It was the bad contols. Otherwise this could have been a great game. It was fun for awhile till I got sick of the awful controls killing me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Phoned in Wii Update to a good gamecube title.

posted by jhoffa23 (LONGMONT, CO) Oct 6, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Sometimes when older games are ported to the new consoles, they are a huge success. Unfortunately, this is not one of those times. The graphics are identical if not inferior to the Gamecube version, and the Wii controls make the game much more unwieldy than the original version with the D Pad. If you played the Gamecube version, be content with that one before wasting your time on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not worth buying

posted by scooter478 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Sep 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

graphics are great but the game play is awkward. jumping is an art. i played the game for 45 minutes is was over it. do not waste your money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected!

posted by ReallyChic (CHICAGO, IL) Jan 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I almost didn't rent this game due to the reviews i've read, but surprisingly it was alot of fun. A real thinkers game. Should probably be rated teen or mature because my 6 yr. old got freaked out by the crocs eating Pitfall Harry. All in all very interesting I even unlocked the old pitfall game a little more than halfway through.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Maybe if it had the old version

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Maybe. Maybe if it had the old version it would have been a 4, but other than that, another nothing wasted Wii game for the masses.

Does the Wii count as a game system anymore ? Or is it a playtoy ? An Accessory ?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I remember why i don't like this game now

posted by IgGreyhound (YAKIMA, WA) Apr 24, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I rented this when the wii was newer in memory of how much i loved the one for Sega. I couldn't remember if i stopped playing it because i had to return it or not. I just remembered that i didn't like it as well as the sega version. I got on and the sound effects and the repeating of phrases drove me crazy. I just don't like the controls for this game either. They ruined this game by making it so childish. Well i can put my mind at ease and send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pitfall

posted by dolemanj (LAWTON, OK) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

This game did not work, I just sent it back today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game

posted by jg1223 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

this is the same game, movies, levels and graphics as pitfall the lost adventure on the ps2. but they have incorporated the wii controlls and gave it a different name.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

FINE

posted by gameviewer (WINTER GARDEN, FL) Aug 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

The game was fine I liked it better on Game cube which is what I own it on. The controls are very hard to finger out. Also one move of the numchuck and you start running really fast. So do move.
Also you have to keep back tracking which is really hard.
Over all I still love the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Takes FOREVER

posted by kittyman96 (MISSION VIEJO, CA) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

This game is fun for the first two minutes when you are fighting the tiger but once you start to expolore it becomes annoying. More than half of the jumps take like 10 times of trying and failing to complete and when you are in the caves you can't see anything even with the torch. While swimming, you will randomly get bit by pirranas and die. Also the save system isn't that good. I would suggest not even renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Pitfall- The Great Adventure

posted by 5gamer (SANTA CLARITA, CA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The game is pretty good, the camera is what makes it harder to play. Also some of the levels don't allow the player to go back for the extras, like power strike, and TNT's. Also the map is not very helpful and neither is the "Hints" section. Also the controller in the wii makes the running and leap a bit of a challenge.

I wouldn't buy the game without the play guide or strategy guide.

Good luck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Harry fell in a pitfall, but he's alright.

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Pitfall: The Big Adventure is a re-release of the Lost Expedition released some years back. If you liked that game... well, you probably have no reason to play this one. If you didn't, you might find that the controls are made more cumbersome by the motion-sensor controls of the Wii.
The story follows Pitfall Harry as he looks for the lost city of El Dorado, batting natives, scorpions and penguins (you heard me) along the way. Of course, there are buxom babes to save as well and mystical foes to defeat. It's actually pretty standard stuff, but it works.
Seriously, you're playing the game for the action. And while the game has some action, it gets a bit squashed by overly-complicated controls. The best example I can give you are the pickaxes, which allow you to climb certain surfaces. Most games would simply let you navigate around these walls until you wish to get off, but Pitfall makes you rotate the control stick while shaking both the nunchuk and Wiimote to achieve the same thing. As I said, overly complicated. There are some truly frustrating moments and odd design choices that bring this game down.
What the game has going for it is content. With shamans to locate, explorers to rescue, idols to find and mini-games to complete there's plenty to do. The main quest lasts for awhile, although much attention is given to backtracking.
In the end, Pitfall is a nice diversion, but nothing special. You'll like tossing TNT at your enemies and get a smile out of the dung-chucking monkeys, but you could live without it. The technical and design flaws in the game are too noticeable to dismiss, making this a take it or leave it title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A classic gone wrong

posted by Cuddles (HAMLIN, NY) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

Oh how I wanted to like this game. I loved the old pitfall on the atari 2600. So I was really excited when this game came out.

Then I tried the game. Wow! Bad just seems like an understatement. I don't know which is worse- the camera or the controls

The controls are horrid. 1 slight movement of the wii remote- and I mean slight -will cause your camera and your character to jump in opposite directions. Even just moving your fingers while holding the remote will cause your direction to change. Your guy will swing in directions that you don't want them to go. Jumping is almost impossible in some areas.
The control set up is really awkward. Some of the buttons and remote swings that they require you to do- cause cramps in your hand and don't feel right.

The camera is really awful. Like the controls- the camera just randomly swings around making jumping and vine catching a real pain. There is an option to center the camera behind the character, but it never really centers properly and it only does it for a split second. The camera also tends to cause motion sickness for me because of the way it moves. You can also try to look ahead but you can never tell how close or how far you are away from vines. That leads to a ton of deaths by over shooting or under jumping to them.

Both the controls and the camera result in massive amounts of cheap deaths and restarts.

The game is a port of the old gamecube game: pitfall the lost expedition. It is playable on the wii and it is a much better choice than this version. The graphics are about the same as the gamecube version as well.

This title is just really disappointing. If they spent more time on the controls and camera- it would have been a fun game. Don't waste your time on this one. Try the older gamecube version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dissapointing.....

posted by awesum34 (NORTH DARTMOUTH, MA) Oct 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

this game was kinda sad in ways that it simply isnt the classic pitfall game that i rented.way 2 confusing,mite b enjoyable if it came with directions.anyways dont rent this game. it not worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »